FireMon Overview

FireMon is the #3 ranked solution in our list of top Firewall Security Management tools. It is most often compared to Tufin: FireMon vs Tufin

What is FireMon?

FireMon is the No.1 provider of Intelligent Security Management solutions worldwide, combining advanced benchmarking, simulation, and analysis to deliver next generation security intelligence. Since creating the first-ever network security management solution 15 years ago, FireMon solutions have continued to deliver visibility into and control over complex network security infrastructure, policies, and risk to over 1,500 customers around the world.

Using the FireMon Intelligent Security Management platform, today’s leading enterprise organizations, government agencies and managed security providers have dramatically improved effectiveness of network defenses, accelerating business agility optimizing return on investment.

For more information or a free 30-day trial, visit www.firemon.com.

FireMon Buyer's Guide

Download the FireMon Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: January 2021

FireMon Customers

Convey, MGM Resorts International, Southwest Airlines, Alkami, Costco, Aetna, IBM, Salesforce, Verizon, Wells Fargo

FireMon Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about FireMon pricing:
  • "Regarding additional costs, if you want things like Policy Optimizer, extra features, that's extra."
  • "The pricing is very good, very straightforward. It also came in cheaper than AlgoSec and Tufin."
  • "We don't license all of the devices in our network, so it does not provide us with a comprehensive visibility of all devices in a hybrid network at this time."
  • "We pay for it yearly."

FireMon Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Daniel James
Security Engineer at a transportation company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Top 20
May 16, 2019
Reporting features help us close visibility gaps and decrease auditing time

What is our primary use case?

We use FireMon for compliance reporting. Also, because it provides a roadmap for us to start doing workflow automation - not to be confused with other forms of automation that occur in the firewall realm - we use it to see the processes and procedures that we can automate and enforce. These include approval processes, review processes, and pre- and post-implementation validation.

Pros and Cons

  • "The most valuable feature is the reporting capability because everything that we do is a result of our being able to query a report, based on our environment and our PCI compliance efforts."
  • "The current health and monitoring of the devices is atrocious... Imagine you have a list of 200 devices, and you can grade each of those devices as either green, yellow, or red. However, there might be three different reasons for you to go to red, or eight different reasons to go to yellow, and all of those things could be combined... Out of all those categories, I only find one or two of them that are, perhaps, pertinent."

What other advice do I have?

The best advice that I could give, honestly, would be not to look at a product for a short-term goal. Speak with the vendor about the maturity model that you want to go down and the roadmap that you have for your organization. They have a lot of different components and products that complement each other. I'm still waiting to do stuff now or next year that I wish I could have gotten funding for three years ago. If you're going to engage and move forward with something, try to future-proof what you're signing yourself up for. Take into consideration where your roadmap is taking you. If there…
Orlando Paulino
Information Security Analyst at a retailer with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Top 20
May 15, 2019
Helps us clean up our firewall rules and has reduced our overall audit time significantly

What is our primary use case?

We use it to go through unused rules, for cleaning up stuff. We have a bi-weekly meeting where we go through firewalls and look for any unused rules or any rules that are redundant and any high ports that are being used that we're not supposed to use.

Pros and Cons

  • "The Security Manager part of FireMon... gives me an eye on everything that's out there, everything that I cannot see. Because I'm not a network admin, I cannot go to a firewall itself, but at least I have FireMon so that I can go in and view everything that I want to view. And I can eliminate whatever I see that is wrong,"
  • "We're working on implementing FireMon with our ticketing system service now. Having that would be an improvement."

What other advice do I have?

In terms of what I've used so far in my career, FireMon is one of the best. Try it out, it won't hurt. Give it a shot. It's the best, for me. It has everything that any company would need. It's easy to navigate, there is a lot of helpful stuff in their User Center, in their Knowledge Base. Everything's there. You don't really need to bother them a lot. If you want to know something, they have documents in their User Center. It's a very good product. In terms of FireMon's cloud support automation for public cloud platforms, we did ask for that. We are actually going to the cloud in a few…
Learn what your peers think about FireMon. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: January 2021.
455,301 professionals have used our research since 2012.
NetworkSad34
Network Security Engineer- Senior at a financial services firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Top 20
May 2, 2019
Enables us to very easily identify and remediate firewalls that have overly-complicated rules

What is our primary use case?

We use it for firewall cleanup, redundant rule removal, and unused rule removal. We are using the solution to identify anything that might have overly permissive rules or things outside of PCI compliance. We use it to proactively find those kinds of issues. There's more we could be doing with it for sure, we just haven't had the time yet. We currently have it covering every single firewall we have, which is a lot. There are potential plans to add routers and switches into it again, or even start adding in hybrid cloud solutions, things like that, that we won't be able to see. Honestly, we… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "It provides us with a single pane of glass for our on-prem environment, to see configuration. We have not implemented into the cloud yet. We can search for an object group and see where it lives on any firewall in the enterprise or find security rules, no matter what firewall they're on."
  • "Some of the core functionality in our environment doesn't seem to work. We will get buggy code releases. They need to work on their Q&A of every code release."

What other advice do I have?

Make sure that you get the correct hardware for whatever size environment you have. End-to-end change automation for the entire rule lifecycle is not something we're using yet. It's something that I'm looking to get a beta for. There are about 20 people currently using the solution. However, the functionality allows us to extend the information that FireMon can gather out to hundreds of people, if not more. In some ways, there are hundreds consuming the information that FireMon gathers, and using it in some way. Network security engineers are the primary consumers, and network engineers are…
InfoAssu7204
Info Assurance Engineer at a aerospace/defense firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Jun 26, 2019
It helps reduce the complexity of the firewall rule set, but we need the end-to-end mapping feature working

What is our primary use case?

The primary use case is optimizing firewall rules.

Pros and Cons

  • "It gives us the ability to go to one place to look for potential firewall rules that are inappropriate, or which don't meet compliance. Instead of manually searching hundreds of firewalls for a policy, we can go to this one location and find the rules which are now out of compliance."
  • "The AWS integration is still not mature for us to use. It is just not ready for our use case for AWS connectivity. Therefore, it does not provide us with a single pane of glass for our cloud environments, because we can't manage our cloud environment with the tool."

What other advice do I have?

Each deployment scenario will be unique. A robust proof of concept is key to make sure it will meet all of your intended use cases. The solution is managing 25 percent of our firewalls right now. We probably won't increase usage until we can get the required features for firewall change rule management to work correctly. We probably will not increase usage until that works. I would rate it as a six (out of ten). We need the end-to-end mapping feature working to make it a ten. That is just our next phase. I don't know what other problems that we will run into. There is a lot to deploy before we…
Chris Goodrich
IT Security Architect at a financial services firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Top 20
Jun 26, 2019
It is the single place where we go to review all of our firewall changes

What is our primary use case?

The primary use case is for compliance and monitoring of firewall changes. This solution allows us to secure our firewalls.

Pros and Cons

  • "It is the single place where we go to review all of our firewall changes. The solution makes it easier for us to track all the changes made. It is a central place where we can look at all the firewall rules, because we have three different firewall vendors. It save us time and creates efficiencies by looking at the general picture."
  • "The stability has been fairly decent, but there have been a few issues. My coworker has had some issues in the past where he has had to work with support."

What other advice do I have?

It is fairly straightforward to use, and I haven't really had a whole lot of issues with it. This solution provide us with end-to-end change automation for the entire rule lifecycle of firewalls. It does it from the request, then all the way through the approval cycle. We really haven't done much with this solution’s cloud support automation for public cloud platforms. We are just doing on-premise.