Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) Overview

Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) is the #1 ranked solution in our list of top Deduplication Software. It is most often compared to HPE StoreOnce: Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) vs HPE StoreOnce

What is Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain)?
EMC Data Domain deduplication storage systems continue to revolutionize disk backup, archiving, and disaster recovery with high-speed, inline deduplication. EMC Data Domain Operating System is intelligence behind EMC Data Domain deduplication storage systems. DD OS powers the industry's most efficient, scalable, reliable, cloud-ready protection storage platform.

Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) is also known as DataDomain, Dell EMC Data Domain, PowerProtect Data Domain.

Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) Buyer's Guide

Download the Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: January 2021

Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) Customers
The US Army, City of Houston, Lloyds TSB, TiVo, Teck, Ingram Entertainment, The New York Mets
Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) pricing:
  • "This is one of the more expensive backup solutions on the market."
  • "There are many options in the pricing structure which can cause some confusion and necessitate the purchase of additional licensing."
  • "In Naira it was twenty-five or twenty-seven million (approximately $75,000 USD) for the implementation and maintenance cost for three years."
  • "Pricing is related to size. A lower range solution might be about $33,000. My customers use higher range versions with a price of around $100,000. That's the price for both the hardware and software."

Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
MohamedDakn
General Manager responsible for IT Infrastructure and Operations at a financial services firm with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Sep 10, 2019
Reliable solution that reduces the time and effort required to manage the system

What is our primary use case?

We primarily used this product as a solution for backups.

Pros and Cons

  • "This is a superior and reliable backup system that can handle large capacities with little management."
  • "The product lacks some security features that would make it more stand-alone and integrated."

What other advice do I have?

Anyone considering using this solution will first need to make a proper assessment of their need for the data storage because this is misleading. Sometimes managers just make a simple assumption that an organization has about 50 terabytes of data and that they don't need more than this for backup. This is not correct. If you look into the whole backup strategy, you will see how frequently you will do backups, how many copies we will need to retain, and the period of days that the data is retained — It will be a specific period of days and the backups will rotate. There should be a retention…
Adrian Constantinescu
Professional Services - Data Protection Consultant at S&T Romania
Consultant
Dec 5, 2020
Very scalable, integrates well with other solutions, and has good security

What is our primary use case?

We primarily use the solution for storage.

Pros and Cons

  • "The solution is very scalable."
  • "The price could be improved."

What other advice do I have?

Dell Avamar is a very good product. We've used it in the past when it was, let's say, one of the first solutions. I believe they offer duplication. Whenever Avamar came on the market, it was a revolutionary application. Right now, however, due to other software solutions not only for Dell EMC but for Avamar, it makes everything very good and also very bad from the sales point of view. With aggressive marketing of products, clients may request the wrong product. Avamar isn't well-positioned in Romania right now. Data Domain is better. When clients ask for certain other products, we try to steer…
Learn what your peers think about Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain). Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: January 2021.
456,812 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Sufyan Khan
Head of Solutions Design & Architecture at New Horizon Computer
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Oct 11, 2020
Great deduplication, robust hardware, and extremely reliable

What is our primary use case?

We primarily use the solution for backup purposes.

Pros and Cons

  • "The hardware can operate in high temperatures, in case of any disaster."
  • "First-time integrations are difficult in NetWorker. NetWorker software needs to be simplified. It's very complex."

What other advice do I have?

We are doing multiple POCs right now. We have already installed it in the banks of Pakistan. We are providing solution architects, support, deployment, and residential services. In early deployments you need to size the backup solution properly and then design it, create it, and export it. Early on, we are sure to always have a delivery of that statement. After delivery, my engineers will be aligned with the Dell EMC CPU, who makes the PDQ chain. That way, we can always patch the required IPs and do those backups as well. We always deploy the bank's backup software, and we'll do the patches…
Ghayur Abbas
Manager Networks & Messaging Systems at TCS
Real User
Top 20
Apr 9, 2019
Very reliable and capable of getting huge data

What is our primary use case?

Currently, we use Dell EMC Data Domain for our back-up requirements. We use Cisco Nexus 5K5540, as our core switches. We use Cisco USC-B as a compute engine. We use Dell EMC storage as our core storage, and all of these products are still in use. We have had a very good experience with all of them. We purchased Data Domain 2500 in 2015 as a primary backup unit. In 2017, we purchased another one, which is the 6300 Data Domain, as our element for the offsite backups. That product is very good. They are both very good in the backup expertise and the installation processes but the issue that we… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "As our organization functions, we have a total of 2500+ primary sites and 6300+ secondary sites. All of our entire backup systems are totally dependent on this product. EMC Data Domain is very reliable and there are no issues using it since 2015."
  • "Dell EMC Data Domain needs to have better compatibility between NetWorker and the hardware. NetWorker is not as good as the other products which are currently on the market like Backup Exec."

What other advice do I have?

If they have the budget, then I would advise any organization that the Dell EMC Data Domain product is very good. If they don't have the budget, then go with an alternate solution like Veeam. As a market standard, data tapes are not reliable for a long duration. Only the hard drive based solutions are technically reliable now. It all depends on your budget. I would rate Dell EMC Data Domain an 8.5 to 9 out of ten.
Jayson Martin
Data Storage Manager at a insurance company with 5,001-10,000 employees
Real User
Top 10
Sep 9, 2019
Has superior data compression capability but there are a few caveats to using this product for data backup

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use for this product is for backup purposes and compression.

Pros and Cons

  • "The product provides good backup and compression services."
  • "The licensing model was the biggest concern for our company, but the poor support after the initial implementation is of equal concern."

What other advice do I have?

Anyone who is considering this as a solution should study the availability of the features and caveats surrounding the licensing. You will want to make sure that you are covered for all the capabilities that you require. Then, if you choose to go with the product, I suggest adding a service account manager as part of the initial scope of the project and implementation as that was very helpful to us. That sort of guarantees you will definitely have a more controlled approach to implementation and better continuity from your experience with EMC. On a scale from one to ten, where one is the worst…
reviewer1473288
Pre-Sales and Technical Manager at a tech services company with 11-50 employees
Real User
Top 20
Jan 4, 2021
We use it to protect our file and email servers. It provides excellent deduplication features.

What is our primary use case?

We as a company use this product to protect our information. We have Data Domain combined NetWorker for our own company, and we also install and provide services around those solutions to our customers. In our company, Dell Data Domain is used to protect our servers (on-premises), where the most important servers for us are the File Server and the eMail server. The Dell Data Domain we have It´s combined with Dell NetWorker as the backup software. The Data Domain works as the repository of the information, taking advantage of the duplication and all the features that it has. We are getting… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "The feature that I have found most useful is its data duplication."
  • "When you use Data Domain, you have to have at least 20% free space so it can work properly. Sometimes we struggle with that, because we wanted to use all the free space, but then Data Domain becomes really slow. I understand that 20% is needed to process all the data, and doing the duplication and compression and all that, but it would be a big improvement if they did not require that 20%, because it is just too much to have available."

What other advice do I have?

The main consideration for anyone interested in Dell EMC Data Domain is to have a good initial sizing. The planning part at the beginning of the project is the most important. On a scale of one to ten, I would give Dell EMC PowerProtect Data Domain a nine.
Adams Rasheed
Information Technology Manager at a energy/utilities company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Top 20
Aug 19, 2019
Admirable technical support, but could use real-time online backup and restore

What is our primary use case?

We are using this solution with NetWorker. currently we are using it to back up our sap ERP. We have scheduled backup at intervals. We have two DDs, one Data Domain is on the Production Site while the second Data Domain is on the DR site. NetWorker backs up the SAP ERP to the Data Domain in the Production site and the backup is automatically cloned to the DR DataDomain.

Pros and Cons

  • "We have never had any issues with Data Domain. It has been stable."
  • "We are not able to deal directly with the OEM we have to go to their partners in Nigeria."

What other advice do I have?

The users should embark on the EMC NetWorker /Data Domain training before the implementation. Considering past experiences, I will rate this product a seven out of ten.
Abdelrahman Mohamed
Senior Sales Engineer at a tech services company
Real User
Aug 13, 2019
Good deduplication and compression of storage

What is our primary use case?

The primary use of the solution is inline deduplication.

Pros and Cons

  • "The solution can scale up to one petabyte right now. It's very good for enterprise-level organizations."
  • "The pricing should be adjusted. Customers continuously talk about the price. They know it is a good solution and they really need the type of storage the solution offers, but it costs somewhere around $100,000 and up. It's not cheap, but it's very important for data vendors."

What other advice do I have?

I'm using the solution as a technical case professional. I'm selling it to my customers. I sell the on-premises deployment model. It's the best solution for deduplication and compression of storage, but the pricing is a little high. The solution works with any backup software. You might use it as a standalone or use it with VM, or solutions like Symantec, CMC software, etc. For those considering implementing the solution, I would say that they need to know their data gross and they need to allow for architecting. They need an understanding of their current backup situation and what they will…
See 9 more Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) Reviews
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.