HAProxy Reviews

Filter by:Reset all filters
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
ShawnBrito
Real User
Senior Systems Architect at a tech vendor with 51-200 employees
Apr 29 2018

What is most valuable?

The most important features would be the load-balancing of HTTP and TCP requests, according to multiple LB algorithms (busyness, weighted-busyness, round robin, traffic, etc). Another important feature that we cannot live without is the username/passwd authentication for legacy systems that had… more»

How has it helped my organization?

As our traffic began increasing nine years ago, we desperately needed to load-balance TCP requests (for DBs). We originally used round robin on an array[] which stored the IPs of half a dozen DBs. But with HAProxy, we didn't need to maintain such complexity. We later exploited many more features.

What needs improvement?

The web stats UI, which provides the status of the health and numbers, could greatly benefit from having a RESTful interface to control the load-balanced nodes. Although there is a hack around the UI (by issuing a POST request to HAProxy with parameters), a RESTful interface would greatly improve… more»

What other advice do I have?

I have used it for over 10 years. I started using it as a Web application (Tomcat, Apache, JBoss) load-balancer when it had a few stable releases. When I first start using it, HAProxy was primarily used to load-balance HTTP requests. Since we are a B2B company that deals primarily with hotel… more»
John Taisto
Real User
Unix System Administrator at a financial services firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
Jun 04 2019

What is most valuable?

The most valuable feature is the TCP load balancing. It solves a problem for me where I can build files, not based on the health of the check, but rather the speed of the check. I found that… more»

How has it helped my organization?

It made something possible where I do load balancing on a container, without having to configure it at the firewall.

What needs improvement?

The logging functionality could use improvement, as it is a little cryptic. Additional logging functionality with better documentation would be helpful.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

We are not paying for HAProxy support. We're using the free version, compiling it in a container, and using it. The only cost is for the image manager, who is responsible for uploading the image, and… more»

What other advice do I have?

Once the container is set up, the time it takes to deploy is typically under a minute. That is a full-blown solution with all the plugins and images that I'm planning on using. I'm pretty happy with… more»

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

I chose this solution because I have to operate within a Docker container, and this is the only one that I could get to work.
Find out what your peers are saying about HAProxy, F5, Kemp and others in Application Delivery Controllers. Updated: January 2020.
397,983 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Mikolaj Niedbala
Consultant
Deployment Engineer at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
May 03 2018

What is most valuable?

Advanced traffic rules, including stick tables and ACLs, which allow me to shape traffic while it's load balanced. Performance configuration options with threads, processes, and core stickiness are also very valuable.

How has it helped my organization?

I can simplify configurations of many internal services (e.g. Web server configs) by moving some elements (like SSL) to HAProxy. I can also disable additional applications, like Varnish, by moving traffic shaping configurations to HAProxy.

What needs improvement?

In my opinion, there are three main areas to improve: * Make remote management more modern by adding API. * Propose a general HA solution for HAProxy (no I'm using keepalived for this). * Thread option should be a bit more stable.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

I used NGINX in my Web environment. HAProxy has more traffic shaping options and it's a dedicated VNF load-balancer.

What other advice do I have?

During the implementation, you have to plan ACLs and back-ends first. That allows you to prepare a cleaner config. I rate HAProxy a 10 out of 10. It is fast, flexible, and rock solid.
Devendra Joshi
Real User
Sr. System Administrator Linux & AWS at a retailer with 501-1,000 employees
Apr 29 2018

What is most valuable?

Load balancing, mainly. We are using two Apaches with HAProxy load-balancing. Some people use HAProxy to load balance MySQL databases as well.

How has it helped my organization?

Four to five years back, we were struggling with Web load-balancing; we were facing issues with a single Apache. We got the best, and open-source, solution.

What needs improvement?

They should introduce one feature that I know many people, including me, are waiting for: HAProxy should have provide hot-swipe for back-end servers, no downtime while shifting back-end servers. They also need a more detailed GUI for… more»

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

If you don't have expertise then go with the licensed version. Otherwise, open-source is the best solution.

What other advice do I have?

I will always give HAProxy a 10 out of 10. We never have any downtime with it. The HAProxy team regularly updates the product. I would definitely recommend HAProxy. You must go with this product.
Real User
Senior Operations Engineer
Apr 30 2018

What is most valuable?

* Flexible health-checking * Good config format to auto-configure

How has it helped my organization?

It reduced the load on our main load balancers.

What needs improvement?

We need to handle new connections by dropping, or queuing them while the HAProxy restarts, and because HAProxy does not handle split config files.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

We use NGINX as well. However, because the health checks are a paid feature, I like to avoid it whenever possible.

What other advice do I have?

Use a split front-end and back-end instead of using the "listen" directive. Therefore, you are clear what you are setting up. Be aware of connections dropping during restarts, etc.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

We pretty much know all the software out there and its capabilities, so we did not evaluate anything else.
Oren Alexandroni
Real User
Senior Vice President of TechOps at a tech services company with 201-500 employees
Jun 07 2018

What is most valuable?

Performance.

How has it helped my organization?

HAProxy enabled better performance at lower costs. That enabled us to provide more stability to our clients.

What needs improvement?

A better GUI would be nice.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

I think that the pricing is very fair, I would definitely recommend buying the Enterprise license.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

We used F5 BIG-IP in the past and switchED due to performance issues and costs.

What other advice do I have?

HAProxy is a very powerful solution with great performance, but it needs to be evaluated carefully according to the specific environment and requirements.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

Citrix Netscaler and Kemp LoadMaster.
Dyego Eugenio
Real User
DevOps Engineer at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
May 02 2018

What do you think of HAProxy ?

How has it helped my organization?

With an OpenShift environment, HAProxy gives us an easy way to handle a lot of containers.

What is most valuable?

The ability to handle a sequence of front- and back-ends gives the user the opportunity to send traffic through different services.

What needs improvement?

HAProxy needs to improve its ability to handle a lot of connections, to be more like NGINX.

For how long have I used the solution?

One to three years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

No issues with stability.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

I haven't had any issues with scalability but, as I mentioned above, some reviewers have said that NGINX is able to handle more connections than HAProxy.

How was the initial setup?

It…
Arindam Mitra
Real User
Deputy Manager and Lead - IT Managed Services at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
Apr 29 2018

What is most valuable?

Honestly, I have only evaluated the load-balancing feature because that is what I needed in my environment. As you can understand, for development and end-to-end testing, procuring a hardware load-balancer is a pretty expensive a deal.

How has it helped my organization?

It has been a great help for all the use cases noted above, and economical.

What needs improvement?

I would like to evaluate load-balancing algorithms other than round robin and SSL offloading. Also, it would be helpful if I could logically divide the HAProxy load-balancing into multiple entities so that I would install one HA Proxy LB application which could be used for different Web servers for different applications. I am not sure if these features are available.
See 4 More HAProxy Reviews

Articles

User Assessments By Topic About HAProxy

Find out what your peers are saying about HAProxy, F5, Kemp and others in Application Delivery Controllers. Updated: January 2020.
397,983 professionals have used our research since 2012.

HAProxy Questions

What is HAProxy ?

HAProxy is the most widely used software load balancer and application delivery controller in the world. The core HAProxy application delivery engine is an open source project chiefly maintained by HAProxy Technologies and assisted by a thriving open source community. HAProxy Community Edition is available for free at haproxy.org. HAProxy Enterprise Edition is packaged with additional enterprise class features, services and premium support from HAProxy Technologies.

Also known as
HAProxy Community Edition, HAProxy Enterprise Edition, HAPEE
HAProxy customers
Booking.com, GitHub, Reddit, StackOverflow, Tumblr, Vimeo, Yelp
Read Archived Reviews
BUYER'S GUIDE
Download our free Application Delivery Controllers Report and find out what your peers are saying about HAProxy, F5, Kemp, and more!