NETSCOUT InfiniStreamNG Overview

NETSCOUT InfiniStreamNG is the #16 ranked solution in our list of best Network Monitoring Tools. It is most often compared to NETSCOUT vSTREAM: NETSCOUT InfiniStreamNG vs NETSCOUT vSTREAM

What is NETSCOUT InfiniStreamNG?

NETSCOUT’s new ISNG platform harnesses the power of IP intelligence by mining traffic in real-time to deliver accurate and actionable data for service assurance, cybersecurity and business intelligence applications. The InfiniStreamNG platform fully supports the nGeniusONE and Iris application suites.

NETSCOUT InfiniStreamNG is also known as InfiniStreamNG, NETSCOUT ISNG, Infinistream.

NETSCOUT InfiniStreamNG Buyer's Guide

Download the NETSCOUT InfiniStreamNG Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: January 2021

NETSCOUT InfiniStreamNG Customers

U.S. Department of Defense

NETSCOUT InfiniStreamNG Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about NETSCOUT InfiniStreamNG pricing:
  • "The scalability is good, but it comes at a cost. E.g., if you need 100 InfiniStream because you are sending gigs or terabytes of data to one InfiniStream, then you will have to purchase another InfiniStream, which are not cheap."
  • "It can be scalable. It just costs too much. With a company as big as ours, it gets too expensive to accommodate every single site."
  • "This product could be cheaper."

NETSCOUT InfiniStreamNG Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Evan Scott
IT Network Engineer at a consultancy with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Apr 30, 2019
We can show developers what's going on in the network to help them improve applications

What is our primary use case?

We use it for a lot of things. Application performance would be our primary use case. We also use the solution for proactive monitoring of remote sites, as we have several remote sites across the country. We have probes in those sites that allow us to see the traffic on the local area network, and then send that back up to nG1 so that we can decipher it.

Pros and Cons

  • "I love the single pane of glass view. It makes it easier to not have to navigate everywhere. It allows more simplistic visibility, without having to go from tool to tool to tool, or from window to window to window."
  • "The NetFlow Collectors could handle more flows per minute."

What other advice do I have?

Try to find a better product, because I don't think you will. I would rate the solution at a nine out of ten, at least. I just don't see very many flaws in it. It really works well. It does what it advertises that it does. It does more than a lot of people think that it does. It's been a good investment for our company. We've really gotten our money's worth out of it.
SeniorNe29a0
Senior Network Engineer at a insurance company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
May 19, 2019
We can track packet latency and see in-between different sites

What is our primary use case?

We use it for troubleshooting application performance issues and monitoring applications.

Pros and Cons

  • "The technical support is really good. They will go above and beyond, if you are running into a problem. You can go to a sales engineer, who will engage technical support to help you out."
  • "The stability depends on who is using the tool, because you only can get as much out of the tool as you put into it. There are a lot of patches for this particular environment, so you have to keep on them. If you lose track of them, then the product is not useful anymore."

What other advice do I have?

This tool will help you be more proactive. We use this solution for proactive monitoring of SaaS applications and remote sites. E.g., when the radio is not functioning, nGeniusPULSE will tell us that radio is not functioning. It allows us to go in and address an issue before a user even gets into the office. The dependency mapping is great because it looks at the passive packet flow. You can pick and map it out through the NG1 server. The single pane of glass view is good. There are so many different facets or layers to this stuff with a lot of prerequisites before you can get a single pane of…
Learn what your peers think about NETSCOUT InfiniStreamNG. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: January 2021.
456,495 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Joerg Wallace
Engineer at All Native Group
Real User
May 21, 2019
The performance metrics gives us a proactive analysis of the different applications which are being used on the network

What is our primary use case?

We do pre-analysis using the OptiView of the networks. We also do what is called packet analysis, quick reaction. We go through the site using OptiView, doing data analysis, bring it back and use that. We also do the pen screens on migrated sites through Joint Regional Security Stack (JRSS), so when we do the pen screen installs, the ball feeds back to the regional cyber center and into the nGeniusOne. Then, we look at the nGeniusONE to do KPIs, data analysis, and see where the problems are with the network and give reports on it. We try to be proactive regarding the networks using this tool… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "It has cut our troubleshooting down by days. Once we have a product in place, we show people examples of how it can streamline their troubleshooting process."
  • "Only problems that we have had are fiber issues going into the TAPs or vSTREAMs, which are usually local site issues."

What other advice do I have?

Go with NETSCOUT. Versus other tools out there, this is the best tool. We are getting ready to get the solution for unified communication application performance.
Shon Sweeney
Engineer at Transaction Network Services
Real User
Top 20
May 20, 2019
We can follow a trend, whether its traffic is increasing or decreasing, and isolate a time of fault

What is our primary use case?

Currently, we use it for our LTE roaming solution. We monitor the traffic between partner LTE providers and the business analytics.

Pros and Cons

  • "When we have mobile operators who are signal partners, where one is the roaming host and another is the roamer, we are able to see their traffic. Their packets are able to detect if any faults to develop, and at what point they fail."
  • "The monitoring and reporting tool needs improvement. Users want more information, such as the level of detail when doing a packet analysis. They want more detail to be able to isolate down to a specific point."

What other advice do I have?

Have a good detailed plan of how you want to deploy it. Once it's deployed, it will probably be very difficult to rearrange it in a short amount of time.
Norvell Barber
Technology Manager at Wells Fargo
Real User
May 20, 2019
Once you know how to use the product, it's easy and simple

What is our primary use case?

We analyze all the data which comes in and out of the bank with InfiniStreams.

Pros and Cons

  • "The product is stable. I have never had any issue where we have lost an InfiniStream, or visibility from that particular InfiniStream, throughout the bank."
  • "The technology goes end-of-life on us every year, which is why I am looking forward to vSTREAM. I don't like when devices go end-of-life on us so quickly. If we can get more of an advanced notice of when an end-of-life is brought up, because our certification process within the organization takes a while."

What other advice do I have?

Talk to their SEs. Make sure you get your bang for your buck with the proper instrumentation, like with a vSTREAM. I am pretty pleased with the product. Once you know how to use the product, it's easy and simple. It doesn't break. Ours don't. We haven't had any issues, and that means a lot.
Wess Benson
Network Analyst at State of Montana
Real User
May 15, 2019
It's simple to use, easy to manage, and gives great information

What is our primary use case?

We use it to monitor the network. The State has been using the nGeniusONE solution for over 10 years.

Pros and Cons

  • "It allows us to get quicker resolutions. We can see exactly what is using up the bandwidth, so we can assist end users."
  • "We use it for monitoring whenever we update a new circuit or site."
  • "Being able to manage the packet flow switches in nGeniusONE would be great."

What other advice do I have?

It is a great tool, which works extremely well for what it does. If you can get it in and get it placed correctly in your network, it's one of the best tools that you can get. I like the dependency mapping, but I haven't use it much. I would like to utilize it more. We do more reactive monitoring.
NetworkM2506
Network Manager at a manufacturing company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
May 19, 2019
With utilization and consumption of bandwidth, we can usually see what application is taking as much as they should

What is our primary use case?

The primary use case is for reactive application monitoring, not proactive yet. We are working on deploying proactive monitoring of SaaS applications and remote sites. The company has been using the product for years.

Pros and Cons

  • "It helps us get to root cause quickly. With utilization and consumption of bandwidth, we can usually see what application is taking as much as they should (or shouldn't), then account for it accordingly."
  • "The real-time troubleshooting and application segregation that you can do within it."
  • "I would like to see an improved level of stitching between IPs."

What other advice do I have?

If you are looking for a good application monitoring and packet analysis tool, you can strategically use NETSCOUT to get it done. Depending on how you do it, you can do it in a cost-efficient way. That is how we did it. I haven't used the single pane of glass or the dependency mapping.
David Soper
Network Engineer at Applied Systems
Real User
May 15, 2019
An issue that used to take days is now fixed within minutes to an hour

What is our primary use case?

The primary use case is for troubleshooting customers' connectivity.

Pros and Cons

  • "The tool has the ability to look back within a month's data. It is very easy to navigate within the tool and troubleshoot the problem, compared to other solutions that we've used in the past."
  • "The ability to troubleshoot customers' connectivity has been very beneficial."
  • "We don't use the single pane of glass view, even though we own it."

What other advice do I have?

I am overall pretty satisfied with the product. It helps with our troubleshooting needs. We haven't got to the dependency mapping yet, which is in the nGeniousONE client, but we are looking forward to getting there.
See 4 more NETSCOUT InfiniStreamNG Reviews