Rubrik Overview

Rubrik is the #5 ranked solution in our list of best Backup and Recovery Software. It is most often compared to Cohesity DataProtect: Rubrik vs Cohesity DataProtect

What is Rubrik?

Rubrik provides the industry's first Converged Data Management platform with the Rubrik r300 Series Hybrid Cloud Appliance, fusing enterprise-class data management with web-scale IT. Organizations use Rubrik to deliver live data access to recover from failures and accelerate application development. Our team has helped build products such as Google File System, Google Search, YouTube, Facebook Data Infrastructure, VMware Virtualization, Data Domain File System, and Amazon Infrastructure.

Rubrik Buyer's Guide

Download the Rubrik Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: January 2021

Rubrik Customers

Driscoll's, Red Hawk Casino, Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP, Wabash National, Chateau Ste. Michelle Wine Estates, Galliker Transport & Logistics

Rubrik Video

Rubrik Archived Reviews (More than two years old)

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Reviewer950
Domain Specialist infrastructure& platforms with 5,001-10,000 employees
Real User
Jan 6, 2019
Simple and reliable with great value

What is most valuable?

We like this product because of its simplicity, pricing and reliability. 

For how long have I used the solution?

One to three years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

This solution is stable.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

This solution is scalable.

How is customer service and technical support?

The tech support is extremely helpful.

How was the initial setup?

It was a straightforward setup. It was simple to do.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

It is a great value, but its cost is still high.
Julio Lau-Cheng
Network Specialist, Information Technology at Mount Saint Mary University
User
Jul 19, 2018
This solution can serve as a secondary host for emergency recoveries

What is our primary use case?

* Daily backups at different intervals * Audits * Live mounting of production servers * DR We are a 90 percent VM environment. We have a different OS environment, as well as databases.

Pros and Cons

  • "The live mounting and compatibility of different operating systems is great."
  • "Rubrik can also serve as a secondary host for emergency recoveries."
  • "I would like to have a built-in index searching ability of files/system files within the Rubrik interface to determine if a file or item exists, rather than just recovering it, and then doing a search for the file afterwards."

What other advice do I have?

Give it a try and find out for yourself if it is for your environment.
Learn what your peers think about Rubrik. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: January 2021.
456,249 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Lee Apps
Cloud Services Manager at Tecala
Real User
Jul 18, 2018
A Google-like file search, system scaling, and a frequent development cycle are some positives that this solution offers

What is our primary use case?

We are an MSP and offer Rubrik as a backup service to customers on private and public cloud environments and internally managed environments. We run the solution against VMware and Hyper-V with minimal physical systems. Currently, there is no support for image-level backups on systems in Azure and AWS from Rubrik. Presently we use agent-level backups however this is not ideal for fast whole system recovery. The next version (4.2) has support for image backups, and this will be investigated for functionality when released.

Pros and Cons

  • "Features we have requested are typically added to the next product release."
  • "Product support team is excellent, with issues typically being resolved on the same day."
  • "A Google-like file search, system scaling, and a frequent development cycle are some positives that this solution offers."
  • "Global management of multiple systems is lacking, as is reporting across multiple installed units."
Paul Lerner
Director of Technology at FNY Capital Management
Real User
Jul 16, 2018
This solution reduced the amount of failed backups, which led to a reduced workload in IT operations

What is our primary use case?

As a financial company, we are under stringent data compliance, availability, and integrity rules. We use Rubrik to enhance governance of data archiving, as well as the backup and restore production environment consisting of multiple converged systems. We are also looking into the feasibility of using Rubrik as part of the firm's BCDR efforts and enhancement of the development environment.

Pros and Cons

  • "Rubrik has led to improvement by reducing the amount of failed backups, leading to a reduced workload in IT operations."
  • "It has a streamlined user interface, provides an improved tech support experience, and reduces time required to locate and restore data."
  • "Improving PowerShell integration would greatly simplify Rubrik management."
Mischa Donker
Cloud and Virtualisation Specialist at VodafoneZiggo
Real User
Jul 11, 2018
Instant recovery of virtual machines allows for the restoration of services in minutes

What is our primary use case?

We use the Rubrik solution to back up our private cloud environment with hundreds of virtual machines.

Pros and Cons

  • "Instant recovery of virtual machines allows for the restoration of services in minutes."
  • "A singular system is needed to manage all of the clusters."

What other advice do I have?

Have a look at the Rubrik API Playground to automate a lot of processes.
Sam Kemp
Enterprise Architect at SH Data Technologies
Real User
Jul 11, 2018
CloudOn implementation allows for virtual machines to be stored offsite, instantiated, and spun-up

What is our primary use case?

We are searching for a new backup product that reduces man hours and helps us automate more of the backup and recovery process for our MSP team.

Pros and Cons

  • "Cut backup remediation to nearly nothing."
  • "CloudOn allows for backed up virtual machines stored offsite in Azure to be instantiated as an Azure virtual machine and spun up."
  • "Automation functions, image based backup, and the ability to instantly recover anything from files to databases."
  • "It is an expensive product."
  • "It does not offer image-level backups for Hyper-V 2012."

What other advice do I have?

If you can afford this product, I fully recommend it. You will not look back.
it_user265812
Cloud Solutions Architect at Clouditalia Telecomunicazioni
Real User
Jul 11, 2018
Backup time and infrastructure complexity are drastically reduced. The disk mount feature allows for immediate restore.

What is our primary use case?

We use this solution for IaaS customer environment backup in cloud and for internal purposes. We're planning on offering a GUI to the customers so that they'll be able to restore by themselves.

Pros and Cons

  • "Time dedicated to backup was drastically reduced."
  • "A reduced infrastructure complexity and fast to rack and go."
  • "Disk mount that lets a restore happen immediately, no need to re-hydrate."
  • "Needs integration with video CD (coming in the next release) and a multi-tenant GUI."
  • "Lacks availability in a NFR format of virtual appliances to test them in public cloud environment."
  • "Setup is immediate but pricing is not cheap."

What other advice do I have?

I'm completely enthusiastic about the product, and I advise it to everyone who needs a fast and easy solution.
MShadow
Lead Storage Administrator with 501-1,000 employees
User
Jul 11, 2018
Mounting recent backups drastically cuts down required time. This solution features a file search across all backups

What is our primary use case?

We use Rubrik as a secondary recovery method for our Tier 1 applications and the primary recovery method for our Tier 2 and below applications.

Pros and Cons

  • "The file search feature across all backups has been helpful."
  • "Mounting recent backups to create new servers rather than cloning servers in VMware drastically cut down required time."
  • "Troubleshooting failed backups is difficult, and deciphering the logs without the help of support is usually almost impossible."

What other advice do I have?

A proof of concept will answer all of your questions and sell itself.
reviewer863799
User
User
Jul 11, 2018
The archive functon allows for data archival on the cloud or through NFS Share

What is our primary use case?

We use it to backup our virtual machines, specifically file-based backup and backup of our SQL Database. We also use it to archive data on NFS Share and the cloud.

What other advice do I have?

Everyone who needs fast backup and quick restore should try it.
Frederic Lhoest
Senior Technology Architect at PCCW GLOBAL
Vendor
Jul 2, 2018
The system is able to determine when it is the best time to do backups. This is SLA-driven.

What is our primary use case?

We were operating more than 10 different backup products company-wide and none of them were doing the job correctly. While reviewing the market, I found Rubrik. They were small at the time, and have since acquired a lot of credibility. The first PoC was a real success. We decided to start with them at the end of 2017. We were amazed by the product's simplicity and performance.

Pros and Cons

  • "The system is able to determine when it is the best time to do backups. This is SLA-driven, and if it is not possible to maintain this SLA, the system will tell you too."
  • "It needs to support more applications natively, like MySQL/MariaDB."

What other advice do I have?

Do not be afraid to go with newcomers. Rubrik is a fast growing company, and there is a reason for it: They understand the business!
Matthew Vallandingham
Systems Administrator at Churchill Downs
Real User
Jul 1, 2018
It has greatly simplified our backup process

What is our primary use case?

We use Rubrik for daily VM snapshots at local sites, but it is also used for replication in our DR sites because Rubrik has the ability to run a VM on its hardware in case of a failure.

Pros and Cons

  • "The Auto-Snapshot SLA feature and recovery time are amazing. It took seven seconds to have a server back up and running in production from a total failure."
  • "The user interface (UI) is great. It is very lightweight and intuitive."
  • "Rubrik needs to continue to listen to their customers and what they want/need, not just care about money and the bottom line."

What other advice do I have?

If you are looking for a product that offers backups and DR capabilities, which is easy to use, look no further than Rubrik. I am very satisfied.
it_user815694
Paralegal at a legal firm with 501-1,000 employees
User
Jun 6, 2018
It brought all of our backups under a single pane of glass and made recovery extremely simple

What is our primary use case?

We use it for backup and recovery of VMware servers, physical Windows servers, SQL Databases, and Microsoft Exchange.

Pros and Cons

  • "Rubrik has brought all of our backups under a single pane of glass and made recovery extremely simple."
  • "In the event of any issues or questions, the support is top-notch. We rarely need to use support, but when they are needed, they are always quick to respond and very knowledgeable."
  • "It is not Windows Cluster-Aware at the moment or Exchange DAG-Aware. If they add support for these particular use cases, it would be even better."
it_user865374
Network Engineer at a legal firm with 501-1,000 employees
User
May 2, 2018
The process to manage backup and recovery is painless with this tool

What is our primary use case?

The primary use case is easy backup and recovery for multiple servers and workstations. It also backups NAS, SQL Servers, and Nutanix.

How has it helped my organization?

Rubrik has made the process to manage backup and recovery painless. This frees up more time to work on other projects.

What is most valuable?

The quick, easy backups and fast restore work great. I also enjoy support calls and the easy updates to the software.

What needs improvement?

No areas need to be updated at this time. The addition features that I would like are a way to set monthly backups on a certain date and time. Also, I would like for unmanaged backups to be able to be saved in a separate policy.

For how long have I used the solution?

One to three years.
it_user865314
Systems Administrator at Saint Tammany Parish Hospital
Real User
May 2, 2018
Management is so simple that anyone can check the backups and do restores when necessary

What is our primary use case?

Rubrik is being used at my organization for the backups of virtual and physical servers enterprise-wide. I no longer feel the need to babysit and monitor all of the backup jobs in the backup system. It simply works when it is supposed to, at all times. Live recovery is near instant and it handles all mounts through the appliance for rapid recovery. Spinning up test SQL servers from mounts are also great for our development team.

How has it helped my organization?

Management is so simple that anyone can check the backups and do restores when necessary.

What is most valuable?

Instant recovery because it takes about 10 seconds to restore the VM from backup to production, and also mounts from point in time.

What needs improvement?

It needs more…
Frederic Lhoest
Senior Technology Architect at PCCW GLOBAL
Vendor
Apr 29, 2018
Easy, no need to worry about managing backup jobs, all based on SLAs

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use case is vCenter and Nutanix AHV backups. We are in an international environment which does not provide any backup window, so the SLA way of doing things is amazing.

How has it helped my organization?

Easy, no need to worry about managing backup jobs. All based on SLAs. Easy to run and learn. Nice interface. API driver and reporting included.

What is most valuable?

Adaptative backup and SLAs. They simply allow you to tell a machine to backup without taking care of the backup window. This is a real improvement.

What needs improvement?

It is already very well furnished, but live mounts for Nutanix AHV would be amazing. From what I understand, however, this will not be soon.

For how long have I used the solution?

Still…
Katelyn Eubanks
Information Security Administrator at City of Sioux Falls
Real User
Apr 29, 2018
It has a good interface which is simple to navigate and utilize

What is our primary use case?

The primary use for Rubrik in our environment is data backup and recovery. Also, Rubrik has a good interface which is simple to navigate and utilize. 

How has it helped my organization?

Rubrik has improved our organization by minimizing downtime (in case of an incident was to occur). It also has quick backups helping us to stay current.

What is most valuable?

The best feature on Rubrik is the interface, as it is easy to use and navigate the program.

What needs improvement?

For Rubrik, though it does a great job, it needs to keep innovating to stay relevant in the data management field.

For how long have I used the solution?

One to three years.
it_user821751
Infrastructure Services Manager at a university with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Feb 25, 2018
Replaces legacy tapes and disk backups which are unreliable, expensive, and space consuming

What is our primary use case?

Replaces legacy tapes and disk backups which are unreliable, expensive, and space consuming.

How has it helped my organization?

It has the ability to test DR in a controlled, inexpensive way and to restore between environments.

What is most valuable?

CloudOut, because only blocks are pushed after compression and deduplication, not raw sizing which is often a flaw with storage products.

What needs improvement?

Better integration for complex NAS structures having to mount at root adds time and workload to the process of NDMP.

For how long have I used the solution?

Still implementing.
it_user823821
Head of IT Infrastructure at a university with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Feb 25, 2018
Drives the back-end through a powerful, well-documented API

What is our primary use case?

Rubrik was purchased to replace our aging backup solution. Providing us an 'all-in-one' unit to manage backup, DR, and BC.

Pros and Cons

  • "Drives the back-end through a powerful, well-documented API."
  • "It has a ​single pane of glass interface."
  • "When errors do occur, it can be a somewhat painful process to get to the bottom of issues."
Burak Ustun, M.S.
Senior Engineer, System & Networking with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Nov 26, 2017
The solution is scalable to multiple petabytes

What is our primary use case?

We are doing a business with Rubrik. I am responsible for implementing the solution to our customers. Even though I am not trained for implementing, it is easy to use and easy to learn. We also get backups for our own environment. 

How has it helped my organization?

We had some VMware issue as VMware did some changes on the AHCI drivers. Rubrik saved our environment those times.

What is most valuable?

Instant recovery Live mount

What needs improvement?

The open source database needs to be supported.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

There are no issues with the stability. 

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

The solution is scalable to multiple petabytes. Since we do not have that much data, the one…
it_user765438
Systems Engineer at a logistics company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Nov 20, 2017
Their support is always available and their response times are quick
Excellent company to work with as they have strong pre-sales and engineering knowledge. Their support is always available and their response times are quick. The product is as good as advertised and totally changes the way enterprise businesses do data protection. Pros:  Easy implementation whether using their physical appliance or Edge VMs that can be deployed at smaller sites. It works with VMware and Hyper-V without agent installation. If you have physical servers or non-supported hypervisors (looking at you OVM), you can install the Rubrik Backup Service and create filesets and SLA to backup your data. Cons: With multiple Rubrik clusters setup in an environment, it becomes painfully obvious that this product needs a central management console. With no single pane of…
it_user766095
Sr. Systems Engineer at a tech services company
Real User
Nov 2, 2017
Deployment was quick, easy, and straightforward

Pros and Cons

  • "Intelligent agent technology."
  • "There are some corner cases where the Rubrik Connector (Agent) still doesn't work for our clients."
it_user762009
Systems Engineer
Real User
Oct 26, 2017
The initial setup was straightforward. The bootstrapping process was right to the point and direct.

Pros and Cons

  • "They have a great PowerShell module and easy mediums to speak to the people who create and enhance them."
  • "The functionality is missing, but they are very receptive to our thoughts and ideas."
it_user722247
Account Manager at a tech services company with 11-50 employees
Real User
Aug 23, 2017
Simple, straightforward, and able to see 50% hard savings

Pros and Cons

  • "One platform for instant recovery."
  • "Rubrik can only leverage cloud storage for archiving and has no cloud failover."

What other advice do I have?

See past the immaturity of the product. This will improve RPO/RTOs and save you a lot of time and money.
Nathan Monk
Managing Consultant at a consultancy with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Top 20
Jul 24, 2017
Rubrik, Your One Stop Shop For Data Management & Peace of Mind

Pros and Cons

  • "The search functionality is second to none as the speed of the search is fast across the whole system and predictive."
  • "If I could take a snapshot from a physical and be able to stand it up as a virtual immediately without the need to rebuild an entire system and restoring files, that would be HUGE."

What other advice do I have?

I would highly recommend this product to ANY company who is concerned about their backup and recovery processes as well as DR scenarios. This product will simplify your life beyond belief. Not only that, you will be able to give the recovery process over to anyone, even if they don’t have a background in backup and recovery solutions. The fact that the product is so well thought out in its simplicity for end users, makes it easy to worry less about whether or not it’s doing its job. You will have much higher confidence that you will actually be able to recover the system you are working with…
it_user542154
Director and Co-Founder at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
Consultant
Mar 28, 2017
​Features include: Global (Google Like) Search, Instant Mount, Replication and Cloud Archive.
it_user577956
Director Data Center Operations at a healthcare company with 501-1,000 employees
Vendor
Jan 22, 2017
You can set up policies by resource pools, clusters, and folders. The array can support high workloads.

What other advice do I have?

Understand what you want to backup. Rubrik makes it very easy to go in and back up everything, but that might not be in your budget.
it_user265812
Cloud Solutions Architect at Clouditalia Telecomunicazioni
Real User
Jan 22, 2017
Fast recovery is managed by attaching a disk where the backup is located.

What other advice do I have?

If a fast recovery and scalability are critical points, then this is the best choice. It is important to note that it's an HW solution, so all the CPU, RAM and other resources are completely dedicated to backup.
it_user236505
IT Director with 51-200 employees
Vendor
Feb 24, 2016
The r300 Series​ is a Converged Data Management appliance that provides automated backup, instant recovery, unlimited replication, and data archival at infinite scale.
Originally posted at https://vinfrastructure.it/2016/01/rubrik-reinvent-the-backup/ Some months Rubrik announced the release of version 2.0 of Rubrik Converged Data Management to deliver complete data protection and rich data services at a global scale (see also my previous post). The idea is quite simple but disruptive: reinvent the backup models in order to eliminate backup software by integrating data protection, instant recovery, and DevOps infrastructure into a single scale-out product! Data protection is usually something complex, or at least with several components: Rubrik can remove all of them: An simple move to converged, scale-out and appliance based architecture: The idea is similar to Cohesity approach…
it_user240054
Technical Architect at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
Consultant
Nov 2, 2015
The Rubrik software scans the vCenter for a list of virtual machines and from there, you can select VMs to backup to the Rubrik appliance.
Originally posted http://theithollow.com/2015/06/29/a-new-standard-for-backups-rubrik/ It’s pretty weird to get excited about backups, but I’ve found myself thinking how cool the new technology that Rubrik‘s designing. If you haven’t heard of these guys yet, you will. They presented at Virtualization Field Day 5 in Boston and had some new announcements that will blow your socks right off your feet. All travel expenses and incidentals were paid for by Gestalt IT to attend Virtualization Field Day 5. This was the only compensation given and did not influence the content of this article. The first of these announcements really had nothing to do with technology, but rather with people. Rubrik announced to the world that my good friend Chris Wahl was joining their…
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Rubrik Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.