Check Point UTM-1 [EOL] Overview

What is Check Point UTM-1 [EOL]?
Check Point UTM-1 delivers proven, best-in-class security ideal for use in industrial Ethernet and SCADA environments. Robust performance and central management provide unmatched value in a simple, all-in-one solution.
Check Point UTM-1 [EOL] Buyer's Guide

Download the Check Point UTM-1 [EOL] Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: January 2021

Check Point UTM-1 [EOL] Customers
AccessIT Group Inc., Accuvant, Cadre Computer Resources Inc., Compuquip Technologies Inc, Dimension Data North America Inc., Forsythe Solutions Group, Gotham Technology Group LLC, GuidePoint Security LLC, Iovations, IPS
Check Point UTM-1 [EOL] Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about Check Point UTM-1 [EOL] pricing:
  • "This cost is between 3,000 and 5,000 euros per year, so some other solutions are cheaper and the pricing should be improved."
  • "The pricing is too high."

Check Point UTM-1 [EOL] Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Adriano-Simao
IT System Integrator at a financial services firm with 201-500 employees
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Jul 3, 2019
We can create a domain to separate and segregate functions and services

What is our primary use case?

We use it as a perimeter firewall. We need to put all the security inside of our data center and Check Point was the first option to use it as the firewall in order to offer all of our services via the internet.

Pros and Cons

  • "We can create a domain to separate and segregate some functions, some services."
  • "As we don't have a representative of Check Point in Mozambique, this makes it very difficult when we have some issues to resolve."

What other advice do I have?

If we're talking about value, in my opinion, the financial institutions are the companies that I see that can use this most. I like it because it's user-friendly. You can use it without a lot of complexity. Of course, I sent my staff for training but only to guarantee that they are certified to use it. I would suggest you first go for training before you implement the solution. I would rate this solution 9 out of 10. It was very easy for us to implement this solution. And this has all the features that we need to use it. Of course, people say that FortiGate, in comparison, is easier than this…
GoumouFerdinand
Security Engineer at Socitech SA
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Jul 11, 2019
Ease to manage and connect to other solutions

Pros and Cons

  • "The solution is very robust."
  • "The solution should be more user-friendly."

What other advice do I have?

In 2017 I passed the exam, so I'm a certified Check Point administration user. Technology-wise, I think Check Point is more robust than FortiGate. Since I have installed the solution everything is working very great. It is easy to configure a Check Point solution with a different operating system. That is one thing I really like about it. And that is not as easy with FortiGate or other solutions. I would advise people to try Check Point because you cannot know how great is until you try it. I recommend that you try it once, and then you will definitely see the difference between Check Point…
Learn what your peers think about Check Point UTM-1 [EOL]. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: January 2021.
457,209 professionals have used our research since 2012.
PedroCunha
CISO at Timestamp SGS
Real User
Top 20
Jul 12, 2019
Supports several Blades on the same appliance, but expensive for smaller companies

Pros and Cons

  • "The UTM platform has been the most valuable."
  • "Specifically on the user experience, sometimes the set up of things, such as the VPN SSL, takes a lot of time to load and a lot of time to get up and running on every session."

What other advice do I have?

My only recommendation is to get proper sizing of the company or of the environment they're in and to decide if they are going for two layers of firewalls or only one layer. That's the major difference between implementations. You should start small because of the amount of money. If you have the constraints of buying an appliance that would not suit some VPN constraints or IPSec tunnels that the company might require and if you're going on different layers or implementing more than one layer of firewall, you are spreading the load between them and that's the main issue. That's on top of the…
Dcenterops677
Data Center Operations at a tech services company with 201-500 employees
Real User
Jul 23, 2019
Good filtering features but has terrible technical support

What is our primary use case?

We were developing something called a remote monitoring center and we wanted to have many plans logging into and having a VPN connection to their networks.

Pros and Cons

  • "The filtering was very good."
  • "Technical support was very bad because the supplier who sold it to us, wasn't very supportive, and he wouldn't giving us direct links to the OEM."

What other advice do I have?

We've actually stopped using it. We switched to FortiGate because we had side to side VPNs that were are actually bringing issues with the UTM itself, so we had to swap it over. I would rate the overall solution a six out of 10. There's room for improvement. I think it has the potential to do so much, but it is limited to some features. Or maybe it didn't serve my purpose as I expected it to. That's why I now think there is a bit of reservation on my end for using the product. In terms of advice, I'd say that anyone going with the solution should really know the product before they purchase…
RSSI677
RSSI at a legal firm with 501-1,000 employees
Real User
Jul 4, 2019
Enables us to log all details and troubleshoot when a problem occurs

What is our primary use case?

We primarily use the solution as a firewall function for levels 3 and 4.

Pros and Cons

  • "The most valuable feature for us was to implement negligent functionality, to direct functionality to viewer control and application control so we could disconnect, and at the same time, we installed checkpoints. We disconnected our proxy."
  • "The solution could be improved if there was a better way to report. The reporting functionality is not really good. Even though it's not the major function. Maybe adding a way to make a custom report."

What other advice do I have?

I would always recommend the product. The only reason why we switched from Check Point, in fact, to Fortinet, is because we have a remote site in Algeria. There's an embargo. We cannot import Check Point products in Algeria. I would rate this product 8 out of 10. Ten means perfect to me and no product is perfect.
Mukesh_Sharma
System Administrator at The LNM Institute of Information Technology
Real User
Top 10
Apr 9, 2019
We were able to secure our GPS, email, and Internet settings

What is our primary use case?

The primary use case is for the security gateway.

How has it helped my organization?

We were able to secure our GPS, email, and Internet settings.

What is most valuable?

The databases and its signatures are its most important features.

What needs improvement?

Some improvement is required to addition feature to set data and concurrent session limit of each user. Currently, there is no option . Check Point should include a DNS server as a feature as additional advantage.

For how long have I used the solution?

One to three years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

It is stable. We have two staff maintaining the solution.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

It is scalable. We can increase users.…