Microsoft Azure Synapse Analytics Overview

Microsoft Azure Synapse Analytics is the #2 ranked solution of our top Cloud Data Warehouse tools. It's rated 3.9 out of 5 stars, and is most commonly compared to Snowflake: Microsoft Azure Synapse Analytics vs Snowflake

What is Microsoft Azure Synapse Analytics?

Azure SQL Data Warehouse is a Fast, flexible, and secure analytics platform for the enterprise. Azure SQL Data Warehouse lets you independently scale compute and storage, while pausing and resuming your data warehouse within minutes through a massively parallel processing architecture designed for the cloud. Seamlessly create your hub for analytics along with native connectivity with data integration and visualization services, all while using your existing SQL and BI skills.

Microsoft Azure Synapse Analytics is also known as Azure Synapse Analytics, Microsoft Azure SQL Data Warehouse, Microsoft Azure SQL DW, Azure SQL Data Warehouse.

Microsoft Azure Synapse Analytics Buyer's Guide

Download the Microsoft Azure Synapse Analytics Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: April 2020

Microsoft Azure Synapse Analytics Customers

Toshiba, Carnival, LG Electronics, Jet.com, Adobe, 

Microsoft Azure Synapse Analytics Video

Microsoft Azure Synapse Analytics Reviews

Filter by:
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Jael Sande
Information Architect at Systems Analysis & Design Engineering
Real User
Sep 19, 2020
Scalable, intuitive, facilitates compliance and keeping your data secure

What is our primary use case?

I am a consultant, and when I go on-site, it's to determine how they can move to the cloud. Often, clients want to migrate because everyone else is. Others want to because they assume that they are going to save money. They will require less support staff in-house and they won't have to purchase servers. Customers have a need to cut back on expenses, and equipment. Their servers are becoming obsolete and are required to update their licensing. Rather than doing that and creating a larger overhead, they look into Microsoft Azure. It might be a better way to go and it's less money upfront. Some… more »

Pros and Cons

  • We also like governance. It looks at what the requirements are for the company to identify the best way to ensure compliance is met when you move to the cloud.
  • It would be beneficial to take the top vendors and identify some kind of straightforward action to work with them. Instead of having to employ a separate vendor tool to be able to move this, it would be nice to be able to go through Microsoft.

Cost and Licensing Advice

  • There is a cost calculator available online that allows you to input your entire scenario, and it will get back to you with information on what the costs are going to be.

What other advice do I have?

Clients will look at Pro Dell Compare. They use the tool to determine how simple it is or how complicated it will be to move their data. They consider whether they need to make use of one of Microsoft's partners to have them help, or can they do it themselves, and they determine how risky it is along with how simple it will be. Will they have enough manpower, and whether or not they're going to have to hire external consultants to help them. They also consider whether they are going to move their applications or are they going to wait? and what's going to come first. They create a plan. You…
reviewer1394304
Sr. Teradata Consultant at a tech services company with 201-500 employees
Consultant
Aug 1, 2020
Easily scalable with lots of features and good encryption

What is our primary use case?

We primarily use the solution for analytic purposes. It allows us to store data for years and then go back and look up information to learn things like how users function, react, follow trends, etc. It allows us to follow past and recent demands for products as well so that we might be able to find the reasoning behind the action or trend.

Pros and Cons

  • Microsoft provides both the platform and the data center, so you don't have to look for a cloud vendor. It saves you from having to deal with two vendors for the same task.
  • The performance needs to improve in future releases.

What other advice do I have?

We're a Microsoft partner. I have experience with the Microsoft Cloud Data Warehouse specifically within the Unix cloud environment. We're using the latest version of the solution. It's important for organizations considering the solution to consider their business requirements and expectations. They need to be clear about what type of cloud solution they are looking for. We help our clients do this and interview them to find out what their needs are so that the best platform can be chosen for them. It may be Azure. It may be Snowflake. It depends on the company's needs. At the end of the day…
Learn what your peers think about Microsoft Azure Synapse Analytics. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: April 2020.
447,654 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Mukul Biswas
Enterprise Solutions at Celebal Technologies
Real User
Top 10
Sep 19, 2020
Scalable, easy to use and set up with an intuitive platform that integrates well with Power BI

What is our primary use case?

We are service providers for our clients. My clients primarily come from the enterprise segments, such as manufacturing, retail, pharmaceutical, and industrial. Most are supported by a large ERP solution like SAP. Some of our clients are mid-size and others are large enterprise companies, some of the largest in India.

Pros and Cons

  • They are available on the Cloud, and the platform is very intuitive.
  • It needs strong support for social media, internet data, and native support for NoSQL.

Cost and Licensing Advice

  • They are cost aggressive, and it integrates well with other Microsoft tools.

What other advice do I have?

We use the serverless platform as a service, that is only available with Microsoft Azure. You don't have to hire experienced engineers to set up and implement the solution, saving you money, because it is very intuitive and the turnaround time is very low compared to other data warehouses. I would put it in par with solutions such as Redshift and BigQuery. It's very modern, easy, and intuitive. Most of the services are cheaper than other vendors. This definitely falls into one of the top three or top four solutions and platforms in the world. I would definitely recommend it. If someone should…
reviewer1003956
Managing Partner at a tech services company with 11-50 employees
Real User
Nov 17, 2019
A good solution for simple data warehousing that scales well, but it needs better technical support

What is our primary use case?

This is a data warehousing solution.

Pros and Cons

  • The most valuable feature is the scalability.
  • It's pay as you go, so you never know what your bill is going to be beforehand, and that's scary for customers. If you have someone who makes a mistake and the program's a loop that is running all night, you could receive a very expensive bill.

Cost and Licensing Advice

  • This solution starts at €1000.00 a month for just the basics and can go up to €300,000.00 per month for the fastest version.

What other advice do I have?

It's a nice solution for a simple data warehousing, but it's still an immature solution. It is stable but it takes a lot of time. Smaller companies have better products, but the problem will always be there and the smaller company will not survive. Customers will have tools that are not supported anymore. Microsoft is so big that people trust them, they will eventually get there but it will take time to get the features with quality. There are, however, some solutions available that are better and cheaper. You can purchase them instead of having to reprogram everything that you have already…
EmeaIT677
EMEA IT Program Manager for Sales, Marketing & eCommerce at a transportation company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Jul 30, 2019
Easy to set up and use, good technical support, and works with a variety of SQL databases

What is our primary use case?

We use this solution for data warehousing. Specifically, we have an ERP that does not have a direct connection to our Power BI solution. This connection will exist in the future, but in the meantime, we use an ETL process to transport data out of the ERP into Azure SQL, and then from Azure SQL into Power BI. At that point, we can use the dashboard to display our information. Our environment is a private cloud.

Pros and Cons

  • Scaling this solution is easy and the uptime is okay.
  • I would like to see better integration with Active Directory, because we have had problems, and we still do.

Cost and Licensing Advice

  • The price of this solution could be improved.

What other advice do I have?

My advice for anybody researching this or a similar solution is to list the pros and cons, along with the price, and estimate your needs before starting the project. I would also suggest contacting support for Microsoft, Google, and Amazon. Finally, look into other, better-niched providers, like Teradata. Scaling this solution is easy and the uptime is okay. It is easy to use, and the support is excellent. My biggest complaint is the cost. I would rate this solution a nine out of ten.
reviewer1052472
Data Architect at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Nov 14, 2019
Has good MPP architecture but Data Factory integration should be enhanced

What is our primary use case?

Our general use of this solution has to do with the needs of one of our clients. They had an SQL server and they were migrating from an on-premises SQL Server to Azure SQL server on the cloud. We use this solution because it fits their budget and they have some clients in other countries they want to give access to the product through Power BI.

Pros and Cons

  • The MPP (Massively Parallel Processing) architecture helps to make things a lot faster.
  • This is a young product in transition to the cloud and it needs more work before it is both settled as a product and competitive in the market.

What other advice do I have?

My advice to other people considering this solution is that this is a great product. But there is one problem and that is the rate that Microsoft is changing its software implementations. The rapid changes could make it hard to keep up with upgrades. Some of the features get enabled and disabled very quickly. So we are waiting now until everything settles down because cloud technology is still evolving. We understand that. But, on the other hand, as they make so many changes to keep up with the technology, it remains hard to predict what the future of the product is. I might say to anyone that…
AveekDas
Analytics Engineer at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
Real User
Top 5
Dec 17, 2019
Incremental load saves us time, and the transaction log shipping provides good data replication

What is our primary use case?

We are developing our SQL Data Warehouse locally, using SQL Server 2016 on our private cloud, and we will be migrating it to Azure once it is ready. The company for which I am working deals with products in the leisure industry, such as museums and swimming pools. They use the data warehouse solution for big data reporting. Currently, we are developing a multi-platform data warehouse that can support the reporting requirements for all of the customers. Whatever analytics they want to perform will be done with the data warehouse, and not the SQL database application. My role is to design the… more »

Pros and Cons

  • The most valuable feature is the incremental load because we do not need to refresh the entire data on a daily basis.
  • I would like to see version control implemented into the data warehouse.

What other advice do I have?

There are certain design concepts that can be used to design a data warehouse. My advice to anybody who is implementing this solution is to first study the user's needs, and then go with that approach. The design will be specific to the needs. I would rate this solution an eight out of ten.
reviewer1353144
Senior Project Manager at a tech company with 501-1,000 employees
Real User
Top 20
Nov 21, 2020
Easy to set up, good pricing, and fairly user-friendly

What is our primary use case?

Our general use case is for government purposes, and therefore, I really can't get into too much detail about it.

Pros and Cons

  • The product is very user friendly.
  • It would be ideal if the solution could be better used intuitively by the staff without having a great deal of training.

What other advice do I have?

I'd recommend the solution to other organizations. If they have time, I would suggest a company spends more effort looking at some different offerings. That said, generally, if you don't have a whole lot of money to do something, it's a decent option. We haven't used the solution for too long, however, it's offered us everything we need in terms of features and capabilities. On a scale from one to ten, I'd rate it at an eight.
See 11 more Microsoft Azure Synapse Analytics Reviews
Buyer's Guide
Download our free Microsoft Azure Synapse Analytics Report and get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions.
Product Categories
Cloud Data Warehouse