Planview Spigit Overview

Planview Spigit is the #1 ranked solution in our list of top Innovation Management Software. It is most often compared to SharePoint: Planview Spigit vs SharePoint

What is Planview Spigit?
Activate employee and customer engagement. Spigit's innovation and idea management software helps you tap your best asset (your people).

Planview Spigit is also known as Spigit.

Planview Spigit Buyer's Guide

Download the Planview Spigit Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: February 2021

Planview Spigit Customers
Pfizer, UnitedHealth Group, Citi, AT&T, Cambia Health, Siemens, Veridian Credit Union, Polaris, UNHCR, CCA Global
Planview Spigit Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about Planview Spigit pricing:
  • "We have a tiered annual licensing fee."
  • "Because the platform is used in another department, we have one parent. We are able to break off and do platforms for other business units under that parent."
  • "The yearly licensing cost is $55,000."

Planview Spigit Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Eli Gerson
Manager of Innovation at Ameren Corporation
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Mar 3, 2020
Coworkers feel more empowered to suggest solutions to the daily problems they face, seeing how they translate into results

What is our primary use case?

The team I'm on within our company does corporate planning and strategy. We're the innovation team within that world. Initially, we thought more of our use cases would be around getting idea submissions that would ultimately lead into our portfolio projects for long-term strategic purposes. What we've found is that it's harder for most coworkers to identify some of those. Unless we're sponsoring a challenge ourselves, the overlap is low for that. So instead what we've focused on more are two things. One is cultural impact, and the second one is business segment goals. When it comes to cultural… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "The nice thing is how flexible it is. We can run very small challenges. We can run very large challenges. We haven't had a company-wide challenge but we hope to have one this year. We can run a challenge within a day, with several features, or we can run a challenge over two months or an always-on challenge. We can have different goals, whether they be about culture, workplace improvements, business solutions, or strategic issues."
  • "It has an "Apple" approach where, when you open it, you understand how most of the functionality and features work. With just a little bit of guidance or training, and the videos that we watched, we were up and running really quickly."
  • "There are times when some of the system aspects move a little bit slowly, but that's a pretty minor complaint. For the most part, those are things that we see behind the scenes as administrators or moderators of challenges."

What other advice do I have?

Using it, we've confirmed the power that crowdsourcing ideation has to generate ideas and the benefit that has for corporate culture. But the most surprising thing that we've learned is how important it is as an empowerment tool, particularly for front-line workers. I gave the example above of call-center employees who have a very difficult job, relatively lower pay than the majority of their coworkers, and tougher hours and conditions. For coworkers like that, for whom it's hard to bring up concerns or issues, a tool like this creates an equal and clear footing and very clearly asks them to…
Kori Patrick
Technical Manager, Innovation R&D at Enbridge Gas
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Mar 18, 2020
Provides the ability to collect ideas for people to comment and vote on

What is our primary use case?

We are using time challenges at the business unit and department level. Enterprise-wide, we are doing rapid challenges, one- or two-hour type things within department and smaller groups to generate ideas. We are just focusing on the ideation piece and using it to collect, then prioritize top ideas around different challenges. It's on the cloud, but we have branded it internally. We call it Accelerate. When it comes up, they have a website for us, accelerate.spigit.com that we use.

Pros and Cons

  • "The ability to collect ideas for people to be able to comment and vote. We like the pairwise portion of it. It is just a simple way in which people can post ideas and review other ideas. We have used it out-of-the-box, without doing much customization."
  • "It does enable us to consolidate duplicate responses from employees, but it is difficult sometimes. We are running a challenge right now with two ideas that are pretty close and duplicate. Once they're out there and a significant amount of people have voted on them, it's hard to consolidate or merge them. The merge feature is not very clear, so it basically hides one of the ideas, removing and archiving it. I don't know if that's the best way to do it. I would want to make the secondary idea still visible, but put it under as a possible subidea to the parent idea."

What other advice do I have?

Just go for it and get started. We were at the beginning trying to get all the approvals in from senior leadership and train upwards. At the end of the day, we didn't get a lot of focus. Now that we have created a groundswell with a lot of attention, our senior leadership is seeing the success that we've had and they're now getting onboard. So, it just takes time. I would rate the product an eight (out of 10). Biggest lesson learnt: A lot of people have many ideas. There's an untapped collective intelligence which exists within your organization and people want and love to share their ideas…
Learn what your peers think about Planview Spigit. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: February 2021.
464,369 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Nick Tso
Sr. Manager of Strategy at Sutter Health
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
May 21, 2020
Provides a mechanism for our leadership to understand the pulse of what's happening in our operations

What is our primary use case?

We wanted a better way of engaging our 55,000+ employees and 12,000+ clinicians, from all across Northern California, in a very streamlined way. The Spigit platform is very intuitive and has technology built into it that has enabled us to really engage our employees and clinicians on a number of important topics, to get their feedback in real-time in a digestible way, so that we can make decisions. Planview has a ton of different tools. We don't use all of them. We just use their Spigit platform, which is a crowdsourcing platform, so that we can engage a broader group of our employees.

Pros and Cons

  • "The fully customizable, dynamic platform enables you to get the right feedback earlier on, so in the future you can save real dollars while engaging your employees throughout the entirety of the process."
  • "The backend configuration could be a little bit easier to configure. It was a little bit cumbersome for a layman to understand how to design some of the functionality and programming on the backend. Although they do offer training courses to support building that skillset."

What other advice do I have?

You have to spend the time upfront and think about what question you're trying to ask your audience, because people will provide you answers but their answers will only be as good as the questions you ask them. The questions you ask them and the answers they provide will directly relate to your ROI. If it's not thought through from the beginning, then you could spin your wheels instead of getting something that's of value. Think about how much time, money, and resources you would save if you were able to mitigate a big misstep in something that you might have rolled out. That foresight is…
JoanSureshkumar
Sr Innovation Coordinator at Advance Auto Parts, Inc.
Real User
Top 20Leaderboard
Oct 28, 2019
Provides real results, metrics, and impact to our executive team while giving team members a voice

What is our primary use case?

We are using Spigit primarily to forge crowdsource ideas from our large team member base on specific strategic questions that we have currently to either improve our business or continue to transform the business. We also can really engage our team members in a very collaborative manner. We have several different brands under our parent advance auto umbrella. Therefore, being able to tap into all of that and create a very cohesive, innovative culture.

Pros and Cons

  • "The biggest impact of using Planview would be that we were able to bridge the silos which existed between a lot of different departments or even locations. We have a very large team member base of about 75,000 employees across various different parts of the country. Being able to bridge that gap and have a way for everybody to communicate together to collaborate together, that was a first for our organization. That's been one of the most valuable things that we've seen. We also see those results in our organizational health survey as well. Our team members truly feel like this is a very inclusive, innovative company. That's been beneficial."
  • "Our biggest issue would be whenever there is an update or upgrade version, there are some things that break in the links between some of the login things on the back-end. The Planview team has done a great job of trying to put together information ahead of time and having different sessions to inform us. However, there are some things that we always end up finding in the test sessions after the updates have been done. Once we get those things ironed out, it's perfectly fine until the next upgrade. We've gone through about three upgrades, and it's happened all three times. That's the biggest pain point that we've had."

What other advice do I have?

I would definitely say have a conversation. Talk about your specific needs for the platform because there are some things that you can investigate, like other creative ways of using the platform that maybe we haven't thought about. Having that initial conversation going through, seeing a demo, and experiencing it on your own, it will enable you to have that better knowledge and decision-making. I would rate it an eight (out of 10), because of the issues that we've had with the upgrade stuff.
AntoinetteBurrell-Willoams
Business Analyst at American Express
Real User
Top 20Leaderboard
Nov 4, 2019
Quickly engages people through crowdsourcing

What is our primary use case?

We wanted to create more engagement with the floor. We did a company employee survey and one of the biggest issues that we were having was engagement. My department does a lot of client acquisition for corporate and small businesses, and we also do account development. Once we acquire the business, we need it to grow. A lot of the feedback was they weren't a part of building products or how we do processes and redundancies. So, we wanted to use the platform to get them engaged in that process improvement and also develop newer processes and products based on different ideas and innovation. It… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "The most valuable feature of Spigit is the fact that we can reach so many people with crowdsourcing. We can go across departments and branches, still being engaged and doing it so quickly."
  • "I would like more of an ability to create reporting. There are dashboards in there and they are awesome. Maybe there is probably a training class or something that they should do. I went to the Spigit training, but we didn't get into the reporting side, at least not when it came to being able to build your own reports. They showed us the reporting and where it was, but there were already dashboards built into the platform. I would like to be able to go in, create my own reporting, and take out the information and data that I feel is relevant."

What other advice do I have?

Think about the ease of use. It's like you're having an ideation meeting or solution meeting and you can only talk to so many people at that meeting and get the information you need. With this platform, you're able to narrow that down. When you're engaging the organization as a whole, change implementation becomes easier with this. When you use this platform, you're able to crowdsource. You get that benefit. You're also able to see what the floor is going to be willing to accept, what colleagues are willing to accept, and you're not just implementing another idea. You're implementing an idea…
reviewer1289688
Innovation Manager at a financial services firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Leaderboard
Mar 3, 2020
Increases the omnichannel for communication, but the reporting is difficult and archaic to use

What is our primary use case?

We use it to engage all our teammates. We have about 1,800 teammates who are in 48 different locations. Therefore, we use the solution to engage with our teammates as a crowdsourcing tool where they can submit any of their ideas. Then, we can help validate some of those ideas, because all our teammates have access as soon as they are onboarded as new employees. They have access, so they have the opportunity to comment on any topics that are posted, uploading and downloading those as well. This helps us vet ideas, helps from the very beginning of the problem/solution fit if we feel like this is… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "The voting ability is its most valuable feature. Teammates can vote an idea up or down. They can also offer feedback, and that feedback is instantaneous. It is a tool which allows us to gauge the temperature of certain product enhancements. Our system enhancements are potential areas of gaps that we have in our business."
  • "We haven't really leveraged the reports. The reports are sort of difficult and archaic, e.g., how it downloads into Excel. They are not in a usable manner where other people can look at them. I personally will look at them, but the reports are not the easiest to generate from their system."

What other advice do I have?

This is a great platform that is another communication channel for our teammates. We use the solution’s Insight analytics platform. However, our usage on it isn't that great. I know that it does have the capability for end-to-end management on the lifecycle of ideas, but we just haven't leveraged that yet. We have a robust survey and customer engagement platform. I wouldn't imagine the solution would be tied to that platform or move the needle on it at all. I would rate the product as a seven (out of 10).
reviewer1286520
Lead Intellectual Property Engineer at a manufacturing company with 51-200 employees
Real User
Leaderboard
Feb 13, 2020
Lets ideas naturally progress; identifying the best ideas

What is our primary use case?

Continuous improvement is the primary use case. We are not using it to develop new products. We use it to take something existing, then improve it, whether it's an improved process or improved way of doing things. We are only using it for the front-end.

Pros and Cons

  • "As a global organization, we are able to allow all our associates around the world to contribute and collaborate."
  • "Setting up a challenge timeline is a bit tedious and could be improved. in Spigit, the timeline is done with phases. You have to manually enter the start and stop of each phase. When you change one, all subsequent phases get changed automatically but are not consistent with the way you had it. There is a lot of double checking. This could be simplified to: I want this to start here and go for this many days. It would be a lot easier on the setup."

What other advice do I have?

Ensure you have willing and engaged sponsors. That makes all the difference in the world. The biggest lesson learnt is that culture is a big consideration with how well the program will be adopted. The solution is a 10 (out of 10). I enjoy using the product.