Cisco IOS SSL VPN Overview

Cisco IOS SSL VPN is the #1 ranked solution in our list of top SSL VPN tools. It is most often compared to Pulse Connect Secure: Cisco IOS SSL VPN vs Pulse Connect Secure

What is Cisco IOS SSL VPN?
Cisco SSL VPN solutions help you easily and securely extend the network to users who have access to the Internet and a web browser. You can customize access and extend the reach of your corporate network to individuals based on their roles, including teleworker contractors and business partners.

Cisco IOS SSL VPN is also known as Cisco SSL VPN .

Cisco IOS SSL VPN Buyer's Guide

Download the Cisco IOS SSL VPN Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: February 2021

Cisco IOS SSL VPN Customers
MST Systems
Cisco IOS SSL VPN Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about Cisco IOS SSL VPN pricing:
  • "There are no pricing programs for non-profit organizations and the product is otherwise expensive by comparison."
  • "I would say it is a bit expensive, but I think it is worth the price."

Cisco IOS SSL VPN Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
reviewer900207
ITC Administrator at a non-profit with 11-50 employees
Real User
Oct 27, 2019
Stable solution that provides secure access to your network and applications

What is our primary use case?

We use Cisco SSL VPN mostly as a secure way to access our business applications remotely.

Pros and Cons

  • "A reliable and stable solution for remote network access."
  • "The pricing is a stumbling block to scaling our utilization of Cisco products and we would prefer to use more of them."

What other advice do I have?

Cisco does have really good products and good services but pricing is not allowing us to take advantage of their enterprise solutions. On a scale from one to ten where one is the worst and ten is the best, I think Cisco SSL VPN is an 8.
HenriGeimer
Architect at Devoteam Belgium
Real User
Sep 27, 2019
The management portal is good but the graphical interface needs to improve

Pros and Cons

  • "The feature I find most valuable, is the management portal."
  • "The graphical interface is old and needs to improve."

What other advice do I have?

My advice to others would be that, if they are going in the cloud, they can use other products from the cloud too. In the next version, I would like to see central management, because sometimes you have more than two or three devices. If we can have a solution that can manage all these devices, that will be great. For example, if you need to update one device, you can just do it from one place without having to update all of them separately. On a scale from one to ten, I rate this solution a seven.
Find out what your peers are saying about Cisco, Pulse Secure, Citrix and others in SSL VPN. Updated: February 2021.
464,655 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Simbarashe Mazorodze
Solutions Architect at Terrific Tech
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Oct 10, 2019
It is stable and we find it easy to work on

What is our primary use case?

We use this solution to connect to our LAN, so that our users are able to access the necessary applications that are designed to be used on-premise. We predominantly use Cisco products and we find it very easy for us to use. 

What needs improvement?

I think the administration can be improved to include web interfaces. And I also feel that the deployment of the clients can be better. 

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been using the solution for the past six years now on premise.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

It's a very stable solution and I'd say it works perfectly. The only issue may be ensuring that connectivity between the Cisco Firewall and the access directory should be maintained. 

What do I think about

AsgharHamidi
IT Network Engineer at Brunnel
Real User
Oct 7, 2019
An easy to use solution with good configuration capabilities

What is our primary use case?

I primarily use the solution for remote access for my clients.

What is most valuable?

The solution is very easy to work with. This is its most valuable feature. They also did a good job surrounding how you configure the devices.

What needs improvement?

The solution needs to solve the issues they have with Java. Cisco device management is quite difficult. They should work to simplify this.

For how long have I used the solution?

I've been using the solution for almost four years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

In terms of stability, I think it would be nice if Cisco could manage their Java problem. Sometimes it works and sometimes it requires troubleshooting or you need to take the time to update in order to fix the Java…
MiguelRomero
Founder and CEO at Aerium Proyectos y Consultoría
Real User
Top 20
Oct 24, 2019
The security is effective but the administration needs to improve

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use case of this solution is security. It is very effective and I am satisfied with how it works and with its performance. 

What is most valuable?

The most valuable feature about this solution is that the client can connect from his house to the office. It does, however, take some time to configure.

What needs improvement?

The administration should be improved.

For how long have I used the solution?

I've been using Cisco for many years now, on cloud and on premise, so I am an experienced user.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

The last deployment we did, was for a customer about three months ago. The customer has three branches and we deployed Cisco SSL VPN and I think it is stable.

What do I think about the

reviewer1090668
Information Technology Manager at a real estate/law firm with 51-200 employees
Real User
Sep 28, 2019
Easy to set up and the technical support is very good

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use case of this solution is for business operations.

Pros and Cons

  • "The solution is very stable."
  • "The pricing needs to be better."

What other advice do I have?

Nothing is perfect and my advice to others would be to look at their requirements before they choose a solution. Cisco has been tested and used widely so there are virtually no issues in terms of selecting Cisco. But it's up to each client to determine what they need when it comes to things like trafficking. Additional features that I would like to see included in the next release of Cisco VPN is that it should be compatible with all the devices like mobile devices, laptops, or iPads. On a scale from one to 10, I will rate this solution an eight.
reviewer1194972
Solution Architect at a energy/utilities company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Sep 25, 2019
Reliable, convenient, and easy, it always works if configured well

What is our primary use case?

We use the on-premises deployment model. Our primary use case of this solution is to support remote office workers.

What is most valuable?

The most valuable features are that it's reliable, convenient, and easy. It always works if configured well.

What needs improvement?

I would like for it to have support for the Dutch language. I typically use English in 99% of our communications but for some people, it matters. 

For how long have I used the solution?

I've been using this solution for fifteen years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

Stability is good. 

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

I don't have any issues with scalability. We have around 3,000 users. 

How was the initial setup?

The initial…
Umit Akarsu
Presales Engineer at E-DATA TEKNOLOJİ
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Sep 29, 2019
Stable with good technical support and a good command line interface

What is our primary use case?

The primary use case for this solution is to connect offices to their services through the VPN tunnel. The deployment model we are using is on-premises.

What is most valuable?

It is easy to create. I like to work with the CMD command line because it's easy and it doesn't take very long to configure. It works quickly compared to other solutions.

What needs improvement?

It can be difficult to find service and at times we cannot connect with the internet easily. It should be easier to find an internet connection through vendors. They could have a better internet router solution.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been using this solution for seven years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

This solution is stable. …
See 2 more Cisco IOS SSL VPN Reviews