Datadog Overview

Datadog is the #2 ranked solution in our list of APM tools. It is most often compared to Dynatrace: Datadog vs Dynatrace

What is Datadog?
Datadog is a monitoring service for IT, Dev and Ops teams who write and run applications at scale, and want to turn the massive amounts of data produced by their apps, tools and services into actionable insight.
Datadog Buyer's Guide

Download the Datadog Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: February 2021

Datadog Customers
Adobe, Samsung, facebook, HP Cloud Services, Electronic Arts, salesforce, Stanford University, CiTRIX, Chef, zendesk, Hearst Magazines, Spotify, mercardo libre, Slashdot, Ziff Davis, PBS, MLS, The Motley Fool, Politico, Barneby's
Datadog Video

Datadog Archived Reviews (More than two years old)

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Aaron Singh
DevOps Engineer at Spark New Zealand
Real User
Jan 2, 2019
It has enhanced the performance of my team

What is our primary use case?

We use it for notifications, alerting, and capturing most of the information from Amazon, such as EC2 instances.

Pros and Cons

  • "It has enhanced the performance of my team."
  • "The product could do better with its notifications."

What other advice do I have?

Try out some of the other products in comparison. This is a good product if you are looking for notifications and custom metrics. We have always used the cloud version of this product. This product also integrates with Slack and PagerDuty.
SeniorSofcae
Senior Solutions Architect at a tech services company with 11-50 employees
MSP
Popular
Dec 30, 2018
It lacks consistency in the APIs. However, It has saved us a lot of trouble in implementation.

What is our primary use case?

We are using the infrastructure and app monitoring side, such as process monitoring. We are using it in a very traditional way. We are not using the APM capabilities. When it comes to something like containers, we will generally use it on the host but not inside the container itself. We are using it with our customers and in-house day-to-day.

Pros and Cons

  • "It provides more cloud data. They tend to just get the way a service would be designed on the cloud."
  • "It has saved us a lot of trouble in implementation."
  • "The ease with which we can filter, use metrics, and give accounts to customers, then let the customer filter, set up metrics, and alerts. This has been a big win for us."
  • "It does not have the best interface."
  • "Stability of the product has been a concern for us outside of the primary monitoring agents."
  • "It lacks consistency in the APIs."

What other advice do I have?

Check the APIs very carefully. Without fail, this is the single biggest complaint for automation and operations. It is not that it can't be done. Just make sure that you have the technical expertise to work around it. We use a mixture of both AWS and on-premise. There are actually three scenarios: * Some of our customers purchase it for AWS. * Some of them were accounts that we set up directly on Datadog for our customers. * In some cases, customers already have a relationship with Datadog. Those are the three scenarios. Some have a mixture of scenarios due to regulatory reasons.
Learn what your peers think about Datadog. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: February 2021.
463,678 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Director9da2
Director of Engineering at a tech vendor with 201-500 employees
Real User
Dec 27, 2018
The ingestion points are unlimited and support customization. We would like the averages of average issue to be fixed.

What is our primary use case?

* Monitoring * Analytics * Tracing * APM

Pros and Cons

  • "The integration and configuration are incredibly simple. The SaaS offering is remarkably easy to set up, especially if you're coming from a Graphite environment or anything that uses a StatsD."
  • "The ingestion points are unlimited and support customization. We haven't had anything yet that we haven't been able to integrate with it."
  • "There are things about it that we would like to be fixed, such as it is taking averages of average. This results in data that we don't expect."

What other advice do I have?

Check out Datadog. It is awesome. The ingestion points are unlimited and support customization. We haven't had anything yet that we haven't been able to integrate with it. We have only used the SaaS offering, but not AWS nor on-premise.
Enrique Yanez
Software Engineer at Sony Corporation of America
Real User
Dec 26, 2018
It is very easy to use and configure. It has a nice UI.

What is our primary use case?

If our app is up and running, we use it to monitor how many credits the app is using up on each node. We also monitor services by how long each call is taking with the help of EC2s off of application.

Pros and Cons

  • "If we have a large load for users using our basic Datadog, it will immediately fire off an alert notifying us either something's wrong or not."
  • "It has a nice UI."
  • "We have asked technical support questions, and sometimes they don't get back to us right away. Or when they do, it is not the right answer."

What other advice do I have?

If you are monitoring the metrics and insights in your application, and need help monitoring, then this is a great application to look into. The app is always available. It has a clean UI and provides the metrics that you will need. It is a good product. Right now, we only using it on this one application.
Brendan Buono
Software Engineer at Lovepop
Real User
Top 20
Dec 19, 2018
It lets us react more quickly to things going wrong, then we can get back up and running faster for our customers

What is our primary use case?

The primary use case is application monitoring. We also use it set custom metrics and watch our AWS metrics, as well as data. At my current job, I have only use it a couple months. However, I used it for a few years at a previous company.

Pros and Cons

  • "It has scaled great. I haven't run into any problems anywhere that I've used it. They have handled everything that we have needed them to."
  • "It lets us react more quickly to things going wrong. Whereas before, it might have been 30 minutes to an hour before we noticed something going on, we will know within a minute or two if something is off, which will let us essentially get something back up and running faster for our customers, which is revenue."
  • "I would love to see support for front-end and mobile applications. Right now, it is mostly all back-end stuff. Being able to do some integration with our front-end products would be awesome."

What other advice do I have?

Take the time to explore it and see all the metrics which are available. The metrics make the reporting better. Spend the time and learn the metrics. The things that they can send and give you are good. Learn how to aggregate them and how to write more complex queries, which they do a good job of showing how to do, but I found that newer people don't do this. They just try to use the baseline set of features. Doing the more complex stuff adds significant value. We have PagerDuty integrated with it, as well as all of AWS. Those are the big ones we have running through it. It integrates well. It…
Principad252
Principal Engineer at a comms service provider with 51-200 employees
Real User
Dec 16, 2018
It has the ability to create dashboards and matrices with graphs

What is our primary use case?

We mainly use it to send metrics about CV and memory usage, in addition to the number of files descriptors on a socket.

Pros and Cons

  • "Using the data, our operation teams works with the dashboards to get their statistics, analytics, etc."
  • "I would like testing for data in the future."

What other advice do I have?

Give it a try. It is a good tool for creating statistics and analytics with data. Anyone who uses a large amount of data and want insights on the analytics of their data. They can just dump into the tool, and it will do all the heavy lifting.
SystemNia893
System Ninja at a philanthropy with 51-200 employees
Real User
Dec 11, 2018
We have a better grasp of what is occurring during the deployment cycle

What is our primary use case?

We use it to monitor our infrastructure, particularly our different EC2 instances, and our containers. We also use it to capture our logs.

Pros and Cons

  • "We have a better grasp of what is occurring during the deployment cycle. If something fails, we have an idea what has failed, where it has failed, and how it failed to better mitigate the situation."
  • "It is a good one stop location where we keep all our data for our infrastructure, and it's also easier to navigate between different things."
  • "We want to reduce having to go to different screens to obtain all the information."
  • "At the beginning, when we started throwing logs at it, there was a bit of hiccup. However, this was during their beta period, so hiccups were expected."

What other advice do I have?

Take advantage of Datadog's trial period, and really beat it up, then give them a call. We use the web service for this product.
Mark
Site Reliability Engineer at a financial services firm with 201-500 employees
Real User
Dec 10, 2018
They have a good ecosystem for their integrations

What is our primary use case?

We use it for custom metrics of our applications and monitoring of our systems.

Pros and Cons

  • "Their interface is probably one of the easiest things to use because it lets non-developers and non-engineers quickly get access to metrics and pull business value out of them. We could put together dashboards and give it to people who are non-technical, then they can see the state of the world."
  • "We have been able to set very specific CPU and memory alerts, at the very base level, then we started to pull real business value, like 99th percentile response rates for our API calls."
  • "It has turned into an operational dashboard. If you felt something is going wrong, you can immediately open up Datadog. It has been our go to application because we know the answer will be there."
  • "The way data is represented can be limiting. When I first tried it out a long time ago, you could graph a metric and another metric, and they'd overlay, but you couldn't take the ratio between the two."
  • "When I started using it years ago, it had stability problems. I remember, specifically, we ran everything in Docker containers. There were some problems getting it into a Docker container with very specific memory limits."

What other advice do I have?

Give Datadog a try. It's the leader in this space. I have only used the AWS version of the product. They have a thing for the color purple, but it is all good.
Yun Sung Eun
Software Developer at AhnLab, Inc.
Vendor
Dec 9, 2018
The AWS version is not difficult to upgrade, but the on-premise version is

What is our primary use case?

We use it to store editorial content. We started out on the on-premise version, then moved to the AWS version.

What is most valuable?

I don't have to worry about upgrades with the AWS version.

What needs improvement?

The on-premise version is very difficult to upgrade.

For how long have I used the solution?

More than five years.
DusanJovanovic
Software Engineer at a media company with 51-200 employees
Real User
Mar 5, 2018
Excellent autocomplete for everything in the UI

What is our primary use case?

We run the agent in AWS.

Pros and Cons

  • "Excellent autocomplete for everything in the UI."
  • "It has empowered all our platform engineers with a very powerful and easy to use monitoring system."
  • "Going from viewing a metric to creating a monitor alerting on a metric is very easy."
  • "The web app has a real-time support chat window in which a support engineer is chatting with you within a minute."
  • "​It would be nice to be able to graph metrics by excluding certain tags (like you can do in monitors)."
  • "It would also be nice if we had more insight into our own usage of Datadog (agents and custom metrics). They provide a usage page which does help, but it is not in real-time."
  • "It would be great if usage metrics were automatically created and we could create custom metrics, instead we ended up building some of our own stuff to track and alert on our own usage."

What other advice do I have?

Try it out and see if you like it.
it_user147573
CTO with 51-200 employees
Vendor
Feb 1, 2017
We can build dashboards as fast we roll out new systems, which can be fast.

Pros and Cons

  • "The most valuable features have been: Sharable dashboards, TimeBoards, dogstatsd API, Slack Integration, Event logging API. CloudTrail Events, Tags, alerts, and anomaly detection. EBS Volume Snapshot Age, which they added upon request."
  • "More granular control over dashboard sharing. Timeboard sharing."

What other advice do I have?

One of the fastest and most flexible tools we have used in this area..
it_user147570
Programmer with 51-200 employees
Vendor
Aug 27, 2014
The fact that its hosted so you don't have to rely on infrastructure to do the work is a very valuable feature.

What other advice do I have?

I'm an advocate of Datadog -- go for it.
it_user147213
CEO & Co-Founder with 51-200 employees
Vendor
Aug 26, 2014
I always have Datadog up to debug issues with integrations or to ensure that live campaigns are running smoothly.
We were building a real-time bidding exchange for digital out-of-home ads by providing the analytics and the infrastructure for the ecosystem. We not only facilitate the buys, but we also act as an ad server for the network and advertisers who put in their server requirements. It is very similar to the large online ad servers. In order to provide this real-time service, we had to be able to monitor and analyze a wide range of data points for the many media companies in their ad exchange.  We wanted to find an “out-of-the-box” metrics solution that would integrate easily with current systems. We found that Datadog included the integrations that we needed to get our monitoring solution up quickly. Additionally, we liked Datadog’s ability to perform customized metric monitoring, log critical…