HPE StoreVirtual Reviews

Filter by:Reset all filters
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Real User
Owner at a tech services company with 1-10 employees
Feb 05 2020

What is most valuable?

The solution's most valuable aspect is that it is hardware independent. The scalability is very good and does not cause it to lose any of its performance.

What needs improvement?

I'm not sure if HP is integrating various platforms and coming out with newer options on this solution. It needs to be upgraded from time to time. There are some upgrades which are due to take in new features. The solution needs to ensure it is on par with the industry in terms of availability of features and various other options.

What other advice do I have?

We are an IT systems integrator. We have worked with Check Point and Sophos in the past. We are also evaluating Palo Alto for our customers. We are not just dealing with StoreVirtual on its own. This used to be a LeftHand Networks product, which HP acquired. I would definitely recommend the solution to other organizations. I would suggest that they have to remember to benchmark it with respect to… more»
Vebjorn Nergaard
Real User
Senior IT Engineer at Guard Automation AS
Feb 10 2020

What is most valuable?

The management is very easy. The solution is very stable. The solution offers good patching.

What needs improvement?

The challenge we have right now is that the product reaches its end of life in October of 2022. They should continue producing this solution. The initial setup could be simplified to make it easier for new users. The solution should offer a… more»

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

In terms of pricing, for one terabyte, it's free. For four terabytes it's about 2,500 Euros. If you go further up it costs around 10,000 Euros if you want to go to 10 terabytes.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

I've previously used Openfiler. Openfiler didn't have the network RAID, and it didn't synchronize. It was just for one storage solution.

What other advice do I have?

We're an HPE partner. The solution is deployed as an OVS file. It's an appliance, It's installed as a virtual machine on VMware. It's a very good solution. Since it's free for the one terabyte, and it's a very stable solution, it's a good… more»
Find out what your peers are saying about Hewlett Packard Enterprise, Red Hat, Dell EMC and others in Software Defined Storage (SDS). Updated: January 2020.
397,983 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Reseller
Technical Architect at a software R&D company with 10,001+ employees
Jan 31 2020

What is most valuable?

The most valuable features are the stability and that it's robust. It's is one of the reasons that we have been dealing with HP for so many years.

What needs improvement?

One of the areas that need improvement is the consolidated management platform, to manage all of the nodes from one place and the licensing around that. There is an issue that I have found with many hyper-converged solutions or systems that you build out into a hyper-converged platform, which is… more»

What other advice do I have?

We have trouble selling other partner's products because HPE is very well suited for our market, where we are located. HPE is a very good contender. I work a lot with Cisco and HP but today the products are very much on par as far as availability and performance are concerned. HPE support in my area… more»

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

Some of the main differences between Cisco and HPE are the single configuration point where you can control the entire system. Both the hardware and the converged infrastructure. Cisco's management interface seems to be a bit better.
Consultant
HPE Consultant at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
Jan 20 2020

What is most valuable?

HPE StoreVirtual is very easy to use from the management console. The interface is very good. This solution is very easy to deploy. The performance is very good.

What needs improvement?

I would like to have this solution easily integrate with VMware.

What other advice do I have?

The biggest lesson that I have learned from using this solution is that when compared to other products, automatic tiering, availability, and disaster recovery are very good. This solution also integrates well with the Recovery Management Center. We have a backup solution for VMware and Hyper-V, and it is simple to use with HPE StoreVirtaul. I would rate this solution a nine out of ten.
Consultant
Senior Storage Consultant at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
Jan 16 2020

What do you think of HPE StoreVirtual?

What is our primary use case?

We do the implementation of the solution. Our customers are using it for their backup and file storage.

What is most valuable?

Catalyst handling. The software is perfect.

What needs improvement?

Hardware and disk failures are happening frequently.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been using the solution for seven to eight years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

It is stable. I am not getting many calls about the product, only about disk failure.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

We are working on single node only. That is a limited edition for this solution. We have several customers. There are 50 to 70 users connected.

How are customer service and technical support?

We use the…
SimonBegin
User
Counsel
Mar 01 2018

What is most valuable?

* Data replication (Network RAID 10) * Simplicity of not having to buy FC or FCoE SAN. Instead, we buy servers with their own storage.

How has it helped my organization?

Data is stored in two different places, leveraging more security and availability. Therefore, network problems are having less affect on iSCSI. We also plan to build a Metro Cluster using VSA.

What needs improvement?

Product looks like it is in the end of development. HPE will be probably be merging with SimpliVity. I hope they will continue the product as we already have multiple HW servers besides HPE, and a software SDS means more flexibility for us.
Darren Mullan
Real User
Infrastructure Team Leader at a retailer with 1,001-5,000 employees
Nov 24 2019

What do you think of HPE StoreVirtual?

What is our primary use case?

Primary iSCSI-based storage using P4000 series nodes for HPE lefthand. VMware compute on BL465G7s within a P4000 series chassis

How has it helped my organization?

StoreVirtual has proved to be a highly available, very stable and robust solution. It allows compute and storage to operate separately, and has the ability to take SAN nodes out of production for maintenance with little effort and zero downtime.

What is most valuable?

The most valuable feature is Network RAID 10. We use SAN datastore replication for DR, along with VMware SRM.

What needs improvement?

There is no next release. The product is coming to end-of-life in the next three years.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been using this solution for eight years.

Articles

User Assessments By Topic About HPE StoreVirtual

Find out what your peers are saying about Hewlett Packard Enterprise, Red Hat, Dell EMC and others in Software Defined Storage (SDS). Updated: January 2020.
397,983 professionals have used our research since 2012.

HPE StoreVirtual Questions

What is HPE StoreVirtual?

HPE StoreVirtual storage ensures that organisations can optimise the benefits of server virtualisation with cost-effective high availability and disaster recovery. The iSCSI-based, scale-out storage platform is easy to manage and change – meeting ongoing business demands without creating IT bottlenecks or application downtime. Overcoming the cost and management limitations of traditional storage area networks (SANs), HPE StoreVirtual nodes use storage clustering to form a single pool of resources that enable organisations to buy only what they need today, scaling non-disruptively to meet requirements in the future.

Also known as
HPE StoreVirtual, HPE VSA
HPE StoreVirtual customers

NBrIX, WIND Telecom, Netrics

Read Archived Reviews
BUYER'S GUIDE
Download our free Software Defined Storage (SDS) Report and find out what your peers are saying about Hewlett Packard Enterprise, Red Hat, Dell EMC, and more!