One Identity Manager Overview

One Identity Manager is the #1 ranked solution in our list of top User Provisioning Software. It is most often compared to SailPoint IdentityIQ: One Identity Manager vs SailPoint IdentityIQ

What is One Identity Manager?

One Identity Manager helps you mitigate risk, secure data, meet uptime requirements and satisfy compliance by giving your users access to data and applications they need and nothing more. IAM can be driven by business needs, not IT capabilities. With Identity Manager, you can manage user identities, privileges and security across the enterprise, putting you in control of identity management and taking the burden off your IT staff.

One Identity Manager is also known as Quest One Identity Manager, Dell One Identity Manager.

One Identity Manager Buyer's Guide

Download the One Identity Manager Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: January 2021

One Identity Manager Customers

Texas A&M, Sky Media, BHF Bank, Swiss Post, Union Investment, Wayne State University. More at OneIdentity.com/casestudies

One Identity Manager Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about One Identity Manager pricing:
  • "From a cost perspective, One Identity has the biggest bang for the buck."
  • "There are old processes that are really great for some people and look like pieces of artwork. However, the maintenance of them is really expensive."
  • "It needs flexibility in the licensing or packaging, because you buy the entire package at once, and sometimes the customers are a bit overwhelmed with whatever they get. I would like if they could cut the licensing or packaging into somewhat smaller things."
  • "It has helped to reduce customer costs."

One Identity Manager Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
reviewer955311
Director, Global Identity and Access Technologies at a financial services firm with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Oct 21, 2020
Enables us to automate SOX recertification, saving a significant amount of time

What is our primary use case?

One of the key use cases is certifications for SOX applications. Another is centralized onboarding and offboarding. Another use case is the Self Service using the IT Shop, which gives us a repository of entitlements that people can request and then have the approval workflows, and document the approvals for SOX and other regulatory requirements. The appliances we use for this solution are VMs. We went with that version because we're forced to. We're not allowed to use physical hardware. Our infrastructure group requires us to use VMs.

Pros and Cons

  • "The most valuable features include the automated attestations or recertification... The time that people have to focus on their real jobs and not spend it doing recertifications is huge."
  • "[Regarding] their upgrades, we're going to 8.12 right now and everything is running very smoothly but this is actually the first upgrade that has gone off well. Even the other "dots" have taken us six months or longer to get through QA testing."

What other advice do I have?

It isn't just this product. IAM projects never come in on time or on budget. It's just the nature of the beast. But definitely have your use cases thoroughly defined. If you have those, the configuration will come rather easily. Even though customization is available, you need to be aware of the dependencies and the other features that may be negatively impacted if you don't do best practices. You want to make sure that you're using best practices and not just configuring something because that's the way it's done in your company. That could negatively impact the other features that do adhere…
reviewer1214262
User at a tech services company with 201-500 employees
MSP
Oct 25, 2019
Enables us to find all sorts of questionable activity that we were able to address

What is our primary use case?

Access governance related to audits. BAAN, AX, AS400, AD, Exchange, Footprints, several home-grown applications. We had a relatively small AD (about 5,000 users) but our primary challenge was that all of the legacy systems in place, including multiple instances of BAAN that came from different M&A deals, each with their own configurations and entitlements.

Pros and Cons

  • "The short version is that we gained significant insight into the issues of access governance. This allowed us to turn an auditing nightmare into praise from our auditors."
  • "The support team could be improved on. The first level of support essentially looks up knowledge base articles and often can't provide the answer needed."

What other advice do I have?

My advice would be to implement the out-of-box product and pull in your initial data sooner rather than later. Planning is needed but I assure you that you likely don't know how much of a mess you're in, especially if you have no IAM solution already in place. The OOB data collection will help shed light on the issue you have and have yet to discover then you can craft robust solutions to tackle them. Involve HR, involve your process owners, involve your business unit leads. Ultimately, you want to use a tool like this to empower your business to make decisions and engage in self-service. It…
Learn what your peers think about One Identity Manager. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: January 2021.
456,966 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Massimiliano Ferrazzi
Senior Manager Global IT Operations at a healthcare company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Top 20
May 5, 2019
Automation simplifies multiple-account and role management

What is our primary use case?

We use it to manage all identities within the company. We use it to monitor users when onboarding and offboarding. We also use it for all the related accounts, such as SAP accounts and AD, to give permissions to our employees within these systems. We do all the privileged management as well within One Identity Manager, which mainly consists of monitoring and control of users, especially who's changing what.

Pros and Cons

  • "The connection with multiple systems is what makes it flexible. We can create the accounts flexibly, enabling access to other systems. In addition to Active Directory, it can extend to SAP, to Salesforce, to Office 365, etc."
  • "More integration with SAP and with the internet of things would be good. We also have system devices that we could manage as identities, so that would be a feature to add."

What other advice do I have?

The tool is one of the best tools, out-of-the-box. It has great integration, especially for companies using SAP. On the other side, choose the right partner and don't look at only one system, but other systems as well. If a company is looking for a system to control SAP, don't focus on your SAP. Look at one system which is able to manage in general, and with good integrations. One identity is one of those systems. It is also important to have a defined process. We establish it and then, with the use of the tool, we apply it. I would rate the solution at nine out of ten. I like the…
Tobias Stehle
Product Owner at DmTech Gmbh
Real User
Apr 3, 2019
Its huge toolkit allows for customization and flexibility

What is our primary use case?

We manage companies identities and different legal bodies in it from all over Europe.

Pros and Cons

  • "This solution has helped to increase employee productivity when it comes to provisioning users in our systems. This solution has been really been effective with our retail workers. It wouldn't be possible to onboard and manage our 40,000 store employees without it. The management of the solution is pretty automated."
  • "It's a huge toolkit, and you can do a lot of stuff with it. You can extend nearly everything, so if you want to build something that may not have been though of by the vendor. Compared with other distributors who design their products to certain specification, you can put in your own processes, because not all companies function the same. You can write what you want, and the process should be like that."
  • "They could make the product more user-friendly. It takes a lot of work to build technical and business cases with the product. The solution is more complex than you think to use."
  • "They could improve the support. Sometimes, you make a service request and don't get an answer. Then, sometimes, we don't get a response that we want, and it's frustrating."

What other advice do I have?

Don't work too much in the beginning. Focus on what's really necessary and important. Forget the luxuries you have. There are old processes that are really great for some people and look like pieces of artwork. However, the maintenance of them is really expensive. So, know what you really need, what is your business case, and what is important for you. Keep it simple and structured. Then, you will be happy with a solution like One Identity Manager. You have to understand the concepts of the software. Then, you can be productive and be happy with it. We were able, with this solution, to go…
SystemsS20e4
Systems Specialist at a financial services firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
May 5, 2019
Automates assignment of users to AD groups and brings all our systems together in one place

What is our primary use case?

We use it to control identity and access management in our company.

Pros and Cons

  • "Nobody has to put people in AD groups by hand anymore. It goes automatically and that's very good. It's also very flexible. It's quite easy to customize and we have customized it a lot."
  • "One of the things we would like is the ability to have more than one system role manager. That would be nice. For example, when people are on vacation, sometimes it gets a little hard to administrate system roles."

What other advice do I have?

It's very good to have a system that handles access rights and a system that you can automate with a lot of other systems like with LDAP and Active Directory. You can probably integrate it with other things as well. For us, it has been a very nice product and we are very happy with it. The advantages come with many other things that need to be done to use Identity Manager. It takes time to create things and get new systems and features running and to teach people how to use it. We've heard about the privileged account governance features. We haven't yet started using them but I think we will…
SystemsSe13e
Systems Specialist at a financial services firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Apr 25, 2019
Flexible solution you can customize by creating scripts or modifying the schema

What is our primary use case?

We use it to make requests and show the information that the users have, as well as for attestation.

Pros and Cons

  • "For me, personally, the automation is the most valuable feature. I don't have to do things manually, like creating user accounts and provisioning them to the target systems."
  • "The system role manager, or some of the roles that are inside Identity Manager, are limited to one user. It would be more flexible if these responsibility roles could be attached to many people."

What other advice do I have?

Keep the scope small in the beginning, so you don't do too much. Go live and then add more features on the way because, otherwise, it can go on for years, and you never get anything done. Also, don't start to customize features too much. Try to use what comes out-of-the-box and try to implement it that way. Somebody has thought of these things already. In most companies, a lot of these things are probably done in the same way. I would rate One Identity Manager at eight out of ten. There's always room for improvement, but I'm pretty satisfied.
Umit Yilmaz
Owner at UY IAM Consultancy
Consultant
Top 20
Apr 11, 2019
The policy and role management features are superb

What is our primary use case?

The primary use case for this solution is implementing them at the customer site, according to the customer's business needs. E.g., certain customers needs an attestation case. The reason for implementing this solution is the need to become somewhat more in control. There is also the ease of use for connecting products to target systems, like an Active Directory or Exchange.

Pros and Cons

  • "The policy and role management features are superb. If you have a customer who is willing to go somewhere with role management, then the possibilities are endless with the product. It is well-structured, and the architecture is well-defined."
  • "Some features aren't supported by the technical support. It is based on your own risk, which I can accept, but I would be happier if they would provide me some additional information about them anyway, e.g., deleting tables or columns."

What other advice do I have?

It isn't that hard of a product to use. It's actually very easy to set up. Your business case is much easier than you think, forget the word complex. Just use the product as it is meant to be used, and it will make your life easier. It will also make your customers much happier, reducing the time to implement something or making the company grow. I have done some basic SAP integrations just using the out-of-the-box connectors. After connecting it, the customers with their own technical teams go in and clean up SAP. The customers that I am working with haven't moved to the cloud yet or are just…
Vp841f
VP at a healthcare company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Apr 11, 2019
This solution helps with compliance by having a way of controlling an audit trail, but it is not really scalable

What is our primary use case?

The primary use case is managing business applications.

Pros and Cons

  • "This solution is quite flexible. We have a lot of customization since we have our own business processes."
  • "This solution helps with compliance by having a way of controlling an audit trail, knowing how things are done, and knowing how to control who has access to what."
  • "The policy and role management features are a bit hard to scale. The whole model for who can do what and how to set it up is not so well-governed for a larger organization. The demos are always shown for a 100 or a 1000 people, but when it is a large number, it is quite difficult to maintain."
  • "Their technical support's attitude is a bit strange. Quite often, we have to prove that there is a problem with the product rather than having them prove that there is not a problem with the product."

What other advice do I have?

Evaluate how you can do the rollout, how will you approach the rollout, and if you have other application. Check how you are going to do the rollout and plan for it, then evaluate the products against it. It has increased our help desk calls a lot. We probably have between 60 and 100 access calls related to access management processes in One Identity Manager a day. One Identity Manager has not impacted our cloud strategy and its management.
See 23 more One Identity Manager Reviews
Buyer's Guide
Download our free One Identity Manager Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.