Teradata Reviews

Filter by:Reset all filters
Industry
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Company Size
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Job Level
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Rating
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Considered
Loading...
Filter Unavailable
Order by:
Loading...
  • Date
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Review Length
Consultant
Analyst at Accenture
Mar 18 2018

What is most valuable?

Efficiency of running analytical queries. Teradata was mainly invented for that purpose and it really does it well. We were able to migrate the code from SAS analytical… more»

How has it helped my organization?

* Cuts time to process huge amounts of data with analytical queries * A conventional and easily defined way to build a data warehouse or a layer of data marts * Better… more»

What needs improvement?

Query language and its functionality are rather limited, compared to Oracle or even SQL Server. However, it is possible to perform any kind of logic in it (though some… more»

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

Price is quite high, so if it is really possible to use other solutions (e.g. you do not have strict requirements for performance and huge data volumes), it might be… more»

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

It is hard to say what our clients had been using before. It is safe to say that this was their first option for analytical data warehouse implementation.

What other advice do I have?

I rate it an eight out of 10. It is definitely the best RDBMS I have ever worked with, in the sense of building a data warehouse. It is fast, and easy to use in terms of… more»

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

Usual alternatives in the same segment for our clients are Oracle Exadata, SAP HANA, and Hadoop.
Real User
Technical Manager at a energy/utilities company with 51-200 employees
Mar 19 2018

What is most valuable?

None.

How has it helped my organization?

It didn't improve the way our organization functions.

What needs improvement?

There is a need to improve performance in high transaction processes, as well as the reporting system.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

Yes, we already had SAP IQ and were using it. We didn’t switch. We tried but it failed.

What other advice do I have?

I rate Teradata two out of 10. At first, support was very good, but during and after they ended their operation in Turkey it was very bad. We had some agreements and they gave us some promises but... We bought it three years ago but we… more»
Find out what your peers are saying about Teradata, Microsoft, Oracle and others in Relational Databases. Updated: February 2020.
398,567 professionals have used our research since 2012.
Consultant
User at a tech services company with 51-200 employees
Nov 27 2019

What is most valuable?

Our customers are very impressed by Teradata's speed, because it's massively parallel processed. So you can get a great volume of data through quickly.

What needs improvement?

What really needs to improve, is their general cloud services. That is their biggest downfall at the moment.

What other advice do I have?

On a scale from one to ten, I will rate Teradata a seven. An additional feature I would like to see included in the next release is that it needs to be more cloud-friendly. That's the one thing they're going to lose customers over, so that needs to improve. I know they're working on it, but they need to do it quicker.
Sudhindra N
Real User
Director at a tech services company with 11-50 employees
Mar 15 2018

What is most valuable?

Parallel processing features have helped to easily dump any size of data and retrieve data with great performance. Features like TPump were helpful for real-time data loads compatible with almost all other APIs/tools in our enterprise. Inbuilt architecture reduces admins' efforts.

How has it helped my organization?

* Building a data warehouse with Teradata has definitely helped a lot of our downstream applications to more easily access information. * It has reduced a lot of reworking on maintaining indexes, partitions, etc. Due to its architecture, the focus has been shifted from not maintaining the database to how we can utilize the data/features.

What needs improvement?

* Cost * Scalability It would help to make scaling easier with a reduced cost.
BrenoNunes
Real User
User with 1,001-5,000 employees
Apr 29 2019

What do you think of Teradata?

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use case for this solution is the Transparency Portal of the Brazilian Government. Teradata provides the database infrastructure for this analytical site that is able to create an online BI experience that provides details on how the Brazilian government spends public money.

How has it helped my organization?

Teradata has allowed us to provide an online BI solution that no other player was able to do.

What is most valuable?

The feature that we find most valuable is its ability to perform Massive Parallel Processing.

What needs improvement?

I would like to see an improved Knowledge Base on the web.

For how long have I used the solution?

Three to five years.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

There are two…
Roger Crossland
User
User at a comms service provider with 10,001+ employees
Apr 15 2018

What do you think of Teradata?

What is our primary use case?

We use it for enterprise data warehouse (EDW) with on-premise hardware. The company uses EDW for most MIS functions.

How has it helped my organization?

It has massive parallel processing ability to do large amounts of concurrent querying. It has given our business the ability to gain insights into the data and create data labs for analysis and PoCs.

What is most valuable?

Speed of complex queries and the ability to schedule give business users time to analyse data rather than waiting for queries to run.

What needs improvement?

We are using an older version at the moment. We are looking for a more flexible cost model for the next version that we use, whether it be cloud or on-premise.

For how long have I used the solution?

More than five…
Rodrigo Cifuentes
Consultant
Associate Consultant at a tech services company with 1-10 employees
Apr 29 2018

What do you think of Teradata?

What is our primary use case?

Our primary use case is for retail and customer behavior modeling. We handle a billion records from different sources to create a consolidated feed for KXEN analysis and customer behavior modeling.

How has it helped my organization?

It has allowed our organization, a retail company, to focus on timely marketing campaigns for the proper customers.

What is most valuable?

It handles large amounts of information with a linear performance increase, in relation to a HW investment. It has a solid set of tools and consulting services.

What needs improvement?

A more transparent integration with Aster solutions. An even deeper focus in data sciences. A teaching web site with more training on third-party tools used for BI (data sciences).

For how long

Mark Angelor Tu Yo
Real User
Operations Manager at a tech services company with 10,001+ employees
Mar 11 2018

What do you think of Teradata?

What is our primary use case?

Its primary use is a superfast database.

How has it helped my organization?

Things have started moving faster in my company, such as data retrieval happens more quickly.

What is most valuable?

We really enjoy the FastLoad, TPump, and MultiLoad features.

What needs improvement?

I think the UI is not there yet. It could be improved by being more user-friendly.

For how long have I used the solution?

One to three years.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

It is faster than Oracle, and that is what we need.
See 2 More Teradata Reviews

Articles

User Assessments By Topic About Teradata

Find out what your peers are saying about Teradata, Microsoft, Oracle and others in Relational Databases. Updated: February 2020.
398,567 professionals have used our research since 2012.

Teradata Questions

What is Teradata?

Teradata's portfolio of big data analytic solutions, integrated marketing applications, and services help organizations gain a sustainable competitive advantage with data.

Teradata customers
Netflix
Read Archived Reviews
BUYER'S GUIDE
Download our free Relational Databases Report and find out what your peers are saying about Teradata, Microsoft, Oracle, and more!