NETSCOUT nGeniusONE Overview

What is NETSCOUT nGeniusONE?
The nGenius Real-Time Monitor software provides you with tools to monitor and display information about your network both historically and in real time. The nGenius Real-Time Monitor software allows you to understand your current network usage and to plan for future needs. It also allows you to proactively troubleshoot problem areas in your network.

NETSCOUT nGeniusONE is also known as NETSCOUT nGenius, nGeniusONE.

NETSCOUT nGeniusONE Buyer's Guide

Download the NETSCOUT nGeniusONE Buyer's Guide including reviews and more. Updated: March 2021

NETSCOUT nGeniusONE Customers
Cerner Corporation
NETSCOUT nGeniusONE Video

Pricing Advice

What users are saying about NETSCOUT nGeniusONE pricing:
  • "It can be expensive, but if you have a good configuration, based on what you are looking for, it's okay, it's manageable."
  • "Licensing is flexible, it's not tied to anything else. We can easily switch up the licensing piece... Obviously, NETSCOUT is a little bit in the higher range, but it gives you value for money. You get what you pay for."
  • "Make sure you get the low down on your licensing and understand the licensing requirements before making a purchase, especially when it comes to an upgrade. Make sure that it suits your needs before you commit to it. For example, we purchased ATA at version 6.2.1. At that time, the licensing covered everything we need. NETSCOUT comes out with 6.2.2, stating that in order to upgrade, you had to purchase CyberStream licensing. Now that requires some additional funding from both a capital investment and a maintenance cost. That's something that should have been said, "Well, if you want these additional features, you will need to purchase these CyberStreams." Otherwise, we should be allowed to continue on the basic operations as it is now through the newer releases without being stuck."
  • "This solution has saved us more than $50,000 a month and freed up 30 percent of our bandwidth."
  • "The biggest problem we have with this product is the expense."

NETSCOUT nGeniusONE Reviews

Filter by:
Filter Reviews
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Search:
Showingreviews based on the current filters. Reset all filters
Patricia Bertrand
General IT Manager at a comms service provider with 10,001+ employees
Featured Review
Real User
Apr 29, 2019
Provides us with all the detailed information we need to get to root cause quickly

What is our primary use case?

We use it for our network capacity performance, for the entire ICM backbone core. In addition, our company uses the solution for unified communication application performance. While it's not my team, there is another team responsible for capacity performance for video and they are using the same NETSCOUT toolset for wireless, wire line, and video.

Pros and Cons

  • "The valuable features include packet analysis, packet capture, and [that] it's easy to use."
  • "The single pane of glass view is a challenge. I like the graphics, they're easy to understand, but when more digging is required, it's more complicated to get what I'm expecting."

What other advice do I have?

I'm not a big fan of pushing a particular vendor, but it is a very good product: pretty stable, pretty scalable, with a very good and solid engineering team behind it. They are available and listen to customer needs and are always willing to do more to improve their products. But because I don't like to push a product too much, I prefer that people see and try it to see if they like it, to see if it fits their needs. The tool itself is just fantastic. We've been using it since 2001 or 2002. We are a big fan of the product. If we are satisfied with what we have, we don't ask for more. It's…
Jakobus Burger
Engineer at Sintrex
Real User
Top 10
Sep 8, 2020
Granularity of drill-downs into microseconds is helpful, but common workflows need better documentation

What is our primary use case?

It's deployed at a customer in the banking environment and it monitors the perimeter edge in the data center. It's used for visibility inside the environment as well. The traffic is only being sent via TAP data currently. We don't have any NetFlow data to the system, as yet. We have the NETSCOUT TruView system in and that performs for TAP data and NetFlow to monitor the branches.

Pros and Cons

  • "The quick drill-down views are similar to Wireshark views. Those are quite nice, with the views on how you interpret some of the data. The granularity of how far you can drill down into milliseconds or microseconds is a very nice feature. It actually stores quite a lot of data in its database."
  • "They can improve still on the workflows, document their workflows that are commonly used... We don't know some of the workflows yet, and it's not something that you can just read up in the manual. There is some stuff in the help manual and online, but it's to a point where you need to purchase extra training and services from them. You can't just go and read up on it yourself and learn from A to Z..."

What other advice do I have?

It's not an easy system, it's a very technical system. There are some views that you could get for a management or objective overview. Even our client mentioned that it's more a technical tool. That comes back to the workflows and the drill-down and the amount of time you spend to drill down into a scenario. That sometimes makes it too long in a real-time troubleshooting scenario or focus session. That makes it a bit difficult. If there's an outage in the environment they might start looking at you because they're waiting for you to provide information. I assume that would improve a bit when…
BU
Bhuvanesh Uthukuli Subramanian
Architect - Network & Security Tools at a computer software company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Top 10
Aug 5, 2020
Real-time data is great for our multiple network services and we get a unified view of applications

What is our primary use case?

We have multiple use cases such as for remote locations, the monitoring of critical applications, and the WAN network. Apart from that, we use it for security alerts, to give us visibility into unknown traffic. I used to do integration with multiple different platforms to monitor critical storage sites for the business. Those are the key factors so that we can identify what traffic is passing across our remote sites.

Pros and Cons

  • "It's a consolidated, single tool that talks to multiple platforms. It's not vendor-proprietary; it's independent. It provides interoperability with different products, whether they are routing products, switching products, wireless, wired, load balancing, or proxy. It works with anything you can name."
  • "I would like to see improvement in the user experience. It's hard to manage it. We need a dedicated, highly-qualified person, compared to similar tools. Obviously, it's in a higher bracket, salary-wise. That's something the NETSCOUT team needs to focus on. It's a completely niche-skill technology, where we need to have the skills to manage, maintain, and deploy it."

What other advice do I have?

With the visibility of the packet data, we can do whatever we need to do. It might be for the NOC or the SOC, but it helps our operations. We can dive into it and drill down into the information. Also, packet data was just packet data when we were using Wireshark, but when it comes to NetScout it provides business data as well. We can show actual numbers to the business team so they can understand and judge the quality of the network and the quality of the applications. We can show them solid proof with the data. The automatic discovery and mapping of client-server relationships is a six or…
Learn what your peers think about NETSCOUT nGeniusONE. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: March 2021.
473,673 professionals have used our research since 2012.
JL
reviewer1394490
Manager Network Operations Communication Signals at a transportation company with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Top 10
Aug 6, 2020
We use it every day for the triaging of events, saving us a lot of time

What is our primary use case?

Presently, our use case is general network usage. Also, we employ the use of the ASI extender for specific unique protocols to our company. I use the NETSCOUT nGeniusONE product with the ATA plugin.

Pros and Cons

  • "We've saved a lot of time in triaging. We have found root cause identities on packet captures and have been able to feed that information back to a specific vendor, because a lot of our technology is emerging. So, we're able to give that feedback to our vendors and have them solve the problems that they need to fix, and they have the evidence to do so."
  • "In previous versions, we used to have an icon on the dashboard when the situation analysis would present an alert. It would be nice if that would be made available on the dashboard again. Something that could be customizable to only illuminate on certain applications."

What other advice do I have?

The solution’s ability to transform packet wire data into well-structured, contextual data is not too bad. The solution increased our application and network uptime. We have used this tool to view where we have inefficiencies, places where there is wasted bandwidth. We have had areas where we have solved certain bandwidth issues by more than 50 percent. Others would be somewhat negligible on a larger pipe, but there are some things that we have resolved rather quickly. I don't have plans to increase nGeniusONE as of yet, but there may be something in the process. I'm presently running seven…
DG
Daniel Gattey
Network Analyst
Real User
Apr 24, 2019
Dependency Mapping feature is critical in figuring out any path, but we need a quicker way to get the net path

What is our primary use case?

We use it for when an app team or somebody comes to us and tells us that we have a problem with a server, that they're experiencing slowness, or latency, or the like. We like to take two IPs end-to-end. It will give us a server IP and the client IP, and we can plug that into nGeniusOne to hopefully give us some kind of error codes or a breakdown of what's going on from the packet level of the transaction. Hopefully, it gives us an idea of what's wrong.

Pros and Cons

  • "If one of our network pipes is getting plugged up by somebody using too much bandwidth, we can use the NETSCOUT tool to examine and find out what is going on."
  • "One of the products we use is SolarWinds, and it provides a very cool mapping of an agent from end-to-end. If NETSCOUT could somehow implement that into their design... make it quicker and easier to get those net paths, it would be huge."

What other advice do I have?

If you want deep-dive, triage, packet-capture-type data, rather than just using Wireshark, it's very effective for that. It's definitely good for complex troubleshooting. There are other solutions, going into the cloud with the thin clients, and the vSTREAMs and vSCOUTs are definitely good, as is the nGeniusPULSE - I really like the PULSE product. We're not currently using that. I think nGenius is very useful. You have to know your own environment, and see if it's good for you or not. My recommendation is mixed, to be honest. Depending on what you're looking for would determine whether I'd…
LL
reviewer1070697
Network Engineer at a comms service provider with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Top 10
Aug 19, 2020
Gives us network KPIs and increased visibility while conducting an IT deployment

What is our primary use case?

We are a telco company and we are using nGeniusONE to do a survey of our core network. We created different services based on nodes and based on services like VoLTE and the like. Our use cases are mainly to provide KPIs and to detect anomalies in case of an issue in the network.

Pros and Cons

  • "The solution transforms packet wire data into real-time data that is actionable. It helps us with faster detection of issues and allows us to create alerts."
  • "There was a point in GTP where we were creating services on nodes and after that we wanted to have services on APN. We can't have both... There are some limitations with these types of things. When we would like to use a feature, we have to remove another one."

What other advice do I have?

It's a good tool. You need to have a clear view of what you need before you evaluate the system. Automatic discovery and mapping of client-server relationships is not something we are using much, because we are more at the level of the network and a bit less at the level of all the servers and the internet application server. The biggest lesson I have learned from using nGeniusONE is that to get good results from the system, you need good knowledge of the network. The system will, for sure, help to find issues, but it's not possible to have someone working with it, someone who doesn't know the…
Prasanna Damodaran
Network Solution Architect at Agilent Technologies, Inc.
Real User
Top 10
Aug 31, 2020
Frees up bandwidth and consolidates tools, saving us money

What is our primary use case?

We have an extended operations team in India with engineers running the day-to-day tools to monitor around 150 sites across the globe. We have the MPLS and DIA for the bandwidth initiation. If there is a bandwidth alert, the engineers will look into it and take the necessary actions. It is mostly deployed on-prem. We have a few NETSCOUT applications (five percent) that we have moved off to the AWS Cloud. We were in the process of migrating one of our data centers to the cloud. We just started working on that.

Pros and Cons

  • "If a lot of traffic from one site is hitting AWS Cloud or the data center, then we want to know which client is utilizing the most bandwidth. We will work with nGeniusONE to troubleshoot the issue."
  • "Initially, we were having a lot of issues with bugs when using version 6.1.1. There were a lot of problems with the dashboard causing confusion. We worked with our SE and the NETSCOUT engineering team to fix the visibility with the data. There should be a patch release to fix this issue. However, this seems to be working fine for us right now after the 6.2.2 upgrade."

What other advice do I have?

It does automatic discovery, but we are not doing it because we couldn't configure the application. The plan is to use this more in the future. We are focusing on the different products from NETSCOUT right now. We have started installing PFS switches on most sites. We just did a PoC where we are planning to roll PFS to 10 of our sites in upcoming quarter. We haven't integrated nGeniusONE with other solutions. I would rate this solution as a nine out of 10.
Elias Lolei
Network Specialest at a comms service provider with 10,001+ employees
Real User
Apr 29, 2019
Call search and Media Monitor were essential when we launched VoLTE

What is our primary use case?

We use it for a lot of VoLTE monitoring and network monitoring in general. Most of our services are being monitored via NG1.

Pros and Cons

  • "The VoLTE model, call search and Media Monitor were essential when we launched VoLTE. We're relying heavily on them to troubleshoot our VoLTE calls."
  • "NG1 has been stable for a while in our environment - at least we have what we needed. But with nBA, there's a lot of room for improvement."

What other advice do I have?

Get a demo. The guys at NETSCOUT have been super-helpful. Any time we ask for something they simply say, "Let's show it to you." They come onsite, give us a demo, show it to us, and if we like it we deploy it. We also have a sandbox, where we get our real traffic into the product in the early stages. We do all of our testing and all of our new builds in there before rolling to production, and that really helps. Regarding the single pane of glass view, we have different views because we use different tools for different use cases. We can't really say that we have it in our network yet, but if…
RR
Ron Robinson
Network Engineer at a financial services firm with 1,001-5,000 employees
Real User
Apr 25, 2019
Dependency Mapping helps us understand what applications are talking to and where single failures might be

What is our primary use case?

Over the years, it's been more for packet-capture troubleshooting. But in the last two or three years, we have been using it for application monitoring and expanded our usage because of voice over IP and the communications stuff. It has really expanded a lot, and we've creating dashboards and reports. Originally, it was just a reactive tool. If there was a problem, we'd go capture something and move on. But it has really expanded quite a bit in the last four or five years.

Pros and Cons

  • "The best feature is when we have it connected permanently via TAPs. That enables us to constantly collect data and then we can go back in time... To be able to rewind, back in time, and see the problem as it happened, is very helpful."
  • "On a network the size of ours, the loading times seem a little extensive, 20 or 30 seconds to load up some graphs."

What other advice do I have?

Take a good look at this. It's been good for us. I've looked at some other solutions and everybody has the same problems to fix. The way that NETSCOUT, the company, is integrating so you get to reuse the data, is good. One of the problems we had originally was that everybody was doing something else. If you are going to capture all this network wire data, why not use it for security and everything. It's all in there. That's a big opportunity with these guys. If you go out and get something for voice from one company, and something to work on your network issues from another company, it's…
See 21 more NETSCOUT nGeniusONE Reviews