TIBCO Jaspersoft Overview

TIBCO Jaspersoft is the #5 ranked solution in our list of top Embedded BI Tools. It is most often compared to Microsoft BI: TIBCO Jaspersoft vs Microsoft BI

What is TIBCO Jaspersoft?
JasperSoft is one of the most widely deployed business intelligence (BI) suites in the world, mostly due to its cost effectiveness. JasperSoft has an open-source codebase which allows it to be easily tailored to the needs of different clients, and big data reporting can be used with or without extract, transform,and load (ETL). It also possesses a pay-per-hour model, which can result in cost-savings if used correctly. JasperSoft has a number of pre-built templates for reporting to help make development of reports go quickly without the need for the end user to have IT experience. The dashboard features a drag-and-drop designer, which helps workers better visualize the data. It allows various kinds of data to be visualized including OLAP, relational, and other sources by using HTML5 to create interactive charts. JasperSoft also offers interactive maps and widgets for mobile devices, allowing for easy consumption of data when away from the desktop. The mobile devices also have customizable drag-and-drop dashboards. The columnar engine helps aggregate data, which speeds response times for enterprises that have to deal with large and complex data. The United States Marine Corps needed access to metrics in order to better run the Marine Corps Base Camp Lejeune. These metrics included: scheduling the availability of operational resources, identifying risks associated with implementing IT changes, and data for ongoing root analysis. With the IT Service Management application through JasperSoft, the ability for the base to provide response to its user communities has been greatly enhanced. NOTE: Jaspersoft was acquired in April of 2014 by Tibco, makers of the BI solution, Spotfire. As of the most recent update to this page, seen in the date below this description, Jaspersoft is still supported and sold as a BI software solution. Compare JasperSoft with other business intelligence solutions using our Business Intelligence SmartAdvisor.
TIBCO Jaspersoft Buyer's Guide

Download the TIBCO Jaspersoft Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: February 2021

TIBCO Jaspersoft Customers
Mosaic, Vander University, Telesoft, Entrust, Ericsson, BT, Groupon, John Hopkins, Puma
TIBCO Jaspersoft Video

TIBCO Jaspersoft Archived Reviews (More than two years old)

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
it_user540237
Managing Executive at System Business, s. r. o.
Vendor
Mar 26, 2017
Some of the valuable features are flexible report scheduling and common JRXML templates for parameterized reporting.

What other advice do I have?

The migration between versions could be hard. It is okay to have multi-version environments, but just be aware of it.
it_user217659
Manager at a consultancy with 501-1,000 employees
Real User
Mar 26, 2017
The most valuable features are the security file and the general data level security implementation framework. The user interface needs general bug fixes

What other advice do I have?

Ensure that the needs you want to address match the license you intend to purchase. If there is a mismatch, you might end up spending more money than you need to.
Find out what your peers are saying about TIBCO, SAP, Knowage and others in Reporting Tools. Updated: February 2021.
466,017 professionals have used our research since 2012.
it_user9345
Founder at a consultancy with 51-200 employees
Consultant
Mar 19, 2017
The most valuable features are the setup of layers and row-level security.

What other advice do I have?

Take some time to check out all the functionalities, especially the portal and row-level security. You can test it really well with the pay per hour option.
it_user542799
Senior Software Engineer at a tech company with 501-1,000 employees
Vendor
Feb 28, 2017
​The reporting and charting features are valuable. Implementation of subreports is not straightforward enough.

What other advice do I have?

Write down the project requirements and compare it with all that this product can do. Then, decide wisely based on all the options available.
it_user539580
Risk and Operations Manager at a financial services firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
Vendor
Feb 23, 2017
you can continue working in the tool, while the job that generates reports runs in the background.
it_user297504
Data Architect at a comms service provider with 1,001-5,000 employees
Vendor
Nov 21, 2016
The pixel-perfect report and embedded report portal are valuable. Visualization design should be improved and aligned with newer tools.

What other advice do I have?

Jaspersoft is a strong tool for static, pixel-perfect reports. I suggest also including another data discovery / ad-hoc analysis tool in your roadmap.
it_user531804
Software Developer at a marketing services firm with 51-200 employees
Vendor
Nov 21, 2016
Stability and server disk consumption need improvement. Creating and scheduling reports is tedious and bug prone.

What other advice do I have?

Don't implement this product.
SrBIDev353
Sr. Business Intelligence Developer at a tech company with 501-1,000 employees
Real User
Nov 17, 2016
Report locales provide multi-language support. It should have a report bursting option.

What other advice do I have?

It is a good, simple to learn product with some limitations.
it_user504099
Director, Operational Risk BI & Big Data Analytics with 1,001-5,000 employees
Vendor
Aug 31, 2016
Reports can be exported to many different formats including MS PowerPoint and PDF.

What other advice do I have?

If you have a need for standard dashboards that can be exported to various formats, Jaspersoft will be a good solution to try out. Jaspersoft also provides various integration mechanism (JavaScript libraries and APIs) for embedded BI. Also, with the latest releases, they are making good progress in the self-service business intelligence space.
it_user498384
Sr. Application Developer at a government with 1,001-5,000 employees
Vendor
Aug 31, 2016
The API functionality on the server is valuable because it gave us an easy way to distribute reports to non-technical users. To change some settings, you have to manually edit a text config file.

What other advice do I have?

Just try it on a pilot basis and see if it will meet your needs. It's a decent tool to have in your solutions bag.
it_user483900
Business Intelligence | IT Service Management at a comms service provider with 1,001-5,000 employees
Vendor
Aug 31, 2016
Charts use HTML5, so they can be rich and dynamic. The support team needs to be improved.
Chandu Sekhar
Jaspersoft BI Consultant at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
Consultant
Leaderboard
Jul 30, 2016
Interactive reporting and dashboards using HTML 5 charts. Reports developed in older versions are not supported fully in new versions.

What other advice do I have?

These are my personal views with the little experience I have with Jasper and there might be deeper views that can be presented such as how the in-memory engine works - columnar they say.
it_user8199
BI developer - (Jaspersoft/Pentaho/Pentaho C-Tools/Kettle/Talend/Data warehouse) at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
Real User
May 31, 2016
It includes enterprise features such as ad-hoc reporting on self service BI, rich dashboards, rich embedded BI solutions, mobile BI solutions, multi-tenant features, and rich HTML-5 visualizations.

What other advice do I have?

If a business is small to mid-size you should get the community version. Otherwise, if your business is huge, you should look at the Enterprise, Professional, or Cloud versions of the software for a lower price.
it_user279618
DWBI Developer at DST Worldwide Services Pvt Ltd
Real User
Jan 4, 2016
I'm able to set up and develop reports and dashboards easily, but creating custom domains is difficult.

What is most valuable?

Reporting Engine Dashboards Adhoc Reports Multi-tenancy Report Bursting

What needs improvement?

Inter panel communication within the dashboard Writing custom domains is a difficult task

For how long have I used the solution?

I've been using it for two years.

What was my experience with deployment of the solution?

No issues encountered.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

No issues encountered.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

No issues encountered.

How are customer service and technical support?

5/10.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

No previous solution was used.

How was the initial setup?

It’s very straightforward to Install Jaspersoft in both Linux and Windows.…
it_user6855
CEO with 51-200 employees
Vendor
Top Reviewer
Jul 7, 2013
The scope of the product is fairly limited compared with some other open source offerings, but it does what it does very well
Verdict Jaspersoft Community addresses the creation of reports and charts and does so admirably. The scope of the product is fairly limited compared with some other open source offerings, but it does what it does very well. JasperSoft provides several versions of its JasperSoft BI suite. The Community edition essentially provides a reporting and charting environment with supporting infrastructure. The report designer supports charts, images, crosstabs and sub-reports for sophisticated report layouts. Interactive report viewing is a browser based report viewer with sorting, filtering and formatting of report snapshot views. A centralised repository provides infrastructure for reporting and stores user profiles, reports, dashboards and analytic views. Reports can be automatically…
it_user6978
Co-Founder at Helical IT Solution (Jaspersoft, Pentaho, Talend, Kettle, DWBI, ETL, Ctools, iReport, Jasper Report)
Consultant
Top Reviewer
Jun 10, 2013
Jaspersoft vs. Pentaho – Which one to use & is there any need to purchase the commercial edition
Any company (be it technology, manfucaturing, human resource, ecommerce, SME etc) always has the need for Business Intelligence to some or the other extent. If cost is one of the consideration factor, then the 2 BI tools which are at the forefront are Pentaho and Jaspersoft. But, often the same companies are caught up in an imbrogilo as to which tool to use, what are the technology/and end business user wise differences/ do i actually need to purchase commercial edition, is there any work around etc. Differences :- In the below mentioned points, I have tried to cover functionality wise the differences a. Reports :- Jaspersoft is known for its picture pixel perfect reporting. Jasper uses ireport for designing the reports. Hence, for having reports, Jaspersoft is the most ideal candidate…