Apigee Archived Reviews (More than two years old)

Filter by:
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
User
Product Manager at Near BPO
Jun 13 2018

What do you think of Apigee?

What is our primary use case?

It is a platform for the publication of API services, access control, limiting the use of resources, and monitoring consumption.

How has it helped my organization?

Identifies services which are most consumed. Identifies possible risks. Improves productivity. Accelerates development and deployment processes.

What is most valuable?

Developer portal  Apigee Sense Analytics Microgateway

What needs improvement?

Predictive analysis of consumption Identification of attacks Identification of operational errors

For how long have I used the solution?

One to three years.
Real User
Architect at a tech vendor
Jan 09 2018

What is most valuable?

* Flexible setup * Pricing and license cost for end-user delivery/ distribution model * Both on-premise and cloud deployment models are available. * Highly scalable from any initial topology to horizontal extension.

How has it helped my organization?

One unified solution for different LOBs. Easy interface to monetize and deliver APIs with very easy integration for third-party development environments/delivery.

What needs improvement?

Technical support model for OPDK should be more exposed and mature in terms of providing support during installation, run, and debug of Apigee in production on OPDK mode.
Learn what your peers think about Apigee. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: July 2020.
438,944 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Trishit Nag
Consultant
APIGEE API Developer at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
Dec 14 2017

What is most valuable?

There are many features, which I have felt are very useful and easy to implement at flows. Below are some of the points that I would like to highlight: * I like Service Callout, JSON/XML Threat Protection, and JavaScript callout policy. I find them very useful. * I found Apigee Analytics dashboard very useful for monitoring. * Private cloud architecture * Management APIs are very useful, because… more »

How has it helped my organization?

I develop proxy services for other vendors. Apigee is very fast in transferring requests and responses between Northbound systems to Southbound systems. It has a very efficient logging system which is easy to maintain. Apigee Analytics dashboard is useful to monitor transactions, error percentage, transaction latency, etc.

What needs improvement?

Maintaining and deploying revisions need to be more defined. It would be better to have access to the PostgreSQL Database Tables on monetization.
Vendor
API Management lead architect at a financial services firm with 10,001+ employees
Oct 08 2017

What is most valuable?

API/proxy lifecycle workflow for API providers is quite good and one of Apigee's strongest features. Also, like the completeness of the CLI and admin REST services, the Edge engine provides powerful, integrated analytics, which are noteworthy.

What needs improvement?

Initial setup was not trivial for customer-managed topology. Proxy versioning seems a bit confusing/buried in the publishing experience, especially for the URI-based versioning approach.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

We currently use WSO2 API Manager version 1.9x in production, but the solution is no longer meeting our needs.
Consultant
IT Services at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
Sep 17 2017

What do you think of Apigee?

What is most valuable?

API security Lifecycle management Analytics

How has it helped my organization?

Data monetization.

What needs improvement?

Development IDE, especially for Architect Review.

For how long have I used the solution?

15 months.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

Not on Apigee Edge, but few on BaaS.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

No issue with SaaS version.

How are customer service and technical support?

A five out of 10.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

Yes, scalability was an issue with the earlier tool.

How was the initial setup?

The SaaS version setup is easy. On-premise version seems to be bit complex.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

Real User
Tibco Administrator at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
Sep 12 2017

What is most valuable?

I have worked on Apigee Edge and Apigee Dev Portal. Specifically, in Apigee Edge, the elements like products, developer, developer apps, and API proxies are interlinked… more »

How has it helped my organization?

It provides secured incoming connections with data and cloud-based API functionality, which results in efficiency and reliability.

What needs improvement?

Areas like traffic handling of incoming requests, security features between third-parties and Apigee, and between Apigee and internal network servers, resources, or JSON… more »

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

Since it was acquired by Google, we can get a license based on our requirements and the cost level will depend on cloud access and support.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

Previously worked with physical box type solutions. Now using Apigee for API based connectivity along with cloud level access.

What other advice do I have?

It's a high-end API product acquired by Google. It has lots of functionality and can easily handle technical resources.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

Yes. Analysed features like pricing, support, functionality, background analysis in market, cloud connectivity, etc.
Consultant
SAP/APIGEE Technical Consultant at a tech services company with 5,001-10,000 employees
Jun 29 2017

What is most valuable?

Apigee has many features in their feature bucket. When you get in touch with their sales team for sure you’ll get to know these :). Some which I liked most and which makes this product stand out are… more »

How has it helped my organization?

This platform has opened the doors for a different line of business altogether. We are now able to monetize our features and deliver them easily through APIs. Since the advent of mobile and IoT, we… more »

What needs improvement?

The installation and management of this product are still a clumsy task. They are developing the monitoring feature based on influx DB and Grafana, but it still has a way to go before it can be used… more »

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

Based on your usage of the APIs you can take a decision to go with either an on-cloud or OPDK version. Get in touch with the sales representatives of Apigee. For on-premise, they usually offer… more »

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

I haven’t quite used any other product in API domain other than Apigee. Although I have worked once with Akana, it was for a different use case altogether.

What other advice do I have?

Set goals for future enhancement and extensions as this platform provides a lot of features that you can leverage to build different lines of business. Start with a small or medium scale topology and… more »
Consultant
API Developer at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
Jun 29 2017

What is most valuable?

The following features are most valuable: API Management, Analytics, Quota, and the Developer Portal.

How has it helped my organization?

Being an employee of a service-based company, we have implemented the product for different customers.

What needs improvement?

Role-based access management needs to be improved. It would also be nice if the solution could be integrated with code versioning systems like Git/Bitbucket.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

As most of the customers say, the tool is a bit expensive.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

No, I have not used any other tools.

What other advice do I have?

The tool is good, easy to use, and has good customer support.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

I did evaluate other options.

What is Apigee?

Apigee Edge, the self-service API management platform, enables companies to secure, scale, manage, and analyze their digital business, and grow API programs to meet the increase in demand. Edge enables enterprises to design and build the APIs that securely share their services and data.

Key capabilities of the Apigee Edge API management platform include:

  • Security: protect APIs, messages, and backends with configurable policies such as OAuth, API key verification, XML/JSON threat protection, access control.
  • API gateway: secure and mediate the traffic between clients and backends, and between a company’s APIs and the developers, customers, partners, and employees who use the APIs.
  • Developer portal: attract and engage application developers, enabling them to discover, explore, purchase (or profit from), and test APIs and register to access and use the APIs.
  • API lifecycle management: manage the process of designing, developing, publishing, deploying, and versioning APIs.
Apigee customers

Adobe, advance.net, Amadeus, AT&T, Bechtel, Belly, Burberry, Chegg, Citrix, Dell, eBay, Equifax, GameStop, First Data, Globe, HCSC, Intralinks, Kao, Meredith, Mitchell, Orange, Pearson

BUYER'S GUIDE
Download our free Apigee Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.