LogicMonitor Overview

LogicMonitor is the #4 ranked solution in our list of top Cloud Monitoring Software. It is most often compared to SolarWinds NPM: LogicMonitor vs SolarWinds NPM

What is LogicMonitor?

LogicMonitor is the only fully automated, cloud-based infrastructure monitoring platform for enterprise IT and managed service providers. Gain full-stack visibility for networks, cloud, servers, and more within one unified view. Our monitoring technology enables businesses to see what’s coming before it happens. We collaborate closely with our customers to understand their risks and anticipate their needs, providing insights that unlock their vision.

LogicMonitor Buyer's Guide

Download the LogicMonitor Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: February 2021

LogicMonitor Customers

Kayak, Zendesk, Ted Baker, Trulia, Sophos, iVision, TekLinks, Siemens

LogicMonitor Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about LogicMonitor pricing:
  • "Pricing seems to be on par with other solutions. For what we get, I think it's a very fair price."
  • "It's affordable. The price we get per license is a lot cheaper than what we were getting with some of the other tools. There are other monitoring tools out there that are cheaper, but what you get with LogicMonitor, out-of-the-box, makes it worth the cost."
  • "The licensing side of things with LogicMonitor, is quite simple. It is one license per device. Recently, you have additional licenses with things, like LM Cloud, which does confuse things a bit. Because it's very hard to estimate how many licenses you're going to need until you're monitoring it, so it's quite hard through that process to give a customer price to say, "This is how much this services will cost.""
  • "As a managed services provider, the licensing model that LogicMonitor provides us is excellent. We are able to scale up and scale down as needed. The pricing is reasonable for the amount of features and support that they provide."
  • "As a managed service provider, we have the highest level of licensing that they offer, so we don't have any extra fees. I believe there are some add-ons for some of the lower tiers of LogicMonitor service, but that's not something that we use with our agreement."
  • "It definitely pays for itself in the amount of time we're not spending with false errors or things that we haven't quite dealt with monitoring. It has been good cost-wise."
  • "It can handle scaling. It is like any other cloud service. There is a cost associated with scaling, so we currently don't monitor all of our environments. We monitor just the customer-facing production environments. It would be nice if we could monitor our dominant environments, but we will have to pay a lot more due to the scaling issue. So, there's a balance there between what we would like and what we are willing to pay for."

LogicMonitor Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Subbarao Punnamaraju
IT Operations Manager at a university with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Top 20
Jun 29, 2020
Clear escalation chains mean the right people are alerted, decreasing resource usage and helping with planning

What is our primary use case?

We use it to make sure that proper tuning is done for the existing monitoring. In addition, our university has a number of schools and each is a customer of the main IT organization that manages and provides support for all the colleges, like the law school, the business school, the medical school, the arts school, etc. The goal, and one of the main use cases that we were planning and thinking about, was to be able to onboard all the devices, all the applications, all the databases, as required by individual schools. We also wanted them to be able to create their own dashboard, tweak it… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "Another feature from the technical aspect, the back-end, is the ability to allow individual users or customers to have their own APIs. They're able to make changes using the plugins covered by LogicMonitor. That is a very powerful feature that is more attractive to our techno-savvy customers."
  • "The dashboards can be improved. They are good, but there is a pain point. To show things to management, to explain pain points to other customers, to show them exactly where we can do better, the dashboarding could be better. Dashboards need to show the key things. Nobody is going to go into the ample details of Excel sheets or HTML."

What other advice do I have?

For the initial phase, rather than having only one or two functional guys participating, it's always good to have one or two technical folks in the discussions. That helps a lot. You don't want surprises if an organization decides to go live with this tool, and then realizes that technical things are not on board with the ideas of the functional team. That's something I can say based on my journey and experience. Another thing that is important is to keep on having internal conversations; that you value and give importance to everybody. It's good to educate them. Use the help of the…
David Dietz
System Engineer at IFM Efector, Inc.
Real User
Jun 1, 2020
Provides extensive out-of-the-box monitoring and gives us the ability to tweak everything to get meaningful alerts, reduce false positives

What is our primary use case?

We have a network that comprises a bunch of Windows Servers, Linux servers, CentOS, and a variety of network devices, such as Cisco routers, Cisco switches, Riverbeds, and some VeloCloud. We use the service to monitor and alert us to any potential issues that we may be having. We also use it to do some pink tests and to monitor the availability of some websites as well. The whole purpose is to give the IT team a heads-up, before the user base is aware of an issue. There are different levels in the system from "warning" up to "critical" that can let us see that a situation might be developing… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "One of the things that I really like about the LogicMonitor solution is that it has a whole bunch of things, data points, that it can monitor. They're called DataSources, and it has an amazing amount of devices it can monitor that are pre-built into the system You can customize them if you need to. You can change the thresholds and a whole bunch of different things with them. You can even create brand new ones if you need to, if the built-in data sources don't satisfy your requirements for the technology that you want to monitor."
  • "The solution also has a variety of dashboards... They actually have a repository of a whole bunch of different ones, which is really nice... what's really cool is that you can grant somebody access to a dashboard without giving them full access to the rest of the system. You can provide a really nice, high-level dashboard to your executive team, so they can see what is, red, green, or yellow, without having to really get into the nitty-gritty of the technology..."
  • "We explored a couple of other products as well. None of the other products had a customer engagement team like LogicMonitor does."
  • "With the email alerts that we get, it would be nice if the subject line were a little bit smaller, and if it showed the system that is out as the first thing. Sometimes you have to open the email to see what that is."

What other advice do I have?

I can't think of anything at the moment that I would like to monitor that I can't. Because of the flexibility of what you can monitor with LogicMonitor, it has everything covered that my company uses. I literally don't have a feature request, something that I would like them to add. I have other products where I've definitely been asking them to add some stuff into the roadmap. But I haven't needed to ask LogicMonitor to add anything to the product. I would give it a 10 out of 10. I've used a bunch of products in my IT career and the overall daily use of this product is fantastic. The…
Learn what your peers think about LogicMonitor. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: February 2021.
464,857 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Jason Fant
Solutions Engineer at Black Box Network Services
Real User
Top 20
Jun 24, 2020
Reduced our false positives significantly, improving our reliability, SLAs, and uptimes

What is our primary use case?

We use it for alarming on Cisco Voice systems, the Unified Communication stuff. We monitor all the gateways, trunks, SIP trunks, servers, and make sure all of the application is functioning, calls are being completed, and that there are no performance issues on the network or the voice system.

Pros and Cons

  • "The dashboards are the big seller for us. When our customers can see those graphs and are able to interact with the data, that is valuable. They can easily adjust time ranges and the graphs display the data fast. We've used other tools in the past, where you'd say, "Hey, I want the last three months of data on a graph," and it would just sit there and crunch for five minutes before you'd actually see the data. With LogicMonitor, the fast reliability of those dashboards is huge."
  • "One thing I would like to see is parent/child relationships and the ability to build a "suppression parent/child." For example, If I know that a top gateway is offline and I can't talk to it anymore, and anything that's connected below it or to it is also going to be offline, there is no need to alarm on those. In that situation it should create one ticket or one alarm for the parent. I know they're working towards that with their mapping technology, but it's not quite to that level where you can build out alarm logic or a correlation logic like that."

What other advice do I have?

Do it. Your customers are going to like it, once you show them the dashboards, the pretty colors, and the ability to easily interact with it. That's going to win over your customers. I guarantee it. I've seen it happen. You can say, "I've got this tool that does everything," but if the customer can't tangibly see what the tool is doing, they'll say, "Well, what am I paying you for?" And they don't want to see generic spreadsheets. They want something that's easy to use and interact with. I like how they've been improving on it over the years. It seems like they're going in the right direction…
David Azzopardi
IT Operations Manager at CAE Technology Services Limited
Real User
Top 20
Nov 9, 2020
Its visualization capabilities enable us to be more proactive in resolving issues and preventing problems

What is our primary use case?

It is to monitor our customer’s infrastructures. We provide the service as part of our managed service offerings. We monitor our customer networks and infrastructures for things, like availability, vital statistics, and the various services, that they have running in their environments. We provide a NOC and Service Desk that actually responds to alerts that come up and use the tool to allow them to be proactive in looking after their environments.

Pros and Cons

  • "The most valuable feature is the visualization of the data that it is collecting. I have used many products in the past and they tend to roll up the data. So, if you're looking at data over long periods of time, they start averaging the data, which can skew the figures that you're looking at. With LogicMonitor, they have the raw data there for two years, if you are an enterprise customer. If you are looking at that long duration of data, you're seeing exactly what happened during that time."
  • "The topology mapping is all based on the dynamic discovery of devices that could talk to each other. There is no real manual way that you can set up a join between two devices to say, "This is how this network is actually set up." For example, if you have a device, and you're only pinning that device and not getting any real intelligent information from it, then it can't appear on the map with other devices. Or if it can appear, then it won't show you which devices are actually joined to it."

What other advice do I have?

Take your time with it. A lot of the delays that we had were around customers not giving us access to their networks to get the collectors installed. We had a very strict timeline that we had to follow when we were doing the migration because our contract was ending with our previous vendor. We had to get everything all up based on a particular date, and it was down to the wire. We were very close to actually not monitoring a couple of customers because they just weren't giving us the access we needed. So, my advice is if you're onboarding the product and you are dealing with many customers…
Daniel Gavin
Network Architect at Envision IT
Video Review
MSP
Top 10
Nov 25, 2020
It consolidated our monitoring tools, reducing our onboarding times

What is our primary use case?

We are a managed service provider, so we have a wide range of deployments. LogicMonitor, as a whole and software as a service solution, is deployed with collectors on-premise, which also ties directly into cloud providers. We primarily monitor Citrix environments for customers. That varies from the delivery side, so network Citrix ADCs as well as virtual desktops and the supporting infrastructure around that. That's probably our primary use case. While we do some NetFlow capture for other managed service clients, the primary use case would be Citrix monitoring.

Pros and Cons

  • "The dashboarding is very useful. Being able to create custom data sources is one of its biggest features which allows quick time to market with new features. If one of our vendors changes their data format or metrics that we should be monitoring, then we can quickly adjust to any changes in the environment in order to get a great user experience for our customers."
  • "LogicMonitor's reporting capabilities definitely could use an improvement. We have made do with the dashboarding and done what we can to make that work for our customers. However, there are definitely customers who would like a PDF or some kind of report along those lines, where we have been utilizing other tools to provide them. The out-of-the-box LogicMonitor reporting is the only thing that we have been less than impressed with."

What other advice do I have?

If you are looking to implement LogicMonitor for the first time, work through their available documentation. There are a couple of certifications that they offer which are very good and give you a good foothold into the process. Then, talk with people who are currently using LogicMonitor. There is a great support community out there with people who are more than willing to help. AIOps does provide a very useful data set. They have been continually improving it. AIOps is one of those things, which is there and we use it a bit. While the dynamic thresholding is interesting, the anomaly detection…
reviewer1369572
Systems Engineer at a tech vendor with 201-500 employees
Real User
Jun 28, 2020
Saves us cost-wise in the amount of time we're not spending with false errors

What is our primary use case?

We use it in a few different ways: * For general monitoring of operating systems. * Leveraging some customized offerings, specifically for creating application monitoring. * Some external site-to-site monitoring in various places, ensuring that our websites and external pieces are available over an Internet connection.

Pros and Cons

  • "The solution’s overall reporting capabilities are pretty powerful compared to ones that I have used previously. It seems like it has a lot of customizations that you can put in, but some of the out-of-the-box reports are useful too, like user logon duration and website latency. Those type of things have been helpful and don't require a lot of, if any, changes to get useful content out of them. They have also been pretty easy to implement and use."
  • "It needs better access for customizing and adding monitoring from the repository. That would be helpful. It seems like you have to search through the forums to figure out what specific pieces you need to get in for specific monitoring, if it's a nonstandard piece of equipment or process. You have to hunt and find certain elements to get them in place. If they could make it a bit easier rather having to find the right six-digit code to put in so it implements, that would be helpful."

What other advice do I have?

I would definitely recommend LogicMonitor. It's something to look at either when signing up for a trial or for a use case process . It's been a great product. It has customizations when you want them, and out of the box solutions if you don't want them. It works and is reliable. Compared to other monitoring platforms I've used in the past, it seems to be the most powerful and robust that I've dealt with. The solution monitors most devices out-of-the-box, such as, Windows, Windows Server, Linux, F5 load balancers, Cisco firewalls, and Cisco switches. Those have been pretty easy to monitor. Our…
Idan Lerer
Senior Director, US Operations at Optimal+ Ltd.
Real User
Top 20
Oct 26, 2020
Gives us one tool and one location so we can see across our entire, international infrastructure

What is our primary use case?

LogicMonitor is a monitoring solution and we monitor all our infrastructure, up to the application level. We developed additional data sources in the tool, which is a kind of customization. We have a Big Data infrastructure, a Big Data solution for semiconductor and electronics companies. We stream a huge number of files into a central location. We load them and we process them. The engineers have a type of client-based analytic tool. Using LogicMonitor, we monitor the full process of the data stream: data loading, the ETL process, the SQL database, and Big Data solutions like Vertica and… more »

Pros and Cons

  • "Our installed base is in more than 70 locations around the globe... The fact that we don't need to manage and control 80 different servers just to monitor all of our infrastructure is a big difference. Now we have only one. The time savings are huge."
  • "LogicMonitor provides us with granular alert-tuning for devices. We can tune the alerts based on different aspects. For example, some of the environments are very big so we need to tune the thresholds differently than we would for a small environment. That is pretty easy to do in the tool."
  • "I would like to see more SQL monitoring and database monitoring. Although it has some basic functionality there, I would like to see more advanced database monitoring. I would like to be able to drill down into the SQL execution plan or the storage processor or query performance."

What other advice do I have?

Be creative. You can be creative with this tool because it's easy to customize. What we did, for example, in the dashboards, is that we put the different components that in some cases can be correlated. We can see an issue in one component and the correlation to the other components. Also, it is important, at least for us, that it's easy to customize, and that goes for any monitoring tool, because we would like to monitor the application level and not only the infrastructure. It's easy to add the data sources, easy to customize, easy to build the dashboards. Since we have people all over the…
William Guertin
Senior Systems Engineer at Accruent
Real User
Top 20
Sep 23, 2020
Its fine-tuned alerting lets us troubleshoot issues and resolve them quickly

What is our primary use case?

We are in four public clouds. We are in AWS, Azure, and GCP. While we do Oracle cloud, we only have a small footprint there. We are monitoring all the virtual server environments as well as all the services in those environments and alerting on various set points depending on what it is: virtual, server and service. We are also monitoring our colos. We have on-prem hardware, networking, and server solutions that we are monitoring with LogicMonitor. We are in both the cloud and on-prem. The breadth of cloud and on-prem that we have is a good use case for LogicMonitor

Pros and Cons

  • "The breadth of its ability to monitor all our environments, putting it in one place, has been helpful. This way, we don't have to manage multiple tools and try to juggle multiple balls to keep our environment monitored. It presents a clear picture to us of what is going on."
  • "We have very fine-tuned alerting that lets us know when there are issues by identifying where exactly that issue is, so we can troubleshoot and resolve them quickly. This is hopefully before the customer even notices. Then, it gives us some insight into potential issues coming down the road through our environmental health dashboards."
  • "Automated remediation of issues has room for improvement. I don't know how best to handle it, but I know that they're kind of working on it. I know there are some resources that can do automated remediation. I would like them to improve this area so it could be completely hands-free, where it detects an issue, such as, if a CPU is running high. There are ways to do it even now, but it's a bit more involved."

What other advice do I have?

We have used dynamics thresholds in only a couple of cases. We didn't necessarily see the application of dynamics thresholds in looking at critical alerts. So, we haven't used that a whole lot. Also, we haven't really leveraged the AI pieces of LogicMonitor. We are at a point with our tuning that we haven't needed to do so. If teams started complaining about specific alerts, like specific servers showing trends, increasing or decreasing, then we would probably do it, but we have been able to handle those concerns with static thresholds at this point. I would rate the solution a nine out of 10.
See 11 more LogicMonitor Reviews