One Identity Active Roles Overview

One Identity Active Roles is the #2 ranked solution in our list of top Active Directory Management tools. It is most often compared to SailPoint IdentityIQ: One Identity Active Roles vs SailPoint IdentityIQ

What is One Identity Active Roles?

Active Roles is a single, unified and rich tool to automate the most troublesome user and group management tasks. With One Identity Active Roles, you can streamline user and group administration, solve security issues – and meet those never-ending compliance requirements by managing and securing on-prem, and cloud AD resources simply and efficiently with a single, intuitive solution.

One Identity Active Roles is also known as Quest Active Roles.

One Identity Active Roles Buyer's Guide

Download the One Identity Active Roles Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: January 2021

One Identity Active Roles Customers

City of Frankfurt, Moore Public Schools, George Washington University, Transavia Airlines, Howard County, MD. See all stories at OneIdentity.com/casestudies

One Identity Active Roles Video

One Identity Active Roles Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
reviewer1425105
IT Lead, Security services at a aerospace/defense firm with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Oct 8, 2020
ARS has been instrumental in ensuring accounts get cleaned up when they get deprovisioned

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use case has definitely evolved since our very first use case, which was for delegation of rights within Active Directory without having to give folks native rights through Active Directory. That was our biggest driving factor into the use of Active Roles. All the other stuff that it does is a benefit, and we use it all heavily. However, we're very big into using the least privileged model and having the least amount of Active Directory native rights out there, as this cuts down on issues later. By having less people with native Active Directory rights, this cuts down on potential… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "The biggest thing for us is Active Roles saves a lot of man-hours in keeping groups up-to-date manually or trying to write some sort of script that you have to run, so we don't have to reinvent the wheel. Instead of when every time somebody joins a department, then somebody has to remember to put in a request to add "meet user Joe" to this group, the solution does it automatically for us. Therefore, it saves our business and IT staff time because they do not have to process requests since Active Role can do it for them."
  • "When doing a workflow, we would like a bit better feedback on the screen, as we're trying to get it to work. For example, there is a "Find" function that you need set up in a workflow to do some of the automation. It is not the easiest to get a result from those finds when you're trying to do that. In the MMC, they have a couple different types of workflows. In this particular case, we use their workflow functionality to find all of X within the environment, then if you find it, do X, Y, and Z. You can have multiple steps. When you do that search function within that workflow, it's really hard to find out, "Is my search working?" It would be nice if there was some feedback on the screen so you could see if your search is working properly within the workflow."

What other advice do I have?

If you are very new to the product and want to get your money's worth out of it when you utilize it, because it has a lot of features, use an implementer or get some consulting time to make sure that you're utilizing it to its full potential. Biggest lesson learnt: Our IT staff, prior to using this, never really followed instructions. We're not using Azure Active Directory with Active Roles in any way. We do love that we can manage multiple Active Directories from one console and have that single pane of glass on-prem. We have multiple Active Directory environments, so we can manage them and…
Becky Phares
Sr Business Analyst at George Washington University
Real User
Top 10Leaderboard
Jan 13, 2021
Flexibility and extensibility of the platform allowed us to achieve far more efficiencies than we ever expected

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use case for ARS is for the ease of delegating administrative access and the ability to limit direct access to the domain controllers. Those were the primary purposes for purchasing it. We do much more with it now, probably more than anyone else. We're still working through that primary use case. But in addition to that, over the course of the last seven years, we've been able to leverage ARS to allow us to do a lot more and be more efficient. We use it for dynamic groups. We automatically group users together by department, reporting structure, etc., to leverage them for access… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "With the use of the sync service we were able to import information from multiple external systems and populate them within our space and leverage them for downstream systems."
  • "There are some features that we think should be included in their next release. We think these things would take them to the next level: the ability to completely force or limit any dynamic group processing to specific servers, change-tracking reporting of virtual attributes, and the ability to use files as inputs to automation workloads. These things have also been talked about. Knowing them, they're probably working on them."

What other advice do I have?

If you're going to implement it out-of-the box, off-the-shelf, exactly as it's meant to be, you should be able to do it on your own. It's pretty straightforward. If you intend to do anything else with it, a good integrator is key. The biggest lesson we've learned is that the flexibility and the extensibility of this platform allowed us to achieve far more efficiencies than we ever expected. What became the short-term certainly isn't going to be the long-term, but it proved credibility here, and that was what was really important. It gave us the credibility that we could do what we said we were…
Learn what your peers think about One Identity Active Roles. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: January 2021.
456,966 professionals have used our research since 2012.
reviewer1430811
Information Security Manager at a manufacturing company with 5,001-10,000 employees
Real User
Oct 13, 2020
Synchronization Service allows us to process HR data and automatically update attributes and data fields in AD

What is our primary use case?

We are using Active Roles for provisioning Active Directory objects and we also use it to connect, through Active Roles Synchronization Service, to our HR system and to provision and deprovision employees. In general, we use it to provision any object: security groups and computer objects, in a delegated manner. Active Roles Server allows the security of Active Directory to be changed to delegate access for provisioning to different IT teams, without changing the actual security of Active Directory. The solution is co-located in our data centers.

Pros and Cons

  • "Another good feature is the change history. It's centralized in a single place and allows us to manage people's Active Directory domains from a central location. We can also drill down into individual objects in a troubleshooting or even an auditing situation. We can show evidence to auditors by drilling down into the individual history. It gives you all the history of what happened around an individual object. That is something that would be almost impossible to do in Active Directory, or extremely complicated."
  • "The third area for improvement, which is the weakest portion of ARS, is the workflow engine, which was introduced a few years ago. It's slow and not very intuitive to use, so I would like to see improvement there."

What other advice do I have?

If you have a need to put controls on your Active Directory environment, and there is significant manual work to put those controls in place, regardless of their effectiveness, or you have a risky native configuration that has to be addressed, my advice is that a solution like this is going to do the job pretty brilliantly. It is a great solution with a lot of capabilities. It provides different types of value for each of the capabilities that it has. Over a decade, this solution has done its job. It's a very stable system, easy to implement, easy to upgrade, and has very low operation…
Michiel Simon
Technical Manager of Security at Liberty Global
Real User
Top 20
Apr 3, 2019
Management features offer added value by showing more fields, while automation helps mitigate risk

What is our primary use case?

We primarily use it for delegation access permissions, to helpdesks for example. We use it to automate certain things, like onboarding new users, deprovisioning leaving users, or when we add somebody to a group it triggers some kind of automation workflow. Lastly, we use it to sanitize data entry, to make sure that the first letter of the street name is capitalized, certain zip codes are allowed, others aren't; it's a type of data control.

Pros and Cons

  • "It's valuable to us in that it resembles the native tools that most people have grown accustomed to... Active Roles resembles traditional tools, such as from Microsoft. That is really good because it eases the way people interact with the tool."
  • "The AD and AAD management features of this solution are really good... They offer added value by showing more fields such as password age and the statuses of some things that we normally wouldn't see."
  • "It also has workflows and those are really powerful, but there are no built-in workflows. When it comes to them, it's empty. I would personally love for it to come with ten, 15, or 20 workflows where each achieves a certain task... I could just look at how each is done, clone them, copy them, modify them the way I want them, and be good to go. Right now we have to invent things from scratch."

What other advice do I have?

I would give this solution a nine out of ten. There's always room for improvement. With every product, nothing is completely done. But this product is definitely up there.
Kiril
Senior IT Manager at Toronto District School Board
Real User
Oct 12, 2020
Captures data and transforms it into ways that are usable for the Active Directory but it could be more user-friendly

What is our primary use case?

We use Active Roles to facilitate the synchronization between our Active Directory environment, SAP, and our school information system which is Trillium. Trillium and SAP feed data for employees and students into the Active Directory. We use password managers to manage passwords and provide us with three sets of passwords and options for our users.

Pros and Cons

  • "Because of Active Roles, we're able to synchronize on an even more regular basis. It enables us to provide even more information to the Active Directory, which helped us to group our users in a more consistent manner."
  • "In terms of improvement, it could be made even more user-friendly for administrators when they need to create new workflows and rule sets."

What other advice do I have?

My advice would be to make sure that you have a full-time team assigned to the solution. Take your time for the onboarding. It takes more time than we initially thought. I would rate One Identity Active Roles a seven out of ten.
David-Fernandez
CTO at BeClever IT Solutions
Real User
Top 20
Apr 14, 2019
The provisioning and deprovisioning saves a lot of time and skips a lot of errors

What is our primary use case?

* It is mainly for delegation of permissions inside the domains for large companies. * It is for provisioning and deprovisioning users in the Active Directory (AD) and their licenses in Office 365.

Pros and Cons

  • "The provisioning and deprovisioning saves a lot of time and skips a lot of errors."
  • "For the AAD management feature, it needs to improve the objects that we can manage and the security."

What other advice do I have?

Test it. Whenever you test it in your real environment, you normally want it. If you talk with an AD administrator about this solution and you display the features: How you save time, how you avoid errors, etc. It's a really good product. The main problem is getting companies to pay money for the product, but all AD administrators want to have this solution.
Identity0bf3
Identity Senior Analyst at a consumer goods company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Apr 10, 2019
Gives us attribute-level control and the AD management features work very well

What is our primary use case?

We use it to lock down the interface between helpdesks and Active Directory.

Pros and Cons

  • "It gives us attribute-level control and the AD management features work very well."
  • "Most of the time it just works."

What other advice do I have?

My advice would be to certainly consider Active Roles and, depending on the size of the organization, consider integrating it with Starling as well. I know the solution is extensible through cloud-delivered services but we don't use those currently. I would rate Active Roles a nine out of ten, based on the convenience it's given us.
Willie Clemons
User
Real User
Top 10Leaderboard
Oct 15, 2019
Easy to use and Provides granular control from a single pane of glass

What is our primary use case?

We use ARS to manage multiple domains. Our organization owns over thirty companies and we needed a tool that would give us the ability to apply consistent access rules across all of the businesses.

Pros and Cons

  • "Having a tool to manage all changes to AD from a single pane of glass is awesome."
  • "The ability to send logs to a SIEM would be very beneficial."