Sumo Logic Overview

Sumo Logic is the #13 ranked solution in our list of Log Management Software. It is most often compared to Datadog: Sumo Logic vs Datadog

What is Sumo Logic?
Sumo Logic simplifies how you collect and analyze machine data so that you can gain deep visibility across your full application and infrastructure stack. With the Sumo Logic service, you can accelerate modern application delivery, monitor and troubleshoot in real time and improve your security and compliance posture.
Sumo Logic Buyer's Guide

Download the Sumo Logic Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: December 2020

Sumo Logic Customers
Ooyala, Webjet, Akamai, Kaiser Permanente, Alaska Airlines, Hotel Tonight, Dollar Shave Club, Interactive Intelligence, Restoration Hardware, RingCentral, WD-40, Zillow, Sage Software, Tunein Radio, Lookout, Infor, Houzz, Estee Lauder, Brightcove, Actelion, Anki, Elance, Voxer, Cytobank, Medicom Health Interactive, Task Rabbit, Zscaler, Thred Up, Netskope, Tobi, Infoblox, Imperva, Okta, Medallia, RelateIQ, Bazaar Voice, Blurb, Guidewire, Apigee, Swipely, Progress Software, Card Spring, Ubiquiti Networks, Pager Duty, McGraw Hill, Acquia, Limelight Networks, Blucora, Scripps Networks Interactive, Orange, Medidata, 3 Share
Sumo Logic Video

Sumo Logic Archived Reviews (More than two years old)

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Reviewer32109
Contracting Automation Engineer at Craigslist
User
Jan 14, 2019
Out of the box applications were very useful for us. We also use the Threat Intelligence integration for our security monitoring.

What is our primary use case?

Logging all operational and security events in our enterprise environment. We use Sumo Logic to monitor all the applications that we run in the Amazon AWS cloud; we use Sumo Logic to monitor the security posture of our AWS IaaS with CloudTrail, VPC flow, S3 audit, GuardDuty, and EKS services. 

How has it helped my organization?

Sumo Logic is a single place to retrieve intelligence without worrying about architecture and performance.

What is most valuable?

The out of the box applications were very useful for us. We also use the Threat Intelligence integration for our security monitoring.

What needs improvement?

Automation is open to user's implementation, in my case, we used to use API to correlate and orchestrate events from Sumo Logic with other…
VpOfDevO7114
VP of DevOps Engineering at a tech vendor with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Dec 27, 2018
We are able to diagnose problems before our customers

What is our primary use case?

We use it for logging and alerting for cloud only applications. We are only use it from the cloud.

Pros and Cons

  • "We are able to diagnose problems before our customers."
  • "There are some API gaps that are missing."
Find out what your peers are saying about Sumo Logic, Splunk, LogRhythm and others in Log Management. Updated: December 2020.
455,536 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Tejprakash Sharma
DevOps Engineer at TO THE NEW
Real User
Dec 26, 2018
We can easily search for what is wrong in our application through the logs

What is our primary use case?

Sumo Logic is for logging. You can use it as a centralized logging management system. You can send all your application logs to Sumo Logic, then you will receive a clear dashboard where you can see if there are any issues in you operations. It is pretty easy to troubleshoot any issues on your application using Sumo Logic.

Pros and Cons

  • "It helps a lot because we can troubleshoot issues pretty easily."
  • "We would like to have some type of predefined setup for the logs, making the setup easier by default."

What other advice do I have?

If you want to do a PoC with Sumo Logic, their documentation is very good. The product is only on AWS. We using it on our production environment.
Enterpri9713
Enterprise Architect at a transportation company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Dec 19, 2018
We have used it many times to find a root cause of a live issue, then fix the problem in the applications

What is our primary use case?

We use it for monitoring and alerting on application logs.

Pros and Cons

  • "We have used it many times to find a root cause of a live issue, then fix the problem in the applications."
  • "Support has been excellent. Sumo Logic's support staff is really good, both their account management staff and direct support."
  • "We would like the ability to drill down into a dashboard and get into deeper levels."

What other advice do I have?

I would recommend Sumo Logic. It is easy to use. The culture at Sumo Logic seems to be developer focused. The product is good. The developers are able to use it to get their job done quickly and easily. It fits into the developer's workload. The support is excellent. We use it in both AWS and on-premise. It tends to work the same in both cases. We have integrated it with Beanstalk, Lambda, and EC2, and it integrates very well. Though, they have some work to do on the containment side, at least with EC2.
Casey Powell
Engineering Manager at Braintree
Real User
Dec 19, 2018
It provides easy visibility and shareable queries

What is our primary use case?

We use it to keep our information database.

Pros and Cons

  • "It provides easy visibility. I also like the shareable queries because we share a lot across groups."
  • "There needs to be improvement on imported data which can be used within Sumo Logic to do more advanced queries."

What other advice do I have?

Reach out, see if you can get a demo on your data, and see how it fits your needs. It works with all our main applications, so the integration with those products is pretty seamless from my standpoint. We use the AWS version.
Develope7839
Developer Manager at a financial services firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Dec 17, 2018
We have seen improvement in our operational processes

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use case is application log tracing and monitoring. It does a good job of meeting our needs, in terms of alert monitoring.

Pros and Cons

  • "For many of our services, we use Sumo Logic to track errors and send notifications to our Slack channel, if there are issues. Then, we have our support people monitoring this, and they can react quickly."
  • "Scalability has been good for our needs. We haven't run into any scaling issues in regards to size so far."
  • "I would like better UI-driven functionality to create alerts and reports. Now, we have to understand the syntax, so it is a little difficult for someone to pick it up without using the manuals. If there was more of a graphical user interface, it would be beneficial."
  • "It would be nice to have an improved ability to scroll through logs within a time frame. Right now, we can search for specific errors. However, if we want to look for "before and after" within a specific time frame, it's not easy using the tool. This would be an improvement."

What other advice do I have?

It is a good tool for operational logging and monitoring of applications. We are using the hosted version.
Jeffery Statham
Software Architect at Solink
Real User
Top 20
Dec 17, 2018
We don't have to provide credentials for everybody to look at individual systems to find their logs, but the product's interface is a bit cumbersome to use

What is our primary use case?

The primary use is incident alerting.

Pros and Cons

  • "I have no concerns about the stability of the product. I feel it handles the stress we put on it very well."
  • "It took a bit of trial and error to get it set up correctly based on everything we had to do. In the end, we had to send everything over HTTP, which was sort of a stop-gap."

What other advice do I have?

The product integrates well with our websites. We have been using only the on-premise versions of this product, so we have not used the AWS versions.
AwsOpera2176
AWS Operations Engineer at MR
Real User
Dec 17, 2018
The dashboards are great. We use them for monitoring certain events.

What is our primary use case?

We use it for ingestion of VPC flow logs, CloudTrail logs, and config logs from AWS.

Pros and Cons

  • "We use it to ingest Windows domain controller logs. We use this to monitor if anyone is placed in particular administration groups that potentially shouldn't be. It helps us keep track of people."
  • "If you want to up your subscription through the AWS Marketplace, it can be difficult. You can't just go back to the AWS Marketplace, and say, "I want a bigger one now." You have to contact the sales team, then they do it on the back-end. This could definitely be improved."

What other advice do I have?

We love the product and haven't had any bad experiences with it. We integrated it with Windows Active Directory. With one of our customers, we integrated it with some security software. It was some antivirus platform. We worked with their security team to ingest some logs that they used at the time and queried the data that they ingested. It integrates easily with other products. You just have to install the Collector. Then, as long as you know what the format of your logs are like, you can write your field extraction rules, and away you go. As long as you know what you're doing, and as long…
Infrastrd7f3
Infrastructure Engineer at a retailer with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Dec 16, 2018
We can ingest logs and make reports out of them. It is a good tool which can help us monitor any issues.

What is our primary use case?

It is primarily for storing logs, then making reports out of the logs and also alert. If something goes up or down, or reaches a threshold, then we are on alert for that.

Pros and Cons

  • "We can ingest logs and make reports out of them. It is a good tool which can help us monitor any issues."
  • "It gives us a bird's eye view of what's happening from our connection's point of view."
  • "I would like to see improvement in the user experience when configuring things, ingesting logs, and creating ports."
  • "The initial setup is the most stressful, like learning how to use it."

What other advice do I have?

It satisfied what we required of it, but there's still room for improvement in terms of adding applications. Also, there is a little more improvement needed in terms of guiding users on the start up process. Look at your functionalities, features, and how appropriate the solution is with what you need. Sumo Logic does give a lot of monitoring ability, even ingesting logs and integrating dashboard reports. You can do reports and alarms, which will aid whomever in the management of their infrastructure.
Gustavo Etchudez
Cloud Lead Engineer at a media company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Dec 4, 2018
It is simple to use and our developers can make error queries using it

What is our primary use case?

We use it to send our devices logs. It looks for application errors during the development, QA, and production. We also use it for troubleshooting in a production environment. We use only the AWS version.

Pros and Cons

  • "With this tool, we provide access to every developer team the ability to find errors, then they come to us and ask for specific help."
  • "The dashboard has room for improvement, because sometimes it is a difficult to create a specific dashboard or query. This would be a nice place to correct problems."

What other advice do I have?

Sumo Logic provide a specific solution for logging. If you cannot handle every server or centralized system, it can provide specific access for your developers. This is helpful for an infrastructure or DevOps team.