SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence Platform Overview

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence Platform is the #6 ranked solution in our list of top Business Intelligence Tools. It is most often compared to SAP Analytics Cloud: SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence Platform vs SAP Analytics Cloud

What is SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence Platform?

The SAP® BusinessObjects™ Business Intelligence (BI) platform is a flexible, scalable information infrastructure that helps you more easily discover and share insights for better business decisions. The integrated, unified infrastructure enables scalability from one to many tools and interfaces on premise, in the cloud, or as a hybrid approach.

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence Platform is also known as SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform, SAP BusinessObjects, Business Objects.

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence Platform Buyer's Guide

Download the SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence Platform Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: February 2021

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence Platform Customers

SRAM, Kennametal, Fairfax Water, British American Tobacco, Velux, and FedEx.

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence Platform Video

SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence Platform Archived Reviews (More than two years old)

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
it_user591984
Manager at a consumer goods company with 501-1,000 employees
Vendor
Aug 15, 2018
It gives you a lot of flexibility in designing your dashboards. It still needs development from a visualization standpoint.

What is our primary use case?

The primary use case for SAP BusinessObjects has been to provide users static dashboards and reports with a fixed trend where the analysis part is predefined in terms of a fixed set of visualizations. We use it to identify critical KPIs to senior management, which automatically get circulated every morning.

Pros and Cons

  • "It gives you a lot of flexibility in designing your dashboards."
  • "We use it to identify critical KPIs to senior management."
  • "The combination of Lumira along with Design Studio merger last year still needs development from a visualization standpoint."
TeamLd3401
Team Leader at a comms service provider with 501-1,000 employees
Real User
Aug 2, 2018
Extremely valuable for combining data from various sources, but UI is not user-friendly

What is our primary use case?

Management reporting and also some ad-hoc reporting.

Pros and Cons

  • "It has been extremely valuable, to combine data from various data sources."
  • "SAP BusinessObjects is actually losing popularity within our company because people find the user interface and the way things are set up not to be as easy as many other tools that are on the market, like Qlik and things like that."

What other advice do I have?

Look at who will be your end-user group. Who is going to use the tool? I would rate this solution at seven out of 10. Seen from the administrative and compliance point of view, it's an excellent tool for an enterprise. But I can't give it any more than that because the user interface for the average user is not very intuitive. You need too much training before you're able to use the tool effectively.
Learn what your peers think about SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence Platform. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: February 2021.
465,891 professionals have used our research since 2012.
it_user543585
Technical Manager at a retailer with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Apr 16, 2018
Allows our users to access reports and make business decisions based on them

What is our primary use case?

It's used for business reporting and it performs well.

Pros and Cons

    • "The admin features for disk space management need work. It's very difficult to manage the disk space by the application; good admin features and not included to allow you to do that. I don't believe that is in the latest version of the product either."

    What other advice do I have?

    I would rate it about nine out of 10 because it performs well. Do a trial. Fully investigate all the ins and outs of the license as well.
    it_user825429
    Senior Business Analyst, Big data at a manufacturing company
    Real User
    Mar 1, 2018
    Can process big volumes of data fast

    What is our primary use case?

    We mainly use SAP BO to do operation and financial reporting. More than 100 reports were created on it. User can easily access all reports through the BO web link (portal).

    How has it helped my organization?

    Because our ERP system is SAP ECC, and SAP BW is the data warehouse, BO is the best choice to integrate with either SAP ECC or SAP BW.

    What is most valuable?

    Good, powerful functions in the table format report compared with Microsoft Power BI. It can process big volumes of data fast.

    What needs improvement?

    It should have a better integration with Excel. Currently, we can use Explore to do data discovering, but cannot generate charts.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    Three to five years.
    David Hudgins
    Senior Business Intelligence Architect at a tech services company with 11-50 employees
    Real User
    Feb 27, 2018
    Enables quick data access without the need to involve a business or financial analyst

    Pros and Cons

    • "Through the use of Business Intelligence reporting and scheduling features, reports are generated and automatically sent according to a schedule. This has freed up countless hours spent performing the same tasks, month over month."
    • "Enables us to present data with Smart Objects that can be embedded within presentations and which automatically update when the presentations are run."
    • "Reporting from SAP Business Objects Web Intelligence is amazing, and gives users the ability to quickly access data from existing universes and/or relevant data sources, without the need to involve a functional business analyst or financial analyst."
    • "The biggest area for improvement would be the dashboarding capabilities due to the recent change from Xcelsius to Dashboard Designer. This has created a gigantic ripple in many companies because the skill sets required are drastically different."

    What other advice do I have?

    Get a partner or consultant to help you configure and customize your deployment. And remember that there's no additional charge for a Development environment license, so build an additional development server.
    it_user265632
    SAP Business Objects Lead Consultant at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
    Consultant
    Feb 5, 2018
    ​Provides autonomy for all the business users to develop their own reports

    Pros and Cons

    • "​Provides autonomy for all the business users to develop their own reports.​"
    • "​The report development tool called SAP Web Intelligence under the BI Launch Pad portal has been the most valuable feature."
    • "​It is a very good product, stable, and has good technical capabilities.​"
    • "​This product could be improved with Cloud Integrations and Predictive Analytics functions integration."

    What other advice do I have?

    It is a very good product, stable, and has good technical capabilities.
    it_user651837
    Business Intelligence Applications Team Leader at a energy/utilities company with 5,001-10,000 employees
    Real User
    Sep 24, 2017
    It allows the analysis of business data and enables decisions based on the analysis.

    Pros and Cons

    • "It allows the analysis of business data and enables decisions based on the analysis."
    • "More thorough testing of Service Packs before release."

    What other advice do I have?

    Check the number of intended users and which part of BI you are intending to introduce (reporting, analytics, etc.). Check out the free trial periods and see if there are options to use cloud computing versus installing it in your own data center.
    it_user87981
    Consultant at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
    Consultant
    Sep 13, 2017
    It has a wide range of compatible operating systems and it was easy to install

    What is most valuable?

    Way of creating reports Ease of use Can connect to any database Create models with ease.

    How has it helped my organization?

    In our organization, they chose this product mainly due to its ease of use. They were also able to generate high revenue by identifying their backlog areas.

    What needs improvement?

    The calculation engine requires some improvement.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    For eight years.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    No issues with stability.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    No issues with scalability.

    How is customer service and technical support?

    A 10 out of 10.

    How was the initial setup?

    I would say it's mostly straightforward, because it has a wide range of…
    Paul Grill
    President & CEO at Infosol Inc
    Real User
    Top 5Leaderboard
    Jun 23, 2017
    Web Intelligence really stood out in terms of new features and overall significance compared to all the other tools in the suite.
    SAP just announced the release of the latest update of its BusinessObjects BI suite, namely BI 4.2 SP03, following the first release BI 4.2 SP02 back in March In both announcements, Web Intelligence really stood out in terms of new features and overall significance compared to all the other tools in the suite. On the one hand this should not be a surprise since it is the most popular and widely-used of all the SAP BusinessObjects Analytics tools but, on the other hand over the last few years SAP has focused far more attention on its newer analytics tools.  Web Intelligence is and has always been a Business Intelligence Query, Analysis and Reporting tool. The latest functionality additions emphasize that and to call it just a reporting tool is simply…
    it_user121866
    Developer at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
    Consultant
    May 14, 2017
    Sometimes we've encountered bugs, but able to get critical analysis in a fraction of time and run the business better.

    What other advice do I have?

    Definitely cost justify it. If you have a lot of manual processes involved in getting the reporting that you need, then this product will definitely help. You can cut out all the manual steps.
    it_user489897
    Consultant BI at a tech vendor with 51-200 employees
    Vendor
    Mar 31, 2017
    You can use Universe Designer to manage joins or derived tables as you wish.

    What other advice do I have?

    If the business case calls for creating static reports/dashboards, this tool is awesome. If the business case is for dynamic reports/dashboards, I don't recommend it.
    it_user494226
    Architect with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Vendor
    Mar 31, 2017
    Great suite with a lot of different options and a great user interface. Requires improvement on stability and scalability.

    What other advice do I have?

    It is a really great suite with a lot of different options and a great user interface, but requires improvement on stability and scalability.
    Vishall Pradeep K S
    Applexus Technologies at a tech company with 501-1,000 employees
    Consultant
    Mar 31, 2017
    The CSS editor saves time. Complex requirements can be met using JavaScript.
    it_user494061
    SAP Certified BI, BOBJ, BODS Consultant at a healthcare company with 501-1,000 employees
    Vendor
    Mar 31, 2017
    It provides a unified view of business processes across the organization, and helps control massive amounts of information.

    What is most valuable?

    Data integration 64-bit architecture

    What needs improvement?

    I would like to see the capability to directly access social media data.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I have been using it for 14 years.

    What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

    We have encountered so many issues when the architecture and design was fragile.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Technical support is 10/10.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    I previously used Microsoft DTS. Microsoft BI products are ideal for small-scale businesses. whereas SAP BusinessObjects is suitable for enterprise-level implementation.

    How was the initial setup?

    If you have the skills and time, initial setup will be easy.

    What about

    it_user494013
    SAP Business Objects Architect at a tech company with 51-200 employees
    Vendor
    Mar 31, 2017
    The Designer gives developers a powerful way to encapsulate business logic and push it out to users. Their data visualization products should be enhanced, made more robust and easier to implement.

    Pros and Cons

    • "Ease of report development is a key feature."
    • "I would like to see their data visualization products enhanced and made more robust and easier to implement."

    What other advice do I have?

    Planning is critical.
    it_user101874
    IS/IT program manager at a energy/utilities company with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Vendor
    Mar 31, 2017
    It gives power to users, who can create their own queries without needing IT services.

    What other advice do I have?

    The reporting tool is easy to use and implement. Overall, you should consider how this tool is going to be implemented in your organization, and what added value it will bring to your organisation (e.g., do you have a lot of people doing a lot of reports in Excel). Finally, a decision whether or not to use BusinessObjects Web Intelligence should not be taken on its own but rather as a part of how information is managed in the organization.
    it_user434961
    Business Intelligence Consultant at a tech services company with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Consultant
    Mar 1, 2017
    I use the SAP Business Objects as an analytics platform useful for investigations of data in enterprises databases.
    Shahid Latif
    Business Intelligence Analyst at a engineering company with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Real User
    Feb 4, 2017
    I can perform reliable satisfactory work for my clients with minimal issues.

    What other advice do I have?

    None.
    it_user434871
    SAP BO/BI Architect at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    Sep 30, 2016
    BI launch pad to design and develop the analysis application for the business is valuable.

    What is most valuable?

    Publication Webi Reports UDT CMC BI launch pad to design and develop the analysis application for the business

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've used it for over seven years.

    What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

    Lot of issues, because it is a huge product.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    Lot of issues, because it is a huge product.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    Lot of issues, because it is a huge product.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Sometimes it's average, and sometimes it's excellent.

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    No other solution was in place.

    How was the initial setup?

    It can be easy or complex depending upon…
    it_user440979
    Network Engineer at a financial services firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Vendor
    Aug 28, 2016
    Provided us with best practice reports out of the box for various modules. It wouldn't scale when we needed to handle over one terabyte of data.
    it_user456411
    SAP BI AMS Lead at a consumer goods company with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Vendor
    Aug 28, 2016
    In my experience, the Analytics module provides the business the ability to make the appropriate decisions.

    What other advice do I have?

    This works only for medium to large scale companies due to the high cost.
    it_user73041
    BI Expert with 51-200 employees
    Vendor
    Jun 7, 2016
    New features and more efficient install add value

    What is most valuable?

    Semantic Layer (Universes), ease of use New Undelete of Public objects.. New Dashboard of overall environment

    What needs improvement?

    Java Applet still relying on the quirkiness of Java VM, and potential version mis-matches.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    10+ Years

    What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

    With proper planning and understanding of the application landscape the deployment is fairly straight forward. Better to do a new install if you have multiple updates and patches...better to build from scratch vs remodel

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    Highly scalable, new configuration wizard with 4.1 version assists in scaling correctly.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Customer…
    it_user434979
    Project Lead at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
    Consultant
    May 1, 2016
    It provides every feature you're looking for to perform OLAP and OLTP-based transactional and analytical reporting.
    it_user431760
    Sr. SAP HANA / BI Developer with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Vendor
    Apr 27, 2016
    ​The combination of IDT and Web Intelligence has taken some of the burden of report creation off of our central data team. The scalability of Design Studio when using crosstabs is an issue.

    What other advice do I have?

    We used this product for years with Teradata as the datasource, but much can be gained by using SAP HANA as the source if possible - not only in performance but also in data security and not requiring a universe for a few of the tools.
    GB432
    Manager of Architecture/Design at a government with 501-1,000 employees
    Real User
    Apr 27, 2016
    License price is prohibitive and it should go back to CPU based. Connectivity with databases is good.

    What is most valuable?

    Universal concept Connectivity with databases Good visualization

    How has it helped my organization?

    It's improved decision making process.

    What needs improvement?

    Better visualization Better portal License price is prohibitive should go back to CPU based Improve customer service.

    For how long have I used the solution?

    I've used it for five years.

    What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

    There were no issues with the deployment.

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    We had no issues with the stability.

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    I've had no issues scaling it.

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Not good. SAP does resolve issues in time.

    Which solution did I use

    it_user431775
    Principal Architect - Business Objects / Datawarehouse at a energy/utilities company with 10,001+ employees
    Vendor
    Apr 26, 2016
    The ad hoc capabilities using Web intelligence over universe is very productive.

    What other advice do I have?

    Keep an eye upgrade and converting cost especially with deprecated tools like desk and it's reports, make consolidation of reports and universes and other objects early on .advise you to do user inbox,personal doc spring and fall clean up to make future upgrades easier
    it_user430635
    Senior Managing Consultant at a tech services company with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Consultant
    Apr 24, 2016
    Dashboards are one of the best features of SAP BO tools.

    What other advice do I have?

    Have a capable resource who knows how to work and have a good knowledge and experience in the relevant field.
    it_user430596
    Sr. System Analyst at a healthcare company with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Vendor
    Apr 24, 2016
    It does not require any additional plugins like for the other ETL tools.​ I would like to see its data handling improved.

    What other advice do I have?

    I think this product is best if we are not loading huge data. Also for its easy to use and learn.
    it_user425949
    Senior BI Project Manager at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
    Consultant
    Apr 24, 2016
    It provides easy administration of content using web based CMC application.

    What other advice do I have?

    It is definitely useful as an integrated platform for medium or large enterprises which require a modern information management solution. It is definitely not without issues, but looks like SAP has a clear vision about where they want to get and that vision is supported by the customers.
    it_user426543
    SAP BW on HANA/BO Consultant at a energy/utilities company with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Vendor
    Apr 18, 2016
    The Web Intelligence reports are the most valuable feature because they have the flexibility for detailed data analysis.

    What other advice do I have?

    Go ahead with it -- it’s a good product.
    VishalGuthula
    Sr. Software Engineer at a tech company with 501-1,000 employees
    Consultant
    Top 5Leaderboard
    Apr 10, 2016
    The security features and flexibility of the product are the most valuable functions of BO. They need to improve the processing of software as it has lag when it initially starts.

    What other advice do I have?

    The implementation is much more fun when you know what kind of requirements you're going to process I think it is the best product on the market as it has good integration with ERP.
    it_user415908
    BI & Data Lead, Reporting & Analytics Center of Excellence at a consumer goods company with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Vendor
    Mar 31, 2016
    Most of its tools are also data source agnostic which makes them versatile across all environments.

    What other advice do I have?

    When deploying SAP BW and BOBJ together, get an experienced practitioner who can educate and implement keeping the business users in mind, not just the deadline and processes of IT. There are a lot of limitation in SAP BW especially for scheduling, which can limit the full utilization of BOBJ, but there is a solution for it all if you think out of the box.
    it_user415707
    Consultant at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    Mar 31, 2016
    With some of these tools, the technical dependency is much lower​​.

    What other advice do I have?

    Business users can learn it very fast because it is easy to operate.
    it_user413388
    BI Application Consulting Manager at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
    Consultant
    Mar 28, 2016
    It reduces the manual process of gathering and creating reports into a much simpler and easier ways via self-service and dashboard management.​
    it_user362913
    Sr Business Intelligence Analyst at a tech services company with 5,001-10,000 employees
    MSP
    Jan 13, 2016
    Web Intelligence has allowed our company to move to a self-service delivery model. The BW safety belt severely limits the performance of data through the DSL Bridge.
    it_user266763
    SAP BO/BW Consultant at KIIT University
    Vendor
    Jul 26, 2015
    The query-prompt and query-refresh selectors are valuable features, though I've only been using it for 1 1/2 years.

    What is most valuable?

    1. Dynamic Visibility 2. Query Prompt Selector 3. Query Refresh Selector

    For how long have I used the solution?

    1.5 Years

    What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

    No

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    No

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    No

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Customer Service: Very Good Technical Support: Excellent

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    No

    How was the initial setup?

    Straightforward

    What about the implementation team?

    Excellent. Through the vendor SAP India.

    What other advice do I have?

    A very creative tool to present the data in graphical and pictorial form, so as to make better decision for the growth of the…
    it_user252576
    Business Intelligence and Decision Support Team Leader at a university with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Vendor
    Jun 30, 2015
    We had to deal with data quality problems on deployment, but we can now develop time-based, visualized analyses.

    What other advice do I have?

    First, perform an analysis of your business users' requirements. The data quality and your data warehouse models are the most important parts of a BI project. Design the model from both business requirements and source data. Make sure you involve business users from the beginning and explain the advantages of business intelligence to the data life-cycle well. Assign a short and attractive name to the web site and/or tool that users can remember easily and will like.
    it_user26124
    Business Objects Admin/Developer at a healthcare company with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Vendor
    Jun 26, 2015
    Web intelligence is valuable but SAP patch methodology is horrific
    it_user240060
    Sr. Data Warehouse Engineer at a real estate/law firm with 51-200 employees
    Vendor
    May 18, 2015
    The setup wizard is pretty straightforward but they need to make more support resources available.

    What other advice do I have?

    Make sure you understand the needs of the business and to evaluate different products before committing to a specific one.
    it_user79932
    Senior Manager - BI Head with 5,001-10,000 employees
    Vendor
    Feb 4, 2015
    Comparison of SAP BO, Tableau, QlikView, Cognos, Microsoft, OBIEE and Pentaho

    What other advice do I have?

    There is no perfect solution or one size fits all. Be clear on the requirements that you are trying to meet with the tools and solutions and do a POC and thorough evaluation. Also most of the time a single vendor works better than using best of the breed solution.
    it_user181065
    Business Objects Developer at a aerospace/defense firm with 51-200 employees
    Vendor
    Jan 13, 2015
    The product works well, but is only as good as the servers it uses.

    What other advice do I have?

    Take time to realize how much data you will be processing and how many users you will have, this will help you to scale the needs to the product. The product works well, but is only as good as the servers it uses.
    it_user176949
    Senior BI Consultant at a tech consulting company with 51-200 employees
    Consultant
    Dec 31, 2014
    LifeCycle manager needs more stability but Web Intelligence for its ad-hoc ability is a valuable feature

    What other advice do I have?

    Do not undersize the system hardware. Turn on all functionality for a product when installing – even if not anticipating using immediately. Spend ample time up front planning the security set up and only go with one option whether SAP, Enterprise, Windows AD or LDAP.
    it_user5691
    Architect at a insurance company with 10,001+ employees
    Vendor
    Aug 5, 2014
    Bottom Line: Get the data foundation in shape first prior to implementing a reporting tool.

    What other advice do I have?

    Category leaders have their strengths and weaknesses but as seen from the lens of the person using the tool. Some may want ease of use ... others a full-blown suite of DML tools. From this perspective, BO is as good as any of the other leading tools for reports. If anything, BO is great at controlling the user's interface eg highly user friendly capable. It does not come out of the box that way, but a competent BO wizard can make that happen on balance easier than other products. Finally, BO supports conserving server resources better than most. BI solutions are not about the tool. Any…
    it_user117558
    BI Junior consultant at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
    Consultant
    Jun 23, 2014
    We found the deployment of SAP BO to be very complex, and the initial setup complex as well
    During my project work (by group & at school), I’ve had the opportunity to work with Qlikview & SAP BO. I've been working with SAP BO for 1 year. On a scale from 1-5 (1=worst, 5=best), I would give SAP BO a 1. My experiences with SAP BO were not positive. But on a technical level, the way BO works to handle the loop is very good.  In our company we have to build lots of complex things to answer simple requirements. Luckily, the solution still works, nonetheless this product has a lot of room for improvement: we found the deployment of SAP BO to be very complex, and the initial setup complex as well. If I were advising others about to implement this product, I would tell them to search for a company who specialize in implementing BI.
    it_user115764
    Consultant at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
    Consultant
    Jun 23, 2014
    Made reporting of data more consistent but SAP BO is expensive

    What is most valuable?

    The Universe in BO ensures consistent coding for business rules etc.

    How has it helped my organization?

    Made reporting of data from the ERP systems in Oracle more consistent.

    What needs improvement?

    None

    For how long have I used the solution?

    3 years - Blokker and BT, Netherlands

    What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

    None

    What do I think about the stability of the solution?

    None

    What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

    None

    How are customer service and technical support?

    Customer Service: GoodTechnical Support: Good

    Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

    Reporting was previously done ad-hoc.

    How was the initial setup?

    I was not involved in the setup of the solution.

    What about the

    it_user8181
    Business Development Staff at a tech consulting company with 51-200 employees
    Consultant
    Jul 31, 2013
    Issues with BO
    Here are second thoughts: - BO development team release patch every two weeks. - Patchsets are released very often. - Every new patchset introduces several new bugs, - including many bugs regression. In small project I have raised several incidents, including one with high priority. I've been using BuisnessObjects since early 2000's. In my ( but not limited) opinion, after SAP took over control of product development, entire software quality gone worst
    it_user7653
    Consultant at a tech company with 10,001+ employees
    Real User
    Jul 9, 2013
    Business Objects on Linux and SQL Server
    This is just a quick post to share a lesson learned while I was on an engagement where the client’s reporting environment was using SAP Business Objects (BO)running on Linux for reporting. We were doing a test to move the underlying data warehouse from another database platform to SQL Server 2008 R2. As we changed connections over, however, we quickly ran into a roadblock. It seems when we tried to make a connection to SQL Server via BO we got the error of ‘Unable to bind to Configuration Objects WIS 10901′. What made this situation strange is that from a Windows box you could connect but from Linux itself, it wasn’t having any of it. After some digging around we found we needed a third party ODBC driver to make this connection work. Read full post:…
    it_user7581
    Manager of Development at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
    Consultant
    Jul 7, 2013
    Seven thoughts about SAP BusinessObjects BI Analytics Editions
    SAP BusinessObjects BI Analytics Editions provides to you the full spectrum of Analytics technologies and innovations which enables you to design, build and consume business friendly, agile, fast, quality and intelligent Analytics solutions for your business. Complete – because it provides the full spectrum of powerful, unified and innovative Business Analytics technologies and solutions for all your Analytics needs. Business friendly – because now your business can easily understand and learn how to prepare, build and consume Analytics. Agile – because now you can unleash the full potential of your data and get the largest business benefits and value by harvesting agility with the deepest involvement of your business. Intelligent – because now you can create the most…
    it_user6855
    CEO with 51-200 employees
    Vendor
    Top Reviewer
    Jul 7, 2013
    Business Objects - Big in Every Way
    Yes, SAP Business Objects (BO) will address your BI needs – no doubt about it. But so will many other products – MicroStrategy, Oracle, IBM Cognos and so on come to mind. Now BO is big. It is big on capability, big on footprint, big on required skill-sets and tends to be big on cost (consultants love it). SAP groupies will undoubtedly want to use BO, others might want to reflect more carefully. SAP BO comprises over twenty products that address everything from Microsoft Office integration through to data integration. It would be truly futile to provide details on these components, although it is worth pointing out that SAP Predictive Analysis uses the same visual front-end as the rest of the products – and this is a particularly useful feature as the boundaries between BI and data…
    it_user7437
    Director of Data Analytics at a transportation company with 10,001+ employees
    Vendor
    Jul 1, 2013
    Struggled with Excelsius
    At Amtrak we used BO. One of things we struggled with was Excelsius. It has a limitation- it expects you to aggregate your data before you can use it. Otherwise you'll have performance issues because it's not made to handle large volumes of data. To work around it we would have the aggregated Excelsius and drill downs would link back to a webi report to provide more detailed information. We were able to a provide a dashboard for our 9 board of directors, provided that we aggregated to a level that we weren't exceeding the limitations of Excelsius.
    it_user7434
    VP of Data Analytics at a insurance company with 501-1,000 employees
    Vendor
    Jul 1, 2013
    Mixed response of success
    Been using BO since 2010 - mixed response of success High level points from our experience: Ad-hoc reporting capabilities are hit and miss: For lite needs such as simple quires, summary level, what happened last month- it's pretty good. For transactional level data we see universes that spin up for 3-10 minutes and then time out. Robustness of the universe doesn't allow us to do the types of detailed analysis that we would like to be able to perform. Static reporting works really well. We have reports that are scheduled and reports that are distributed via email. We also have a self service que- works well, well tested, great for our customers Dashboarding- we have leveraged the Excelisus product- we have 25 dashboards- includes simple graphs, more detailed analysis with limited…
    Ariel Lindenfeld
    Director of Community Management at IT Central Station
    Community Manager
    Jun 11, 2013
    Gartner's Magic Quadrant report says that SAP customers report software quality as an obstacle to wider deployment
    In the February 2013 Magic Quadrant Report, Gartner says that SAP customers report software quality as an obstacle to wider deployment. Additionally, customers expressed dissatisfaction with SAP support. Are you a Real User of SAP BO? Have you found this to be the case in your organization? If you are a user or are evaluating SAP BO, add your comment below or write your own review. Share your opinion with our community!
    it_user6969
    Consultant at a tech consulting company with 51-200 employees
    Consultant
    Jun 10, 2013
    Considerations for Upgrading from Business Objects Enterprise 3.1 to 4.0
    I recently performed an upgrade from SAP Business Objects 3.1 to the SAP BI Platform 4.0. In the process, I noted a few idiosyncrasies you should consider if you plan to upgrade your 3.1 environment. Not all of these items may pertain to everyone but you should at a minimum consider them when planning your upgrade. These three items include Connections, Excel and Life Cycle Management (LCM) The first topic is Connections and only need addressed if you are using Universes in your current 3.1 environment. For those with only Crystal Reports in the environment that do not access Universes, this does not apply. Specifically, it addresses Custom Access Levels that you may currently have in the environment. In order for users to access Universes in 4.0 you need to ensure the following rights…
    it_user6792
    Project Manager at a manufacturing company with 501-1,000 employees
    Vendor
    May 30, 2013
    We extensively use the publication features of Crystal Reports and scheduling features of Web Intelligence. But we had some challenges with upgrades.
    it_user6663
    BI Expert at a transportation company with 51-200 employees
    Vendor
    May 25, 2013
    SAP Business Objects vs. Microsoft BI
    A quick look at the whole idea on another weblogs gives you a sense that all of them just talked about very brief things like report refresh feature in BO or cube feature in MS Analysis Service. I choose MS BI and I want to share my reasons and opinions on why I choose it and give you another quick but a little deeper compare on these two BI platforms. As we all know both Business Objects and Microsoft are big companies who are working on BI solutions and both have their own advantages. It’s not true to compare them in term of which one is better, we have to check what is our requirements and then depend on requirements take the decision whether MS or BO. A vision like this could help us relief from religious decisions against a software or technology. In a BI architect first of all we…
    it_user6462
    Architect at a retailer with 501-1,000 employees
    Vendor
    May 9, 2013
    Deployment is easy but scalability and stability of the product has been cumbersome
    On a scale from 1-5 (1=worst, 5=best), how would you rate this product overall compared to similar products? - 3.5 For how long have you used this product? - 2 Yrs Which features of this product are most valuable to you? - Scheduling Reports and Features supported to schedule reports. Can you give an example of how this product has improved the way your organization functions? - Users are getting reports that run for hours offtime on their inbox and file share devices or Shared Portals. What areas of this product have room for improvement? - Ease of use and understanding. Did you encounter any issues with deployment, stability or scalability? - Deployment is easy but scalability and stability of the product has been cumbersome. Before choosing this product, did you…
    it_user5802
    BI Expert at a healthcare company with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Vendor
    Apr 9, 2013
    Comparison of Business Objects & Cognos
    Most of my experience is with Business Objects. I have done a little with Cognos Elite also. Comparatively I find Business Objects much easier to work with when it comes to customizing the presentation of the data. Neither of the two products does a drill-down as well as you can in Crystal Reports, but they both allow you to create multiple views of the data on one page. Business Object WEBI reports allow you to use multiple universes and multiple report pages in one WEBI document. Both system will force you to use another layer between the presentation and data layers. In Cognos it is called Framework Manager. In WEBI it is called Universes. Both Universes and Framework Manager define the structure and connections the are usable to the presentation layer. Both middle layers can connect…
    Buyer's Guide
    Download our free SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence Platform Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.