IBM WebSphere Application Server Reviews

IBM WebSphere Application Server is the #2 ranked solution of our top Application Server tools. It's rated 3.9 out of 5 stars, and is most commonly compared to JBoss - IBM WebSphere Application Server vs JBoss

Filter by:
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
GanapathyElumalai
Real User
Principal Architect with 1-10 employees
Jan 17 2020

What is most valuable?

The solution is robust. The connection management and the scalability, which IBM provides to the Stack, are also valuable.

What needs improvement?

Nowadays the industry is moving towards a more open-source operating framework. The cost factor is huge. It's very pricey compared to other open-source stacks. In the future, we'll deal with the IBM Stack so we might move to a compact… more »

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

The solution is very expensive compared to an open-source stack.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

We were using WebLogic BL as our stack. Now we use an IBM Stack. It was about eight years ago when we switched, so we've been using IBM for a while now.

What other advice do I have?

The solution is deployed in the UX operating system. Although the solution is good, open-source options keep getting better and better, so I'd recommend others to look into that. This solution is expensive. So is Oracle. I find open-source… more »
Real User
Service Relationship Manager at a manufacturing company with 10,001+ employees
May 12 2020

What is most valuable?

WebSphere connects with old legacy systems, like CICS and TX Series that typically run on the mainframe environment and that must be integrated with open systems.

How has it helped my organization?

We've avoided the remake of mainframe application logics.

What needs improvement?

Cloud service offering should be improved because the future is in the utilization of the PaaS provided by principal cloud providers; I mean that it would be very useful… more »

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

The product is very expensive because PVU has to be calculated on maximun virtual cores and there is no difference between production and non-production environments.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

No

What other advice do I have?

If you need a small system that needs to be exposed on the web for simple transations, or if you are considering a cloud environment you should consider a different… more »

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

No
Find out what your peers are saying about IBM, Red Hat, Apache and others in Application Server. Updated: September 2020.
438,043 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Gurvijay Bhatti
Real User
Senior Solutions Architect at Department of Justice
Aug 14 2019

What is most valuable?

Stability, high availability, alert management, and deployments are the most valuable features for us.

How has it helped my organization?

We have about 3,000 users concurrently using this application. This application has achieved more than 99.9% up time which has resulted in increased productivity and efficiency.

What needs improvement?

The computing resources required to run WAS could be reduced so that we can use a smaller virtual machine to run the application. I would like WAS administration tasks to be completed via scripts, rather than GUI.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

I don't remember the price, but there were no additional costs.

What other advice do I have?

Use an expert WAS Admin to set up the deployment scripts and automating as much as possible. Implement DevOps concepts by working in conjunction with administrators and developers I would rate this solution as eight out of ten.
Real User
System and Solutions Architect at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
Sep 14 2020

What is most valuable?

This solution is easy to use with a GUI that is intuitive and very helpful. You have the ability to do a lot of things with the commands.

What needs improvement?

Some things are very difficult to do, so the interface and usage could be more intuitive for those. The main complaint that my customers have about this product is the price.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

The price of this product is higher than that of competitors.

What other advice do I have?

IBM WebSphere Application Server works well and fulfills all of the requirements that are demanded of it, so it is a product that I recommend. I would rate this solution an eight out of ten.
Real User
Sen. Fab Manager at a manufacturing company with 10,001+ employees
Aug 06 2020

What is most valuable?

The solution's data consistency is great. It's very reliable. This is important for a transitional scenario. It is critical for us, so data consistency is the most important feature that we count on. The user interface is reliable. The scalability of the product is quite good.

What needs improvement?

The availability of the solution needs improvement. The product should be more enhanced and responsive. We need to have the capabilities to customize it a bit more. Their pricing is always too high. The user interface isn't too impressive. The stability of the solution could be much better. The solution's technical support could be improved. They can be too technical and too detailed.

What other advice do I have?

We're just users. We don't have a business relationship with IBM. I'd rate the solution seven out of ten. I'd rate it higher if they offered more customization capabilities and was more responsive.
SherifHassan
Real User
Application Integration Engineer at EFG-Hermes
Mar 31 2020

What is most valuable?

The most valuable feature is the configuration of the application server. It has a variety of configuration database certificates and connection pools. It has good stability of the application server in the long term compared to other solutions.

What needs improvement?

It should be able to serve more concurrent requests like Oracle. Oracle has more powerful stability, availability, and real-time serving. WebSphere is not light enough to implement high available applications like gateways. But WebSphere has more configuration abilities and customizability.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

There aren't any additional costs besides for the standard licensing.

What other advice do I have?

I would rate it an eight out of ten. It has a sensitive implementation. If you do a wrong step, it will destroy the whole thing and you will need to start from scratch.
Akkari Fay
Real User
Director of Operations at ufi
Oct 10 2019

What do you think of IBM WebSphere Application Server?

What is our primary use case?

I am a specialist in content management solutions, especially IBM and other open-source products. I am the director of my team, and we specialize in this solution. We use this in many areas including banking, insurance, and public administration.

What is most valuable?

The most valuable feature of this solution is Portal Virtualization.

What needs improvement?

In the next release of this solution, I would like to see support for the Arabic language. Better and easier integration with other solutions, such as DB2, would be an improvement. 

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been using this solution for about fourteen years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

This solution is very good in terms of stability. It is…

What is IBM WebSphere Application Server?

IBM WebSphere Application Server provides a range of flexible, secure, Java EE 7 runtime environments available on premises or across any public, private or hybrid cloud.
Also known as
WebSphere Application Server
IBM WebSphere Application Server customers
TalkTalk, Property management group, E.SUN Bank, Ohio National Financial Services, Aviarc, Cincom Systems, FJA-US, D+H, Staples, Michigan Municipal League
Read Archived Reviews