IIS Reviews

Filter by:Reset all filters
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Real User
Senior System Administrator at a transportation company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Sep 30 2019

What needs improvement?

The areas of this solution that need improvement are monitoring, debugging, and troubleshooting. Having the monitoring as standard on the user interface would be nice. There needs to be an easy way to escalate technical support issues beyond level one, quickly.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

In addition to this solution, we have worked with Apache Tomcat for Linux. The choice of solution is dictated by the customer's requirements. If it is a Java application then we need to use Tomcat or Apache. If it's a .NET application in use then you need to use the IIS. It isn't a personal choice, or whether one is better than the other. Rather, it is about the application.

What other advice do I have?

This is a solution that I can recommend. I would rate this solution an eight out of ten.
Budhi-Soeprijanto
Real User
Geospatial Services Systems Administrator at EDIC Bayanat
Oct 29 2019

What is most valuable?

The graphical user interface makes it easy for users to configure the sites.

What needs improvement?

This solution needs to be easier for cases where you want to have an IIS cluster. If you have several IIS solutions running, it is not clear on how to make them communicate to each other. Normally, IIS Web Server run independently on each server. To have "IIS cluster", currently you need to have a… more»

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

This solution comes included with Windows Server.

What other advice do I have?

My advice for anybody who is considering this solution is to go ahead with it. This is a mature product that is suitable for production environment. It competes with the Linux-based web server, which has more features. However, Microsoft is becoming more friendly with the open-source community, so… more»
Find out what your peers are saying about Microsoft, Apache, Oracle and others in Application Server. Updated: March 2020.
407,401 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Mesfin-Teshome
Real User
ICT Manager at Africa International University
Dec 09 2019

What is most valuable?

The solution is easy to use. The solution integrates well with most Microsoft products.

What needs improvement?

The solution doesn't integrate well with all Microsoft products. There are a few that actually don't integrate well with IIS. If Microsoft IIS could work well with AppOptics or things like PHP, Python, and other custom languages that run on the webserver, it would be ideal. I think there are cases… more»

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

We also use Apache Web Server side by side with IIS.

What other advice do I have?

We use the on-premises deployment model. I'd recommend IIS for almost everything. I would suggest using use case scenarios. I'd rate the solution eight out of ten.
Devopsavm67
Real User
DevOps at a comms service provider with 11-50 employees
Sep 06 2019

What is most valuable?

The solution is the easiest way to publish applications which have been designed by older development tools.

What needs improvement?

Different parameters in this product can be a bit difficult. As soon as you introduce something new, and especially in the Microsoft environment, you always need to do new training sessions to understand what are new functionalities are. Finding the correct options are not more intuitive, and it should be.

What other advice do I have?

We use the on-premises deployment model. The solution is stable, it is working, and you can do a lot with this, but it is not my favorite product. I would prefer to use something that was open-source instead. I would rate it seven out of ten.
Real User
Field Engineer & Lead Implementation SLA
Jan 20 2020

What do you think of IIS?

What is our primary use case?

We primarily use the solution for the internet and opening applications. We use it, for example, to access Outlook on the web. We use it for a variety of Microsoft applications.

What is most valuable?

The solution is very stable. The solution is very simple and easy to use.

What needs improvement?

The level of technical support the solution offers could be improved.

For how long have I used the solution?

I've been using the solution for one to two years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

The solution is stable, but they could improve on it a bit.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

It's easy to scale the solution. We have about 200 users using it currently.

How are customer service and technical

Real User
Data Platform Manager at a Consumer Goods with 501-1,000 employees
Jan 16 2020

What do you think of IIS?

What is our primary use case?

We use this program as application server.

What is most valuable?

What I like most about this program, is the fact that it's built into Windows, and then I also like the interface and the support.

What needs improvement?

I haven't yet come across anything that needs to improve. Perhaps the installation process can be simplified.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been using IIS for ten, twelve years now.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

The stability is okay. It's fairly enterprise-grade and robust for enterprise use. 

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

The program is scalable. We have between 50 and 100 users.

How are customer service and technical support?

Microsoft's technical…
Real User
Technical Pre-Sales Manager at a tech services company with 5,001-10,000 employees
Jan 14 2020

What do you think of IIS?

What is our primary use case?

The primary use case of this solution is for infrastructure, Active Directory, infrastructure functionality, such as DHCP, and also, it's the main operating system for virtual machines.

What is most valuable?

What I like the most is that it is easy to use.

What needs improvement?

The price could be reduced. In the next release, I would like to see better integration between the cloud environment and the on-premises environment.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been working with this solution for twenty years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

The stability is better than it was in the past. It is better today than it was five years ago.

How are customer service and technical support?

I am no longer…
Real User
Techincal CIO at a tech services company with 11-50 employees
Dec 25 2019

What is most valuable?

The solution is easy to use and connects with Microsoft. The solution is very robust.

What needs improvement?

The documentation is not very detailed. They need to improve it and add to it. They should ensure there are lots of visuals to help users better understand the solution.

What other advice do I have?

We use the current version of the solution and the on-premises deployment model. We're partners with Microsoft. We generally work with enterprise-level organizations. I'd recommend the solution, but only to those organizations already using Microsoft. I'd rate the solution eight out of ten.
See 2 More IIS Reviews

Articles

User Assessments By Topic About IIS

Find out what your peers are saying about Microsoft, Apache, Oracle and others in Application Server. Updated: March 2020.
407,401 professionals have used our research since 2012.

IIS Questions

What is IIS?

Internet Information Services (IIS) provides a secure, easy-to-manage, modular and extensible platform for reliably hosting websites, services and applications. With IIS, you get choice and control without giving up reliability or security.
Also known as
Windows Server IIS
IIS customers
Erste Bank Group, NJVC, Samsung Electronics, Sheraton Hotels and Resorts, Tata Steel Europe, Urban Software Institute
BUYER'S GUIDE
Download our free Application Server Report and find out what your peers are saying about Microsoft, Apache, Oracle, and more!