Kubernetes Overview

Kubernetes is the #2 ranked solution of our Container Management software. It is rated 4.1 out of 5 stars, and is most often compared to HashiCorp Nomad: Kubernetes vs HashiCorp Nomad

What is Kubernetes?

Kubernetes (K8s) is an open-source system for automating deployment, scaling, and management of containerized applications.
It groups containers that make up an application into logical units for easy management and discovery. Kubernetes builds upon 15 years of experience of running production workloads at Google, combined with best-of-breed ideas and practices from the community.

Kubernetes Buyer's Guide

Download the Kubernetes Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: October 2020

Kubernetes Customers
China unicom, NetEase Cloud, Nav, AppDirect
Kubernetes Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about Kubernetes pricing:
  • "The management layer is free, which is perfect. You don't need to pay money for the management layer, but in AWS develop service, you need to pay. I think it is €75 per month for the management layer. It is free here, so you can have as many Kubernetes clusters as you need. You are paying just for the workload, that is, for the machine, CPU, memory, and everything."
  • "Google Kubernetes Engine is free in the simplest setup, AWS Kubernetes Engine costs about $50 (depending on the region), in a three master setup, so it's almost the same as the cost of the EC2 instances and it's totally fine from my point of view."

Kubernetes Reviews

Filter by:
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Michal Smolik
DevOps Consultant at DevOpsGroup
Consultant
Top 20Leaderboard
Aug 19, 2020
Offers perfect auto-repair and automation features

What is our primary use case?

It's a mobile phone application with a website written in Angular 8. It's a strategic microservices solution. There are a lot of containers and resources. The application is written in Java, and we are using Spring Boot, the second version. We are also using the application-gateway of Azure. If you want to do the microservices strategy, you need to split the services to the smaller work. There must be containers in Docker. There are not that many good solutions for Docker. So right now, if you need to use Docker, you choose Kubernetes because they are number one for the container orchestration… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "The auto-repair function in Kubernetes is perfect. When something breaks, the auto-repair function automatically repairs it. If you are running the content in Kubernetes, you have a good set up. You do not need to do anything for the management of this. So, the automation of Kubernetes is number one."
  • "The Kubernetes dashboard can be improved. It is currently a mess. We were using Rancher earlier, and everyone was happy with the dashboard. Right now, we are using Kubernetes, and it's not working with Microsoft workstations. We still have problems with the dashboard. It's terrible."

What other advice do I have?

Kubernetes is a great product. I am currently also helping a customer with the implementation of AKS because they only have a private cloud, and they want to have a hybrid cloud. I highly recommend to use this feature, and not to install Kubernetes manually or use some third-party tools. The Azure community service is better implemented than AWS community service. They are not good at planning the upgrades for Kubernetes. So, you really need to constantly upgrade the cost. The upgrade is automatic, but Azure changed the integration of load balancing, and I was forced to re-deploy all costs…
reviewer1440765
Senior Software Developer at a financial services firm with 51-200 employees
Real User
Oct 25, 2020
Easy to use, extremely stable and easily scalable

What is our primary use case?

We primarily use the solution for deploying containers and scheduling the jobs to the Kubernetes for our server-side deployment.

Pros and Cons

  • "The ease of use if the solution is a very valuable aspect for us."
  • "It would be very interesting if they could introduce a template engine to set dynamic values in the deployment time. It would be ideal if it could be native in Kubernetes as it would be much easier."

What other advice do I have?

I would advise new users to take the managed solution. Don't deploy it by yourself. Just take a managed service. It's really worth it. I advise this due to the fact that it's a lot of time and effort. It's not that expensive in terms of overhead. It may be $100 or $200 or something like that monthly. When you pay $3,000, let's say, the $100 doesn't really matter. However, the work that your DevOps will have will be costly. They will initially invest to maintain your unmanaged deployment. On a scale from one to ten, I would rate this solution a ten.
Learn what your peers think about Kubernetes. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: October 2020.
448,290 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Dmytro Kutetskyi
Solution Architect | Head of BizDev at Greg Solutions
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Dec 1, 2020
Cost-effective and it has great integration has helped unify our technology stack

What is our primary use case?

The following is a list of the cases when I prefer Kubernetes for application hosting: * Micro-services infrastructure + possible use of some service meshes, like Istio or Linkerd. * Cost efficiency; we are using Kubernetes in conjunction with AWS Spot Instances or Google Cloud preemptible VMs. * Standards-compliant infrastructures like HIPAA, PCI SOC, DSS, and ISOxxxx. * Highly-available or fault-tolerant infrastructures, due to some sort of self-recovery and self-healing. * Infrastructures with automatically scalable applications.

Pros and Cons

  • "This product has a rich toolset from the community including CNI plug-ins, Helm packages, operators, dashboards, various integrations, etc."
  • "This product should have a more advanced built-in scheduler that uses real application metrics in the scheduling strategy."
MarcChauvin
CEO at tamac GmbH
Real User
Top 20
Jul 29, 2020
Great scalability, very stable, and a mature product

What is our primary use case?

We primarily use the solution for orchestration. Most of the clients we work with are enjoying the DevOps aspects of Kubernetes. They want to be able to safely and quickly deploy new applications. Others just enjoy the modern way they can deploy containers without being a DevOp company.

Pros and Cons

  • "The most valuable aspect of the solution is the scalability."
  • "The solution can be quite complex for many users."

What other advice do I have?

I am a consultant, and I am just providing information about how to use this kind of software within specific companies. Kubernetes is evolving now. 1.18 is the latest version, however, we don't have the newest version everywhere. That's the one we choose for new installs when we do them. When it's deployed on the cloud, some of my customers are using public clouds such as Amazon, Google, or Microsoft. There are also some customers that use private clouds here in Switzerland. I work together with them. If people are using modern technologies like containers or developing software by…
Aravind Madhava
Lead Solutions Architect at DXC
Real User
Top 20Leaderboard
Oct 4, 2020
A good and simple user interface; lacking direct technical support from the company

What is our primary use case?

We are platinum partners with Oracle and we are preferred partners with Microsoft. I work for an organization which is on both sides of the coin. We are a service integrator organization. We don't have a specific loyalty, we blend in and provide the services. I'm a solutions architect.

Pros and Cons

  • "A good interface, better than comparable solutions."
  • "Some Kubernetes technical support would be helpful."

What other advice do I have?

I would recommend going through the training to see what the limitations are within Kubernetes. There's not a lot of training, but what training is available should be used so people can understand the difference between Docker and Kubernetes. If somebody has used Docker previously, they can see the difference even though the methods are the same. It's the same madness, but it will help you to better position things like command line interfaces. We had a bit of a struggle when I was trying to implement it in Azure. But if you look at the Oracle implementation, it worked really well so I would…
Rahul
Co-Founder and Architect at a tech company with 1-10 employees
Real User
Top 20Leaderboard
Oct 13, 2020
Provision of a managed platform as a service is great; management features could be simplified

What is our primary use case?

The use case in this organization is basically to containerize the applications. It covers both the operational and technology side. I work in the train industry here and that is a medium-sized enterprise. I'm a cloud architect and we are customers of Kubernetes.

Pros and Cons

  • "Provision of a managed platform as a service."
  • "Management features could be simplified."

What other advice do I have?

I like the solution but it depends on the size of your workload. For example, Docker is good for a very small workload or maybe if you are just deploying using Docker, building and deploying your CICD-based tasks. But if you require a more complex solution, using containers or maybe when you have a high traffic workload, even with simple architecture, you might be looking at Kubernetes to optimize the workload. There are other solutions on the market like Serverless, I would use that in preference to Kubernetes which can sometimes be difficult to manage. You can always make use of Serverless…
reviewer1347375
Azure Cloud Architect at a tech services company with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Sep 29, 2020
A good, web-enabled solution for deploying microservices

Pros and Cons

  • "It is a very good solution for deploying microservices in an application. It has a lot of freedom in it, which makes it very interesting. It is also web-enabled. You can run services in other virtual applications and virtual machines."
  • "It would be useful to have a basic and stable interface for monitoring and quick deployment purposes, especially when the deployments are big like a proof of concept or proof of technology. Currently, you need to use the Kubernetes console for all functionalities. It is not a quick-to-learn product if you are not from a Linux background. You need to be very skilled at Linux to learn it quickly. It took me two to three months because I mostly work with Microsoft products. For people who are not from a Linux background, the learning curve is a little bit longer."

What other advice do I have?

I would recommend this product. It is very close to being a 100% agnostic solution. It is just a step away from becoming a server-less solution like Fusion, which, although, is designed for running for a short time. I use Kubernetes on the platform layer to deepen a platform. In some cases, when the same solution was developed without Kubernetes, some customers had issues on platforms like AWS, Azure, and Google. I would rate Kubernetes an eight out of ten.
reviewer1425825
Junior Consultant at a tech services company with 11-50 employees
Real User
Oct 1, 2020
Supports connecting to Docker containers

What is our primary use case?

I am currently learning the system, connecting the containers, and assessing the power of it.

What is most valuable?

The most valuable feature is the support for Docker containers.

What needs improvement?

The management needs to be improved.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been working with Kubernetes for approximately five months.

How are customer service and technical support?

To this point, we have not needed to contact technical support.

How was the initial setup?

The initial setup is a little bit complex for non-technical people in the business domain. It takes about a month to deploy.

What about the implementation team?

Our in-house team is responsible for deployment and maintenance.

What other advice do I have?

Product Categories
Container Management
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Kubernetes Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.