VMware Tanzu Greenplum Overview

VMware Tanzu Greenplum is the #8 ranked solution in our list of top Data Warehouse tools. It is most often compared to Apache Hadoop: VMware Tanzu Greenplum vs Apache Hadoop

What is VMware Tanzu Greenplum?

Parallel Postgres for enterprise analytics at scale
With improved transaction processing capability and support for streaming ingest, Greenplum can address workloads across a spectrum of analytic and operational contexts, from traditional business intelligence to deep learning.

VMware Tanzu Greenplum is also known as Greenplum, Pivotal Greenplum.

VMware Tanzu Greenplum Buyer's Guide

Download the VMware Tanzu Greenplum Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: February 2021

VMware Tanzu Greenplum Customers

General Electric, Conversant, China CITIC Bank, Aridhia, Purdue University

VMware Tanzu Greenplum Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about VMware Tanzu Greenplum pricing:
  • "We are using the open-source version of this solution."

VMware Tanzu Greenplum Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Gyula Bereczky
Senior Data Engineer at a financial services firm with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Top 20
Oct 18, 2020
Powerful external data integration and parallel load capabilities, with good technical support

What is our primary use case?

Greenplum is a distributed database that we used for data warehousing.

Pros and Cons

  • "The parallel load features mean that Greenplum is capable of high-volume data loading in parallel to all of the cluster segments, which is really valuable."
  • "The initial setup is somewhat complex and the out-of-the-box configuration requires optimization."

What other advice do I have?

We are currently in the process of upgrading from version 5.26 to 6.11 and I can already see a lot of improvements. I can't wait to try them. According to the roadmap, there are a lot of new improvements coming in the V7 version, which is due out next year. My advice for anybody who is implementing Greenplum is that they really need an expert to assist them. They might hire consultants or grow experts in-house, although that takes time and it is not always straightforward. You can use Greenplum out of the box but to really leverage all of the capabilities, you definitely need to tune your…
COfound677
Co-Founder, Chief of Operations with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Jul 31, 2019
A scalable and future-proof solution for data warehousing

What is our primary use case?

We install this solution for our clients. At the moment we are in the middle of an installation for a data warehouse that will be used by a telecommunications company that is based in Lesotho. We have not gone into production yet, but we have used it in a test environment and it works very well. We are a technology company, so we handle software development, software implementation, data warehousing, and business intelligence. We are using the on-premise deployment model. In Africa, there isn't much adoption of cloud services, so most of our clients are expecting on-premise implementation.

Pros and Cons

  • "We chose Greenplum because of the architecture in terms of clustering databases and being able to have, or at least utilize the resources that are sitting on a database."
  • "The installation is difficult and should be made easier."

What other advice do I have?

I would recommend this solution specifically for the scalability. This solution has a more futuristic technology, as opposed to the old school kind of data warehousing. If people are interested in getting something that is more future-proof, then I would recommend this solution. So far, we're comfortable with what we've seen. What we have configured is addressing our needs at the moment. I would rate this solution an eight out of ten.
Find out what your peers are saying about VMware, Apache, Micro Focus and others in Data Warehouse. Updated: February 2021.
464,757 professionals have used our research since 2012.
DrazenOrescanin
President of the Board at Poslovna Inteligencija
Consultant
Top 5
Aug 7, 2019
An excellent open-source solution with great analytical performance

Pros and Cons

  • "Scalability is simple because it's an MPP database. If you need more processing power or you need more storage, you just add a few more nodes in the cluster. It works on common commodity hardware. You can use any type of server. You don't need to have proprietary hardware. It's fairly flexible."
  • "Some integration with other platforms like design tools, and ETL development tools, that will enable some advanced functionality, like fully down processing, etc."

What other advice do I have?

I'm a partner that works mainly with enterprises. Mostly the partners are big telcos and we deal with tens of terabytes of data. MPP and columnar databases are the future of the analytical landscape. The era of appliances is over, so implementation of an MPP database on-premises or on the cloud is the way to go. Greenplum is definitely one of the leaders in this area. I would rate the solution eight out of ten. If they improved the integration with other platforms in the landscape I would rate it higher.
reviewer1148196
Site Manager at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
Real User
Sep 29, 2019
Helpful for horizontal scaling, but the deployment process can be made easier

What is our primary use case?

The primary use of this solution is for horizontal scalability. We have an on-premises deployment.

What is most valuable?

The most valuable feature for us is horizontal scaling.

What needs improvement?

The deployment process for this solution could be made easier. I saw some limitation with respect to the column store, and removing this would be an improvement.

For how long have I used the solution?

We have been using this solution for about two months.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

This solution is stable enough. 

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

We are not yet sure about scalability, but we will see in the future.

How are customer service and technical support?

We have not been in touch…
reviewer1193268
Solutions Engineer at a tech services company with 501-1,000 employees
Real User
Dec 5, 2020
Allows you to benefit from the contributions of a vibrant community of developers

Pros and Cons

  • "It's super easy to deploy and it also supports different languages and analytics."
  • "They should add more analytics. Their documentation could also be improved so that I don't have to bother my co-workers and tech support so often."

What other advice do I have?

I would definitely recommend VMware Tanzu Greenplum. It's open-source and the support is great. It's also relatively cheap compared to similar solutions. Overall, on a scale from one to ten, I would give this solution a rating of ten — I really like it.
reviewer1256802
Consultant/Architect with 51-200 employees
Consultant
Jan 28, 2020
Feature-rich solution but the setup is complex

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use case is for telecom customers.

What is most valuable?

In terms of most valuable features, I'd say Pivotal Greenplum's shared-nothing architecture.

What needs improvement?

I'd like to see a bridge between Greenplum and Hadoop.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

We didn't have any issues yet with stability.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

In terms of scalability, I just have one master and two segment hosts.

How was the initial setup?

Initial setup is a little complex. It took around two weeks to deploy.

What other advice do I have?

I prefer an open-source solution but Pivotal Greenplum is cheap and has many functionalities. On a scale of 1 -10 I'd rate it a 6.

Which deployment