Meraki MX Overview

Meraki MX is the #2 ranked solution in our list of top Unified Threat Management (UTM) tools. It is most often compared to Fortinet FortiGate: Meraki MX vs Fortinet FortiGate

What is Meraki MX?
With the proliferation of modern applications and mixed-use networks, host and port based security is no longer sufficient. Cisco Meraki's layer 7 "next generation" firewall, included in MX security appliances and every wireless AP, gives administrators complete control over the users, content, and applications on their network.

Meraki MX is also known as MX64, MX64W, MX84, MX100, MX400, MX600.

Meraki MX Buyer's Guide

Download the Meraki MX Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: April 2021

Meraki MX Customers
Hyatt, ONS
Meraki MX Video

Meraki MX Archived Reviews (More than two years old)

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
MT
Manuel Torfs
Company Owner at a tech vendor with 11-50 employees
Real User
Jan 21, 2019
Has improved our security levels and is a good fit for our business and client needs

Pros and Cons

  • "The security level of our organization has changed by using Meraki MX Firewalls. We didn't have the UTM before, but now we have sandboxing, tray scanning, attack preventions and monitorization. Our security level has improved."
  • "We feel that Cisco provides smaller features, with fewer possibilities versus other solutions out there."

What other advice do I have?

It is a good fit for our business needs and our client needs.
Juan Facundo Martinez
CISCO and AVAYA Product Manager at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
Real User
Feb 28, 2018
The dashboard is very intuitive and easy to understand

What is our primary use case?

This is an edge firewall in our company. It has the powerful options of ISP, AMP, antivirus, SD-WAN, applications control, and traffic shaping.

Pros and Cons

  • "​It is very easy to configure.​"
  • "It is very fast to implement."
  • "In a week, we can make new policy and view what all our users did.​"
  • "The dashboard is very intuitive and easy to understand."
  • "We could have more reporting options and the ability to send alarms to the administrator."
Learn what your peers think about Meraki MX. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: April 2021.
475,208 professionals have used our research since 2012.
it_user824010
Especialista en soluciones de telecomunicaciones corporativas at a comms service provider with 1-10 employees
Real User
Feb 25, 2018
Simple to manage

What is our primary use case?

SDWAN and all types of implementations.

How has it helped my organization?

Simple to manage.

What is most valuable?

Real Auto VPN with load balancer without needing a public IP. It is simple and functional.

What needs improvement?

More detail needed for configuration of the VPN. No peer Meraki.

For how long have I used the solution?

More than five years.
JJ
Javier Jaime
DIRECTOR
Real User
Jan 28, 2018
Lets us control all the traffic data and analyze it; warns us about any device with malware

Pros and Cons

  • "It prevents us from being hacked and delivers information about who and where the attack came from."
  • "Managed centrally over the web: You can manages all your Meraki devices in a single account."
  • "Site to Site VPN: The device can establish a VPN connection to multiple sites in a mesh environment in seconds, and without complex VPN knowledge."
  • "Traffic Shaping: The device lets you decide how you want to use your internet services. Due to the fact that Meraki can accept dual WAN, you can decide the way you balance the data traffic."
  • "It would be great if the Meraki devices let us see, in real time, the internet demand on a single device."
  • "The only stability issue is in Content Filtering. Sometimes we need to report these types of issues to Cisco support."
Paal
CFO at a tech vendor with 11-50 employees
Real User
Jan 18, 2018
All devices are accessible from one place with the administrator panel

What is our primary use case?

Using it as an endpoint firewall on different locations. We used different MX devices to setup a VPN from off-site locations to our main office. It is a firewall for dummies. Almost sets itself up.

Pros and Cons

  • "Easy to administer and saves time when you have many smaller locations that you have to manage."

    What other advice do I have?

    The solution is simple, fast to set up, and brilliant for its use.
    Alex D
    Cloud Networking at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
    Real User
    Top 20
    Jul 12, 2017
    Users can manage and troubleshoot from anywhere
    Rick Rutledge
    Network Systems Administrator at a non-tech company with 51-200 employees
    Real User
    Jun 29, 2017
    Features we most use are the SD-WAN and auto failover for dual ISP connections. Seem to work in harsh environments very well.

    What other advice do I have?

    Make sure you have your network planned out, mapped out and you can see exactly where you need the devices installed. Get a Meraki rep to assist you in the device selection and implementation. Also, try before you buy.
    it_user499656
    Managing Partner, Sr. Solutions Architect, Speaker, Courseware Developer, Technical Trainer at a tech services company
    Consultant
    Jan 21, 2017
    It's self managed and saves a bunch of time and effort.
    it_user394371
    Co-Founder at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
    Consultant
    Mar 1, 2016
    These firewalls are easy to configure and they provide site-to-site VPN's.

    What is most valuable?

    Easy to configure Provides site-to-site VPN's VLAN's DHCP multiple WANs

    How has it helped my organization?

    We are using it as a content filtering and load balancing application.

    What needs improvement?

    They should improve load balancing.

    What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

    We had no issues with the deployment.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    We have had issue with the load balancing.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    We have had no issues scaling.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Meraki support is really good.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    We also use Meraki MR and Aerohive devices.

    How was the initial setup?

    Meraki setup is…
    it_user203934
    Systems Engineer at a financial services firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Real User
    Top Reviewer
    Jul 7, 2015
    I can have the firewall up and running and configured in one hour, but to scale, you need to buy the next model as there is no upgrade path.

    What other advice do I have?

    I will never go back to any other solution. Right now our corporate network, across the five offices and the data center, is 100% Meraki, Meraki Firewalls, Meraki Switches, and Meraki APs.