Axway AMPLIFY API Management Overview

Axway AMPLIFY API Management is the #10 ranked solution in our list of top API Management tools. It is most often compared to Amazon API Gateway: Axway AMPLIFY API Management vs Amazon API Gateway

What is Axway AMPLIFY API Management?

Axway API Management Plus combines API lifecycle management, secure integration services, monitoring and analytics to help you innovate faster and heighten ecosystem engagement. It is part of the Axway AMPLIFY data integration and engagement platform, which also includes unified app development for mobile to provide a complete solution for rapid change and innovation.

Axway AMPLIFY API Management is also known as Vordel Application Gateway, Axway API Management Plus, Axway API Management, AMPLIFY API Management.

Axway AMPLIFY API Management Buyer's Guide

Download the Axway AMPLIFY API Management Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: January 2021

Axway AMPLIFY API Management Customers

Engie Group, Allianz

Axway AMPLIFY API Management Video

Axway AMPLIFY API Management Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Igmar Rautenbach
Head: B2B Solutions at Trustlink (Pty) Ltd
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Nov 29, 2020
Good documentation, strong security functionality and offers great flexibility

What is our primary use case?

We make use of Axway's API gateway API management tool. Its integration with middle wear is similar to ESB. We provide integrations as we are a swift services bureau. We've got customers that are banks and in some use cases. We integrate these banks with their own back office and we tend to provide integration for that. We also make use of the solution to build a marketplace of financial services, which is basically our own solution. For other customers, we do integration of the various source systems, back-office systems, legacy systems, etc. We also do file transformation where we take… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "There's drag and drop functionality so that you do not need to have a senior expert developer to make use of the tool. You can get more of your staff trained up to be able to use it as it's not overly technical."
  • "The installation process is a bit complex and it could be a lot simpler."

What other advice do I have?

We're largely a customer, although we are consultants and refer Axway often. While we use the solution's cloud deployment model, we also engage with the on-premises version as well. I'd advise other companies considering a solution like this to first go and determine their strategy around APIs in their business. That's really important. There needs to be a plan around how a company is going to manage APIs. A business needs to ask itself: What is the digital transformation strategy? They need to approach this as a strategic investment and already have some strategy behind it. It really is core…
integarch67
Integration Architect / Specialist at a tech services company with 11-50 employees
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Jul 23, 2019
Good API portal capabilities but their technical support is lacking

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use for the solution is providing APIs to external parties through communication protocols.

Pros and Cons

  • "The API portal capability is a valuable feature."
  • "The product shows a lack of maturity. The setup is difficult, the tech support and community are lacking, and it is not very stable."

What other advice do I have?

On a scale from one to ten, I would rate this product at around a five. Some of the features and capabilities are not as mature as other products on the market, some features are not as easy to use and may be better as the product matures. In my opinion, there are other solutions that are currently better than Axway. As far as giving advice to those considering the product, I suggest doing some pilot projects to check as to whether or not Axway suits your requirements before choosing to deploy.
Learn what your peers think about Axway AMPLIFY API Management. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: January 2021.
455,301 professionals have used our research since 2012.
reviewer1131465
Owner at a tech services company
Real User
Sep 26, 2019
Provides excellent control over management of APIs and API exposure

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use for this product is to control how we expose APIs.

Pros and Cons

  • "This product is a ten when it comes to API management."
  • "Team management capabilities could be improved."

What other advice do I have?

If I were a team going to deploy this solution now, I would probably deploy it using the newer containerized solutions for better flexibility. On a scale from one to ten where one is the worst and ten is the best, I would rate this product as a ten. It does everything that we expect it to do and is developing features to match innovation in technology.
reviewer904287
Digital Enterprise Architect at a energy/utilities company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Oct 2, 2019
Good API response time, but the scalability needs improvement

What is our primary use case?

We use this solution to offer API for our on-premises environment applications, as well as API from a cloud perspective. We have a hybrid-cloud deployment model. This is a SaaS platform and it is running permanently.

Pros and Cons

  • "The administration tool for this solution is good."
  • "This solution does have some limitations regarding the deployment model."

What other advice do I have?

This is a good product, but we need to work outside of our single region. I would rate this solution a seven out of ten.
Leandro Barbosa
Product Management at edi-labs sistemas
Real User
Top 20
Jan 13, 2021
A flexible solution with a useful portal for documentation

What is our primary use case?

We use Axway AMPLIFY API Management for bank payments and bank transactions.

Pros and Cons

  • "We like the portal for documentation a lot."
  • "The portal still has room for improvement."

What other advice do I have?

I would recommend Axway AMPLIFY API Management for scalability and for how it's open for customizations. We can customize it to accomplish your specific needs, like the look and feel. But we still have some issues when we do a lot of customization and when migrating from one version to another. On a scale from one to ten, I would give Axway AMPLIFY API Management a nine.
reviewer1160367
Director, Head of Transformation at a financial services firm with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Oct 30, 2020
Gives us quick engagement but is expensive

What is our primary use case?

We use it as a transport mechanism.

Pros and Cons

  • "I don't believe the Salesforce has been fully utilized yet. It gives us quick engagement."
  • "It would be great if they have an asset report. It's hard to get support for that."

What other advice do I have?

You should have an understanding of the capability of the API. MuleSoft has a very straightforward and good framework that allows the customer to follow through. They understand how we can create and maximize capability in many ways. With Axway, if you start to use and understand it, then you are able to enhance it. However, that needs time to develop. It also takes a lot of time to actually bring it up to the principal site. I would rate Axway a seven out of ten. Not a ten because of the pricing and technical support.
Product Categories
API Management
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Axway AMPLIFY API Management Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.