Birst Overview

What is Birst?

Birst Networked BI and Analytics eliminates information silos. Decentralized users can augment the enterprise data model virtually, as opposed to physically, without compromising data governance.

A unified semantic layer maintains common definitions and key metrics.
Birst’s two-tier architecture aligns back-end sources with line-of-business or local data. Birst’s Automated Data Refinement extracts data from any source into a unified semantic layer. Users are enabled with self-service analytics through executive dashboards, reporting, visual discovery, mobile tools, and predictive analytics. Birst Open Client Interface also offers integration with Tableau, Excel and R.

Birst goes to market in two primary ways: as a direct sale, for enterprises using Birst on internal data to manage their business; and embedded, for companies who offer analytic products, by embedding and white-labeling Birst capabilities into their products.

Birst’s is packaged in 3 available formats: Platform and per-user fee; by Department or Business Unit; by end-customer (for embedded scenarios).

Birst Buyer's Guide

Download the Birst Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: January 2021

Birst Customers

Citrix Systems, Jive Software, SunnyD, Toshiba Medical Systems, Cisco OpenDNS, RB, Sunny D, Vertafore

Birst Video

Birst Archived Reviews (More than two years old)

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Sreenivas K
Principal Engineering Manager I at a computer software company with 201-500 employees
Vendor
Sep 12, 2017
Offers dashboards and self-service reports. The report performance is very slow.

Pros and Cons

  • "Dashboards and self-service reports. These are widely used by customers in the EPM domain."
  • "Customer support takes lot of time to get a solution."

What other advice do I have?

Take the HTML version. I heard that it offers good performance.
it_user566175
Director BI Services at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
Consultant
May 9, 2017
Provides ETL, connectivity, report, and dashboard tools.

What other advice do I have?

If you are serious about a cloud-based BI solution, then Birst has great value. This option will help your enterprise reduce costs and create a ‘one version of the truth’ report and a data warehousing solution. If you are looking for a solution that replicates the creation of thousands of lists/reports, then Cloud BI is not really the solution.
Find out what your peers are saying about Infor, Microsoft, Tableau and others in Reporting Tools. Updated: January 2021.
455,301 professionals have used our research since 2012.
it_user653898
Manager Data Services at a logistics company with 201-500 employees
Real User
Top 20
May 8, 2017
The creation of the meta-data layer has been well though out.

What other advice do I have?

Fantastic user community. We use it daily for advice or to offer advice. Birst employees regularly add information, tips or tricks. The best user community we've ever been involved in.
it_user653208
Senior Software Engineer at a healthcare company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Vendor
May 8, 2017
The admin module helps standardize data.
Rick Hutchinson
Product Manager at a tech vendor
Real User
May 8, 2017
The dashboards and Visualizer are valuable.
it_user547323
Sr. Business Intelligence Consultant at Avantas, LLC
Vendor
Apr 6, 2017
We deploy dashboards using the integrated data warehousing and visualization abilities. Setup is complex.

What other advice do I have?

I would suggest the below: * Clarity on end goals * User perspective and utilization * Medium of delivery to the user * Availability of internal/resident admin(s) for Birst networking and data modeling * Availability of Birst professional services * Thorough vetting of existing feature set v/s critical business needs
it_user538233
Business Intelligence Consultant at a tech company with 51-200 employees
Vendor
Mar 23, 2017
I like the single suite module from ETL for reporting and dashboards.

What other advice do I have?

It depends on what they purchase. If it is an appliance, then go with AWS.
it_user25359
Sr. Manager of Enterprise Applications with 501-1,000 employees
Vendor
Mar 6, 2017
Provides analytic consolidation. The ETL needs a graphical processing interface.

What other advice do I have?

I would recommend using an expert third-party partner to assist in the implementation rather than using Birst Professional Services.
it_user560286
Software Engineer – BI Analyst at a recruiting/HR firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
Vendor
Mar 3, 2017
Creates formulas, custom calculations, and ETL jobs. We do not use it anymore as it did not meet our needs.

What other advice do I have?

Birst is a great tool for: * Creating a simple data warehouse * Uploading data for quick analysis, visualizations, and dashboards It is not a great tool to integrate into an enterprise level application.
it_user562521
Sr. Tech Specialist/ DBA/BI Developer at a educational organization with 501-1,000 employees
Vendor
Feb 28, 2017
The user can view a product usage dashboard within the SFDC. I would like to see improvements in the UI.

What other advice do I have?

I would suggest they use something else instead.
it_user562548
Business Intelligence Consultant and Birst Expert at a tech consulting company with 51-200 employees
Consultant
Feb 27, 2017
Creates visualizations, validates the data, and builds custom charts.

What other advice do I have?

Always start from the value based design that Birst depends on. It will help you first define the problem and then understand the data. After this, the process of enabling Birst will be much quicker and enjoyable.
it_user560217
Fp&A And Reporting Manager at a healthcare company with 501-1,000 employees
Vendor
Feb 23, 2017
Allows us to join our data sources into one place. I would like to see better training.

What other advice do I have?

Make sure you have cleaned up your data before starting a project like this. Also, clearly define your use cases. Don't try to bite off too much at the start. Think in terms of quick wins.
it_user541284
Technical Specialist at a tech services company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Consultant
Feb 23, 2017
Cloud based reporting tool for small scale organizations. We do not have access to its servers and it is slow at times.

What other advice do I have?

Birst is only good for small scale organizations which have to deal with less data.
it_user573501
Regional Marketing Communications & Campaigns Manager at a retailer with 1,001-5,000 employees
Vendor
Feb 20, 2017
The dashboard tool gave a quick customizable overview of data. I need to hide the data while I put a report together because it would load too slowly.

What other advice do I have?

It's quite a powerful tool, i.e., if all the data you need can be integrated properly.
it_user575829
Business Intelligence Manager at a real estate/law firm with 501-1,000 employees
Vendor
Feb 20, 2017
Allows us to build and deploy analytical models. We can build a fact model to perform standard data modeling.

What other advice do I have?

Ensure that you fully understand BI and enterprise data warehouse architecture.
it_user560265
Lead, Analytics Global Enterprise & Government at a comms service provider with 10,001+ employees
Vendor
Jan 31, 2017
Provides the ability to create an end-to-end BI solution using a single software stack product.

What other advice do I have?

When considering the entry cost, you need to take into account the cloud architectural component. There will be no further infrastructure costs; hence, it can actually end up to be a cheaper option. You should also review the competitors in terms of the end-to-end architecture. Many competitors will claim to have an end-to-end solution, when in reality there will be a highly manual (command line) facility built-in. Birst has been developed from the ground up to be a true end-to-end BI / analytics product. There are zero additional software requirements in order to create an enterprise-wide /…
it_user535434
Manager - Presales and Solutions at a tech services company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Consultant
Nov 24, 2016
With single-window development, there is no need to maintain or install multiple tools for metadata, reports development and service management.

What other advice do I have?

It is important to identify a use case and deliver business benefits. Then gradually, you can expand to users (or other use cases) in different functions and shorter sprints.
it_user551520
Senior Data Engineer at a tech company with 5,001-10,000 employees
Vendor
Nov 15, 2016
Dashboard scheduling is valuable. Frequent timeouts should be resolved.

What other advice do I have?

There is no doubt that Birst possesses great abilities. However, it becomes too time consuming to understand and implement this product. It is important to decide the main criteria for selecting this tool whether just as a dashboard function or to provide start to end solutions from ETL to visualization. This product requires users to come out of their comfort zone and explore it.
it_user529317
Senior BI Specialist at a tech company with 10,001+ employees
MSP
Oct 11, 2016
It can be set up in cloud-based systems. The user interface is fully browser-based.

What other advice do I have?

Check your needs, what actually is required and what kind of data you have. Then look into Birst and similar products for the most suitable to _your_ needs.
it_user526302
Director of Enterprise Data Architecture at a tech services company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Consultant
Oct 5, 2016
Analysts used it build visualizations for presentations to senior management. Performance was not that great; in-memory processing would help.

What other advice do I have?

If you are looking for a cloud-based, lightweight data mart and reporting, this tool is good.