Oracle Audit Vault Overview

Oracle Audit Vault is the #3 ranked solution in our list of top Database Security tools. It is most often compared to IBM Guardium Data Protection: Oracle Audit Vault vs IBM Guardium Data Protection

What is Oracle Audit Vault?
Oracle Audit Vault monitors Oracle and non-Oracle database traffic to detect and block threats, as well as improves compliance reporting by consolidating audit data from databases, operating systems, directories, and other sources.

Oracle Audit Vault is also known as Audit Vault.

Oracle Audit Vault Buyer's Guide

Download the Oracle Audit Vault Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: February 2021

Oracle Audit Vault Customers
Abu Dhabi Department of Finance, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia Ministry of Health, Educational Testing Service, Ryohin Keikaku Co. Ltd., SPC Brasil, REDISA, Qatar Olympic Committee, Seneca College, Hunan Social Insurance Management and Service Bureau,
Oracle Audit Vault Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about Oracle Audit Vault pricing:
  • "Oracle can be an expensive solution depending on the options and user needs."
  • "The licensing cost is about $360,000, annually."
  • "This solution is definitely not expensive, and it is a small fraction of the overall database licensing costs."
  • "For the bank, the license was $48,000 last time. That was the licensing for the bank on just one license."

Oracle Audit Vault Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
AaronMasembe
Information Technology and Services Professional at Independent
Real User
Jun 10, 2019
A powerful, full-featured network data security solution

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use case is to filter the database traffic internally and to know who is doing what in the database and why they are doing it at any point in time.

Pros and Cons

  • "A powerful, flexible solution for database traffic monitoring."
  • "The product monitors only the database and not the operating systems."

What other advice do I have?

I would rate Oracle Audit Vault an eight out of ten. The features are there, but the users don't know how to take full advantage of them. I would strongly recommend that, when evaluating products, they need to understand the key features to leverage them. But again, at the end of the day, it's the mandate of the sales guy to get the customers to understand the product as they go to buy. If a sales guy is not selling well then there's a challenge. I'll pick out the key important features that will provide the most value. I always try to educate clients and tell them to spread out and do a…
MosesMoloi
Director (Core Technology Services) and Partner at Nexim Solutions
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Jun 3, 2019
Offers inbuilt reports for GDPR and PCI compliance

What is our primary use case?

We use this solution primarily for GDPR and PCI compliance for the bank.

Pros and Cons

  • "Our client was scheduled to take a year and a half to set up compliance, but by deploying this product they were able to do the compliance reports within three months."
  • "This solution doesn't audit the network."

What other advice do I have?

Those who want to implement it better have a proper detection in place, especially regarding documents. That's one thing that really drove us nuts because without having reference documentation of the platforms that they were targeting, it became a nightmare. I would rate this solution as eight out of ten, because of the previous reasons that I gave around some of the features that are important for my clients. If it was not for that I would have given it a ten.
Learn what your peers think about Oracle Audit Vault. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: February 2021.
464,082 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Manish Khanijo
Lead Network and Security at Qatar Credit Bureau
Real User
Top 20
Jun 5, 2019
Integration with our SIM facilitates auditing by providing us with a complete picture

What is our primary use case?

We have a few applications that use the Oracle Audit Vault as a broker service to log into the application. It uses the credentials provided by this solution. We are not using the firewall component.

Pros and Cons

  • "This solution acts as a complete data warehouse for our audit data."
  • "Customized reporting is something that we are struggling with, and it is quite tough for us."

What other advice do I have?

If you are with Oracle completely and you do not have a mix of databases then this is a great solution. However, if you have a solution that includes a mix of databases then it has a lot of limitations. The advantage of going with Oracle Audit Vault comes from its integration with data encryption, masking, and all of the Oracle security technologies. Overall, this solution delivers what it is intended to do and we are quite happy with the product. There are, however, improvements required in terms of reporting. I would rate this solution an eight out of ten.
Cedric Agokeng Kitio
Senior Database Administrator at ITGStore
Real User
Jul 5, 2019
Enables our clients to see all of their past actions or the wrong activity done on the network

What is our primary use case?

We use Oracle Audit Vault to have a view of what is present on our network behind the firewall system. We use it to block threats and audit data for clients.

Pros and Cons

  • "Our clients can see all of their past actions or the wrong activity done on the network. We can load the diagnostics for the business."
  • "Some of our customers were asking about latency when the application wants to get to the database."

What other advice do I have?

Anyone can go to with Oracle Audit Vault, but be sure you know what is going on to be comfortable with it. On a scale from one to ten, I would rate this product at 8.5. Some of the database functionality is not too good.
Osama Mustafa
Cloud Expert | DevOps | Oracle Consultant at confidential
Consultant
Top 5Leaderboard
Oct 7, 2019
One of its most valuable features is the entitlement auditing for Oracle Database and set audit policies and provision them from the Audit Vault Server console

What is our primary use case?

The main reason was to collect audit data, make it available in audit reports, and create custom reports that meet the customer's requirement and set audit policies and provision them from the Audit Vault Server console & For databases, it provides a database firewall that can monitor and/or block SQL statements on the network based on a firewall policy designed by an auditor.
MosesMoloi
Director (Core Technology Services) and Partner at Nexim Solutions
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Jul 10, 2019
Easy to deploy and use with flexible reporting and automation capabilities

What is our primary use case?

We use this solution for regulatory compliance and reporting for the enterprise. This augments regular compliance and risk management solutions. The organizations and clientele we work with include public sector and private sector businesses in the Financial Services industry, where they host data from global partners. The EU citizens and businesses now demand that GDPR be in place in order to host their data.

Pros and Cons

  • "It has provided us with a unique opportunity to automate risk discovery."
  • "We would like to see the ability to administer and manage the solution through Enterprise Manager 13c, and development of the dashboards that are generally missing."
ArchSolute344
Solution Architect at a tech services company with 201-500 employees
Real User
Jun 5, 2019
Separation of duty helps us to properly delineate between security and administration

What is our primary use case?

We use this solution to provide for separation of duties based on database encryption.

Pros and Cons

  • "The solution is very stable and reliable."
  • "One feature that is missing is the ability to have a secret server that is always encrypted."

What other advice do I have?

I use this solution once or twice per month. I would rate this solution an eight out of ten.
Product Categories
Database Security
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Oracle Audit Vault Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.