Quorum OnQ Reviews

Quorum OnQ is the #4 ranked solution of our top Cloud Backup tools. It's rated 4.7 out of 5 stars, and is most commonly compared to Veeam Backup & Replication - Quorum OnQ vs Veeam Backup & Replication

Filter by:
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
KevinKelcey
Director of IT at City of Gainesville Texas
Real User
Dec 4, 2019

What is our primary use case?

The main purpose is as a faster disaster recovery solution. The secondary use case is for quick, daily backups.

Pros and Cons

  • One of the biggest features is that, even on the absolutely run-of-the-mill box, if I lose any one of my servers I can automatically bring it up virtually on the physical onQ Quorum device.
  • I would really like it if they followed comparable products from other vendors and had an option where you could offload to tape. I know it sounds incredibly antiquated, but the benefit I see is that there would be a better air gap than you have with backing up to an online source.

What other advice do I have?

Figure out what your business needs are and determine if you need one appliance or two appliances for a disaster recovery physical site. Or are you're going to need to bring up these virtual machines in a cloud instance and, if so, how are you going to get access to those servers through a public cloud like the internet, through either VPNs or other software-defined networks? If somebody were to ask me what they need to do to implement this, I would definitely say know what your requirements and expectations are, and make sure you get those included beforehand. Get the thing properly spec'ed… more »
SteveThornton
Director of Computer Services at a healthcare company with 51-200 employees
Real User
Top 5
Jan 5, 2020

What is our primary use case?

We're still old-school. We have a tape backup system that we use for the majority of our servers. onQ is kind of like doubling our protection. We like the fact that it's a complete disaster recovery solution, so if we ever lost a server, we could spin it up virtually and get our server repaired and nobody would miss any work or have even noticed a difference, other than possibly a little speed, and we're not even certain they would notice that. We also use it for general file recovery every once in a while when somebody deletes something they shouldn't have. We use that scenario as our test… more »

Pros and Cons

  • When it comes to recovering what you need from a backup, it's really easy. You just drill through the directory, find the file and the date that you want, and click to recover. You then pick the directory you want to save it in. Usually, it takes a minute or two and it's done. It's quick and easy.
  • It does automated tests to the systems to make sure that you could spin them up if you needed to. And if something doesn't come back up in those tests, we get a notification saying the system didn't come back up.
  • The one thing they could do is some tweaking on the web solution that's supposed to monitor everything from one page, rather than having to bring each server up on its own webpage. It doesn't always accurately show what the system's state is at the time, and we have to restart that process now and then.

Cost and Licensing Advice

  • The initial expenditure for us was a little under $40,000 for the recent renewal. For the first three years after that, other than electricity, there's no cost. After that, their support contract has to be renewed annually. We spent close to $6,000, between the two offices, for support.

What other advice do I have?

Check out the competitors. I was so impressed with Quorum that we haven't checked out anybody else. We just wanted to stay with them. We have a good relationship with them. But do your homework and have them really demonstrate what it can do for you. I think you will be just as impressed. The biggest lesson we've learned from using onQ is that it's a system that works. We've lost a server and done a complete recovery in a matter of hours. That's really all the convincing we needed, to know that the system works. If needed, it does what they say it will do. It did it flawlessly. There was no… more »
Learn what your peers think about Quorum OnQ. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: April 2020.
446,626 professionals have used our research since 2012.
WilliamEstlow
Network Manager at Century Savings
Real User
Top 20
Mar 24, 2020

What is our primary use case?

We mostly use it for disaster recovery and high-availability. In case of a server failure, we can deploy a server and have the location up and running instantly, within minutes. And then, once the location closes, if we need to, we can do a full restore of the server to new or similar hardware. If it's something as simple as the server going down or becoming unresponsive, we can bring it up, use it for what's needed, and then just transfer the files that needed changing.

Pros and Cons

  • From a disaster-recovery point of view, one of the things I really like is that I can test the virtual copy of the physical server on a test network and compare the servers side-by-side, without interfering with the production network. So I can see and make sure that the latest copy of the server is the physical copy of the server, without interfering with production.
  • One thing that could be done to improve it would be a single pane of glass for doing disaster recovery testing, where I could have remote consoles in one place... I still have to go to each location in a browser and then bring up the console. I'd like to see them integrate that into a single pane of glass so I don't have to go to each server.

What other advice do I have?

Think about your use case. If you need high-availability immediately, where you don't have to worry about routing and forwarding and transferring the information that you have locally to the cloud, that comes down to choosing cloud versus onsite/on-premise physical devices. Cloud is nice. You can route, although it does take a little bit more time, but you have no physical devices on-premise. There is higher bandwidth utilization when you're using cloud, versus on-premise, where you're using your local LAN and WAN. In the latter case, you have a little bit more flexibility. The other thing I… more »
Darryl D
VP Director of Information Technology at a financial services firm with 51-200 employees
Real User
Top 10
Dec 6, 2019

What is our primary use case?

The primary use case for us is a high-availability. The ease of use is a part of that as well. The ability to spin up a backed-up VM or to put it on the production network, literally in a matter of minutes, if a VM goes down, is critical for us.

Pros and Cons

  • It's easy to implement, easy to spin up, easily configurable, to drop-in appliances and network. There wasn't a lot of time needed to spin it up.
  • It feels to me like it's going to be a little bit more work than I originally anticipated when upgrading the appliance. I haven't done that yet so I can't speak from true experience, but I went through the project plan and it feels to me like there's quite a number of pieces and components and things that have to be done. Quorum is going to manage the rollout, but in starting the initial conversation there were a lot of unanswered questions

Cost and Licensing Advice

  • The pricing is about $1,400 a month. It's a little bit on the higher side. But it's one of those situations where time is valuable for me. So if it costs a little bit more money for me to have a solution that just works and requires less of my day-to-day management, I'm willing to pay a little bit more.

What other advice do I have?

Look at all the partners out there and pick the one that you feel is the best fit for you, based on your use case. Everyone is a little bit different and has different needs in terms of what's critical to them and what's not important. I give Quorum a solid nine out of 10. Over a number of years it has been a rock-solid solution. It has worked for us. It's easy to manage. It doesn't take a lot of my time. It does what it needs to do. When I have had to use it and rely upon it, it has been there.
ChrisMcCollum
Server Administrator at CBX Global
Real User
Top 20
Nov 28, 2019

What is our primary use case?

The onsite version keeps our backups for all of our NOC servers, which is everything operational. We get backups every four hours or so, and should something happen — someone deletes something or a server's hardware goes out — we're able to restore that locally, very quickly. The Quorum will run a virtual machine, the recovery node of the server, from the latest backup, within minutes of having an issue. Our deployment of the solution is both on-prem and cloud. We're only sending a few specific servers to the Quorum cloud, which hosted by them. We have our onsite device as well which backs… more »

Pros and Cons

  • The biggest feature is being able to do a file recovery to the original server. That is extremely useful and has saved us a few times when we've had ransomware. In some of those cases, people's computers were locked down by viruses which spread to things they had access to, including server shares. But we were easily able to just restore to four hours prior, instead of a day or two or more ago.
  • There seems to be a lack of technicians. Sometimes they are very busy and I don't hear back for a day or two. The technicians they have are great. They are fantastic, but it seems difficult, at times, to get in contact with anyone.

Cost and Licensing Advice

  • The total for our current solution's licensing is about $14,000 for 12 servers for three years.

What other advice do I have?

My advice would be to make sure you leave your protected node configuration with plenty of extra hard drive space. Everything has functioned the way we've needed it to. They're in a transition phase now with a new interface and this new architecture, so I'm withholding judgment for the most part on that, as they are still figuring things out. We have three users, whose roles are server administration and our CIO, but it's mostly me as server administrator. The solution requires one person for deployment and maintenance of the solution.
SteveDenger
IT Manager at Trinity Logistics Corp
Real User
Top 5
May 13, 2020

What is our primary use case?

Backups, file recovery, DR capability, and instant VM recovery are our primary needs and the OnQ system does those expertly. Our infrastructure is a combination of hosted and on-prem. Co-locating our HA appliance in the data center near our SAN environment provides a knockout combination of speed and security, and the environmental fears are not present. This bunker approach protects our primary HQ data and also backs up remote servers across our WAN. We cover all our bases by protecting every server and VM in our environment, and even our specialty machines. The HA/DR appliances also provide… more »

Pros and Cons

  • The change in the way that Quorum processes data has made a tremendous improvement in backup and replication times. While the familiar interface remains, the underpinnings have been finely tuned and the speed is incredible. My large Exchange Server went from 5- to 6-hour backups down to 22 minutes.
  • I would like to see iSCSI support added so that NAS storage servers could be protected. We heavily utilize NAS storage and the risk there is minimal backup options. Currently, we are backing up NAS to NAS which is costly and slow. Being able to integrate NAS server backup would be the last item on my Quorum bucket list.

What other advice do I have?

Don't underestimate your capabilities with Quorum OnQ. It will far outperform the max recommended capabilities that Quorum suggests.
Sean Fiandaca
IT Manager at Wineland-Thomson Adventures
Real User
Top 20
Nov 24, 2019

What is our primary use case?

I use Quorum OnQ to backup all of the production servers on my network. These include all file, AD, email, and financial servers. We are using OnQ to back up full images of servers as well as simple file backups. This is our primary disaster recovery solution.

Pros and Cons

  • I have used the BMR (Bare Metal Restore) in several emergencies and it has absolutely saved my bacon.
  • I don't love the scheduler, as I think that interface could use an overhaul.

Cost and Licensing Advice

  • We have never questioned whether it is worth it because it so obviously is a great value.

What other advice do I have?

Setup was a breeze, and the support and training is excellent. If you are a knowledgeable user, then they will work with you at your level, but if you just need them to do it for you then they will do that too.
reviewer1298460
Senior Vice President at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
Real User
Jul 30, 2020

What is our primary use case?

The primary use case of this solution is for the instant recovery of servers and security. Our customers generally have in the range of anything between 20 to 75 servers. Corporate and enterprise customers purchase it for their on premises requirements. We not only recover the servers, we ensure recovery of the business process and that's very important. We have a partnership with Quorum.

Pros and Cons

  • A very high level security environment for secondary data.
  • Lacks compatibility in terms of supporting other OS.

What other advice do I have?

The solution is designed individually based on the customer's specifications. It's all hand-seated and then dispatched to the customers. We have a lot of references from happy customers. Many four-star, five-star hotels here in the Middle East use Quorum so within the hotel hospitality fraternity, everybody knows Quorum which makes it easy to sell to other hotels. A lot of prestigious customers use Quorum; government, tourism authority, chamber of commerce, police headquarters, airports. That in itself is a good reference and the product speaks for itself. Once you do a proof of concept with… more »
See 3 more Quorum OnQ reviews

What is Quorum OnQ?

Quorum onQ is the global leader in 1-click instant recovery, providing full immediate recovery of your critical systems after any storage, system or site failure. It does this by automatically maintaining up-to-date, ready-to-run virtual machine clones of your physical and virtual servers stored on a dedicated appliance – clones that will transparently take over for failed servers within minutes.

Also known as
OnQ
Quorum OnQ customers
LCL Bulk Transport