Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) Overview

Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) is the #1 ranked solution in our list of top Deduplication Software. It is most often compared to HPE StoreOnce: Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) vs HPE StoreOnce

What is Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain)?
EMC Data Domain deduplication storage systems continue to revolutionize disk backup, archiving, and disaster recovery with high-speed, inline deduplication. EMC Data Domain Operating System is intelligence behind EMC Data Domain deduplication storage systems. DD OS powers the industry's most efficient, scalable, reliable, cloud-ready protection storage platform.

Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) is also known as DataDomain, Dell EMC Data Domain, PowerProtect Data Domain.

Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) Buyer's Guide

Download the Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: April 2021

Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) Customers
The US Army, City of Houston, Lloyds TSB, TiVo, Teck, Ingram Entertainment, The New York Mets
Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) Video

Filter Archived Reviews (More than two years old)

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Ghayur Abbas
Manager Networks & Messaging Systems at TCS
Real User
Apr 9, 2019
Very reliable and capable of getting huge data

What is our primary use case?

Currently, we use Dell EMC Data Domain for our back-up requirements. We use Cisco Nexus 5K5540, as our core switches. We use Cisco USC-B as a compute engine. We use Dell EMC storage as our core storage, and all of these products are still in use. We have had a very good experience with all of them. We purchased Data Domain 2500 in 2015 as a primary backup unit. In 2017, we purchased another one, which is the 6300 Data Domain, as our element for the offsite backups. That product is very good. They are both very good in the backup expertise and the installation processes but the issue that we… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "As our organization functions, we have a total of 2500+ primary sites and 6300+ secondary sites. All of our entire backup systems are totally dependent on this product. EMC Data Domain is very reliable and there are no issues using it since 2015."
  • "Dell EMC Data Domain needs to have better compatibility between NetWorker and the hardware. NetWorker is not as good as the other products which are currently on the market like Backup Exec."

What other advice do I have?

If they have the budget, then I would advise any organization that the Dell EMC Data Domain product is very good. If they don't have the budget, then go with an alternate solution like Veeam. As a market standard, data tapes are not reliable for a long duration. Only the hard drive based solutions are technically reliable now. It all depends on your budget. I would rate Dell EMC Data Domain an 8.5 to 9 out of ten.
Storemgr67
Storage Manager at a financial services firm with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Nov 26, 2017
It provides better performance than the competition and deduplication

What is our primary use case?

Used as a backup target with NetBackup 8.0.

What is most valuable?

DD Boost.

How has it helped my organization?

Short backup window has made a difference in the way my organization functions.

What needs improvement?

I would like them to improve on the short backup window as it would make my organization even more efficient.

For how long have I used the solution?

From 2011 until now.

What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

Some small issues.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

No issues.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

No issues.

How are customer service and technical support?

Nine out of 10.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

We used IBM…
Learn what your peers think about Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain). Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: April 2021.
476,892 professionals have used our research since 2012.
it_user157662
Backup Administrator at a financial services firm with 501-1,000 employees
Vendor
Sep 22, 2015
If you have a senior backup and/or storage tech, go for it. If not, it's harder to manage.
it_user155190
Engineer at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
Consultant
Nov 2, 2014
The Deduplication storage Array for backups. Data Domain can acts as VTL, NAS/CIFS shares or DDBoost devices.

What other advice do I have?

The EMC Data Domain product is a real success and customers which have never bought EMC products are now buying Data Domain...
it_user159876
Sr. Tech Lead with 5,001-10,000 employees
Vendor
Oct 30, 2014
​I used Sympana commvault and CA Arcserve. Both are good for small organisations but not up to the mark for enterprise.

What is most valuable?

Fast backup for complex and huge size data.

How has it helped my organization?

My Organisation provides Backup as services. DD useful for shared platform for customers.

What needs improvement?

From a technical point of view, all EMC products have to improve the troubleshoot feature like, log should be in human readable format.

For how long have I used the solution?

Past 5 to 6 years.

What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

Easy to deploy.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

Wrong integration is always the

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

Not yet.

How are customer service and technical support?

Customer Service: 3.5/5 Technical Support: 3.5/5

Which solution did I use previously

it_user159162
Director of Technical Support at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
Consultant
Oct 28, 2014
Good product, the technical support leaves much to be desired.

Valuable Features

Data Domain deduplication is excellent.

Improvements to My Organization

Not yet had a significant measurable improvement.

Use of Solution

I used this solution for 6 months.

Deployment Issues

The implementation was not done with me. This product was already in place when I arrived at the company.

Stability Issues

No.

Scalability Issues

No.

Customer Service and Technical Support

Customer Service: No. Technical Support: Bad. The service left much to be desired, even with the proper support.

Implementation Team

The implementation was not done with me.

Other Solutions Considered

Was not present in this decision.
it_user157944
Systems Consultant at a consultancy with 51-200 employees
Consultant
Oct 28, 2014
It's a good product, with excellent customer service.

Valuable Features

DD Boost.

Improvements to My Organization

It makes working with backup solutions very easy.

Room for Improvement

None that I see yet.

Use of Solution

3 years.

Deployment Issues

No.

Stability Issues

No.

Scalability Issues

No.

Customer Service and Technical Support

Customer Service: 5 out of 5 Technical Support: 5 out of 5

Implementation Team

A vendor team, they were excellent.

Other Solutions Considered

The company chose this product not me, so no.
it_user158877
Senior Consultant Server & Storage with 1,001-5,000 employees
Vendor
Oct 28, 2014
Replication of backed-up data between sites for disaster solutions is valuable. Delivers all the time.

What is most valuable?

VTL, Dedupe and replication.

How has it helped my organization?

Replication of backed-up data between sites for disaster solutions.

What needs improvement?

Haven’t thought about it because its deliver all the time.

For how long have I used the solution?

5 years for customers.

What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

No.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

No.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

No.

How are customer service and technical support?

Customer Service: 10 of 10. Technical Support: 10 of 10.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

No, it was the first VTL we used for customers and because of its function and uptime we can’t see a reason to change to…
it_user158214
Backup Engineer, AVP at a financial services firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
Vendor
Oct 27, 2014
​Stability, replication, deduplication, virtual library & ddboost are valuable but deduplication could be better.

What is most valuable?

Stability, replication,

How has it helped my organization?

Could fully automate backup process with 1500 backup clients (machines).

What needs improvement?

Smarter & better deduplication, CLI shell should have more options for managing this product.

For how long have I used the solution?

4 years.

What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

Yes, but it related to hard disk manufacturer, not product itself.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

No.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

Haven't scaled it yet.

How are customer service and technical support?

Customer Service: 4/5 Technical Support: 4/5

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

Before we used EMC VTL, an awful…
it_user156375
Engineer at a tech services company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Consultant
Oct 22, 2014
Data Domain is a highly efficient ‘global' De-Duplication storage product that provides multi-protocol read/write access

What other advice do I have?

Fantastic product that really is the ‘Swiss Army Knife’ of backup/archive/bulk storage products, so usable and can save significant $ and can save many headaches with data management, the more you store on it the better De-duplication and greater ROI you get. If you archive inactive data to this product you can reduce primary storage (SAN/NAS) use by an average of 70%.
it_user127905
Senior SAN Engineer with 501-1,000 employees
Real User
Jun 29, 2014
Upgrades are very smooth and support has been great. We also looked at ExaGrid and Quantum

What other advice do I have?

Make sure you setup the Data Domains to use Active Directory authentication. When you are replicating your data to a replication pair, this will make using the replicated data easier to access from the off-site location. If you do not use AD and setup the same account on all of your Data Domains, then you will be using a local account on each Data Domain. The permissions on each side of the replication are for a different user SID even if the users are the same name. So when you try to access the replicated data with the same named local account, since the SID is different, you do not have…
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Dell EMC PowerProtect DD (Data Domain) Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.