Aruba ClearPass Reviews

Aruba ClearPass is the #3 ranked solution of our top Network Access Control tools. It's rated 4.5 out of 5 stars, and is most commonly compared to Cisco ISE (Identity Services Engine) - Aruba ClearPass vs Cisco ISE (Identity Services Engine)

Filter by:
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Real User
Architecte Système at a tech services company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Jun 20 2020

What is most valuable?

The solution is extremely stable. We find that at the end of the projects we manage, all functionalities perform quite well. We've tested it a lot and find it to be overall a very good solution. It's excellent in terms of securing local networks for our clients.

What needs improvement?

The solution needs to upgrade its user interface. Right now, it's not so user friendly, and it's an aspect that my clients' wish was improved upon. The solution is quite large and complex in scope. If a person isn't familiar with the solution, they can quickly get overwhelmed with everything.

What other advice do I have?

We've partnered with HPE and Aruba. I work at a service company. I go and install solutions for customers. I just handle the install for my customers. I don't use the software myself every day or on a regular basis. My role is one of a project technician and director. I'm an architect. Our organization handles all sizes of companies from small to large enterprises. If there's a company out there… more »
Real User
Security Automation and Incident Response at a tech services company
Jul 04 2019

What is most valuable?

The most valuable feature for us is the policy compliance. They have an API that assists you in checking whether a machine has specific clients. For example, we check whether the EDR is updated and whether there are specific clients whose machine should be allowed to connect to the network.

How has it helped my organization?

It's security control after all so just like you have an EDR installed, we double verify whether a machine is compliant with our policy on the one hand, and on the other hand, if it's also one of our machines so that we can let it into the network. It's security control.

What needs improvement?

The user interface should be improved. The logs and how the logging mechanism works can also use an upgrade. It should also have better reporting, we were trying to do the reports and didn't manage to do them because technically we couldn't. Better documentation on the API would be useful as well.

What other advice do I have?

My advice is to get a good integrator. I would rate this solution as an eight and a half out of ten.
Find out what your peers are saying about Aruba Networks, Cisco, ForeScout and others in Network Access Control. Updated: October 2020.
442,141 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Vendor
WiFi Manager at Etisalat UAE
Jul 01 2019

What is most valuable?

A very important feature for me is its support of a multi-tenant solution on deliverables. For instance, I have three customers, or three users, and I want each customer to have his own portal and his… more »

How has it helped my organization?

Aruba has improved my organization because it supported me on my level of access. I hope to see Aruba add routers to their portfolio.

What needs improvement?

Aruba needs to improve and the processes must be clear. I also believe the marketing is very important, as well as to split the database to be more specific, like having a user name, access point name… more »

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

We pay an annual licensing fee for Aruba and there are no additional costs.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

Before we started using Aruba we worked on Cisco, which has the same setup. They had the same access layer, access points, access controller and management at Cisco. We were, however, looking for a… more »

What other advice do I have?

I can recommend this solution for anyone in terms of guest management or from a security perspective. I will rate this a nine out of ten.
David Kariuki
Real User
Manager, Systems Technology at Ketraco
Jun 24 2019

What is most valuable?

The most valuable features would be: * Wireless segregation * Bandwidth segmentation * Prioritization * BYOD management * Overall visibility.

How has it helped my organization?

Secure organization by completely segmenting the guest and corporate vlans SSID. Less management and support effort on the management of BYOD. Clear visibility on the LAN .

What needs improvement?

I would like the area of managing wired technology to be improved. Wireless is very good but I'm still struggling a bit to do my end to end configurations in the wired technology area. The Virtual… more »

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

We previously used Cisco ISE. We switched because it was complex. Even the deployment was not straightforward. When I had Cisco ISE, it was still in the first version, 1.2. I heard people mention that… more »

What other advice do I have?

I would rate this solution a nine.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

Cisco ISE V1
Unmesh Deshpande
Real User
CTO at Kingsway Hospitals
Apr 16 2020

What is most valuable?

The most valuable features are planning and analytics. It is simple to deploy. It is transparent for the users to come in through ClearPass.

What needs improvement?

In the future, I would like to see plugins for AI and machine learning. If it did pattern analysis then it could help to determine our requirements automatically.

What other advice do I have?

This is a solution that I would strongly recommend. We are very happy with the support and the product overall. Although it meets our satisfaction and requirements 100%, you can never give a 100% mark. There is a little bit of room for improvement in all things. I would rate this solution a nine out of ten.
Real User
Assistant Lead Engineer at a tech services company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Sep 23 2020

What is most valuable?

The interface is very easy to use and the workflow is quite straightforward.

What needs improvement?

The licensing model could be improved.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

The pricing is not bad and everything is included.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

I have experience with Cisco ISE and ClearPass is much easier to use. Because it is so complicated, we were having a lot of issues with it.

What other advice do I have?

Overall, this is a good product and I can recommend it. There is really nothing bad that I can say about it, although I do think that they should work on changing the licensing model. I would rate this solution an eight out of ten.
Marius Matijošius
Reseller
Networking Architect at Telia Lietuva, AB
Apr 20 2020

What is most valuable?

One of the most valuable features of the solution is the maturity of the product and, of course, the functionality is also very good.

What needs improvement?

Possibly some of the functions could be improved, but it's hard to say. Generally, Clearpass is considered the leader in its field and it's a very good product.

What other advice do I have?

I would rate this product a nine out of 10.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

We looked at Pulse Policy Secure as a possible option. In some areas it has more flexibility than Clearpass but Clearpass came out on top in the end. Policy Secure has some ability issues and lack of good support.
AlejandroLison
Real User
Project Engineer at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
Mar 21 2020

What do you think of Aruba ClearPass?

What is our primary use case?

We are a solution provider and this is one of the products that we implement for our clients.

What is most valuable?

The most valuable feature is flexibility as it supports solutions from multiple vendors.

What needs improvement?

The interface could be made easier and more intuitive.

For how long have I used the solution?

We have been using Aruba ClearPass for about four years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

This is a stable product.

How are customer service and technical support?

The technical support is very good. When you have an issue they respond very, very quickly.

What about the implementation team?

We have qualified and certified engineers who implement and deploy this solution.

What's my experience

See 1 More Aruba ClearPass Reviews

What is Aruba ClearPass?

ClearPass Policy Manager provides secure network access in a world made up of mobile and IoT devices. It features ultra-scalable AAA with RADIUS and uses contextual data based on every user and device to enforce adaptive policies for wireless, wired or VPN access. 

Also known as
Avenda eTIPS
Aruba ClearPass customers

Consulate Health Care, Los Angeles Unified School District, Science Applications International Corp (SAIC), San Diego State University, KFC, ACTS Retirement-Life Communities

Read Archived Reviews
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Network Access Control Report and find out what your peers are saying about Aruba Networks, Cisco, ForeScout, and more!