Exinda Overview

Exinda is the #3 ranked solution in our list of top WAN Optimization tools. It is most often compared to Riverbed Steelhead: Exinda vs Riverbed Steelhead

What is Exinda?
Exinda is designed to help Network Managers solve pressing IT problems in today's complex network. Our award winning technology combines interactive analytics, an intelligent recommendation engine and powerful actions like shaping and optimization, all in one solution.
Exinda Buyer's Guide

Download the Exinda Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: April 2021

Exinda Customers
UMass Dartmouth, MLB Network, R&R Ice Cream, Savills, Manhattan School of Music, Blum Shapiro, Cincinnati Public Schools, City of Richmond, Genting Casinos, The Salvation Army, VoIP Unlimited, Frontier Silicon, Lakeshore Toltest, CTI Foods
Exinda Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about Exinda pricing:
  • "The pricing and licensing are pretty fair and really competitive. There are other SD-WAN solutions that are pretty costly because they build in a service where they'll manage it for you, which is really great. I don't know if Exinda has that option as well. However, we are a small shop and cost-conscious. For things like this, we are accustomed to self-managing and this solution suits us just fine. For a tool that gives you, like the graphs and reporting, it has a fair price point."
  • "It is priced well for the market, for what it needs to do."

Filter Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
EH
Eugene Hacker
Director of Network Services at a university with 201-500 employees
Real User
Top 20
Nov 29, 2020
Gives us the ability to prioritize network traffic into a hierarchy

Pros and Cons

  • "It has the ability to prioritize, providing an automatic optimization. I can put it in a hierarchy and know that certain devices will be prioritized over others. It is able to identify the traffic. It can pick out whether if its a Zoom meeting (or something like that), then it's able to put that somewhere in the hierarchy based on the traffic type."
  • "A lot of working with this solution is really intuitive. I have picked it up mostly on my own. I'm sure that there are some things that maybe I hadn't thought of or really hadn't considered, and I think it would be good just to promote some day courses. I don't really see a whole lot that comes out for Exinda as far as training or informational sessions through our normal resellers. It would be cool to know more about the solution by utilizing educational resources or even have Exinda promoted a bit better."

What other advice do I have?

What it does is an essential thing. I rely on it to be automated. We use it for everything. It has definitely met our needs and helped us control traffic flow. We get a great picture of what's going on across network applications. It has allowed us to keep tabs on network performance. I would definitely size your appliance with a little room to grow. You don't know where you're going to be, e.g., you could have an explosion in technology a year from now. When you manage your traffic, then you can do a whole lot more with a whole lot less. It's just like anything, if you manage it well, then it…
Marek Jaworski
Senior Engineer, Team Lead, Network Operations at a comms service provider with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Oct 26, 2020
Allows us to have better control over our network by shaping traffic more gently

What is our primary use case?

As a company dealing in satellite technology, we use it for small to big satellite links, and for some remote islands in the South Pacific. The environments that it's deployed in range from corporate offices, to those remote islands, to vessels. It includes cruise boats and shipping containers, and extends to people in Papua New Guinea working in the mud. We're an ISP. We use it more on the troubleshooting side. We'll have an Exinda per satellite service, and it allows us to see that portion of the link. It's very much a hybrid. Most of it is in the hub: one big one in the hub location, and… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "The most valuable features are the shaper, accelerator, and the reporting... it will shape the traffic better than, for example, a Cisco, because it's more gentle on the shaping side of things. Suppose you were selling a 20-meg link. Because you can shape to the nth degree of traffic, the 20-meg link feels like about a 30 to 40-meg link."
  • "There might be room for improvement in the speed and throughput of some of their devices. They're getting a bit slow on some of the bigger devices. It would be helpful if there were some sort of an ISP model."

What other advice do I have?

The biggest things with Exinda are being able to shape and visualize and provide a customer with a report. It helps with being open and honest as well. Nine out of 10 times customers have access to the Exinda and so do we, so everything is completely transparent and honest. If they're not getting the 50 Mb, they can see it and we can see it. There's no hiding it, which is what I like a lot. Look into it keeping in mind that it's a proper shaper and not just a policer. Look into those facts and understand a little bit more about it. I've seen a lot of customers still buying archaic shapers, but…
Learn what your peers think about Exinda. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: April 2021.
475,705 professionals have used our research since 2012.
DM
Daniel Mahar
Associate Director at a university with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Top 10
Nov 4, 2020
We are better able to control and prioritize what individuals and groups of users are doing

What is our primary use case?

We use Exinda to control the bandwidth to different constituents on campus.

Pros and Cons

  • "The most valuable feature is the ability to manage the traffic at the application layer. It makes things a lot easier. We're not digging for port numbers and IP addresses and different services... It makes us far more responsive in our ability to do things and speed up the process. We're a very small shop, so having something that's straightforward and easy to use is a big help."
  • "The updating of applications that the system knows about could be a little quicker. For example, Zoom had been out for a while, but it took a while for it to show up as an application that Exinda could natively handle. We had to write some things in order to handle Zoom, initially."

What other advice do I have?

Go through the training. The training time that I spent at Exinda was well worth it. I got a lot of insight from that. Exinda also allows you to focus on application performance rather than just throttling traffic and bandwidth, although that's not something that we do. There are a lot of things that we could do with the stuff that we have, but we just don't have the shop to be able to monitor a lot of the things too closely. If we have a problem, we can go and look at stuff. We have things set up so that we can monitor some of these applications and some of the SLAs that we've set up. For…
GL
reviewer1255722
Head of Networks at a recruiting/HR firm with 5,001-10,000 employees
Real User
Jan 6, 2020
Plug it in, in-line, and it works; enables us to prioritize traffic to a very granular level

What is our primary use case?

It's a WAN optimization tool. It allows us to provide WAN optimization at a more granular level than we would be able to do with a standard MPLS QoS configuration.

Pros and Cons

  • "The most valuable feature is the ability to provide very granular classes of service. That's important because it allows us to prioritize certain traffic types over others, to a very granular level."
  • "What I don't like is the fact that I haven't purchased the overall management interface. That is the interface that allows you to manage multiple Exindas. Personally, I think Exinda should provide that for free. I think that if you buy more and more Exinda boxes, you shouldn't then have to incur a charge for the overall management software. While I can manage each Exinda separately, if they provided me with the overall management platform for free that would probably encourage me to buy more appliances."

What other advice do I have?

Before you deploy, think about what you're trying to achieve and think about what your success criteria are. That's what you need to do with any solution. There's no point buying a solution and then trying to work out what you're trying to achieve with it. First, decide what a successful deployment looks like and then see if Exinda will do. While it works for my company, it may not work for a different organization with a different network setup. It works well for us because we have a largely centralized application deployment. If we had a more distributed application, the benefit from Exinda…
Denis L
Sales Solutions Engineer at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
Reseller
Top 5Leaderboard
May 20, 2020
Can be used as a network orchestrator so you can be sure that the throughput is managed well and everything gets what it needs

Pros and Cons

  • "Exinda can show you which product uses how much throughput and can help you manage it."
  • "It should improve the quality of service. It can improve their connection to the internet and your IP."

What other advice do I have?

My advice would be to be sure to choose the right license. They have a lot of options with a lot of features but you have to be sure to choose the license type that you need. I would rate Exinda an eight out of ten. In the next release, I would like to have the ability to work with the cloud.
Bryant Dawson
Network Engineer at a marketing services firm with 501-1,000 employees
Real User
Top 20
Jul 8, 2019
Exinda was a life saver for our voice traffic.

How has it helped my organization?

We needed a optimization product for our voice traffic that QoS alone could not accomplish for our low bandwidth sites. Getting Exinda was a life saver for our voice traffic

What is most valuable?

Policy based shaping

What needs improvement?

None that I can see.

For how long have I used the solution?

2 years

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

None

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

I didn't need to scale so I cant answer this.

How are customer service and technical support?

Customer Service: I never called them. Technical Support: I never called them.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

No other solution, just used Cisco QoS for our WAN.

How was the initial

Product Categories
WAN Optimization
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Exinda Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.