GitLab Overview

GitLab is the #2 ranked solution in our list of top Build Automation tools. It is most often compared to Microsoft Azure DevOps: GitLab vs Microsoft Azure DevOps

What is GitLab?

GitLab is a single application with features for the whole software development and operations (DevOps) lifecycle.

GitLab Buyer's Guide

Download the GitLab Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: January 2021

GitLab Customers

Siemens, University of Washington, Equinix, Paessler AG, CNCF, Ticketmaster, CERN, Vaadin

GitLab Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about GitLab pricing:
  • "I think that we pay approximately $100 USD per month."

GitLab Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
RameshP
System and Storage Engineer at Harsco Corporation
Real User
Top 20Leaderboard
Jul 26, 2020
Provides or mandates quantitative code into the Master

What is our primary use case?

We have a normal use case to build source code and our agenda and then try to deploy it. The deployment is not specifically automated, it is semi-automated. So it is normal. We create an artifact, try to build it, and then deploy it onto the application server. It's not fully automated.

Pros and Cons

  • "We like that we can create branches and then the branches can be reviewed and you can mesh those branches back. You can independently work with your own branch, you don't need to really control the core of other people."
  • "I would like to see static analysis also embedded in GitLab. That would also help us. If there's something that it does internally by GitLab and then that is already tied up with your pipeline and then it can tell you that you're coding is good or your code is not great. Based on that, it would pass or fail. That should be streamlined. I would think that would help to a greater extent, in terms of having one solution rather than depending on multiple vendors."

What other advice do I have?

I would rate GitLab an eight out of ten. GitLab provides some sort of static analysis part. That is what I understand, but I never tried it. I would like to see static analysis also embedded in GitLab. That would also help us. If there's something that it does internally by GitLab and then that is already tied up with your pipeline and then it can tell you that you're coding is good or your code is not great. Based on that, it would pass or fail. That should be streamlined. I would think that would help to a greater extent, in terms of having one solution rather than depending on multiple…
reviewer1322850
Technical Lead at a mining and metals company with 51-200 employees
Real User
Top 5
Jan 10, 2021
Helpful interface facilitates peer code reviews, and the continuous integration features are good

What is our primary use case?

My daily usage involves fetching code, creating branches, modifying the code, and then committing my changes. Once I'm ready for a review with my colleagues, I create a merge request. Then, during a code review, they will use the interface to write comments. Once everything in the comments has been addressed, I complete the merge. This describes a typical scenario. We develop under Linux.

Pros and Cons

  • "GitLab offers a good interface for doing code reviews between two colleagues."
  • "We are having a few problems integrating with Jira at the moment, which is something that our IT department is investigating."

What other advice do I have?

I would rate this solution an eight out of ten.
Find out what your peers are saying about GitLab, JetBrains, Google and others in Build Automation. Updated: January 2021.
455,962 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Michel Bourque
Partenaire, CEO at cyberdefense ai
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Oct 11, 2020
Convenient to use, provides a central repository, and speeds up our development time

What is our primary use case?

We are a startup company working on a new firewall product, and we use GitLab as part of the software development process.

Pros and Cons

  • "It speeds up our development, it's faster, safer, and more convenient."
  • "I would like to see better integration with project management tools such as Jira."

What other advice do I have?

We strive to always have the latest technology. In this business, you have to follow your client and follow the trend. In fact, you have to do things ahead of the trend and be prepared. For us, this tool is really convenient. My advice for anybody who is implementing this solution is to consider the paid version. Don't be afraid to pay a few dollars a year. Especially for a startup company, this tool is an investment. You don't have to look at it as an expenditure or expense. Don't think about it as spending money, but rather, investing money. From my point of view and for what I use GitLab…
reviewer1417221
Head Of Software Engineering at a financial services firm with 201-500 employees
Real User
Sep 18, 2020
Easy to deploy and configure with very good CI/CD pipeline management

Pros and Cons

  • "Everything is easy to configure and easy to work with."
  • "The only thing our company is really waiting on in terms of features is the development of metrics."

What other advice do I have?

We're just a customer. We don't have a professional relationship with GitLab. We're using the latest version of the solution right now. I would definitely recommend the solution to other organizations. It's pretty easy to use and can scale if you need to. It's stable as well. We're not really missing any features. It's great. Overall, I'd rate GitLab nine out of ten. They can always improve, which is why I didn't give them a perfect score. What they are working on, based on their roadmap, is already quite impressive. We're looking forward to metrics coming down the pipeline later in the year.
Cldengin57
Cloud Engineer at a transportation company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Aug 21, 2019
A simple open-source containerized solution that scales easily

What is our primary use case?

The primary use of the solution is for LCDs and as a repository.

Pros and Cons

  • "The dashboard and interface make it easy to use."
  • "GitLab doesn't have AWS integration. It would be better to have integration with other container management environments beyond Kubernetes. It has very good integration with Kubernetes, but it doesn't have good integration with, for example, AWS, ETS, etc."

What other advice do I have?

We use the public cloud deployment model. I would rate the solution nine out of ten.
Zeeshan Rauf
Software Engineer at a marketing services firm with 1-10 employees
Real User
Dec 31, 2020
Facilitates code collaboration and parallel efforts in software development

What is our primary use case?

We are using GitLab for managing our code. We have created branches and posted code, and as our team members complete assignments, the code is pushed to there.

Pros and Cons

  • "The best thing is that as the developers work on separate tasks, all of the code goes there and the other team members don't have to wait on each other to finish."
  • "The documentation could be improved to help newcomers better understand things like creating new branches."

What other advice do I have?

In summary, this is a very good product and everything is working well. I would recommend it. I would rate this solution a ten out of ten.
reviewer1393092
Developer / Team Lead at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
Real User
Oct 5, 2020
Meets our repository and tracking needs as well as component integration

What is our primary use case?

We primarily use this solution for repository tracking issues and reporting. We also use it for component integration. Our focus is pipeline field leads. We used to work with JIRA. I'm a developer and we are customers of GitLab. 

What is most valuable?

The solution is similar to all the repository tools or the work tools on the market. I like it and find it quite easy to use. 

What needs improvement?

The reporting could be improved and I'd like to see some testing or other deployment tools and integration with third parties. 

For how long have I used the solution?

I've been using this solution for five years. 

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

This is a stable solution. 

What do I think about the scalability of the

Buyer's Guide
Download our free Build Automation Report and find out what your peers are saying about GitLab, JetBrains, Google, and more!