NetApp Snapshot Reviews

Filter by:Reset all filters
industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Soluarch67
Real User
Solution Architect at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
Sep 23 2019

What is most valuable?

Snapshot has a specific purpose as a means to take a temporary picture of the current state of the data. This is its main feature but also the most important and valuable. Really, it is the only thing that it does.

How has it helped my organization?

Snapshot has improved our operations by allowing the opportunity to manipulate data sets without having to worry about making major mistakes with the data.

What needs improvement?

Because the product is so mature — it was developed 25 years ago — every major feature that should be added to the product is already added. It doesn't seem that this product can be improved upon in significant ways. It is used to make a… more»

What other advice do I have?

On a scale from one to ten, with one being the worst and ten being the best, I would rate NetApp's Snapshot as a six or seven. The problem with offering advice about this product is that it is just a component of a system. It is almost like… more»

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

A lot of vendors have a Snapshot solution. Snapshot is just the name of a solution by NetApp and represents one approach. Different vendors have different types of solutions for capturing data states. For example, it's like a diesel car, a… more»
Manuel Costa
Real User
System Administrator - Infrastructure Area Coordinator at a media company with 501-1,000 employees
Sep 22 2019

What is most valuable?

The speed is the most valuable feature. The interface is user-friendly and we can do a lot of customization with it.

How has it helped my organization?

Compared to the traditional way we did backups, with Snapshot it takes us less time. It has improved my organization by saving us time.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

It's not too expensive.

If you previously used a different solution, which one did you use and why did you switch?

We used standard backup solutions by Dell EMC. We actually preferred Dell EMC solutions.

What other advice do I have?

I'm quite happy with the solution and the integration it has with other products. I would recommend it to someone considering it. I would rate it with a nine out of ten. Not a perfect ten because there is one point off to give it room for… more»
Find out what your peers are saying about NetApp, Dell EMC, Carbonite and others in Data Replication. Updated: September 2019.
370,827 professionals have used our research since 2012.
OKAN GURSOY
Real User
Storage & Backup Expert at 4S Bilisim
Sep 16 2019

What do you think of NetApp Snapshot?

What is our primary use case?

I am using the solution for backup purposes in a private cloud environment

What is most valuable?

The most valuable features of this solution are the snapshot and clone capabilities. This solution is easy to use.

What needs improvement?

I would like to see cloud features added to the next release of this solution.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been using this solution for two years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

This is a very stable solution.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

This solution is scalable. We have approximately seventy-five users. We have no plans to increase our usage at this time.

How are customer service and technical support?

The solution has been working…
Real User
Manager with 11-50 employees
Oct 03 2019

What do you think of NetApp Snapshot?

What is our primary use case?

In the current environment we keep Snapshots for only five days. So we go into the backup solution of using Veeam and VMware.

What is most valuable?

What I find most valuable, is the simplicity of the technology. It has a user-friendly interface.

What needs improvement?

I think the automation needs some improvement. It is not very user-friendly and could therefore be adapted a little. 

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been using NetApp Snapshot for around 11 years now.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

The solution is very stable.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

In my opinion one would easily be able to scale on this solution. We currently have about ten users.

How are customer

Real User
System Administration Supervisor at a non-tech company with 11-50 employees
Sep 23 2019

What do you think of NetApp Snapshot?

What is most valuable?

The feature that's most valuable is the ability to take a snapshot from a machine or VMware.

What needs improvement?

The solution needs to ensure it has higher availability or business continuity.

For how long have I used the solution?

I've been using the solution for three years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

The solution is very stable.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

The scalability is good.

How are customer service and technical support?

Technical support was good. We used them when we were upgrading the solution.

How was the initial setup?

The initial setup was straightforward.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

The pricing of the solution is good.

What other

Jagdish Hegde
Real User
Lead Storage Engineer - Cloud Platform at a tech vendor with 1,001-5,000 employees
May 22 2018

What is most valuable?

* It centralizes your data. * It lets your storage take care of backup, DR, and BCP. * You never have to worry about protecting your virtual machines.

How has it helped my organization?

Did you lose your VM? No worries, spin up a new VM and attach to data. Set a policy and tag it during storage provisioning. You never have to worry about maintaining millions of files stored across several thousands of virtual machines.

What needs improvement?

If there is a way to save more on the number of snapshots, it should be included in the next release. If your data is more dynamic and changes frequently, you need more granular retention levels and need to save it for a longer duration, then this becomes a real challenge.

Articles

User Assessments By Topic About NetApp Snapshot

Find out what your peers are saying about NetApp, Dell EMC, Carbonite and others in Data Replication. Updated: September 2019.
370,827 professionals have used our research since 2012.

NetApp Snapshot Questions

What is NetApp Snapshot?

NetApp Snapshot point-in-time copy software protects data with no performance impact and uses minimal storage space.

NetApp Snapshot customers

Mazda

BUYER'S GUIDE
Download our free Data Replication Report and find out what your peers are saying about NetApp, Dell EMC, Carbonite, and more!
Sign Up with Email