Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) Overview

Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is the #6 ranked solution in our list of top Data Integration Tools. It is most often compared to Informatica PowerCenter: Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) vs Informatica PowerCenter

What is Oracle Data Integrator (ODI)?

Oracle Data Integrator is a comprehensive data integration platform that covers all data integration requirements: from high-volume, high-performance batch loads, to event-driven, trickle-feed integration processes, to SOA-enabled data services. Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) 12c, the latest version of Oracle’s strategic Data Integration offering, provides superior developer productivity and improved user experience with a redesigned flow-based declarative user interface and deeper integration with Oracle GoldenGate. 

ODI12c further builds on its flexible and high-performance architecture with comprehensive big data support and added parallelism when executing data integration processes.  It includes interoperability with Oracle Warehouse Builder (OWB) for a quick and simple migration for OWB customers to ODI12c.  Additionally, ODI can be monitored from a single solution along with other Oracle technologies and applications through the integration with Oracle Enterprise Manager 12c.

Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) is also known as ODI.

Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) Buyer's Guide

Download the Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: January 2021

Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) Customers

Griffith University, Kansas City Power & Light, Keste, Raymond James Financial, Valdosta State University

Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) pricing:
  • "We found that the cost compared to other integration tools is a little high, but the solution works great."

Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Brian Dandeneau
Business Process and Strategy Specialist Advisor at NTTData
Consultant
Top 5Leaderboard
Jun 17, 2020
I have used it to improve run-times of many corporations' overall integration run-times.

What other advice do I have?

Know what you are getting into. If you are going to use a firm to build out a solution, ask for a Proof of Concept and ask them to show you how flexible it can be. If they can't quickly come up with something, be wary. Don't just go with someone that is cheap, you get what you pay for. This snapshot is to turn on automapping. This is a very useful function to have on when developing. This will make the magic happen when you connect a source and a target together. This is not in the documentation, so good luck finding how to turn it on if you haven't used it before.
Ricardo Giampaoli
EPM/BI certified Consultant, Oracle ACE and TeraCorp Consulting CEO at TeraCorp Consulting
Consultant
Top 5Leaderboard
Dec 9, 2020
We can make all the EPM tools work together as one and we can create a puzzle that will increase the performance and capability of all EPM tools.

What is our primary use case?

Very large and complexes environments implementation, 10000+ users with 24x7 global operation and multiple EPM tools working in sync.

What other advice do I have?

Because Oracle products are development frameworks, your final results are as good as the people that implemented it. Make sure that your implementation team is the best it could be, at least for the first implementation. If something is implemented incorrectly at the start, it'll cost you a lot more to fix than to build a new system from scratch. Sometimes it can be so badly designed that it is impossible to fix. I've been working on implementations for 21 years and I have seen bad implementations everywhere. In fact, I have seen the same tools implemented in the same team by two different…
Learn what your peers think about Oracle Data Integrator (ODI). Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: January 2021.
455,536 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Alan Yves
Big Data / Business Intelligence / Datawarehousing at DWgrain (Client Health BIS)
Consultant
Top 5Leaderboard
Mar 18, 2019
All our systems can be widely integrated by ODI, such as transactional systems, our data warehouses, and B2B integration.

What is our primary use case?

Several projects benefited from the ODI data integration capabilities such as Loading OLTP system's data to Data warehouses, pulling data from cloud-based databases and loading to on-premises DW, for example: extracting data from a SQL server which is based on Azure infrastructure. Perform data integration from cloud to cloud. Data migration between OLTP systems. Event-based integration such SOA, for example, BPEL performed calls of ODI scenarios based on EBS events.

Pros and Cons

  • "​All our systems can be widely integrated by ODI, such as transactional systems, our data warehouses, and B2B integration."
  • "It would be really good if Oracle considered enabling the tool to integrate with some other platforms that are deprecated simply for commercial reasons"

What other advice do I have?

The setup of the environment requires experts on site, but it is very worth it since at first for customers it can be quite complex. The vendor needs to enable the customer on a frequent basis during implementation, but the results are great.
Muhammad Arif Javed
Senior Manager Software Development at Techlogix
Real User
Top 5
Jun 10, 2020
Has a good declarative design and client-server architecture model

What is our primary use case?

We have been using Oracle Data Integrator for populating Financial Services Data Warehouse. Data extraction is done into a staging area from different source systems and then this data is validated and certain quality checks have been performed here. We used Oracle Data Integrator data quality checks builtin capability to perform these different data quality checks. Then data is consolidated and transformed into the staging area and finally gets landed into the data warehouse. I also used this for generating data hand-offs for other applications.

Pros and Cons

  • "All ETL code is stored in repositories in underlying database schemas. The number of users can access and work on the same solution using a client tool. So distributed teams can work on this tool in an efficient manner."
  • "There are certain things where it can be improved. Initial solution setup seems a bit complex at the start, it should be improved because it becomes bit tough for a novice to get started on this. Sometimes error description is not helpful to understand the problem it gives some generic type of errors which are at times not that helpful to understand the underlying root cause of the issue."

What other advice do I have?

I think different tools have their own pros and cons, so it all depends on your overall needs.
Rodrigo Radtke De Souza
Solutions Architect at a tech consulting company with 51-200 employees
Consultant
Oct 5, 2020
If it doesn't connect out-of-the-box to a specific technology, we can add a new technology into it.

What is our primary use case?

We mainly use ODI to integrate all of our EPM applications, which includes Essbase ASO/BSO cubes, Hyperion Planning, DRM and HFM applications. Also it is used to manage a custom data warehouse developed in Oracle DB which is used as source for OBIEE reporting.
Mohamed Ahmed Fouad
Banking Excellence - Predictive Analysis at a financial services firm with 11-50 employees
Real User
Top 20
Oct 29, 2020
Easy to set up with good integrations and great scalability

What is our primary use case?

We primarily use the solution for digital health and sometimes automation tasks.

Pros and Cons

  • "The scalability is great. It's one of the reasons we chose the solution."
  • "The resource management aspect of the solution could be improved."

What other advice do I have?

We're simply an Oracle customer. We don't have a business relationship with the company. There's no specific version of the solution that we use. I wouldn't recommend any other services above Oracle. Overall, I would rate the solution eight out of ten.
Muhammad Tahir
Assistant Manager - MIS Analyst at TCS Private Limited
Real User
Top 10
May 8, 2019
A reduction in manual work during data integration is a welcomed improvement

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use for this solution is a data integration and merging tool. It easily connects to many databases like MySql, SQL Server, etc. It's completely user-friendly. We can easily manage packages, ETL, and Procedures.

Pros and Cons

  • "It's completely user-friendly."
  • "Overall the product is fine, but sometimes its reports unknown errors while we compile ETL scripts."
Business677
Business Analyst at Paunaste OÜ
Real User
Top 5
Jan 29, 2019
Knowledge modules can be modified to fix small issues

What is our primary use case?

To have a common ETL tool in the DW team, start a common way of ETL development, set up a process registry, and daily process flow.

How has it helped my organization?

It increased ETL development efficiency 1/3 in time. It has a short learning curve for newcomers, compared to previous MS DTS packages and scripting.

What is most valuable?

Reusing existing ETL development pattern in the next similar tasks. It's flexible to add new common procedures. Knowledge modules can be modified to fix small issues.

What needs improvement?

ETL process registry solution is missing. To manage dependencies between loading packages. Versioning logic and release process are not well supported.

For how long have I used the solution?

Three to five years.
See 1 more Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) Reviews
Product Categories
Data Integration Tools
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.