VMware Cloud Foundation Overview

VMware Cloud Foundation is the #2 ranked solution in our list of top Hybrid Cloud Computing Platforms. It is most often compared to Azure Stack: VMware Cloud Foundation vs Azure Stack

What is VMware Cloud Foundation?

VMware Cloud Foundation makes it easy to deploy and run a hybrid cloud. VMware Cloud Foundation provides integrated cloud infrastructure (compute, storage, networking, and security) and cloud management services to run enterprise applications in both private and public environments.

VMware Cloud Foundation Buyer's Guide

Download the VMware Cloud Foundation Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: January 2021

VMware Cloud Foundation Customers
ricoh, dell technologies, sky
VMware Cloud Foundation Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about VMware Cloud Foundation pricing:
  • "If our customer has the option to buy a server for $4,000 or $5,000, but VMware asks for two-person licensing $7,000 to $8,000, which is more than the hardware price. So sometimes, the customer cannot pay for it because it's too expensive."
  • "This solutuion can be expensive for small and medium-sized companies."
  • "The licensing is expensive compared with Hyper V and Unitech's platform."
  • "The pricing can be more competitive."

VMware Cloud Foundation Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Solomon Adebamowo
Techincal Sales Manager at ENTAP TECHNOLOGIES LTD
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Oct 26, 2019
Easy-to-use GUI, and provides a good disaster recovery solution

What is our primary use case?

We are a system integrator and this is one of the solutions that we provide to our clients. The primary use of this solution is data center consolidation. This solution gives you the option to have a second copy of your data center for disaster recovery. For VMware, you can achieve asynchronous replication, which means that you have active and passive replication between two sites. Active means that the production is up, but the disaster recovery is read-only. When you bring up the mirror, the other site becomes active and the production site becomes read-only.

Pros and Cons

  • "The most valuable feature of this solution is the disaster recovery software."
  • "We would like the ability to write to both sites at the same time, in a synchronous fashion."

What other advice do I have?

It is always a good idea to go for training. I would not recommend this solution for somebody who has no idea at all. It is simple, but not so simple that you can't do it without training. Over time, VMware has improved a lot in terms of the interface and it's getting easier to use with a cleaner dashboard. One of the biggest things that I have learned from using this solution is how much I appreciate the GUI. I come from a background where I used the command line often. When I started using this solution, I loved the GUI. It is excellent to use and to troubleshoot. I would rate this solution…
Md.Shahadat Hossain Shipon
Sr. Manager-Data Center and Virtualization at Omgea Exim Ltd
MSP
Top 5Leaderboard
Jan 30, 2020
Has good auto-scaling and automation features and has the ability to meter how many resources a department is using

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use case is for auto-scaling and automation of VM created automation with some governance and policies.

Pros and Cons

  • "The ability to auto-scale is the most valuable feature."
  • "The deployment is clumsy and complex. There are too many things that need to be done in order to deploy."

What other advice do I have?

They should think about the different price perspective for our country, Bangladesh, since we are a developing country. Our customers have to pay more than any other PC and laptop they are buying which is why customers don't end up buying it. VMware has to consider under-developed countries where a PC is $400 but for VDI their licensing is more than $1,000. Their licensing is more than $1,000 per user and the customer has to buy the hardware separately. Customers don't pick this solution because it's too expensive. I would rate this solution as a nine out of ten. In the next release, I would…
Find out what your peers are saying about Azure Stack vs. VMware Cloud Foundation and other solutions. Updated: January 2021.
464,857 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Hassan Ismail
IT Development Manager at a comms service provider with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Oct 27, 2019
Virtualization is easy to scale up but it should have better integration abilities

What is our primary use case?

We use the product for servicing infrastructure and as a platform for various databases.

Pros and Cons

  • "The product enables flexibility in network structures."
  • "The use of cloud and other integrations need to be improved and made easier."

What other advice do I have?

For enterprise companies and huge data centers, you need a new cloud for each system. It's not acceptable so we try to work with everything centralized on-premises. Telecommunication companies must have a cloud solution and on-premises. For everyday work, they will want to implement virtual machines. To maintain all those systems they need to have centralized management. A huge company must have these products. But it will be very costly for a small company or medium enterprise company. The complexity depends on the size of the company. You need to enhance the workflows. Some things are…
reviewer1329483
CEO at a computer software company with 11-50 employees
Real User
Top 10Leaderboard
Apr 21, 2020
A complete data center with good stability

What is our primary use case?

We use it to deploy different customers on to a single platform. We manage the hardware from the top foundation. We look at the logs and we position the networks.

Pros and Cons

  • "They have in release 4.0 features from vSphere and Cloud Suite. It's a complete data center."
  • "I would like to be able to connect the APIs."

What other advice do I have?

I would definitely advise looking at the hardware first and deciding whether you'd prefer performance or storing data. I would use different setups for different VMs. For the network, do your math before you set it up. It's complete right now. The new release has just been released. If the container orchestrator isn't there, I would like to see that in the next release. I would rate it a ten out of ten.
reviewer1190691
Infrastructure Systems Team Leader at a comms service provider with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Dec 18, 2019
Good clustering, high availability, and the technical support is good

What is our primary use case?

We were working with versions 5, 5.5, 6, then upgraded to 6.7.

Pros and Cons

  • "The DSR feature is valuable because we have internal clustering, and these features are good for us."
  • "The interface is good, but there are compatibility issues or issues with the certificate for the VCenter."

What other advice do I have?

I would recommend this solution, but some of my colleagues have concerns regarding the pricing. I would rate this solution a nine out of ten.
virtuali332868
Virtualization Architect at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
MSP
Oct 14, 2019
A stable solution with an easy initial setup and good mission aspects

Pros and Cons

  • "The mission aspect of the solution is the most valuable feature."
  • "They need to offer more support for Mac."

What other advice do I have?

We use various deployment models; it's dependant on the client. We're a VMware partner. I'd rate the solution eight out of ten.
reviewer1233822
ICT Solutions Architect at a tech vendor with 10,001+ employees
MSP
Nov 27, 2019
Easy and straightforward to install but the price can be better

What is our primary use case?

We are service providers and therefore we only sell this program to our customers. So we don't use it ourselves. Our customers use it for all kinds of purposes like VDI environments, private clouds, connection to public clouds, office automation purposes and applications running on top of this. They use it to consolidate their environment of servers and it provides them a migration path towards cloud environment or private cloud environments.

What is most valuable?

Because I don't use the program myself, I can't answer this.

What needs improvement?

Perhaps the pricing can be more competitive.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been working on VMware Cloud Foundation for four to five years.

How was the initial setup?

The initial…