Untangle NG Firewall Overview

Untangle NG Firewall is the #5 ranked solution in our list of top Unified Threat Management (UTM) tools. It is most often compared to pfSense: Untangle NG Firewall vs pfSense

What is Untangle NG Firewall?

Untangle NG Firewall takes the complexity out of network security—saving you time, money and frustration. Get everything you need in a single, modular platform that fits the evolving needs of your organization without the headaches of multiple point solutions.

Enjoy the flexibility to deploy Untangle’s award-winning NG Firewall software on third party hardware, as a virtual machine, or as a turnkey appliance.

Rest assured that the browser-based, responsive and intuitive interface will enable you to create policies quickly and easily. Then, drill down into database-driven reports—the most comprehensive and detailed in the industry—to get visibility into exactly what’s happening on your network.

Untangle NG Firewall Buyer's Guide

Download the Untangle NG Firewall Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: December 2020

Untangle NG Firewall Customers
North American Stamping Group, Cerebral Palsy of North Jersey (CPNJ), Brown County Schools, IN, City of Bridgeton, MO, Lancaster County, SC, Vision Charter School, Clay County Sheriff’s Department, NC, Breakwater School, Boys & Girls Club of Manchester, NH, Admiral Farragut Academy, Flow Companies, No Ordinary Hotel, KECdesign,
Untangle NG Firewall Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about Untangle NG Firewall pricing:
  • "We pay $350 USD per year for the solution. There are no additional costs. As long as you're not using a physical appliance, that's all you need."

Untangle NG Firewall Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Sameer Mogale
Owner (Senior Systems Engineer) at 3Kay Solutions
Real User
Top 5
Oct 26, 2020
Dependable, easy to integrate and a simple interface

What is our primary use case?

I am the owner of our company and we are resellers and users of this solution.

Pros and Cons

  • "Easy to set up and easy to integrate."
  • "Web-filtering policies could be improved."

What other advice do I have?

If you're a small SMB, I would say go for Untangle because it's less hassle, less overheads to set up or maintain. You set it up and leave it in the background and forget about it. But if you're an enterprise company, I think you might end up having issues with the performance because most of it is sold as a package under software virtualization. I haven't tested the big hardware devices as yet because I don't really need to buy the device. It's only when a client buys it that I'll be able to set it up. But from a virtual perspective, you might end up having something that's over utilized for…
Simbarashe Mazorodze
Solutions Architect at Terrific Tech
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Jul 21, 2019
Offers reliable web filtering and is easy to administer

What is our primary use case?

We are using a lot of applications which are running on Untangle. We use web filtering, application control, firewall, and VPN services.

Pros and Cons

  • "Web filtering is very reliable."
  • "The hardware can be improved."

What other advice do I have?

In terms of distribution, maybe it's because we're in Zimbabwe, it's a bit of a challenge. It's a hassle. It's not very visible here in Zimbabwe and Africa. It's something which we got over the internet. There is only one distributor, locally, but now, we are dealing directly with Untangle. This is a very good product. In terms of sizing, you really need to understand your requirements at the outset and be able to get the correct appliance. Especially in terms of the number of functionalities. You should be looking into that in particular so that you get the correct appliance and be able to…
Learn what your peers think about Untangle NG Firewall. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: December 2020.
454,950 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Jeff Nduva Nduva
Technical Operations Manager at COSEKE
Real User
Top 20
Jul 3, 2019
Great web filters and SSL inspector but not possible to block a range of IPs

What is our primary use case?

I primarily use the solution for internet and email filtering.

Pros and Cons

  • "The features I have found the most useful are the web filter, the captive portal, the SSL inspector, and the ad-blocker. They're awesome."
  • "For the web filter, I think they can do better especially on the free model."

What other advice do I have?

For the NG firewall, it works better for just filtering and managing the internet, but it will not work on other security areas. It will not act like a perimeter firewall. For the users who are looking for that kind of solution, I think there are different solutions out there for every security issue you're looking at. It has worked perfectly for the need I was looking for. But I wouldn't use it as the main firewall for the network. I would rate the solution a 7 out of 10.
reviewer836928
Product Manager - Backup & Utilities at NovaStar Software & Consulting GmbH
Reseller
Aug 29, 2019
An easy to use product with a simple interface and good stability

What is our primary use case?

We use the solution as a firewall.

Pros and Cons

  • "The interface is very good."
  • "The pricing is not as good as it was some time ago. They've since skipped offering a lot of individual features."

What other advice do I have?

It's very easy to use the product. In comparison, Sophos has a bigger learning curve. I would rate the solution ten out of ten.
Balakrishna Medikonda
Director at eSupport Solutions
Real User
Top 20
Oct 25, 2020
Power IPS and other features, simple to set up and maintain

What is our primary use case?

We are using this product internally, for intrusion prevention.

Pros and Cons

  • "The most valuable features are IPS, MAPI, NAT, and VPN."
  • "The pricing should be reduced because it is expensive."

What other advice do I have?

This is a product that I can recommend and if anybody implements it and wants support, we would be open to providing technical support for it. This is something that we would be happy to do. In summary, this is a good product and my only real complaint is about the pricing. I would rate this solution an eight out of ten.
MangingDirectr67
Managing Director at a non-profit with 51-200 employees
Real User
Sep 19, 2019
A stable solution that runs well on generic hardware, but it needs better web content filtering

What is our primary use case?

We primarily used the solution for filtering features.

Pros and Cons

  • "The Untangle firewall is a software firewall, so it runs on generic hardware. We found that was probably the best feature, and it's why we chose it when we started using it three years ago."
  • "The web content filtering needs improvement."

What other advice do I have?

We stopped using the solution in April 2019. The web content filtering feature of Untangle was not giving us what we wanted. The reason we moved away from Untangle is that it was not giving us the features we needed for our internal use. I would rate the solution seven out of ten. I would recommend the solution for small or medium-sized enterprises.
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Untangle NG Firewall Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.