Microsoft Azure Block Storage Overview

Microsoft Azure Block Storage is the #6 ranked solution in our list of top Public Cloud Storage Services. It is most often compared to Amazon EBS (Elastic Block Store): Microsoft Azure Block Storage vs Amazon EBS (Elastic Block Store)

What is Microsoft Azure Block Storage?

Massively scalable cloud storage for your applications

Store and help protect your data. Get durable, highly available data storage across the globe and pay only for what you use.

Microsoft Azure Block Storage Buyer's Guide

Download the Microsoft Azure Block Storage Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: January 2021

Microsoft Azure Block Storage Customers

Mazda, BlinkBox, Rakuten Showtime, Xbox One, Serko, ChronoDrive

Microsoft Azure Block Storage Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about Microsoft Azure Block Storage pricing:
  • "For the first 50DB, they cost around $50. It's an open solution for everybody. Anybody can go to the Microsoft website and they can get the pricing for it. But the first 50GB of data is a default rate and then it increases for the next 500GB or something like that. It is a pay as you go solution. The more you use, the more you pay. That's normally how you pay for any cloud solutions."
  • "The solution is affordable, and we only pay for what we use."
  • "In terms of pricing, Azure is quite cheaper than AWS. However, I have recently read that Oracle Cloud Generation 2 storage is quite cheaper than Azure. I haven't used it yet. We need to look at a customer's requirements, and, based on that, we can suggest the storage. You can save at least 20% with Azure as compared to AWS, which is quite costly."

Microsoft Azure Block Storage Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
KunalGupta
Vice President - Data Architect at a financial services firm with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Top 5
Mar 15, 2020
Blob storage that is easy to use but is becoming obsolete with its company's new releases

What is our primary use case?

I think Azure has three versions. They have Block Blob Storage, then they also have the Gen1 and the Gen2 versions. Gen2 was kind of under review until just recently in 2020, but I think they have officially launched Gen2 now. Block Storage is an Azure product, but I am not sure if it has a version. I just know it as Azure Block Blob Storage. Our use case for Block Storage came about when we were building a database for one of our customers on public storage. The customer kept their data on-premises and on their own servers. We would get that data from them and put it into the Block Storage… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "The product is very easy to use."
  • "There are some space limitations."
  • "The folder search capabilities are not really up to par."

What other advice do I have?

The advice I would give people about Block Storage is that I might recommend the product based upon the use cases and storage needs. Otherwise, if they are looking for something more robust, I would recommend using the Gen2 version, which is the biggest storage system of the Azure options. On a scale from one to ten where one is the worst and ten is the best, I would rate Microsoft Azure Block Storage as at least seven-out-of-ten. This is a seven primarily because of this Gen2 release. When it comes down to it, Gen2 is a more advanced product and other than when it comes to the price most of…
Anurag-Singh
Senior Specialist Data Science Architecture at Diageo North America
Real User
Top 5
Apr 8, 2020
It is easy to use and has significantly reduced our costs

What is our primary use case?

We use it as a storage backend for our analytical use cases and we do modeling in the Azure Databricks environment. We store huge chunks of data in terms of terabytes. We use this data to gain insights into our modeling platform. We find it cheaper than storing it on-premise. And it does not require infrastructure maintenance.

Pros and Cons

  • "The tier feature in V2 is the most valuable feature of this solution. It enables you to move your storage from hot tier to cold tier into archive tier."
  • "We don't delete the other tools from the folder directly. There's no folder deletion option in Azure Block Storage. It would be nice if they could update this."

What other advice do I have?

You will need high-speed bandwidth internet and a contact center for Microsoft for billing purposes. It is kind of a drag and drop and it is pretty simple to use. There is a small learning curve. If you create a folder at least one sample file has to be there. So sometimes it becomes irrelevant because unnecessarily I put a normal dummy file. And then from tomorrow onwards when the data starts doing it I delete the dummy file when the actual data is there. I find that pretty cumbersome. In the next release, I would like for them to update this. The biggest lesson I have learned from using this…
Learn what your peers think about Microsoft Azure Block Storage. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: January 2021.
457,459 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Mir Khan
Head Of Information Technology at DHS
Real User
Top 5
Mar 24, 2020
Easy to deploy and to scale up, but availability can be a challenge

What is our primary use case?

We are creating VMs for some of our development testing, and we are using Azure Block Storage in that context. We are not using anything from Azure for production systems. We are just using it for staging and development.

Pros and Cons

  • "It's easy to deploy, easy to scale up, and pay-as-you-go."
  • "One of the biggest challenges on Azure infrastructure is that sometimes we don't get what we want. Either we have to wait for it or contact support because something is not working for us... It's the system availability that is the difficult point."

What other advice do I have?

We have our own team to maintain it. We are still trying to add more resources to the team and trying to find someone who Azure will certify. I would recommend Azure Block Storage so far, per my current usage, but I would also highly recommend learning how it works and how to configure it properly. Block Storage, in particular, is a bit confusing. People who do not have proper knowledge should not try R&D with it. I would highly recommend getting professional support if you really want to use it. The solution is very good, but the configuration and initial implementation should be done by…
reviewer1258113
Product Manager at a tech services company with 201-500 employees
Reseller
Top 10
Jan 13, 2020
Has a good infrastructure and offers an easy way to provide workloads

What is our primary use case?

Our customers basically use this program for virtual data center extension, as a hybrid extension of their local or on-prem or private data center. It offers them an automated way of running new workloads or creating new workloads with governance on it.

Pros and Cons

  • "One can easily scale with this program."
  • "Some big customers have experienced some problems with the stability of the Azure cloud."

What other advice do I have?

I personally feel that this is a good program. My advice to others is that they should determine beforehand what they want to use it for. The biggest lesson I've learned so far is that, if you go to the backup part, you have to be careful about how you do the backups and what the retention times are. I would like to see improved file sharing and better security in the next release. On a scale from one to ten, I will rate this program an eight.
AbeikuGraham
Consultant at a tech services company with 11-50 employees
Consultant
Top 5
Jan 28, 2020
Easily accessible and good for archiving data, but expensive to use

What is our primary use case?

We primarily use the solution for migration to restore data and to help us migrate to other systems. I do occasionally also use it as a backup, but not very often. Mostly, it's used for migration and we installed Microsoft on it. We store it in the cloud and migrate everything over.

Pros and Cons

  • "You can easily access your data whenever you need it."
  • "Uploading of data could be improved. Currently, the only way you can upload your data is by using their storage explorer. You need to use a command line to do that. Then, maybe you can go online and you can use their explorer to check to see if it's there. If they had a third-party application to handle the upload, it would be better. Many people aren't familiar with command lines for uploading data. It makes it more difficult for many users."

What other advice do I have?

I'm a Microsoft partner and I deploy the solution for other customers. Currently, I'm the only user on the solution. I don't use it every day; I use it only when I need to. The solution is quite good and is easy to integrate with other systems, You can also integrate it as a backup for your recordings. It's also easily accessible and, because it's on the cloud, it doesn't matter where your current location is. It allows for easy replication of data on different levels. For these reasons, I'd recommend the product. I'd rate the solution seven out of ten. It's a bit expensive. If it was more…
reviewer1382583
Director - Infrastructure Solution Architect at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
Real User
Sep 29, 2020
It provides easy versioning and great security

What is our primary use case?

We are using Microsoft Azure Block Storage to accumulate and store all unstructured data, that is, different files such as Excel, Word, PowerPoint, or any other streaming or video files. Whenever there is any unstructured data, you can use the Microsoft Azure Block Storage to deal with it.

Pros and Cons

  • "It has easy versioning. The versioning is amenable to any changes. It also has great security. It can only be accessed through an API, and only the requested users can access it. It is optimized for data lakes and comprehensive data management."
  • "We need to do versioning each and every time, that is, check-in and check-out. If a person forgets to do that, then there could be an issue in the replacement of that particular object in the storage. It will be great if it can be automatically managed."

What other advice do I have?

I have worked on similar solutions from Oracle and Amazon. Feature-wise, they all provide the same features. However, I found Azure more convenient to work on than other solutions. It is very easy to use for data analytics purposes as well as for storing the archive data or long-term use data, that is, non-relational and unstructured data. I would rate Microsoft Azure Block Storage a ten out of ten. It is really good.
reviewer1326603
Co-Founder at a tech services company with 1-10 employees
Real User
Top 10
Apr 21, 2020
The data lake is invaluable and it has a smooth setup

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use case is for the creation of a data lake, which was looking at unstructured predominantly in big data storage, it is looking at an economical solution. This was then used in conjunction with an SAP BW solution pulling and using SAP data hub to thencreate a single ecosystem of data.

Pros and Cons

  • "The data lake is invaluable. We also use Microsoft SQL in terms of structuring the data and getting into a position where it could be useful to support reporting. We Databricks for data science. We incorporated Databricks with that as well."
  • "In terms of improvement, it could use better integration with non-propriety tools. Azure pushes you down a data factory road for integrations but data factory isn't always a scalable, viable solution, particularly when using large numbers ofconnections to IoT solutions."

What other advice do I have?

I would rate it an eight out of ten. Think about your file structure to make sure you get it right. Management of the business is important because if the business starts pushing data into it in can turn into a data swamp.
SaroFranchina
Information Systems Manager at a non-tech company with 501-1,000 employees
Real User
Top 20
Nov 14, 2019
Good scaling and very good management features but very expensive

What is our primary use case?

We primarily use the solution for backup and replication.

What is most valuable?

The solution's most valuable features are its usability, scalability, and management, which is really easy. It is not a heavy product either. 

What needs improvement?

The biggest problem with Azure is the price. It's cost too high. Technical support needs improvement.

For how long have I used the solution?

I've been using the solution since 2014.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

The scalability of the solution is good.

How are customer service and technical support?

Technical support is not really excellent. It's not easy to speak with the right level of engineer directly. We need to wait for a first level and then wait again to be moved…