Cisco Data Center Network Manager Reviews

Cisco Data Center Network Manager is the #28 ranked solution of our top Network Monitoring Software tools. It's rated 3.9 out of 5 stars, and is most commonly compared to SolarWinds NPM - Cisco Data Center Network Manager vs SolarWinds NPM

Filter by:
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
HongFang
Consultant
Solution Consultant at a comms service provider with 1,001-5,000 employees
Jan 14 2020

What is most valuable?

For our purposes, excellent stability is the most valuable feature because we provide services for clients who need a dependable solution.

What needs improvement?

I would like to see improved integration with other tools. It would be nice to have the ability to more easily collect information from other software when doing some types of analysis.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

The product is licensed with contracts that work on a yearly basis rather than a monthly model.

What other advice do I have?

On a scale from one to ten where one is the worst and ten is the best, I would rate Cisco Data Center Network Manager as an eight-out-of-ten. Maybe even a nine-out-of-ten. It is a very good product but every product can be improved. The documentation for this product can certainly be improved, for… more »
Real User
Project Manager with 201-500 employees
Sep 16 2020

What is most valuable?

The most valuable feature is the connectivity monitoring.

How has it helped my organization?

most of our Enterprise business clients use CISCO for their network connections. This has made things to be easier from our organization

What needs improvement?

Sometimes the product gives us problems that require support. There are still several things that need to be done in order to perfect this solution.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

Value for money. go for the product that's worth it for your organization. in that case, I strongly recommend CISCO

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

No

What other advice do I have?

At this point, I am happy with this product and I would recommend it. I will only switch if somebody comes out with one that is much better. In general, this is a good… more »

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

No
Find out what your peers are saying about Cisco, SolarWinds, Paessler AG and others in Network Monitoring Software. Updated: September 2020.
438,246 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Ashraf-Sadek
Reseller
CSD Manager at BTC
Oct 24 2019

What is most valuable?

I like that is easy to work on and straightforward.

What needs improvement?

The configuration is too complicated and you have to create templates and use a lot of menus. They need to make it simpler.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

We normally use Cisco products, like Cisco Management. I have a variance with SolarWinds and EIGRP (Enhanced Interior Gateway Routing Protocol). But we try to choose the same product from the same window from Cisco, and now we are trying to provide the same network for the management.

What other advice do I have?

This solution is the easiest and most straightforward. We would recommend it for sure. I would like to see more product devices and have the full software to the Data Center Management product to purchase. This is because the Data Center Network Manager doesn't support every product of Cisco. On a… more »
Ahmed Nagm
Reseller
IT Solution Consultant at PCS
Apr 16 2020

What is most valuable?

The monitoring system in this product is valuable. It provides a clear indication of what's going on in the network and the server processing, power, etc. User interface is also very good, very informative.

What needs improvement?

It's a relatively expensive product for some clients so perhaps improvement could be made in that area. In terms of product improvement, I don't have any recommendations. I'm happy with the product as is.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

I believe cost for the product is below 5,000K.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

I've used HP in the past, but it's for enterprise companies so not comparable to Network Manager.

What other advice do I have?

I would recommend Network Manager for small and medium scale companies. When it comes to larger scale companies, you would need to look at HP. I would rate this product a nine out of 10.
Real User
Solutions Architect at a comms service provider with 1,001-5,000 employees
Sep 25 2019

What do you think of Cisco Data Center Network Manager?

What is our primary use case?

The primary use case of this solution is to manage our customer's storage network, collect their data, and to back up their data.  Customers want us to monitor the data samples, or they may request that we do some management of the network devices. The deployment model we are using is a stand-alone, on-premises. For each site, they had six different types and for all of them, we used only one Data Centre Manager.

What needs improvement?

In the next release, I would like to see it merged with Prime and I think that it should be more unified.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been using this solution for almost twelve years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

This solution is quite stable. After installation, you…
Real User
IT Manager Network at a transportation company with 10,001+ employees
Jul 26 2020

What is most valuable?

There are many valuable features in this solution: The automation of the ILS, the automation of the small changes, the lands updates, scheduling, integration - basically, the pushing of features that we used to do manually. It's a good product.

What needs improvement?

The robustness in the API could be improved. I also think Cisco could look into reducing the pricing of the solution.

What other advice do I have?

Any company needs to understand that it requires a commitment, the need to employ somebody who's a specialist, who understands and can manage the portal itself. If you do that, there are many benefits to be had. I would rate this solution an eight out of 10.
Real User
IT Manager at a pharma/biotech company with 11-50 employees
Oct 07 2019

What do you think of Cisco Data Center Network Manager?

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use case of this solution is for network monitoring and security components.

What is most valuable?

The feature I find most valuable is the stability of the solution.

What needs improvement?

It is not very easy to monitor or to browse. I would like to see an improvement in the interface. I would also like to see more feedback options.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been using Cisco Data Center Network for two years now on-prem.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

The solution is very stable and it has never crashed on us.

How was the initial setup?

The setup and installation of Cisco is very easy.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

The solution is very expensive.  …

What is Cisco Data Center Network Manager?

Cisco Data Center Network Manager (DCNM) is designed to help you efficiently implement, visualize, and manage Cisco Unified Fabric. It includes a comprehensive feature set, along with a customizable dashboard that provides enhanced visibility and automated fabric provisioning of dynamic data centers.
Also known as
Data Center Network Manager
Cisco Data Center Network Manager customers
Banco de Guayaquil, Cox Communications, Kuwait Petroleum Italia, Roper St. Francis, University of British Columbia
Read Archived Reviews