Mule ESB Overview

Mule ESB is the #1 ranked solution in our list of top ESB tools. It is most often compared to webMethods Integration Server: Mule ESB vs webMethods Integration Server

What is Mule ESB?
For companies looking to modernize and unlock the value of existing on-premises systems and applications, an enterprise service bus (ESB) architecture serves as a critical foundation layer for SOA. When deployed as an ESB, the Mule runtime engine of Anypoint Platform combines the power of data and application integration across legacy systems and SaaS applications, with a seamless path to the other capabilities of Anypoint Platform and the full power of API-led connectivity.
Mule ESB Buyer's Guide

Download the Mule ESB Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: April 2021

Mule ESB Customers
Ube, PacificComp, University of Witwatersrand, Justice Systems, Camelot
Mule ESB Video

Filter Archived Reviews (More than two years old)

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
PS
reviewer958686
Technical Lead at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
User
Nov 21, 2018
It helps in managing APIs, but many of the customers feel that the licensing costs are too much

What is our primary use case?

API integration with many backend systems, deployment options, testing.  It helps me to manage API as well.

How has it helped my organization?

For API creation and integrations in agile mode. Reduces the development cost and time as we work in agile mode.

What is most valuable?

Connectors: It has many connectors and components that really help to complete the development very quickly.

What needs improvement?

Support, and with respect to licensing cost. Many of the customers feel that the licensing cost is much.

For how long have I used the solution?

One to three years.
it_user805440
Applications Architect at Informatica Delta
User
Jun 13, 2018
We have seen a significant improvement in our processes

What is our primary use case?

The integration of an ERP system with a payment system in order to improve accounting information and invoice management.

How has it helped my organization?

We have seen a significant improvement in our processes: Response time decreased significantly and integration of services became faster.

What is most valuable?

The architecture based on events: It has several connectors which allow integration from external and internal applications of the company.

What needs improvement?

The payment system The accounting and financial areas The provisioning and enrollment system, because the response time was short.  

For how long have I used the solution?

One to three years.
Learn what your peers think about Mule ESB. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: April 2021.
476,892 professionals have used our research since 2012.
it_user642183
Sr. Integration Architect at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
Real User
Oct 21, 2017
Valuable features API management, Connectors & Flow tuning

Pros and Cons

  • "Scalability and load balancing."
  • "Limitation on external subscribers to listen to the messages on the bus."

What other advice do I have?

Plan your use cases and set your expectations on the features that need to be implemented. It is an ESB that can deploy seamlessly on-premises and in the cloud with strong API management and governance and has a strong integration with open source products like JBPM and Drools if these features are part of your requirements.
Naveen Tak
Senior Integration Consultant at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
Consultant
Oct 3, 2017
Provides API support and management.

Pros and Cons

  • "We can use Java expressions anywhere in the flow."
  • "It needs more samples. Also, the dependency on Maven should be removed."

What other advice do I have?

Go for it, but first read their sample exercises. It is a one stop solution and it is an amazing product. However, 1. It is an expensive product 2. Expensive support
Surendranath C
Principal Architect And Management Council Member at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
Real User
Top 20
Aug 21, 2017
It has changed our approach towards integration. HTTP/Messaging listener services, data transformation and connection handling are now redundant.

What is most valuable?

In order of importance: - Connectors - Data Weave - Mule Expression Language

How has it helped my organization?

It has changed our approach towards integration, making plumbing functions such as HTTP/Messaging listener services, data transformation and connection handling redundant.

What needs improvement?

Documentation is cryptic, product releases are far too frequent, and upgrades become troublesome.

For how long have I used the solution?

1 year as a developer and architect.

What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

Deployment of custom flows is troublesome and fraught with difficulty
it_user647418
Senior IT Consultant at a tech services company with 11-50 employees
Consultant
May 25, 2017
There are already defined endpoint components such as HTTP, JMS, and FTP.

What other advice do I have?

Make an architectural plan in depth before implementing a solution based on this product. Otherwise, it might cost far more than expected.
samir douichi
Solution Architect at Aractronic
Consultant
May 23, 2017
It can embrace the architectural style and SOA practices in place where it’s deployed.

What other advice do I have?

My advice to organisations looking to implement this product is to begin with the community version as a proof-of-concept and a way to avoid risks. You can then directly migrate to the enterprise edition as the Anypoint Platform offers tools that architects and developers across the enterprise can adapt quickly to design, build, and manage the entire lifecycle of their APIs, applications and products. With Mule as its core runtime engine, Anypoint Platform is built with open technologies to promote reusability, modularity and collaboration, increasing developer productivity and project speed.
it_user650016
Software Engineer at a financial services firm with 10,001+ employees
Vendor
May 22, 2017
The most valuable features are the connectors, DataWeave, and the way it simplifies the application development.

What other advice do I have?

Since most organizations are now going digital and opening up their resources via APIs, companies should explore using this solution.
it_user641259
Co Founder & Principal Architect at a tech vendor with 1-10 employees
Vendor
May 21, 2017
Some of the valuable features are parallel processing support and integration with other products.

What other advice do I have?

I would recommend this solution due to its support for multiple integration options.
it_user639354
Senior Software Engineer at a computer software company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Vendor
May 21, 2017
You can write business logic as a workflow.

What other advice do I have?

Don’t abuse it. Be clear if you want a Mule application to solely solve your business problems, or if you want it as an add-on to solve a few problems that your main application can’t solve. You may get into scalability issues if you are not clear about this basic difference.
it_user651525
Integration Architect @ Information Management, Integration and Analytics - RXP Services Limited at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
Consultant
May 17, 2017
It allows for mappings using a DSL

What other advice do I have?

Focus on the business problem you want to solve, as the technical integration in MuleSoft is relatively simple.
TejasPurohit
Co-Founder & Director at a tech services company with 1-10 employees
Real User
May 15, 2017
Message routing redirects messages to the appropriate target endpoint. I would suggest adding scenario-based and audio-visual tutorials.
Diego Hidalgo
QA Manager at Tandicorp
Real User
Top 10Leaderboard
Feb 16, 2016
Integrates heterogeneous environments, developments in a short time. Exception handling flows aren't explained very well