ManageEngine Desktop Central Overview

ManageEngine Desktop Central is the #1 ranked solution in our list of top Client Desktop Management tools. It is most often compared to Microsoft Intune: ManageEngine Desktop Central vs Microsoft Intune

What is ManageEngine Desktop Central?

A web-based windows desktop management software that helps in managing 1000s of desktops from a central location. It can manage desktops both in LAN and across WAN. It automates regular desktop management activities like installing software, patches, and service packs, standardize the desktops by applying uniform configurations such as wallpapers, shortcuts, printer, etc. In simple terms, it helps administrators to automate, standardize, secure, and audit their windows network.

ManageEngine Desktop Central is also known as Desktop Central, ManageEngine Desktop Management MSP.

ManageEngine Desktop Central Buyer's Guide

Download the ManageEngine Desktop Central Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: December 2020

ManageEngine Desktop Central Customers

Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Strathallan School, BMI Healthcare, Comercial Kywi, First Priority Federal Credit Union, Gerab National Enterprises

ManageEngine Desktop Central Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about ManageEngine Desktop Central pricing:
  • "Choose wisely between the Professional and Enterprise editions, based on your needs."
  • "The licensing is very easy to understand and pricing is right for what you get."

ManageEngine Desktop Central Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
reviewer1397637
Vice President Derivatives Ops IT at a financial services firm with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Aug 10, 2020
Patch and upgrade many devices simultaneously in a DevSecOps pipeline which is effective but demanding on resources

What is our primary use case?

I am certified for two of the modules of ManageEngine. I am a certified associate for AD Manager Plus (Active Directory Management) and I also have the certification for Desktop Central. Desktop Central is a management module used to manage devices and services from one location. To manage a large number of users and devices and push upgrades and patches, we need a solution that allows us to do that in an efficient way. We can do this with Microsoft Active Directory. That would be our primary use case for this solution. There are other things that we do with it. If we want to track an incident… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "The most valuable in Desktop Central is the way it is tightly coupled with the rest of the modules and the entire gamut of ManageEngine."
  • "The performance sometimes lags a bit because the solution is demanding on system resources."
  • "The pricing is lower than other well-respected solutions in this category."

What other advice do I have?

My advice to people looking into this solution is that if you want to improve on the patching processes as a part of a DevSecOps pipeline, Desktop Central can help you do that. It will help you make that workflow easier and it is a better option than other solutions. So this works out to be a better because everything is built-in. You do not have to integrate with any other company's portal or any other incident management or tracking. If you plan for a patch, there are different tools to use, different notifications to set for the patch, and they can be administered within Desktop Central…
reviewer1394538
Product Manager - Solution Architect at iOCO
Reseller
Leaderboard
Jul 26, 2020
Enables you to do desktop support without interrupting the user

What is our primary use case?

We have been using ManageEngine Desktopcentral UEM edition in our organization for a year now. We have 1,2000 employees on 80 domains in more than 20 countries around Africa and the world. Its always been an issue to effectively manage such a complex environment. We have changed toolsets every 3 years due to shortcomings in the products. Maintaining patching compliance or standardizing security policies are almost impossible without an application to assist. Things like enforcing a baseline security compliance become more important every year and now with WFH, the system needs to easily cater… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "The ability to run event viewer, task manager, services, command, file browser, certificate all remotely without interrupting users is the most valuable aspect. Software deployment and prohibiting, allowing us to standardize on the software that has been deployed through the environment and then prohibiting illegal software such as torrent applications has been valuable."
  • "I would like to see more click to complete actions such as - USB lockdown for Mac, the ability to check AV compliance on servers, bit locker controls, printer tracking or print page tracking, self-help for self-healing like "BMC my IT" and more options in the self-service menu other than just software - maybe add integration in ADSelfService at the self-service menu."

What other advice do I have?

I recommend trying it for 30 days, you will be surprised.
Learn what your peers think about ManageEngine Desktop Central. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: December 2020.
454,950 professionals have used our research since 2012.
it_user722820
Systems Administrator at a manufacturing company with 501-1,000 employees
Real User
Aug 3, 2020
Monitors and keeps track of issues that our end users report to our Help Desk Department

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use for Manage Engine started off with just using Service Desk Plus to manage our internal issues. Since started with just Service Desk Plus, we have moved on to utilizing Asset Management, MDM, and my favorite, the OS Deployment. Another great part of Desktop Central is the Patch Management to deploy software and windows updates on our time and not Microsoft Windows. We have also utilized the Patch Management to deploy updates to external software such as Zoom, Snagit, Microsoft Teams, and many others.

Pros and Cons

  • "ManageEngine Desktop Central has greatly improved our organization by utilizing Service Desk Plus to monitor and keep track of issues that our end users report to our Help Desk Department. We also have written in the ode of our company's software to notify Support if an end-user experience an issue and does not report it."
  • "Not many things are needed for improvement, everything seems to be great as it is. One thing that would be good to have would be the ability to add MDM to a tablet running Android 5.0 using the EMM Token Enrollment. If we wanted to add MDM to an older tablet, we just have to go the "long route" to get it added."

What other advice do I have?

Some times, when adding new programs to Desktop Central, it can be somewhat costly. I say be prepared to be able to spend some money. We asked to pay for several years at a time to lower the long term cost.
reviewer1394544
CISO & Head of IT Strategy, Architecture, Operations & Infrastructure at Lumber Liquidators
Real User
Leaderboard
Jul 26, 2020
Creates policies and procedures that are easily repeatable

What is our primary use case?

Desktop Central has been used to solve the following problems within the organization I have implemented it into: 1. Ensures that the inventory of hardware and software is accurate. 2. Ensures that the configuration of this hardware and software is in alignment with organizational policies and procedures. 3. Ensures the vulnerabilities of hardware and software is understood. 4. Ensures that the remediation of these vulnerabilities is planned and accomplished. 5. Sustainably build secure devices rapidly. 6. Create policies and procedures that are easily repeatable because of the use of a… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "Desktop Central has improved these organizations and this is why it has been repeated multiple times at multiple organizations. If something works and is getting better it is worth repeating."
  • "Computer imaging is powerful but breaks frequently. The reason for this breaking is not clear and requires heavy amounts of attention to keep operational. There is a lot of room for this tool to do more but the reliability of this process should be focused on first to ensure core competencies are being fixed before more features are added."
reviewer498291
Manager of Information Technology at a engineering company with 201-500 employees
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Nov 19, 2020
A complete product that has centralized our IT support; outstanding technical support

What is our primary use case?

We use it for Windows patching, third-party application patching, and third-party application deployment.

Pros and Cons

  • "It's a complete product that allows you to remote troubleshoot, has an inventory of systems."
  • "There are occasional glitches."

What other advice do I have?

It's worth taking a good look at this solution because I think it's a really good product and it has a lot of features. It has a lot of value added and they have great support. I would rate this solution a nine out of 10.
reviewer1394517
IT Manager at The White Family Companies, Inc.
Real User
Leaderboard
Aug 2, 2020
OS imaging and deployment has significantly reduced the amount of time and resources needed to deploy a large set of new computers

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use case is to manage most aspects of the endpoints in 21 remote sites. All sites are connected via IPSec VPN mesh and have distribution servers at each site, OS deployment, software deployment, patch management, remote administration, configurations, mobile device management, and browser management. One of my favorite features is a simple remote CMD. This enables us to troubleshoot certain things without interfering with the user desktop session or needing to ask them to take remote control of the machine. It's very valuable being able to fix a problem without stopping user… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "Honestly, I have to say all features together have become the Swiss army knife of desktop management. They all work hand in hand. Software deployment saves an unbelievable amount of time installing an application on hundreds of computers."
  • "I really feel like asset explorer should be a component of desktop central. That would make it the ultimate desktop management tool. This would also simplify the asset management role since an agent is already being deployed and assets could be added at the same time."
reviewer1423716
IT Systems Manager at Algorythma
Real User
Leaderboard
Sep 22, 2020
Reasonably priced and provides one portal for all of our management needs

What is our primary use case?

We use this product for: * User management and Patch management. * Application and software deployment management, which is made very easy using its software. * Remote support on different platforms like macOS, Windows, Linux, and tablets (Android and iOS). * Software usage monitoring by the users. * Providing endpoint security and assets management. * Discovering the software license and warranty details. * Device control like USB and security policies. * Effectively applying restrictions on end-user devices like cameras and browsers.

Pros and Cons

  • "The most important feature we found to be useful in the COVID situation is the secure connection, which gives the IT support staff the ability to seamlessly connect with the users remotely and in a secure way."
  • "There is a slight delay in customer support, which is something that can be improved."

What other advice do I have?

Overall, given the capabilities of Desktop Central, it is one of the best endpoint management solutions and it can cater to most of the operating systems in a client's environment, through a single portal.
Dario Podhorski
System Administrator at Vodovod Osijek
Real User
Leaderboard
Jul 28, 2020
Provides tools to maintain our environment with ease and deploy updates to machines

What is our primary use case?

We have about 180 endpoints that are spread across several buildings. We have an Active Directory environment. It is hard to maintain updates, install software, and do support in such an environment. Desktop Central has given tools to maintain our environment with ease, deploy updates to machines. Deploy software is an easy to use tool for our needs. The tool for remote support is so great with the ability to use shortcuts and chat. Also, we use an asset scan option very much to maintain an overview of our environment.

Pros and Cons

  • "Since deploying Desktop Central our endpoints are all updated. We use configuration management to deploy shortcuts to our users' desktops with ease. Also, we use configuration management to map logical hard drives to our users. Our users are very happy with how much ease IT can solve their problems."
  • "We would like to see options for deploying Microsoft 365 accounts into Outlook. For now we only can use it to deploy exchange accounts. Also we would like to see an option do decline Windows 7 ESU patches in a bulk."
See 3 more ManageEngine Desktop Central Reviews