BMC TrueSight Operations Management Overview

BMC TrueSight Operations Management is the #2 ranked solution in our list of top Event Monitoring tools. It is most often compared to Splunk: BMC TrueSight Operations Management vs Splunk

What is BMC TrueSight Operations Management?

TrueSight Operations Management is a broad ITOM solution that delivers performance monitoring, event management, end user experience management, AIOps use cases and automated remediation and ticketing . It deploys machine learning and analytics to dynamically learn behavior, correlate, analyze, and prioritize event data so IT operations teams can predict, find and fix issues faster across complex, hybrid environments. TrueSight Operations Management provides a converged view of application and infrastructure performance across physical, virtual, multi-cloud and container environments. With visibility into web, mobile, and on-premises applications, TrueSight provides the insight IT operations needs to deliver high-quality digital services quickly and effectively enough to keep pace with business demands. TrueSight helps IT to ensure that the applications and services that drive the business continue to perform optimally by examining operational norms, automatically revealing abnormalities, measuring service impact, and proactively identifying risk.

BMC TrueSight Operations Management is also known as ProactiveNet, TrueSight Operations Management.

BMC TrueSight Operations Management Buyer's Guide

Download the BMC TrueSight Operations Management Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: March 2021

BMC TrueSight Operations Management Customers

Ensono, Transamerica, Boston Scientific, Park Place Technologies, inContact, TD Ameritrade, PNC Bank

BMC TrueSight Operations Management Video

BMC TrueSight Operations Management Archived Reviews (More than two years old)

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
it_user814440
Lead Engineer at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
Real User
Mar 5, 2018
Proactive monitoring helps minimize downtime, although requires lots of servers

How has it helped my organization?

It helps to minimize downtime of applications by enabling proactive monitoring.

What is most valuable?

Wide support for monitoring Strong event management Service management capability Baselining (analytics) Easy to integrate other tools with it

What needs improvement?

Deployment requires lots of resources (servers). It has too many consoles. Pricing is very high.

For how long have I used the solution?

More than five years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

No stability issues. We can make it stable by allocating enough resources.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

No issues with scalability. We can increase resources vertically, according to growth in infrastructure.

How are customer service

it_user729186
It Consultant at a tech services company with 11-50 employees
Consultant
Jan 31, 2018
Eases cross launch between multiple tools and improved monitoring views and dashboards

What is our primary use case?

Performance and Availability monitoring. Putting all the infrastructure and application and various monitoring into a Service Context for Service Monitoring.

Pros and Cons

  • "It provides common administration, and a Single Sign-On Platform with RBAC, which eases the cross launch between multiple tools"

    What other advice do I have?

    It is quite an efficient tool. There are continuous improvements being performed to satisfy the customer needs, but like any other tool or automation, it has some issues. TrueSight offers a global solution with possibility of end to end integration.
    Learn what your peers think about BMC TrueSight Operations Management. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: March 2021.
    465,891 professionals have used our research since 2012.
    it_user790722
    Senior Performance Analyst and BMC ProactiveNet administrator at a government with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    Jan 18, 2018
    The tailoring of the knowledge modules has been particularly useful

    What is our primary use case?

    Monitoring applications and servers. We also monitor individual pieces of management software, like WebLogic.

    How has it helped my organization?

    Proactively monitoring 24/7/365 on all of our servers. This allows technical staff to focus on other areas and our operators can monitor the systems.

    What is most valuable?

    The tailoring of the knowledge modules has been particularly useful as I can streamline the agents to only report on critical events.

    What needs improvement?

    The knowledge modules could be more lightweight in size. At present, the installation packages can be quite large.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    One to three years.
    it_user802980
    Senior Software Engineer with 201-500 employees
    Vendor
    Jan 17, 2018
    Online documentation is often incorrect/incomplete. It is helpful to be able to apply rule-based routing to alerts.

    What is our primary use case?

    We utilize BMC TSOM to monitor our entire infrastructure and all applications that lie therein. Our infrastructure is hosted both in our datacenters and in cloud hosted services (AWS and Azure).

    Pros and Cons

    • "It is very helpful to be able to apply rule-based routing to alerts."
    • "TSOM's ability to consolidate alerts into a single location and provide filtering of alerts is great."
    • "It has provided us with a single location to host all events to be viewed/monitored by our NOC. This has greatly helped them to streamline their processes."
    • "BMC's solutions for cloud monitoring (monitoring of AWS and Azure resources) are very poor in stability and customization."
    • "BMC's online documentation is often incorrect or incomplete."
    Benjamin McKrill
    Enterprise Monitoring Automation Engineer at a healthcare company with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    Top 20
    Jan 16, 2018
    Allows our operations team to have one single application to reference when investigating issues in our environment

    What is our primary use case?

    We utilize BMC TrueSight Operations Management to proactively monitor all of our physical and virtual server environments. Coupled with Entuity for TrueSight Operations Management, we can have a holistic view of our Network and Server environments health in a single pane of glass.

    How has it helped my organization?

    It allows our operations team to have one single application to reference when investigating issues in our environment.

    What is most valuable?

    Signature baselines, which have allowed us to fine tune many of our events and significantly reduce the number of events generated.

    What needs improvement?

    I would really like to see out-of-the-box support for monitoring uninterruptible power supplies.
    it_user790770
    Enterprise Monitoring Automation Administrator at a healthcare company with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    Dec 27, 2017
    We can verify uptimes as another source of keeping devices in compliance

    What is our primary use case?

    We use it to scan and monitor our server environment. This allows us to monitor devices which are introduced as they are spun up, to see that there are no unknown devices, then we can verify uptimes as well as patching as another source of keeping devices in compliance.

    How has it helped my organization?

    Allows reliable access to server hardware info, uptime statuses, current patching, and much more. This allows us to make sure we have an updated inventory, as we feed this into our inventory system along with info from Atrium CMDB.

    What is most valuable?

    The ability to pull hosts together to show what processes are running, so it can be used for change management.

    What needs improvement?

    More modules for less popular applications and better…
    it_user599178
    Project Manager with 51-200 employees
    Vendor
    Jun 26, 2017
    The ability to fulfill the role as a manager of managers is fantastic. We integrated a number of other monitoring tools into BMC.​

    Pros and Cons

    • "I believe that the ease of use and UI is great"
    • "I think the ease of deployment needs to be looked at. It would be great if the deployment was faster and easier."

    What other advice do I have?

    My advice would be do not cut on the planning time as well as testing time, UAT, SIT as well as FIT. Also make sure that you have the correct infrastructure in place and also cater for the intended growth.
    it_user441549
    CEO at a tech services company
    Consultant
    Mar 22, 2017
    Before choosing this product, we evaluated other options, and we still do. Mainly, it ends in a mixture of tools, and using open source-based tools reporting up into it.

    Pros and Cons

    • "The Event Management is outstanding; still is the most interesting part of the product."
    • "The sizing (which is difficult), the maintenance of it and the upgrade paths. This is a difficult area which is not easy to cover, as every client has a different approach of implementing the product."

    What other advice do I have?

    Estimate enough time for the implementation. Never trust anyone who tells you that you will be finished in three months. Calculate at least one year for all tasks.
    it_user145239
    Performance Management Consultant with 51-200 employees
    Vendor
    Oct 30, 2014
    BMC BPPM Architecture Size Scale and Capacity Introduction
    BMC BPPM Architecture v9.5 – Lean, Mean, Analytics-Crunching Machine BMC released the latest update to its ProactiveNet Performance Management (BPPM) suite in January of this year. The BPPM 9.5 Sizing and Scalability upgrade represents a tremendous increase in capacity without associated new hardware cost. If you’re introducing BPPM for the first time, you will, of course, have to buy hardware, but if you’re upgrading from a prior version to 9.5, you can receive 9.5’s many benefits and enhancements without paying for any new hardware. In fact, you may actually be able to reduce your hardware footprint. You’ll be able to gain the new abilities and new capacity now by deploying 9.5. Check out for our “Size, Scale and Hardware” presentation, where we will show you some enterprise examples of…
    it_user145239
    Performance Management Consultant with 51-200 employees
    Vendor
    Oct 20, 2014
    Introducing the BMC BPPM 9.5 Central Monitoring Admin Policy Console
    BMC Patrol Agent Configuration Automation using the (TrueSight) BPPM Central Monitoring Administration Console (CMA) Have you ever been frustrated to discover that your monitoring failed because one of your Patrol agents isn’t configured correctly? After you investigated you were told that someone sent you an email or called and left a voice mail, telling you it some set of systems was ready for monitoring, and you didn’t get them. Everyone knows how adequate email and phone messages are right? Communication breakdowns involving your Patrol Agent infrastructure are nothing new. They’ve been around for many many years. I know them very well. Everyone is very busy, and that only compounds the problem. There are so many things that can go wrong with keeping all your agents…
    it_user145239
    Performance Management Consultant with 51-200 employees
    Vendor
    Sep 19, 2014
    Start Using BPPM Analytics, Signature and Intelligent Thresholds and get rid of false alerts
    Start using BPPM Analytics and become a monitoring genius! Performance Management of your business services requires an ability to understand past behavior of all your key monitoring components. Do you know if your current alert thresholds are the result of a persons’ quick guess or assumption? Does your monitoring repeatedly generate large amounts of false alerts, and you find yourself struggling to find a solution? Once you understand how BMC’s BPPM Analytics works, using Signature Thresholds andIntelligent Thresholds, you’ll have just what you need to look like a monitoring genius. Doing what you’ve done before, will not work for you, going forward It was not long ago, when everyone had to rely on guesses or assumptions, for specifying alert thresholds. When enterprises consisted of…
    it_user76896
    BMC TrueSight & PATROL Consultant at World Opus Technologies
    Vendor
    Dec 28, 2013
    Before implementing consider: Scalability, High Availability, Implementation Repeatability and Standardization
    BPPM Implementation Considerations Part 1: Meet your business requirements Three years after BMC ProactiveNet Performance Management (BPPM) is released, now most BPPM customers reached a conclusion that BPPM implementation is more than just software installation. But what make a BPPM implementation a successful one? What do you need to consider before diving into installation details? "BPPM Implementation Consideration" blog series will try to address several important considerations at requirement level and architecture level. Implementing BPPM is a lot like building a house. Many considerations at requirement level and architecture level are like the foundation of the house. They need to be determined at the very beginning. The most important consideration in…
    it_user76911
    Technical Account Manager at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
    MSP
    Dec 26, 2013
    Benefits include Reduced Cost, Improved Availability and Service Quality

    What other advice do I have?

    This is the best product so far I have ever experienced.
    it_user76911
    Technical Account Manager at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
    MSP
    Dec 26, 2013
    BPPM - Movement of Oracle Database from a RAC to a Standalone.
    Hi Everyone, I would like to share one of my experience in a Project where we have a Scenario of moving our BPPM Oracle RAC Database Instance to a Oracle Standalone Database Instance. We just have backup of our RAC Database kept with all data in it. We have restored the DB Backup from RAC to Standalone Oracle DB instance. Further to this we have made changes in pronet.conf file over BPPM Application Server. We need to replace the enteries of Oracle RAC with Oracle Standalone Instance. While doing these changes keep BPPM Application Server completely down. RAC Instance Enteries which needs to be removed. pronet.api.database.oracle.rac=true pronet.api.database.oracle.rac.count=1 pronet.api.database.oracle.rac.host.1=abc.xxx.com pronet.api.database.oracle.rac.port.1=1655…
    it_user7950
    Consultant at a tech consulting company with 51-200 employees
    Consultant
    Nov 20, 2013
    BPPM has the potential to be a market beating product however, the investment required is significant
    This article is a review of BMC ProactiveNet Performance Manager (BPPM) version 8.6 and its key sub-components. The main key sub-components include: > ProactiveNet Analytics > ProactiveNet Event Management (formerly Mastercell) > ProactiveNet Performance Manager (i.e. PATROL) Versions Reviewed Component Version BPPM Event Manager 8.6 BPPM Analytics 8.6 PATROL Central 7.8.10 PATROL Central Operator – Web Edition 7.8.10 PATROL Agent 3.9.00.1i PATROL for UNIX Servers 9.10.00.02 Key Capabilities Event Management BPPM Event Management (previously known as Mastercell or BEM) is the component that replaces PATROL Enterprise Manager or PEM (previously known as…
    it_user67758
    Consultant with 51-200 employees
    Vendor
    Nov 6, 2013
    TM ART to BPPM Integration – Tips and Tricks
    If you’ve been reading this blog, you probably know that BMC ProactiveNet Performance Manager (BPPM) is a centralized event management system that acts as a single-pane-of-glass for many IT Operations teams as well as other functional groups within IT organizations. BPPM attempts to bring together as much information as possible about the health of an IT organization from external tools to get an overall view of the environment. One good way to measure the overall health of a complex system with many moving parts is by injecting synthetic transactions and measuring their response time. BMC Transaction Management Application Response Time (TM ART) is a tool that does just that. It runs scheduled synthetic transactions from remote locations against business…
    it_user67758
    Consultant with 51-200 employees
    Vendor
    Oct 30, 2013
    Upgrading BPPM – Is it too late?
    Your monitoring tools need to work properly, and to accomplish that, they must be upgraded periodically. With your mountain of issues, horse-choking responsibilities, and meetings out the wazoo, it’s easy to miss upgrade deadlines. But, you still need to know that the right information about the status of your environment is reaching the right person at the right time, every time. Those upgrades keep your service performance consistent and operating smoothly. BPPM Upgrades If you’re using BMC’s ProactiveNet Performance Management (BPPM) software, you know that regular upgrades are necessary to keep this flagship product working effectively. Each version since 7.7 in 2005 has needed a significant upgrade to reach the latest generally available (GA) version which is…
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free BMC TrueSight Operations Management Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.