Informatica PowerCenter Overview

Informatica PowerCenter is the #1 ranked solution in our list of top Data Integration Tools. It is most often compared to Informatica Cloud Data Integration: Informatica PowerCenter vs Informatica Cloud Data Integration

What is Informatica PowerCenter?

Enterprise data integration platform to help organizations access, transform, and integrate data from a variety of systems.

Informatica PowerCenter is also known as PowerCenter.

Informatica PowerCenter Buyer's Guide

Download the Informatica PowerCenter Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: April 2021

Informatica PowerCenter Customers

University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, LexisNexis, Rabobank

Informatica PowerCenter Video

Filter Archived Reviews (More than two years old)

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
MM
Mark Ma
Student at Ontario Ministry of Labour
Real User
Jul 8, 2018
Integrated Reporting service should be more smoothly transitioned from view to function. Used to implement our data warehouse, including moving data between FTP, flat file and relational databases.

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use is to implement our data warehouse, including moving data between FTP, flat file and relational databases, and Domain/Integrated Service designs.

Pros and Cons

  • "Informatica PowerCenter has been implementing mapping design, data flow, and workflow execution for years."
  • "Integrated Reporting service should be more smoothly transitioned from view to function to be in sync with the main design."
Vijaya Saduvuv
Lead Application Developer and Informatica Administrator at a healthcare company with 501-1,000 employees
Real User
Jun 6, 2018
Works with any multi-database, reduces legacy coding, and is easy to use

What is our primary use case?

We use it for data integration. It's a great tool.

Pros and Cons

  • "It reduces a lot of legacy coding."
  • "It works with any multi-databases, so it works with Sybase, SQL Server. Also, the performance is really good and it is easy to use."
  • "The initial setup is not straightforward. You need expertise to do it."

What other advice do I have?

If you are a small company it depends on how much data integration you need. I cannot blindly say you should always go with Informatica because it depends what your needs are and whether you can afford Informatica or not. I would give Informatica a 10-plus out of 10 because it satisfies all our requirements, it is robust and scalable.
Learn what your peers think about Informatica PowerCenter. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: April 2021.
476,483 professionals have used our research since 2012.
it_user808662
User at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Jan 28, 2018
UI-based ability to create data mapping

What is our primary use case?

Data Integration: Integrates heterogeneous source platforms data into the unified data warehouse.

Pros and Cons

  • "Reusable definition of data sources and the out-of-the-box availability of a large number maplets for common transformation functions."
  • "Easy, scalable, robust platform to integrate heterogeneous source platform's data into the unified data warehouse."
  • "UI-based ability to create data mapping."
  • "While Informatica is great for data-integration, it does not have any analytics features. Thus, organizations have to always look for another product for their BI needs."
it_user793938
Integration developer at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Jan 24, 2018
Easy to code, provides Data Integration and Data Quality solutions

Pros and Cons

  • "Good product if you are trying implement data quality, data integration, and data management projects."
  • "There can be scalability issues. Huge amounts of data ingestion will impact performance."
  • "We had stability issues, mostly with JVM size."

What other advice do I have?

Good product if you are trying implement data quality, data integration, and data management projects. We have a good relationship with the vendor. We get notifications related to new products for user validation and beta release. We have given user experience feedback for Operational Insights tool.
it_user488589
Technology Architect at Broadridge Financial Solutions
Vendor
Jun 25, 2017
We were able to overcome all the performance bottlenecks and to standardize the ETL layer.

Pros and Cons

  • "The ability to scale through partitions helped us to improve the performance."
  • "We had to take on a large volume of data from the legacy Sybase system. This was taking a very long time, i.e., more than a day. We were trying to improve it with partitions to gpload, but we were told that we can't go more than four partitions."

What other advice do I have?

It is a good, scalable solution, provided the infrastructure is taken care of.
it_user677700
DW Admin at a hospitality company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Vendor
Jun 6, 2017
It collects business information for centralized reporting and analytics.

Pros and Cons

  • "Once you figure it out, it is a powerful and simple ETL tool. Its stability has been very satisfactory."
  • "The UI is outdated and old-fashioned, at least in our current version. Also, we have experienced some stability issues with the Workflow Monitor application."

What other advice do I have?

Choose the right tool for the right job. For the purpose that this product was designed, I believe it is still the best in the market.
it_user275235
Data Warehousing and Business Intelligence Lead at Bank of America
Real User
Oct 6, 2016
It can work with any kind of database, including NoSQL ones, but when a database object changes then object definitions do not get refreshed automatically.

What other advice do I have?

Informatica is a great product. If you can spend a good amount of time researching what you want,have a proper SDLC in place, and work with the technicality of Informatica, I am sure most of the projects can roll out into production in a timely fashion and produce results. In my experience, not having proper road-map in place, and not auditing change requests, business analysts will struggle with their requirements. This causes more bottlenecks and rework than an actual development. Having said that, no project is a walk in the park, but Informatica can be the icing on the cake if the…
it_user202221
Business Intelligence Analyst at a comms service provider with 10,001+ employees
Vendor
Feb 25, 2016
There were many performance problems during the implementation, but you will be happy with the final result.

What other advice do I have?

Be persistent in trying to implement all kinds of transformations with Power Center, you will be happy with the final result.
it_user150912
Data Quality and Conversion with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Sep 17, 2014
As ETL tools in general, it does not include a good data reporting feature.
it_user108354
Manager of Data Analytics at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Apr 25, 2014
Costly yet Effective & Efficient tool for moderate sized DW projects. Performance issues with very large data volumes
Informatica has grown steadily in the data integration domain, ranking in the leaders quadrant of Gartner's analysis. It has been largely in pace with industry demands, serving a large set of requirements through various products. Not surprisingly, Informatica as a Data Integration platform is ahead of many competitors in the domain, with collective force of a product suite strengthening it's position as a leading Data Integration platform. Here's my assessment of Informatica PowerCenter suite Ease of Development is HIGH. Intuitive GUI, along with drag & connect features, bode well for developers when pressed against stringent timelines. Component Architecture, based on SOA, smoothens scalability and flexibility. Ease of Integration with nearly all market leading products and…
it_user93816
Consultant at a energy/utilities company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Mar 12, 2014
PowerCenter Express is not PowerCenter but it's good enough for small development
Informatica unveiled their newest product in the PowerCenter line, the PowerCenter Express, at Informatica World this year (find Smartbridge’s experience of the convention here). The sales pitch is certainly catchy: Free PowerCenter! First I heard of it, I wasn’t sure what to think – is this a marketing gimmick? What’s the catch? But hey, at that price, it is easy enough to find out by one’s self, and that is precisely what I did. And color me pleasantly surprised. The Limitations of PowerCenter Express To their credit, Informatica is upfront with the limitations of the product. This is a good thing – no easier way to shoot yourself in the foot than sneak small print on your clients under a guise of a no-strings-attached free download. As you could expect, PowerCenter…
it_user90069
BI Expert at a healthcare company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Vendor
Feb 20, 2014
Informatica PowerCenter vs. Microsoft SSIS - each technology has its advantages but also have similarities
Technology has made it easier for businesses to organize and manipulate data to get a clearer picture of what’s going on with their business. Notably, ETL tools have made managing huge amounts of data significantly easier and faster, boosting many organizations’ business intelligence operations. There are many third-party vendors offering ETL solutions, but two of the most popular are PowerCenter Informatica and Microsoft SSIS (SQL Server Integration Services). Each technology has its advantages but there are also similarities on how they carry out the extract-transform-load processes and only differ in terminologies. If you’re in the process of choosing ETL tools and PowerCenter Informatica and Microsoft SSIS made it to your shortlist, here is a short comparative discussion…
it_user4518
Head of Databases at a retailer with 501-1,000 employees
Vendor
Feb 22, 2013
High performance and scalable data integration

What other advice do I have?

Our organization is using it because it is one of the leading data integration tools available in the market and supports large data volumes and meets our demands for security and performance. PowerCenter is serving as the data integration foundation for our enterprise integration initiatives including data warehousing, data governance, data migration, SOA), and MDM. Powercenter in my opinion has the best data transfer technologies including its standard, advanced, big data, real time, data virtualization and cloud editions.