KVM Reviews

Filter by:Reset all filters
industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Real User
Software Architect with 501-1,000 employees
Apr 23 2019

What do you think of KVM?

What is our primary use case?

My primary use case for KVM is running multiple VMs and containers on the one node.

What is most valuable?

I find the density of the product most valuable. It is because of kernel same page merging technology (KSM) that is integrated into Linux kernel. That high density makes KVM one of the important players of the virtualization market.

What needs improvement?

In the future release of KVM, I would like to have improved support for Windows guests.

For how long have I used the solution?

More than five years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

The stability of this solution is less than other products in the same category. But, it is OK. 

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

The scalability of the product…
Matias Sundman
Real User
System Architect at a aerospace/defense firm with 10,001+ employees
Dec 13 2018

What is most valuable?

A big strength with KVM is that it is an open-source component. It gets improvements from Intel, for example, and the other semiconductors. It can be sized-down to a very small package. It can be used in embedded systems as well, so it has a very good performance and it is suitable from embedded IT… more»

What needs improvement?

I would like to see a separation, so you could have KVM running in a few cores, and then you could have a real-time operating system running another core, so there is a hybrid environment with real time operating systems and Linux.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

It is cheaper than other competitors like VMware or Hyper-V.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

We compared KVM vs VMware and did a proof-of-concept, but we decided that KVM was best suited for our needs when it came to device drivers, etc. We also considered Oracle and RedHat.
Find out what your peers are saying about KVM, VMware, Microsoft and others in Server Virtualization Software. Updated: September 2019.
370,655 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Matias Sundman
Real User
System Architect at a aerospace/defense firm with 10,001+ employees
Jan 09 2019

What is most valuable?

There is a lot of value with an open source solution because you have some freedom of changing how the system behaves and looks because it's open source. You can modify to your requirements which you cannot really do with VMware.

What needs improvement?

The management of the whole system, could be improved. VMware is better on the management tools, for example, Red Hat is when it comes to the KVM. In addition, we would like to have a software lifecycle solution included in this solution… more»

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

It is cheaper than other solutions out there on the market.

If you previously used a different solution, which one did you use and why did you switch?

We previously used VMware but switched to KVM because it is an open ecosystem and we see there is a benefit in open source solutions.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

We also evaluated Red Hat, SUSE, Canonical(Ubuntu), and other Linux providers.
Real User
System Architect at a tech services company with 11-50 employees
Apr 24 2018

What is most valuable?

Our infrastructure is based on KVM and Linux Containers (LXC). We had a lot of VMware legacy, but it was converted to Ubuntu and KVM hypervisor for about the last year. Management and backup is a lot easier with with Ubuntu and KVM, especially combined with ZFS and snapshotting.

How has it helped my organization?

In the Linux world, KVM is a very reliable solution which can be used for x86 architecture virtualization with reasonable overhead. Reliable and extensible have a tight integration with Linux security facilities, like SELinux, KVM does the job. You will unlikely see KVM if you are using a cloud… more»

What needs improvement?

The support of virtualization in the recent generation of x86 processor is almost a must have, so the only negative aspect of needing hardware support is a fully functional KVM can be dropped. It would be nice if the support for other platforms, like ARM or Risk, were as good as the x86 one… more»

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

It is free and can be run from your laptop, if needed, unlike VMware.
Georges-ESSOMBA
Real User
Founder at All-Tech
Oct 13 2019

What is most valuable?

The solution is very light when you are putting your Operating System on it. You forget that there's a virtual layer on your solution. You are using it as if it was a whole computer. It's like having an entire computer that you've launched and have running with the Operating System that you need to work with.

What needs improvement?

The solution should be more user friendly. We are struggling with the command lines. The solution should work on the snapshot functionality and make the interface more graphical, so you can make sure the snapshot is working internally.

What other advice do I have?

We're using the on-premises deployment model. We're using the community version of the solution. I'd rate the solution nine out of ten.
Real User
Principal Engineer at a financial services firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
Oct 11 2019

What do you think of KVM?

What is our primary use case?

We are no longer using this solution. We evaluated it, but I have not used it in a production environment. This solution is used for virtualization. We have an on-premises deployment.

How has it helped my organization?

same features that vmware have concerning disaster recovery, high availibility and live motion of vm

What is most valuable?

simplicity of installation

What needs improvement?

full interoprability with vm format (ova, ovf, ..) for been aable to move forward or backward to another virtualization solution

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

We did not test scalability during our evaluation.

If you previously used a different solution, which one did you use and why did you switch?

We are currently using…
Andre Ruppert
Real User
IT-Leiter (IP) with 11-50 employees
Apr 11 2019

What do you think of KVM?

What is our primary use case?

Running virtualization clusters with more than 300 VMs.

How has it helped my organization?

The platform changes from hardware to virtualized whenever possible.

What is most valuable?

Open source The ability to execute live migrations Linux, a base OS.

What needs improvement?

Management of underlying volumes.

For how long have I used the solution?

Three to five years.

Articles

User Assessments By Topic About KVM

Find out what your peers are saying about KVM, VMware, Microsoft and others in Server Virtualization Software. Updated: September 2019.
370,655 professionals have used our research since 2012.

KVM Questions

What is KVM?

KVM (for Kernel-based Virtual Machine) is a full virtualization solution for Linux on x86 hardware containing virtualization extensions (Intel VT or AMD-V). It consists of a loadable kernel module, kvm.ko, that provides the core virtualization infrastructure and a processor specific module, kvm-intel.ko or kvm-amd.ko.
KVM customers
MediaWiki, Wikimedia Foundation, Wikipedia, Wikivoyage, Wikidata, Wikiversity, Commons
Read Archived Reviews
BUYER'S GUIDE
Download our free Server Virtualization Software Report and find out what your peers are saying about KVM, VMware, Microsoft, and more!
Sign Up with Email