OpenText Documentum Overview

OpenText Documentum is the #6 ranked solution in our list of top Enterprise Content Management tools. It is most often compared to SharePoint: OpenText Documentum vs SharePoint

What is OpenText Documentum?

EMC Documentum is an enterprise content management platform that was purchased by EMC from the original developers in 2003.

EMC Documentum offers a range of products that are all highly integrated, secure, and cater for the full information lifecycle. The workplace has become increasingly dispersed, mobile and social, and EMC Documentum provides information solutions to align with these new business requirements.

OpenText Documentum is also known as Dell EMC Documentum, Documentum .

OpenText Documentum Buyer's Guide

Download the OpenText Documentum Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: January 2021

OpenText Documentum Customers

Bank for International Settlements, Postel, GSD&M, Agility Logistics, and E.ON

OpenText Documentum Video

OpenText Documentum Archived Reviews (More than two years old)

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Romas Bunevicius
Director of Business Development at a tech services company with 11-50 employees
Real User
Nov 6, 2018
It helps us achieve enterprise content management. The biggest issue for us is the high price of the product.

What is our primary use case?

We use this for documentation management. It provides possibilities for us to save documents and supporting the business process while doing so. It helps us with some of the overflow of documents, and that is very important for our company.

How has it helped my organization?

It helps us achieve enterprise content management. It is quite good.

What is most valuable?

It helps us with some of the overflow of documents, and that is very important for our company.

What needs improvement?

The biggest issue for us is the price of the product.

For how long have I used the solution?

One to three years.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

It is quite an expensive product. The price is very high. 

Which other solutions

Sl832Arc321
Solution Architect / Manager Software Engineer at a financial services firm with 10,001+ employees
Vendor
Aug 21, 2018
Lifecycle management enables different business rules for different "states" of content

What is our primary use case?

We use it for enterprise content management and we have many businesses which use it for business process content management. So we have two categories of users. The primary use case is lifecycle management or flow management and that includes the enterprise content management service.

Pros and Cons

    • "It needs a better UI and it should also be cloud-ready. The UI has not changed in years."

    What other advice do I have?

    When selecting a vendor, the primary considerations are the cloud and that we need simplified solutions for all of our customers.
    Find out what your peers are saying about OpenText, Microsoft, Alfresco and others in Enterprise Content Management. Updated: January 2021.
    456,249 professionals have used our research since 2012.
    Luis Izarra
    Manager - Projects at Cognizant
    Consultant
    Jun 14, 2018
    Reduced the amount of paper documents; reducing time and errors in the process

    What is our primary use case?

    We use it for content management solutions and processes, such as credit, document lifecycle, etc., in the following verticals: banks, insurances, and so on.

    How has it helped my organization?

    It has reduced the amount of paper documents; reducing time and errors in the process. This has improved people effectiveness and avoided missing documents.

    What is most valuable?

    Ability to build a solution without code. Build solutions based on process and content management.

    What needs improvement?

    It should provide: More Docker based solutions. More support to the cloud (AWS, Azure, etc.). More tools to help clients upgrade solutions based on Webtop.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    More than five years.
    it_user5988
    Anonymous User at a tech vendor with 10,001+ employees
    MSP
    Jan 24, 2017
    Core components provide features such as permissions, auditing, transactions and debugging. The permissions model could be better.

    What other advice do I have?

    Stick to the core (Content Server, DFC)! I don't want to say WDK because Dell EMC is/was always saying it was going to end it. Otherwise, it was something to consider. Dell EMC made DFS, which was a logical approach. But for several users (like myself), if you design web services by yourself using plain DFC, you’ll get better web services and it's not that complicated. Of course, you're not going to provide all the functionality DFS provides, but you won't need it. Make it simple when possible! When you need something more complex regarding specific functionality or great performance, consider…
    it_user135282
    Change Manager at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
    Consultant
    Jun 28, 2014
    Nice for document management but it's not too flexible

    Valuable Features

    Lifecycle management

    Improvements to My Organization

    We use it as a repository of our records.

    Room for Improvement

    The interface is not user-friendly, new meta data classes are not easy to create.

    Use of Solution

    6 months

    Stability Issues

    Not too stable.

    Customer Service and Technical Support

    Customer Service: AverageTechnical Support: Average

    Initial Setup

    Complex. We needed external help to set it up.

    Implementation Team

    Through a vendor team.
    it_user103896
    Sales Engineer at a tech consulting company with 11-50 employees
    Real User
    Apr 8, 2014
    Documentum was stable, but it did not serve our business well

    What other advice do I have?

    Be sure that you can invest the time for implementation on this also, use their technical services team. The software does what it says it does, but make sure you have considered cheaper options.