Snowflake Overview

Snowflake is the #1 ranked solution in our list of top Data Warehouse tools. It is most often compared to Microsoft Azure Synapse Analytics: Snowflake vs Microsoft Azure Synapse Analytics

What is Snowflake?

Snowflake provides a data warehouse built for the cloud, delivering a solution capable of solving problems for which legacy, on-premises and cloud data platforms were not designed.

Snowflake is also known as Snowflake Computing.

Snowflake Buyer's Guide

Download the Snowflake Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: December 2020

Snowflake Customers

Accordant Media, Adobe, Kixeye Inc., Revana, SOASTA, White Ops

Snowflake Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about Snowflake pricing:
  • "The whole licensing system is based on credit points. You can also make a license agreement with the company so that you buy credit points and then you use them. What you do not use in one year can be carried over to the next year."
  • "Pricing is approximately $US 50 per DB. Terabyte is around $US 50 per month."
  • "You pay based on the data that you are storing in the data warehouse and there are no maintenance costs."
  • "Pricing can be confusing for customers."

Snowflake Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
reviewer739716
Business Intelligence and Data Engineering at a tech services company with 201-500 employees
Real User
Dec 15, 2019
Fast, convenient and requires almost no administration

What is our primary use case?

We needed a data warehouse and we made a decision on what is the right tool for us as a data warehousing tool by comparing products. We looked into Microsoft Azure, Red Shift and Snowflake. In the end, we decided on Snowflake because it looks more up to date, it seemed much better purposed as a data cloud solution. It was developed from scratch and dedicated to being used on the cloud and that was what we were looking for. It was not just an on-premises system which was then converted to use on the cloud. It was completely developed from scratch and purely focus on the cloud. Because it was… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "The thing I find most valuable is that scalability, space storage, and computing power is separate. When you scale up, it is live from one second to the next — constantly available as you scale — so there is no downtime or interruption of services."
  • "Maybe there could be some more connectors to other systems, but this is what they are constantly developing anyway."

What other advice do I have?

There is not really much advice I can give people considering this solution except that they should use it and enjoy it. It really sounds simple but that is it. Of course, you need to be careful with the usage of your credit points. Because there are so many possibilities in configuring the way you build your data warehouse or infrastructure, the data warehouse might seem logical, but it is not the best with respect to using credit points. You need to be careful about this. It probably takes half-a-year experience and then you will know how to do it. If you don't know what you are doing…
reviewer1389294
Senior Vice President at a tech services company with 201-500 employees
MSP
Dec 28, 2020
Good at autoscaling and has a nice time machine feature but they need to add a basic ETL framework

What is our primary use case?

We primarily use the solution for the data warehouse.

Pros and Cons

    • "It's difficult to know how to size everything correctly."

    What other advice do I have?

    We're partners with Snowflake. We've been partners for just under a year at this point. I'd definitely recommend the product. It's worked quite well for us. A new customer needs to understand, however, that they need a roadmap of at least five years when they are deciding on their data warehouse. They should compare costs and sizing to make sure they are getting the solution that makes sense for their current and future needs. The solution integrates well with other applications, and if you need it to integrate with existing applications, you still should check to make sure it's possible. I…
    Learn what your peers think about Snowflake. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: December 2020.
    455,301 professionals have used our research since 2012.
    Valai Gunapalan
    Architect at Sony Corporation of America
    Real User
    Top 20
    Aug 2, 2019
    Stable with good technical support, but the solution is expensive on longrun

    What is our primary use case?

    Our aim was to migrate everything from on-premise, so we just migrated as it is and then we had issues. Some use cases that were running on-premises were not installed. We just went through each case and then finalized the issues with some of the packages that were not working or some users that were not getting what they were expecting. We did deep analysis on each and every case and then looked for options in Snowflake and are now working with the team to move everything over to Snowflake.

    Pros and Cons

    • "As long as you don't need to worry about the storage or cost, this solution would be one of the best ones on the market for scalability purposes."
    • "There are some stored procedures that we've had trouble with. The solution also needs to fine-tune the connectors to be able to connect into the system source."

    What other advice do I have?

    Because most of the issues you come across can be dealt with on the user's sites, it's important to educate the users and understand their requirements. The best advice I can give is to understand the product and to try to stick to what is required. From the business side, you need to monitor usage and monitor the space because of on-premises constraints. If it gets filled up then you will have to react. However, this solution is very scalable. I would rate this solution between seven and eight out of ten. The solution still has some constraints that need to be addressed.
    Yash Mittal
    Lead Data Engineer at a consultancy with 51-200 employees
    Real User
    Top 10
    Oct 31, 2020
    Mbps is great, it's faster than any other data warehouse

    What is our primary use case?

    We have different data models established on Snowflake so our primary use case is to store data from different sources, such as Azure Data Factory, or Databricks. We use it to create the data coming from different sources, and then we store the data. In addition, we also have a reporting structure that we use. We are partners with Snowflake and I'm a lead data engineer.

    Pros and Cons

    • "The Mbps they have established is quite a bit faster than any other data warehouse."
    • "Product activation queries can't be changed while executing."

    What other advice do I have?

    I would definitely recommend this solution. I would rate this solution a nine out of 10.
    DivyaRaj
    Sr. Software Developer at Tech Mahindra Limited
    Real User
    Jan 13, 2020
    Impressive performance from massively parallel processing, supports ELT for importing data, and has awesome technical support

    What is our primary use case?

    The primary use case for Snowflake is in our data warehouse project. We have a private DW and whoever has the credentials can access it. I am a data integration developer and we are using ETL tools to extract the data from different source systems and then load it in the data warehouse.

    Pros and Cons

    • "It has great flexibility whenever we are loading data and performs ELT (extract, load, transform) techniques instead of ETL."
    • "They do have a native connector to connect with integration tools for loading data, but it would be much better to have the functionality built-in."

    What other advice do I have?

    This is an awesome tool, but there is room for improvement in terms of integration. Also, in terms of management, nothing is perfect and everything can be improved. I would rate this solution an eight out of ten.
    reviewer1364460
    Principal Consultant at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
    Consultant
    Jun 19, 2020
    Excellent data warehousing, quick to scale, and knowledgable technical support

    What is our primary use case?

    We use the solution for data. We like that there are so many different formats and many structures for analysis.

    Pros and Cons

    • "From a data warehouse perspective, it's an excellent all-round solution. It's very complete."
    • "The user interface continues to be an issue, especially when we need to get data out of Snowflake. It's very easy to get data in, but it's not too easy to get it out or extract it."

    What other advice do I have?

    We're partners with Snowflake. The difference between Snowflake, and, for example, Azure, is that there is real separation between the computer and storage. Snowflake is the only one that's really separate and it's much simpler to scale or shift data. It makes everything much easier. One of the best options on the market right now is to have a cloud-only setup. Not everyone is using the cloud, but everyone will catch up. I'd rate the solution nine out of ten. If the user interface was better and they had a few more features and did some useability tweaks it would be perfect. Also, it's hard to…
    Cesar AugustoSiado Leyva
    Business Intelligence Consultant at a tech services company with 201-500 employees
    Consultant
    Top 20
    Oct 10, 2019
    A flexible solution with good clustering, and the pay-per-use feature is useful

    What is our primary use case?

    We are an IT Analytic Consulting company and we work with many different products. We have Snowflake and a Snowflake account mainly for education purposes and our internal training. We connected it to different sources, mainly internal sources. Most of them are on-premises and some are on the cloud. The deployment model is public.

    Pros and Cons

    • "The most valuable features are the clustering, LS50, being able to change the size, the pay per use feature, the flexibility with many different sources and analytic applications."
    • "Support needs improvement, as it can take several days before you get some initial support."

    What other advice do I have?

    I would suggest being careful with selecting resources. Each customer case can be completely different and each can require different resources. It's not only the database itself but also how you integrate it with the analytics and the resources. The estimation of the resources is something that you have to pay a lot of attention to when selecting the resources because sometimes you will need EPL or ELT integration, which requires a tool, as does analytics. For an end to end solution, you have to include other products. I would rate this solution an eight out of ten.
    reviewer1175826
    Data & Analytics Practitioner at a tech services company with 1,001-5,000 employees
    Real User
    Top 20
    Oct 21, 2019
    Could use better integration, but very stable with an easy initial setup

    What is our primary use case?

    We primarily use the solution for data warehousing.

    Pros and Cons

    • "They separate compute and storage. You can scale storage independently of the computer, or you can scale computing independently of storage. If you need to buy more computer parts you can add new virtual warehouses in Snowflake. Similarly, if you need more storage, you take more storage. It's most scalable in the database essentially; typically you don't have this scalability independence on-premises."
    • "The solution should offer an on-premises version also. We have some requirements where we would prefer to use it as a template."

    What other advice do I have?

    We are system integrators, so for all our customers, we offer different solutions. We only use the cloud deployment model. Snowflake doesn't offer on-premises deployments. Snowflake on cloud is the best right now. There are only a few other options. Redshift is not scalable. With SQL Data Warehouse the concurrency is an issue, as well as scalability. Also, it does not have all the features that you see in an on-premises SQL Server. Snowflake a good database. I'd recommend the solution to others. I'd rate the solution seven out of ten. We are still new to the solution. There are a few things we…
    See 13 more Snowflake Reviews