VMware SRM Reviews

Filter by:Reset all filters
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Real User
Enterprise Architect at a Consumer Goods with 11-50 employees
Jan 31 2020

What is most valuable?

What I like the most about SRM is the delta sync. We typically approach a project from an architecture perspective and we do service grouping. For example, take a situation where we plan to do a migration. We decide to go with a setup where there is a front-end portal server, there are duplication servers and there is one back-end database server. This means there are four separate VMs each… more»

What needs improvement?

I would say a lot could be changed to improve the product in terms of troubleshooting and supportability. I think about every two weeks, we had an incident somewhere in the software stack. There were problems that we faced with the vRA (vRealize Automation) multiple times. We had to fix the problem and redeploy it more than once to get it to work properly. Then we had to completely redo our… more»

What other advice do I have?

On a scale from one to ten where one is the worst and ten is the best, I would rate VMware SRM as about a five. I am not open to giving a positive recommendation as the product stands. It is a little generous to give it a five considering all the issues. This review focuses a lot on the weaknesses of the product. But we were actually able to use the solution to get quite a lot of server images… more»
ChukwuemekaOnyemelukwe
Real User
Infrastructure Administrator - Server, Storage & Virtualization at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
Jan 16 2020

What is most valuable?

What I like about VMware is its capability to schedule, write and configure the recovery and scheduled steps, such that you don't have to come in and start manually trying to recover the entire machine. You just push a button to recover the VMware and everything is done.

What needs improvement?

What I think can be improved is the data replication aspect. For example, I know of another repetition solution called RP for VM. I don't really know how to use it since I've never used it before, but I've read about it. I know its features and I've spoken to some IT practitioners who have experience with RP for VM, who work with Dell EMC, and they gave me the feeling that RP for VM is better than… more»

What other advice do I have?

My advice to people considering this solution is that they should just go ahead and get it. I think that is the best virtualization solution out there. Some people say Nutanix is better. I think VMware is the best. I would also advise making sure your virtual environment is well taken care of. I don't think there are any other challenges that you're going to have. It's necessary that when you see… more»
Find out what your peers are saying about VMware, Veeam Software, Dell EMC and others in Disaster Recovery (DR) Software. Updated: February 2020.
399,757 professionals have used our research since 2012.
SoheylNorozi
Real User
IT Consultant at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
Dec 31 2019

What is most valuable?

The most valuable feature is the integration with our Nutanix environment. If it didn't have this ability then we may not be using it.

What needs improvement?

There are sometimes performance issues when working with outside links, and it would be better if this were improved. You need a lot of knowledge to work with the interface because it is not really easy to use, and it would be great if the… more»

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

I don't think that there is another product that serves the purpose that this VMware SRM does. Integration is very important to me, to have the whole environment integrated together in one place. Because of this, I went straight to VMware.

What other advice do I have?

I would rate this solution an eight out of ten.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

I did not evaluate other solutions.
MuathAlhwetat
Real User
SAN and UNIX Administrator at a comms service provider with 1,001-5,000 employees
Nov 19 2019

What is most valuable?

The replication is the solution's most valuable feature. If we have some issues on the VM in the main site we can migrate it to another site automatically. The configuration assembly for the VMware is good.

What needs improvement?

If you have a failover case, you need to work on it manually. It would be helpful if this could be automated. It would simplify things.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

You need a license for SRM. We have a permanent license. There aren't additional fees if you need access to support. However, you can upgrade to another support tier. If you like, you can pay extra for premium support.

What other advice do I have?

We're using the on-premises deployment model. I'd recommend the solution. I'd rate it ten out of ten.
Vendor
Solutions Consultant
Jun 06 2018

What is most valuable?

There is zero RPO and zero RTO when combined with the EMC solution called RecoverPoint.

How has it helped my organization?

it is a complementary solution to EMC's data recovery solutions, or RecoverPoint. Combined with VMware SRM it offers zero RPO and zero RTO, so it's a good solution for both EMC's Toolkit, and for the customer.

What needs improvement?

I would like to see better integration with other storage solutions. I would hope to see that within the next two or three years.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

We have always used VMware solutions because VMware is owned by EMC. So we've only used VMware SRM. The most important criteria when selecting a vendor are stability, scalability, things that Microsoft had issues with.

What other advice do I have?

Before choosing a cheaper solution, I would advise checking the limitations or boundaries of each solution. Compare VMware to Microsoft Hyper-V and other solutions - maybe open-source - and then see which fits your needs best.
User
User at a healthcare company with 5,001-10,000 employees
Mar 07 2018

What is most valuable?

* vSphere Replication does not take snapshots, although it will keep your snapshots. Site Recovery Manager with SAN Replication does not take snapshots of the VMs, but will take snapshots on the LUNs via the SRA to the storage provider. * When you perform a failover, the LUNs can be chosen to sync… more»

How has it helped my organization?

It made the DR process a lot faster and easier for recovery after we were familiar with the product operation.

What needs improvement?

* SRM may hit some OS issues related to IP changes, but they are usually OS related, especially in the 2008 realm. SRM runs a batch file on the OS through tools that will change the IP stack. If something fails with that, or it hits duplicates or hidden devices, it can cause issues. * Veeam had some… more»

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

We are evaluating to determine if there are other products which can provide cheaper solutions.
Real User
VMware Software Engineer at a insurance company with 10,001+ employees
Jan 13 2020

What is most valuable?

Some of its valuable features are that it's easy to use and the interface is quite simple as well. It's really a reliable and a good product.

What needs improvement?

Cost is definitely an area where the product could be improved, I'd definitely say it should have cheaper pricing. Definitely the product could be faster and of course in IT everything is about pricing.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

We pay an annual licensing fee for the product.

What other advice do I have?

I would recommend the product to anyone requiring a disaster recovery process. I would rate this product an eight out of 10.
Prabhu S
Real User
Project Manager at a tech vendor with 1,001-5,000 employees
Nov 06 2018

What do you think of VMware SRM?

What is our primary use case?

VMware failover is our primary use case of DC DR automation. We are integrated with array-based replication.

How has it helped my organization?

We had not achieved our RTO before the SRM implementation. But now, we have achieved our RTO for DR drill.

What is most valuable?

Array-based integration is the most valuable feature. It has a user-friendly dashboard and will use the same vCenter console.

What needs improvement?

DR drill report is good but needs to be improved, and the replication monitoring feature is not available.

For how long have I used the solution?

One to three years.

Articles

User Assessments By Topic About VMware SRM

Find out what your peers are saying about VMware, Veeam Software, Dell EMC and others in Disaster Recovery (DR) Software. Updated: February 2020.
399,757 professionals have used our research since 2012.

VMware SRM Questions

What is VMware SRM?

VMware Site Recovery Manager is the industry-leading solution to enable application availability and mobility across sites in private cloud environments. Site Recovery Manager allows: Fast and reliable IT disaster recovery, simple and policy-based management, zero-downtime application mobility, and up to 50% lower TCO.
Also known as
VMware vCenter Site Recovery Manager
VMware SRM customers
Acorda Therapeutics, Columbia Sportswear, Mainfreight, Nippon Express, Sin Chew Media, Fisher & Paykel, Siam City Bank
Read Archived Reviews
BUYER'S GUIDE
Download our free Disaster Recovery (DR) Software Report and find out what your peers are saying about VMware, Veeam Software, Dell EMC, and more!