Commvault Reviews

Commvault is the #1 ranked solution of our top eDiscovery software. It's rated 4.3 out of 5 stars, and is most commonly compared to Veeam Backup & Replication - Commvault vs Veeam Backup & Replication

Filter by:
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
VladanKojanic
Head of Information Technology Group at Ministry of Environmental Protection
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Jan 28, 2020

What is our primary use case?

How we implement this solution in a government institution is a little tricky; it's more closed. One of our most important use cases is how we protect and back up documents and files from users outside of our building because we must follow security standards. We use only HTTPS protocols, a special proxy server, etc.

Pros and Cons

  • The most valuable feature is sharing data sets like they're in a private cloud. We call it our "private cloud" because we can share anything that is inside our backup set with our colleagues or with other people, and yet, everything is still in Belgrade, in Serbia. It's not somewhere else on cloud servers. Everything is in our environment.
  • They can always improve the interface design to make it easier. Sometimes, you need to click two or three times to do something. They should look at what tabs are used most and make them more accessible, to cut the time it takes to get to that information.

Cost and Licensing Advice

  • Our yearly cost is around €20,000... The cost is based on the number of users and the amount of data. They sell it per terabyte.

What other advice do I have?

The biggest lesson I have learned from using Commvault is that if I set everything right, everything by book, I can solve any kind of problem that I may potentially get. I know some people using other backup solutions didn't set everything up very well or by the book. But that is why companies make documentation and say that if follow the book you will not have problems. If you try to escape that and to take some shortcuts, if problems come up, nobody will be able to help you. A good lesson is to just follow the rules, according to the vendor. We not only use this solution to restore data, but… more »
Sheron K Brown Sr.
Systems Engineer at PAREXEL International Corporation
Real User
Jun 11, 2020

What is our primary use case?

We have full functionality as a complete data warehouse, and I've been tasked to leverage the multiple features and licenses that Commvault has, as they apply to our business. We're using every feature and what we are not using, we plan to be using. We back up multiple platforms in our environment: Windows, Red Hat, Linux, Oracle. We have hypervisors, a large VMware environment. So it's a pretty enterprise-class environment. We use it for custom reporting to better manage our backup environment and there is a lot of discovery in that area too. The better question might be how we're not using… more »

Pros and Cons

  • The data is well-protected. It doesn't age off until it's copied. That's a big feature right there. When you reach the end of your retention, it does not expire until the secondary copy is completed. That allows you to hold onto data that otherwise would have aged off by retention. I like that feature. It's hard to just delete or lose data using the Commvault platform.
  • Commvault likes to be ahead of the game when it comes to merging with other platforms, but sometimes it's before they have the solution truly baked in. Office 365 is an example. I feel that my company might be a litmus test for their solution, because we have such a large environment. Some of the promised solutions that we received from Commvault were more like testing solutions. They weren't really validated, meaning they were possibilities. There have been a lot of hot fixes for the solution that we're using right now, more than we expected.

Cost and Licensing Advice

  • We went from Veritas NetBackup to Commvault. We switched due to upfront licensing and costs. We have more visibility into what we're actually purchasing. It seemed like, overall, the cost of Commvault was cheaper.

What other advice do I have?

Take advantage of any free training and look at other business cases and how they use Commvault, because it's so customizable. There's no right and wrong way. You have to look at your unique business needs to really maximize the platform. If you're just going to back up and protect your data, I would recommend something outside of Commvault. If you really want to understand your data, audit your data, really manipulate your data, and save money through your data, then Commvault is the place to go. I like the interface. It requires some assistance with navigation. It's very intimidating when… more »
Learn what your peers think about Commvault. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: April 2020.
446,626 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Jean-Christophe Bettinelli
Data Retention & Backup Specialist at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
Real User
Top 20
Jun 18, 2020

What is our primary use case?

Commvault is used to back up all environments that we are hosting in our data centers. It goes from physical machines to virtual machines, and from legacy environments to our latest environments. It goes from Windows Servers, Linux servers, AIX for IBM servers, and we also back up a lot of databases, including Microsoft SQL, MySQL, PostgreSQL, Db2, SAP Hana, and Oracle. It also handles specific workloads like Exchange and SharePoint. We also have a lot of physical agents that we use on Windows and Mac OS machines. We use a lot of agents in our environments. The solution is hosted on-prem and… more »

Pros and Cons

  • We use Commvault IntelliSnap a lot. It's a very good product and has the functionality to enable a snapshot of a vendor's storage... It really helps to speed up the backup process for some of our environments.
  • The software is good, but I always have issues with the documentation and, especially, the communication regarding new functionality. Commvault has a new maintenance release every three months, and it's always hard to know exactly what has changed in the software. They have improved a bit on that topic by communicating what has changed, but there is still a lot of room for improvement on that side.

What other advice do I have?

Plan for your implementation with the help of Professional Services, if yours is a medium to large environment, because this is not something you can start implementing without having a design in mind and without planning. This is complex software, but it does the job in the end. However, you cannot deploy it like a Veeam in a small environment. It's something that's designed for medium and large environments. You have to think ahead about what you're going to achieve with the software. I've never come across a situation where we have not been able to restore something. If we have a backup… more »
Brijesh Parikh
Senior Architect, Cloud Infrastructure at a tech vendor with 501-1,000 employees
Real User
Top 10
Feb 13, 2020

What is our primary use case?

We use it to backup and protect our virtual environments. We do Active Directory, SQL, file server, and some application levels backups. We do Office 365 and SharePoint backups too. We back up everything locally first, then store it in the cloud.

Pros and Cons

  • It provides us a good holistic view of everything that we have backed up so far. It also provides us all the recovery points. If we look at an an object that has been backed up, we can tell how many retention copies it has, how far we can go, and recover any data, if needed.
  • It does not have an easy deployment. The deployment is not something that just anybody can go in and deploy.

Cost and Licensing Advice

  • There is a bit of cost involved with signing up the entire solution. It's not a cheap solution.

What other advice do I have?

Go through an assessment first before selecting the product. Every business is different and has different requirements. Do a complete assessment with the data protection partner, whether it's Commvault, Veeam, Cohesity, or someone else. Go through a proof of concept, if possible. Mind your business requirements, RPO, and RTO. Look at your budget too. This should help you to make the right decision. The biggest lesson would be to have a proper data protection strategy for the organization. There were a lot of things that we had to implement after implementing the product. It's better if you… more »
Filip Hasa
Backup Engineer at a pharma/biotech company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Top 20
Jun 1, 2020

What is our primary use case?

We're using it mainly to back up operating systems like Windows, Linux, and databases such as Oracle and Microsoft SQL.

Pros and Cons

  • Among the best features are the BMR (Bare Metal Recovery), Live Sync, and IntelliSnap, which is used for snapshots of hypervisor storage. It's predefined so you only need to enable it and it works. I haven't seen anything like this in other backup tools like Veritas NetBackup or Dell EMC or TSM. We will use snapshotting for all our machines.
  • They should move the CommServe outside of Windows machines and the database should be distributed among servers. It's still a single point of failure.

What other advice do I have?

Commvault is more administrator-friendly than other backup tools. We are using Commvault for cloud support, but that part is at the PoC stage. But it's the same as the on-prem solution. Whether the library is on physical disk or in the cloud, it looks the same in Commvault, so that's not an issue in terms of configuration or use. There are even more cloud vendors than I had heard of and it looks like Commvault supports all of them. We don't use it, but there is an archive function in Commvault which allows you to move data from primary storage to another type which is much cheaper. Version 11… more »
MatthewMagbee
Datacenter Manager at a healthcare company with 5,001-10,000 employees
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Feb 11, 2020

What is our primary use case?

Commvault is our primary solution for all backup and recovery; for index, for analytics, for everything.

Pros and Cons

  • I'm a big fan of the reporting. You can build your own reports; it's very customizable. You can have individual reports going to groups of people or individuals. You can have them go out multiple times a day. It's basically a free-for-all as far as reporting goes. If anybody wants a specific job report every day, you can build it, schedule it, and have it go out and never touched it again. It's pretty nice.
  • Command Center definitely gives us a complete view of our data. But finding some of the granular, very small items that we sometimes have to find, such as auxiliary copies for tapes, I still find that it's easier to navigate and, sometimes, only possible to find them using the CommCell tool.

What other advice do I have?

In terms of advice, the biggest thing I would like to say is don't look at it as a dinosaur. A lot of people associate Commvault with being old and antiquated, and not having all the bells and whistles. If you look past that, you'll see that it's more far more capable than anything else that's on the market. You have to get through the complexity of the application and from there you have to trust that it will do what you want it to do. The biggest lesson I have learned from using Commvault is don't be afraid to call support.
reviewer1271601
Sr. Network Analyst at a government with 5,001-10,000 employees
Real User
Top 10
Jan 28, 2020

What is our primary use case?

We use it to back up NetApp shares, servers, and virtual servers. We also use it for Active Directory and databases. We used to use it to back up Exchange servers, but we're moving that to the cloud. It has a lot of features but we mostly use it to back up and recover stuff.

Pros and Cons

  • The solution provides us with a single platform to move, manage, and recover our data across on-premise locations. Some of the guys have been using it to move a virtual machine from VMware to the Microsoft solution, Hyper-V. They back it up and then they restore to the different virtual machine provider, and that works great.
  • Just to keep it running is time-consuming. There are five people on my team. Commvault was supposed to be one of the less time-consuming solutions, but in reality it takes 60 percent of our time just to keep it running, and that's not even fine-tuning it; that's just to keep it running.

What other advice do I have?

My advice is to have a dedicated team for Commvault, if possible. In our team we are dealing with DNS Exchange, antivirus, Active Directory, and Commvault. I feel I'm not successful enough in Commvault because I am always thinking about multiple things. If you really want to be successful with the product and use it to its full potential, a dedicated team just doing Commvault would be great. In reality it might not be easy to do, but if I had a magic wand, I would have two or three people just doing Commvault. I think it's a great product that we are under-utilizing. The lesson I have learned… more »
Mostafa Atrash
Sr. Enterprise Solutions Engineer at CMC
Real User
Top 5Leaderboard
Jun 14, 2020

What is our primary use case?

I've done almost everything with Commvault, e.g., back and forth centralization for file systems and applications like SQL, Oracle, VMware, and Hyper-V. Commvault does a lot of integration. Most of our installations are on-premise, but I remember doing one installation on the cloud. We always work with the latest version of the solution.

Pros and Cons

  • The Command Center is provided from the web interface. You can back up the data for everybody, but also you can give everybody the ability to view and restore their data. For example, if a laptop, machine, or environment is owned by X, then X can look in and see the environment and data that he has backed up. He can see everything that he owns and can manage the environment as he wishes. It gives him an excellent view of his environment and infrastructure. Also, if you are a service provider, you can back up data for multiple companies and give everyone an interface for their environment to manage, backup, and restore data. Commvault has done excellent work in this area.
  • I would like them to keep working on the new web interface to migrate out of the old interface because the old interface is a bit complex. It was driving customers away because of the complexity. If they migrate everything (100 percent of the features), this would make the product be perfect.

Cost and Licensing Advice

  • It was not very popular because of its previous cost, but they have been working on the pricing, and now anyone can afford to use Commvault. They changed the modeling criteria for their pricing. Previously, there was only the capacity modeling based on your content capacity. In this case, they would give you a license and you would have to pay it. Now, most of the environment is virtualized so you can have the best CPU, VMs, etc. You buy whatever you need and pay for what you need.

What other advice do I have?

Buy Commvault. It is an excellent backup solution. I would recommend the solution. What is important to Commvault is the flexibility. E.g., if you have a new application that you want to integrate, but it's not supported, they can help you with that. They will start immediately working on it with the development. We have talked with Commvault many times, and this was one of the things that they are proud of. They can give you an integration, even if it's not integrated yet. In addition, Commvault has done a partnership with HPE, which helps with integrations. I would rate the solution as a 10… more »
See 24 more Commvault reviews

What is Commvault?

Commvault can help you transform your data into a powerful strategic asset, with data protection and information management solutions that enable you to protect, access and use all of your data anywhere and anytime.

Commvault customers

Aberdeenshire Council, Acxiom, BAM Group Ireland, Catholic Education Diocese of Parramatta, CI Investments, Clifford Chance, Alliant Credit Union, American Municipal Power, American Pacific Mortgage, AstraZeneca, Dongbu Steel, Denver Health, Dow Jones, Emirates Steel, Penn State Health, Prime Healthcare, Sonic Healthcare, Sony Network Communications, TiVO, UCONN Health, The Weitz Company

Read Archived Reviews
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Commvault Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.