NetApp ONTAP Overview

NetApp ONTAP is the #2 ranked solution in our list of top Storage Software tools. It is most often compared to Dell EMC PowerPath: NetApp ONTAP vs Dell EMC PowerPath

What is NetApp ONTAP?

NetApp is the data authority for hybrid cloud. We provide a full range of hybrid cloud data services that simplify management of applications and data across cloud and on-premises environments to accelerate digital transformation. Together with our partners, we empower global organizations to unleash the full potential of their data to expand customer touchpoints, foster greater innovation and optimize their operations.

NetApp ONTAP Buyer's Guide

Download the NetApp ONTAP Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: January 2021

NetApp ONTAP Customers
1&1 IONOS, Acıbadem Healthcare Group, Adder Technologies, Aero Vodochody Aerospace
NetApp ONTAP Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about NetApp ONTAP pricing:
  • "Depending on the licensing you choose the price varies. For our company and our needs, the cost is very fair."
  • "ONTAP has helped our organization reduce its overall cost of storage (somewhere in the high millions)."
  • "The price point is very competitive and inexpensive compared to what you receive from other vendors in the market."
  • "We receive the best support for a lower price point."

NetApp ONTAP Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
reviewer1223520
Principal Systems Engineer - Datacenter Services at a pharma/biotech company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Nov 22, 2019
Has high availability and enables us to centralize mission-critical applications on the MetroClusters

What is our primary use case?

We use pretty much every part of the product in our company. The core of our company is in the United States and Germany and we are using MetroClusters usually for that kind of workload.

Pros and Cons

  • "The product allowsfor the centralization of large environments."
  • "Technical support is good but they can take some time on critical problems."

What other advice do I have?

The solution's Snapshot copies and VIN clones work very well and they are easy to use for recovery. We have a huge environment. We are running around 15 petabytes of data, so doing backups and restores is a daily job and these features have done marvelously for our environment. It speeds things up and it is really easy for us to manage, especially in that size environment. Snapshot copies and VIN clones also affected our application development speed and made it way easier. We are not using containers so that has sped things up a lot. We love that feature, really. Consistency of storage…
reviewer1467219
Virtual Private Cloud Architect at a computer software company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Dec 13, 2020
Scales well with good performance and good technical support

What is our primary use case?

We basically use NetApp Storage as mass storage within our offering. We also use it for backup storage, storage for emails, and sometimes for archiving. Mostly it is actually general-purpose file storage.

Pros and Cons

  • "The performance of the hardware is good."
  • "The setup can be a bit complex, depending on the environment."

What other advice do I have?

We are service providers. We are offering something called a virtual private cloud. Our offering mainly the virtual private cloud. It is a cloud offering by DXC. The product is basically a multi-tenant cloud. The cloud is hosted on our premises. We have data centers across the globe. Around 24 data centers in different regions. It's a global offering. We automated it and we have it set up for provisioning or portal enabled. It is not as good as Amazon or AWS, however, it is still a lot of cloud. You can request a portal, however, then you cannot scale to that scale that Amazon currently is…
Learn what your peers think about NetApp ONTAP. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: January 2021.
455,536 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Brad Schlicht
Infrastructure engineer at a logistics company with 10,001+ employees
Video Review
Real User
May 20, 2019
Enables us to automate and I can use Ansible via API to automate our day to day tasks

What is our primary use case?

My primary use case for ONTAP is for VMware. We also use it for exchange and file storage.

Pros and Cons

  • "We've seen return on investment for ONTAP specifically on the performance recently. Where we had our file storage solution sitting on a hybrid storage solution and we were having continuous performance issues, as our workloads went up we were able to put in an 8300 all-flash array. Since we've put that in, we've been under one-millisecond latency, and that's allowed us to not have delays in some of our EDI transactions. Our end customer integrates and interfaces with that technology. Fewer outages equal more business, more profit, more revenue, and immediate ROI. We've been really happy with the new All Flash hardware solutions."
  • "Some of their products have been really good for us, on certain versions. We've run into a bunch of verts, though. That's NetApp's word for their bugs. Stability has been the main complaint that I've had with the product. Because it's so feature-rich and has so much software related to it, it does come with a decent amount of bugs so we do a lot of upgrades to patch bugs."

What other advice do I have?

I would rate ONTAP as an eight. From 7-mode, they've come a long way, and I really like the features that they include. I'll give it an eight and not a ten because we run into a lot of bugs which have resulted in some issues, like outages, so I have to dock it there. As far as feature set and automation go it's a great product.
ErezShachaf
Storage Manager at Mekorot water company
Real User
Top 20
Nov 21, 2019
Stable, easy to deploy and just works

What is our primary use case?

We use this solution for Hyper-V, VMware, SQL, Enterprise Vault, and Commvault.

Pros and Cons

  • "The product is stable, easy to deploy and it just works."
  • "We had a few small issues with setup, but once everything was done it just worked."

What other advice do I have?

We use the InLine Encryption solution for SnapMirror, SnapManager, SnapCenter, SnapMirror data protections, SnapVault, and that's all. The Snapshot copies and Bin Clones solutions affected our application development speed because we run all this at the nights so we actually don't have any effects on performance. Even if we do it in the middle of the day, the users don't feel any latency. So everything is going well. This solution has helped to reduce our organization's data footprint and reduced our organization's cloud costs by up to 100 K. On a scale of one to ten where one is the worst and…
reviewer1333320
Team Lead ESS - Sr. Customer Support Engineer, Linux / Storage at a comms service provider with 51-200 employees
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Nov 18, 2020
Reliable hardware with good storage and very scalable

What is our primary use case?

Our client's primary use case is for the storage aspect of the solution, mainly for the block size.

Pros and Cons

  • "The solution is very easy to configure."
  • "The back-up side of the solution could be improved, as could the archive. We still have to rely on third-party backup programs and other archiving solutions. If it was offered by NetApp itself, it would be much better."

What other advice do I have?

I'm on the partner side, and therefore not an end-user. I would recommend the solution. Its cluster and storage are quite good. Overall, I would rate the solution eight out of ten. We enjoy working with it.
SeniorSte931
Senior Storage Engineer at Cisco Systems, Inc.
Real User
Mar 28, 2019
You can scale it however you want, depending on your data center footprint

What is our primary use case?

We're using it as a file-based solution. The majority of our business users are file-based. We're also using it for virtualization for backup storage. Its programs are very good. We are also evaluating the All Flash FAS solution.

Pros and Cons

  • "You can scale it however you want, depending on your data center footprint."
  • "It takes them a few seconds to do a failover. I hope they can reduce this to milliseconds or at least drive it down to less than two seconds. Some of their competitors are already doing this."

What other advice do I have?

We just started knowing NVMe over Fabric. We haven't used it but I think it's a great idea. They are trying to make the data closer to the CPU, so it will give you more confidence. Our approximate cost per IOP is $0.18 USD to $1.00 USD depends on the scale of the site.