RSA Adaptive Authentication Overview

What is RSA Adaptive Authentication?
RSA Adaptive Authentication is a risk-based two-factor authentication solution providing cost-effective protection for an entire user base. Adaptive Authentication secures online portals, SSL VPNs, and web access management portals for different types of organizations in the healthcare, insurance, enterprise, government, financial services, and other industries. Based on the transparent two-factor authentication technology, Adaptive Authentication works behind the scenes to authenticate end users and transactions based on individual end user and device profiles. In addition, Adaptive Authentication uses the RSA Risk Engine to estimate the level of risk for the specific activity and uses information collected from the RSAeFraudNetwork (a cross-organization, cross-application, cross-border online fraud network) to identify fraudulent activities. The Policy Manager determines what actions must be performed, depending on the risk score and other parameters.
Buyer's Guide

Download the Authentication Systems Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: March 2021

RSA Adaptive Authentication Customers
ADP, Ameritas, Partners Healthcare
RSA Adaptive Authentication Video

Filter Archived Reviews (More than two years old)

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
BW
Directorc4e7
Director of Cyber Security at a financial services firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Mar 27, 2019
We need better ease of use; the product is overly complicated

What is our primary use case?

There are many use cases that we have defined based on our business needs.

What is most valuable?

Ingestion of logs and raising alert space on those logs are the most valuable features.

What needs improvement?

The product is basically unusable. We need better ease of use; it's overly complicated.

How was the initial setup?

It has taken years to implement.

What about the implementation team?

We used RSA consultants for the deployment. Our experience with them was not productive, but we did work with other consultants as well. The consultants' ability to configure this particular platform is limited based on their knowledge, because it is such a complex product. There are so many classes that you need to take in order to be proficient at it,…
SH
ITSecuri6e6d
IT Security Engineer at a insurance company with 201-500 employees
Real User
Mar 26, 2019
Stock tokens work best for us but the solution is old; we can't use it on web pages

What is our primary use case?

We use it for authentication for users to get on to their primary systems.

Pros and Cons

  • "The most valuable feature is the stock tokens. That works the best for us."
  • "I would like to see a more adaptive type of solution, something that we could use on our web pages..."

What other advice do I have?

Look at something like Centrify or something along those lines: a single sign-on solution. We use the physical tokens and stock tokens. It's an okay solution. It's just old technology and it's time to move on. I would rate it as a seven out of ten. We're looking to move on from it. It's not a bad product but it's not a great product.
Find out what your peers are saying about RSA, Broadcom, Cisco and others in Authentication Systems. Updated: March 2021.
475,705 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Andres Roldan
Security Architect at Fluid Attacks
Real User
Mar 21, 2019
It stops fraud in banks and reduces their costs

What is our primary use case?

We work for some banks in our country using this solution. We provide support with this specific version (7.1).

Pros and Cons

  • "Our customer are seeing value from the product, as they experience cost reductions. They can stop fraud from their customers, then their customers can have a better experience from their services."
  • "Better filters when searching for events. The current features for current filters when searching fraud events are not very comprehensive. You can only filter by certain fields in the transaction."

What other advice do I have?

RSA Adaptive Authentication is one of the most used tools for stopping fraud in the world. The tool is very good variable to take into account when deciding what product to choose. I think RSA is best options in this field since the tool is a really good piece of engineering.
it_user717249
Senior Developer AIG Digital Security Group at a insurance company with 10,001+ employees
Vendor
Aug 15, 2017
Has Reduced False Positives In Fraud Detection Although Sometime Risk Scores Seem Erratic

Pros and Cons

  • "Risk Engine’s risk score, eFN, GeoIP, and device binding all coming together in the Policy Rules to decide when to escalate to MFA."
  • "RSA Adaptive Authentication lacks a mechanism to verify the identity of a new user in the Enrollment event workflow."

What other advice do I have?

There are newer technologies and offerings from newer and smaller vendors. Look into the list of FinTech companies if you are constrained by budget.
it_user495405
eBanking Security & Awareness with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Jul 21, 2017
Offers fraud detection capability with minimal friction in the customer experience. I would like to see better reporting modules.

Pros and Cons

  • "The capability to manage your business policy related to security when required without vendor involvement."
  • "Reporting modules is one of the major areas that can be improved further."

What other advice do I have?

Operational issues will need to be managed internally, since the vendor will not be able to provide much input on this area. The resource allocation as well as segregation of task among internal unit can cause delay to project timeline.
it_user404988
Vice President & Head, Model Risk Management at a financial services firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
Vendor
Mar 13, 2016
You can see which customer has had alerts generated, their other alerts, and it integrates with your existing infrastructure.

What other advice do I have?

I think two main things are important. One is, does it fit in with your existing infrastructure? Second, what are the costs over maintaining it over the life cycle, not just initial costs? Then third is the ability to configure it as your business changes.
Product Categories
Authentication Systems
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Authentication Systems Report and find out what your peers are saying about RSA, Broadcom, Cisco, and more!